Arsenal-Related News & Developments - 2015/2016 Season

Re: Arsenal-Related News & Developments - 2015/2016 Season

txj wrote:What is this obsession by Arsenal and Liverpool fans about DMs
Arsene Wenger has never played a DM. By this I mean a player who is just there to destroy - a water carrier. Wenger plays with CMs and one has a more defensive role than the others but above all he is expected to be able to play. He must especially be good at that pass in transition from defence to attack. In effect, Wenger employed a deep lying play maker or a CDM. Manu Petit was the a classic example, he would hit 60 yard passes for Overmans, or a deadly slide rule pass between the lines for Bergkamp etc. For Wenger, you must be able to play to play in that position, thus making a specialist DM (water career) grossly inadequate.

I really cannot understand all this DM talk with some Arsenal fans.
tippy

Post by tippy »

tippy wrote:I can't believe people are still doubting Wenger when it's blatantly obvious he buys when it improves the squad.

Also, despite Coquelin's emergence, I still feel the man is against DMs in general but he might surprise us.

For the people who want us to buy, who should we buy and why? Who is out there that would improve us?

William Carlvaho- cost about 28 MP, he will provide physical presence in the midield. A box to box midfielder, good tackler, good passing skills and good finisher. He can play the deep defensive midfield role.
A strong man that we can use against teams like Stoke.
How many times have you watched William Carvalho play. A strong man that we can use against Stoke indeed. Portugal couldn't even use him last year to keep out the US lol (an stupid argument, but I'll use it)
My usual reaction after most Arsenal games: "lol, f*** Arsenal."

tippy wrote:
Tunisian Gooner wrote:
tippy wrote:I can't believe people are still doubting Wenger when it's blatantly obvious he buys when it improves the squad.

Also, despite Coquelin's emergence, I still feel the man is against DMs in general but he might surprise us.

For the people who want us to buy, who should we buy and why? Who is out there that would improve us?

Arsenal had DB 10 and Kanu in summer 99 and still bought Henry..had PV4, Razor and Edu but still bought Gilberto in summer of 2002.

Arsenal had Ramsey, Jack, Rosicky, Santi and yet still bought Ozil in summer of 2014.

Le Grove was spot on in his assessment today.
I can’t buy into this bullshit people spout when the say… ‘It’s hard to bring in better players when we’re so damn amazing’… we’ve not won the league for over ten years. We finished 3rd last year with less points than the year before. We were knocked out of the CL by Monaco. You’re %$#@^& deluding yourself if you don’t think our squad can be improved and relatively simply. Schneiderlin straight off the bat. Carvahllo, straight off the bat. It’s not like the weaknesses haven’t been apparent all season.
In Summer 99, we sold Anelka (unwillingly) and Diawara (plus Wreh, Kiwomya etc), so we bought Henry and Suker. two in, two out.

Gilberto was 5 million pounds, and was better than Edu or Parlour (or more consistent anyway) than whoever we had. I went and looked at our lineups that season. Even Grimandi played there a few times. The position next to Vieira was definitely up for grabs. Gilberto came in and took it.

Of course we bought Ozil, he was available, we could afford it, and he was an improvement to what was there
Le Grove is a reactionary c**t who jumps on the latest bandwagon. Carvalho? How many times has he seen him play? You know who came from Portuguese League? Fernando, and he's more experienced than Carvalho and it took him a season to hack the EPL. Assuming he hacks it.
:agree: :agree: :agree: :agree: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

His website is his living, he needs the hits to survive so he has to be outrageous and reactionary.
Gunzilla

Post by Gunzilla »

Arsene Wenger has never played a DM. By this I mean a player who is just there to destroy - a water carrier. Wenger plays with CMs and one has a more defensive role than the others but above all he is expected to be able to play. He must especially be good at that pass in transition from defence to attack. In effect, Wenger employed a deep lying play maker or a CDM. Manu Petit was the a classic example, he would hit 60 yard passes for Overmans, or a deadly slide rule pass between the lines for Bergkamp etc. For Wenger, you must be able to play to play in that position, thus making a specialist DM (water career) grossly inadequate.

When you have a midfielder that can play passes from the deep,its an added advantage.But there has to be a midfielder that its his job to shield the back four.Also With Vieira in our team it was like playing two DMs in a game cos he tackles very very well and then joins the attack effortlessly..Why was Gilberto dubbed 'The Invisible Wall' by Brazilians if he was that a 'wall' to begin with ?.What we have had since Gilberto and Edu left are now midfielders that pour forward to join the attack leaving the defense without any protection..Take Song for instance..i love him going forward,his passing range is wonderful..but he leaves our defense exposed in a lot of games.Wenger did the same with Diaby...these are gifted players when it comes to attacking,but defending was never their strong point..So in the absence of that central mid that can play passes from deep as well as defend,does it not make sense the get a DM that will sit back breaking up play and making your team balanced like we saw when Coq came into the team ?

Gunzilla wrote:

Oh please hush. We've heard this song long enough like Wenger never got anything wrong. Cygan, Senderos, Djourou, Squillachi, Silvestre, Bendtner, Jeffers, Denilson, Almunia, Chamakh, Sanogo, etc.

He isn't infallable and going by history he is wrong wrt getting reinforcements in DM, unless the aim is to finish fourth...AGAIN.

You all keep talking about Coq like it was planned. If Arteta and Flamini didn't get injured Coq would've been loaned out and we would've faltered. So please Wenger backed into the decision to play Coq.

Wenger will deliberately shoot himself in the foot before a race then complain that he coudln't win because he had an injured foot. And suckers like you, Waffib, Skylolo, PapaK, and Cally, etc. will gobble up that banquet of baloney cos it's Wenger serving it. No where in the world is a coach that is one of if not the highest paid in his sport, allowed to come third or fourth regularly...and then celebrated for it. No serious team does it. At least in pro US sports unlike in Europe, there are strict checks and balances in place to ensure parity.
The crux of our argument all these while.... :clap: :clap: ...Its like the man takes some perverse pleasure in harmstringing himself and the team...now start looking bewildered when everything falls apart mid-season....
that is what I find most baffling. The man looks bewildered whenever the OBVIOUS happens.
My Bro, Monreal is 29 year old, meaning he will be 30 in the final year of his contract. Arsenal made him an offer but he wants more and Arsenal have refused to meet his demands. This effectively means he is one player who could be leaving because he has concrete offers in Spain.

Arsenal have made a €10m bid for Faouzi Ghoulam of Napoli. Watch the Monreal space, I have this feeling Arsenal have run out of patience with him and are ready to sell.
tippy

Post by tippy »

Oh please hush. We've heard this song long enough like Wenger never got anything wrong. Cygan, Senderos, Djourou, Squillachi, Silvestre, Bendtner, Jeffers, Denilson, Almunia, Chamakh, Sanogo, etc.

He isn't infallable and going by history he is wrong wrt getting reinforcements in DM, unless the aim is to finish fourth...AGAIN.

You all keep talking about Coq like it was planned. If Arteta and Flamini didn't get injured Coq would've been loaned out and we would've faltered. So please Wenger backed into the decision to play Coq.

Wenger will deliberately shoot himself in the foot before a race then complain that he coudln't win because he had an injured foot. And suckers like you, Waffib, Skylolo, PapaK, and Cally, etc. will gobble up that banquet of baloney cos it's Wenger serving it. No where in the world is a coach that is one of if not the highest paid in his sport, allowed to come third or fourth regularly...and then celebrated for it. No serious team does it. At least in pro US sports unlike in Europe, there are strict checks and balances in place to ensure parity.
He's not the highest paid in the world. And second of all, even if he is, his remit is more than the usual coaches anyway, plus the longer you're in a place, the more money you get. Wenger does more work for his club than Pep or Jose. Surely you can understand that?

Second of all, no one is talking about Coq like it was planned. Certainly not me. I'm not saying we shouldn't buy. I'm saying some angel* agent colludes with an angel* journo looking for clicks and links us to a player and you buy it, and when we don't sign him you freak out. I see someone saying we should spend 28 million pounds on Carvalho. Soon, someone else (probably Kajifu) will freak out over Liverpool's signings although we're on page fiftysomething so it probably has happened...three or four times. How many times have you seen Carvalho play to know that he is the answer.

Also, i'm not sure what point you were trying to make by listing all those transfers. That we shouldn't make them? It seems like its a damned if you do, damned if you don't situation. Did people not want us to sign Chamakh? Were they not posting articles about Senderos' maturity in the youth team when we signed him? The new Tony Adams. Cygan, signed to be a fringe player. Squillaci, signed to be a fringe player.

It is hypocritical in one sentence to castigate the signing of Denilson (a promising young player) and then in the same breath advocate the signing of Carvalho (a slightly older but still promising young player).

United sign Schneiderlin. Na wa o!

"My friends - "We need to really reassess the way we trash our national team, derogate some players and disrespect the people that run our football. Let the brand new Super Eagles become our new Brand of national pride.. The unifying identity for all.. Bar none!" - CE's The Great Seloweizer (6/24/13)

Gunzilla wrote:

When you have a midfielder that can play passes from the deep,its an added advantage.But there has to be a midfielder that its his job to shield the back four.Also With Vieira in our team it was like playing two DMs in a game cos he tackles very very well and then joins the attack effortlessly..Why was Gilberto dubbed 'The Invisible Wall' by Brazilians if he was that a 'wall' to begin with ?.What we have had since Gilberto and Edu left are now midfielders that pour forward to join the attack leaving the defense without any protection..Take Song for instance..i love him going forward,his passing range is wonderful..but he leaves our defense exposed in a lot of games.Wenger did the same with Diaby...these are gifted players when it comes to attacking,but defending was never their strong point..So in the absence of that central mid that can play passes from deep as well as defend,does it not make sense the get a DM that will sit back breaking up play and making your team balanced like we saw when Coq came into the team ?
Who shielded the back 4 for Juve on their runto the CL final?

Who shieldsthe back 4 for Madrid and Barcelona?

There's more than one way. ..

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
blaccat

Post by blaccat »

100%Naija wrote:
Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:this waffiman sef :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

I think he just comes here to make fun of us.
Make fun of us ke. Na himself e dey useless. Even Ray Charles can see that Wenger is the problem at Arsenal. The day we fire that man, na him things go begin change for that club, Very stubborn old fool. Vidal e no sign, Schneiderlein(sp) e no sign, E no get name way dey out there way e wan sign. E no go strengthen the squad now but come January when we are 10 pts behind and the injury excuse don wear thin with fans, na him e go go make a panic buy and him houseboys like waffi go come out dey thump their puny chest while hailing him..tufiakwa.
Off course Wenger is the cancer, we have two players for every position. He refuses to strengthen the team all these players were gifted to us, bcos he never spends money. Why would he not want to bankrupt the club, how hard can it be.
Remember who you are, what you are and who you represent - Arsenal FC

Gunzilla wrote:

Who shielded the back 4 for Juve on their runto the CL final?

Who shieldsthe back 4 for Madrid and Barcelona?

There's more than one way. ..
My point is Arsenal play it with a ball player, not with a search and destroyer who then gives to those who can play. Players like Alonso,, the deep lying play maker with the edge and make of steel is what he wants. Martinez also a brilliant deep lying play maker and he has tried to sign him a few times. Guardiola loves one too, Today, the CDM is more like the registrar,

Well Wenger all we are asking is put serious fight for EPL and CL.
No way teams like Monaco should be beaten us at home with half of their team out injured.
Secondly no way we should be open yash against teams like Swansea home and away.

Fellow gooners what if COQ does not perform like this second half of the season?
We saw how Ramsey was magic in 2013-2014 season and this 2014-2015 season e get has e be.
tippy

Post by tippy »

Cally wrote:United sign Schneiderlin. Na wa o!
this is the first signing by another club i'm actually fussed about. I will save my freak outs for the end of August though.
blaccat

Post by blaccat »

kajifu wrote:Fellow gooners what if COQ does not perform like this second half of the season?
We saw how Ramsey was magic in 2013-2014 season and this 2014-2015 season e get has e be.
What if Sanchez doesn't too, what if What if

Everything is a gamble, signing a player is a gamble just as not signing one is also a gamble.

If we keep playing the what if game, we will lose our minds
Remember who you are, what you are and who you represent - Arsenal FC

Anyway make I enjoy my family vacation .... I will join this headache later on in the week :roll:

anikulapo wrote:Anyway make I enjoy my family vacation .... I will join this headache later on in the week :roll:
:agree: Na vacation are dey sef with family though i choose wrong location.
amafolas

Post by amafolas »

CDM is the easiest position to fill. Question, when has Wenger ever gone out and bought a player for that position that didn't pan out. He bought Petit, he came good. He bought Gilberto, he was gold. In fact, the only persons that ever failed at CDM for us both happened when he tried to convert in-house CMs into CDM (i.e. Diaby and Denilson). Heck Wenger took an over the hill but intelligent ACM like Arteta and made him into a decent enough CDM for us for 2 seasons. He took a position-less CM in Flamini and in 2008 turned him into a solid DM. Coq was on his way out of the club, until he came in and did a job.

My point. Finding a CDM or CM that can come in and do a decent job as the primary backup for CDM position is not that hard. It is not 1/10th as difficult as finding a quality striker.
"We will go through the gate. If the gate is closed, we will go over the fence. If the fence is too high, we will pole vault in. If that doesn’t work, we will parachute in. But we are going to get health-care reform passed"
Nancy Pelosi, 01/28/2010 after Scott Brown got elected to Ted Kennedy's senate seat.
Tunisian Gooner

Post by Tunisian Gooner »

Hmmm N'Zonzi to Sevilla for 7 MP..What do Sevilla know about identifying talent... :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:
Detective Bunk Moreland

'The bigger the lie, the more they believe'
PapaK

Post by PapaK »

amafolas wrote:CDM is the easiest position to fill. Question, when has Wenger ever gone out and bought a player for that position that didn't pan out. He bought Petit, he came good. He bought Gilberto, he was gold. In fact, the only persons that ever failed at CDM for us both happened when he tried to convert in-house CMs into CDM (i.e. Diaby and Denilson). Heck Wenger took an over the hill but intelligent ACM like Arteta and made him into a decent enough CDM for us for 2 seasons. He took a position-less CM in Flamini and in 2008 turned him into a solid DM. Coq was on his way out of the club, until he came in and did a job.

My point. Finding a CDM or CM that can come in and do a decent job as the primary backup for CDM position is not that hard. It is not 1/10th as difficult as finding a quality striker.
so, if Wenger did all these, why then do you not trust him to be able to do same with Arteta, Chambers, Bielik, Wilshere or even Ramsey this season? It's not the price tag that matters
Never enter into a quarrel with an id!ot, lest he drag you down to his level and then beat you up with experience.

Tunisian Gooner wrote:Hmmm N'Zonzi to Sevilla for 7 MP..What do Sevilla know about identifying talent... :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: You should be his agent.
Tunisian Gooner

Tunisian Gooner wrote:Hmmm N'Zonzi to Sevilla for 7 MP..What do Sevilla know about identifying talent... :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: You should be his agent.
Shitttttttttttt how am I suppose live off a piss ant commission of 7 MP.... :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
Detective Bunk Moreland

No worry, Wenger has an ace up his sleeve.

Southampton must have thought there will be a bidding war to increase the fee to £30m plus (they wanted £30m) but Arsenal pulled out immediately they asked for £30m (Arsenal valued him at £15m) scuppering any plans they had for a bidding war.
Tunisian Gooner

No worry, Wenger has an ace up his sleeve.

Southampton must have thought there will be a bidding war to increase the fee to £30m plus (they wanted £30m) but Arsenal pulled out immediately they asked for £30m (Arsenal valued him at £15m) scuppering any plans they had for a bidding war.
Nah...AW just up to same old bargain hunting policy. Again Gooners hardly demanding Pogba, needs of this Arsenal obvious, Arsenal no longer need to haggle.
Detective Bunk Moreland