MESSI in Gabon to lay foundation stone of CAN venue

Re: MESSI in Gabon to lay foundation stone of CAN venue

akamoke wrote:
Benedict Iroha wrote:
Rawlings wrote:Kim Khadashain was paid $500K to spend 45 minutes in Naija
(http://saharareporters.com/2013/02/18/k ... ria-photos)

at least Gabon invited somebody with a lot of talent (outside the bedroom) :laugh:
Africans are not ready Obama went to Ghana just to make them dance & the USA will benefit from the real reason he visited!
Imagine what $500K would have done for the children of Afuze :oops:
speak my brother...that is just typical naija....500k for a reality star who became famous for a sex tape.....its sad.....our priorities are fked up.....that money could go building a decent school.
If it's public money, I would agree but since its private money (as much as I would have preferred the money be used elsewhere) they are perfectly within their right to blow it on a cat show for all I care.
In Africa, Private money is govt-money-in-disguise

cic old boy wrote:Image
See the president Ali Buffoon Bongo driving Messi. No effing self-respect.

Kai!! :roll: :roll:
No way to spin this one sha...damn! In fact you could see that the President was excited to do it too...It is a damn shame if you ask me...smh

Rawlings wrote:Kim Khadashain was paid $500K to spend 45 minutes in Naija
(http://saharareporters.com/2013/02/18/k ... ria-photos)

at least Gabon invited somebody with a lot of talent (outside the bedroom) :laugh:
What talent does Kardashian have in the bedroom?

kajifu wrote:Let Messi donate the money he got paid to a soccer foundation in Africa.
But news is when Eto'o went to Gabon with Xavi,Messi was to follow but Messi did not make the trip and promise Eto'o he will go to Gabon if another occasion is to take place.But why accept money?
They could've offered to "pay" him the money on the condition that he immediately donates it to the construction of whatever it is that's being constructed and as a token of appreciation have it named after him.

Vincent.

Post by Vincent. »

ohsee wrote:Total disrespect for the Gabonese by Messi. But some of you are OK with it.
How? According to reports, he went there at Etoo's request.
Eto’o, Ronaldinho, Deco, and Messi are like good caviar, tender pine-nuts, chemical-free sea salt, and the purest of virgin olive oils, said one of the world's greatest chefs, Ferran Adria of El Bulli restaurant, Before Barca went on to wallop Madrid 3-0 at the Bernabeu.

“I believe the target of anything in life should be to do it so well that it becomes an art. Football is like that. When I watch Barcelona, it is art” — Arsène Wenger, August 2009
Vincent.

Post by Vincent. »

kajifu wrote:Let Messi donate the money he got paid to a soccer foundation in Africa.
But news is when Eto'o went to Gabon with Xavi,Messi was to follow but Messi did not make the trip and promise Eto'o he will go to Gabon if another occasion is to take place.But why accept money?
They could've offered to "pay" him the money on the condition that he immediately donates it to the construction of whatever it is that's being constructed and as a token of appreciation have it named after him.
Apparently, he was not paid. At least, the Gabonese have said they did not pay him
Eto’o, Ronaldinho, Deco, and Messi are like good caviar, tender pine-nuts, chemical-free sea salt, and the purest of virgin olive oils, said one of the world's greatest chefs, Ferran Adria of El Bulli restaurant, Before Barca went on to wallop Madrid 3-0 at the Bernabeu.

“I believe the target of anything in life should be to do it so well that it becomes an art. Football is like that. When I watch Barcelona, it is art” — Arsène Wenger, August 2009

@Vince, take nothing away from Messi's footballing pedigree, amongst the game's most godly without doubt, but, if invited by John Terry to cut a red ribbon with Dave Caneron, would he have arrived in such attire?
Catalyst

Post by Catalyst »

Did this man just put his seat belt under his armpit?

Is that how it is supposed to be for this kind of vehicle for the driver's side? At least Messi's side look like it is in the right position.
Christ died for our sins, and was resurrected for our sake. This is indisputable. This is the center of it all.
The earth is not our home.

http://img704.imageshack.us/img704/7711/opaks.gif
http://www.katzy.dsl.pipex.com/Smileys/bsflag.gif

Vincent. wrote:
Apparently, he was not paid. At least, the Gabonese have said they did not pay him

They said they didn't pay him. They will also tell you their president knows how to fasten a seatbelt.
Vincent.

Post by Vincent. »

Vincent. wrote:

They said they didn't pay him. They will also tell you their president knows how to fasten a seatbelt.
We have to accept what they say unless we have proof that he was paid. We should not be judging people without the relevant facts. The reason I believe he was not paid is that I saw a Twitter post by Samuel Etoo thanking Messi and Deco for helping out (that was before Messi arrived in Gabon). Why would Etoo be thanking Messi if he was just going there to collect $millions for 15 minutes of "work?"

Below are Etoo's Tweets:
"I wish you @leomessi a safe journey to my other country Gabon," Eto'o wrote, alongside the image. "There, you will discover warm and welcoming people.

"Thank you for keeping your promise! I couldn't be there with you because my agenda didn't allow for it, but enjoy your stay. As agreed, after Libreville, it will be Yaoundw. See you soon! SEF."

Here is another report claiming that the visit is also linked to Etoo's academy in Gabon:
Eto'o, who wasn't with them on the plane, has had a training centre in Gabon for the last three years and has thanked Messi and Deco for keeping their word and visiting the African country.
http://www.sport-english.com/en/news/ba ... oo-4365784

Vincent.

Post by Vincent. »

Coach wrote:@Vince, take nothing away from Messi's footballing pedigree, amongst the game's most godly without doubt, but, if invited by John Terry to cut a red ribbon with Dave Caneron, would he have arrived in such attire?
Maybe not, but do you really expect Cameron to go and welcome Messi at the airport and personally drive him around in a small SUV?

The fact that Bongo himself was casually dressed and personally driving the vehicle suggests that was the way he wanted it, unless people are going to accuse Messi of forcing Bongo to dress casually, leave his limousines behind, and dispense with the services of his chauffeurs... :D

Vince Eto'o is Bongo friend and through Eto'o Bongo was able to link up with Messi.
If Messi w as going there for eto'o academy,why is Eto'o not there?

kajifu wrote:Vince Eto'o is Bongo friend and through Eto'o Bongo was able to link up with Messi.
If Messi w as going there for eto'o academy,why is Eto'o not there?

Messi is on holiday. Eto'o is not.
hestonap

Post by hestonap »

O mother Africa.
God bless and keep Nigeria and make his face shine on her undeserving as she may be.

Kai!! :roll: :roll:
No way to spin this one sha...damn! In fact you could see that the President was excited to do it too...It is a damn shame if you ask me...smh
...the man is no different from the arse-licking NFA chief we have in Nigeria, and would be jealous of Bongo guy. He already compared/equate Oliseh to pep :boo:
Ghanaba
Re: So Messi received 2.4 million pounds to lay a stone in G

Post by Ghanaba »

Samora Machel wrote::rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Africa is well and truly fokked :curse: :curse: :curse:
My brother, did you have an epiphany? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
You either laugh or cry. either way we are royally fokked :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Bàtà orí àkìtàn náà ròde ìyàwò rí

Vincent. wrote:
Coach wrote:@Vince, take nothing away from Messi's footballing pedigree, amongst the game's most godly without doubt, but, if invited by John Terry to cut a red ribbon with Dave Caneron, would he have arrived in such attire?
Maybe not, but do you really expect Cameron to go and welcome Messi at the airport and personally drive him around in a small SUV?

The fact that Bongo himself was casually dressed and personally driving the vehicle suggests that was the way he wanted it, unless people are going to accuse Messi of forcing Bongo to dress casually, leave his limousines behind, and dispense with the services of his chauffeurs... :D
If Messi asked I'm sure Bongo would have complied so you never know.

it's obvious the tax cheat will say he wasn't paid...duh

Here's the full rant: “The Messiah of football arrived as if he was going to a zoo in Gabon: dirty, unshaven and with his hands in his pockets like he was looking to swing peanuts! We called Lionel Messi, who is a multi-billionaire, but no one has the right to appear before officials of the same banana republic … hands in the pockets of torn and ragged shorts .. . Hands in pockets, it is a total lack of manners, it is appalling. Gabon is not a zoo! It is not known why the Argentine picked Gabon but at least we have the right to terminate his neglect, lack of respect for the standards and principles. It is uncomfortable to see the attitude and attire of Messi. Just for these reasons related to compliance with the host country, we condemn the dishonesty of the footballer and this is the minimum!”
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Gooner1

Post by Gooner1 »

Enugu II wrote:Image
Here's the full rant: “The Messiah of football arrived as if he was going to a zoo in Gabon: dirty, unshaven and with his hands in his pockets like he was looking to swing peanuts! We called Lionel Messi, who is a multi-billionaire, but no one has the right to appear before officials of the same banana republic … hands in the pockets of torn and ragged shorts .. . Hands in pockets, it is a total lack of manners, it is appalling. Gabon is not a zoo! It is not known why the Argentine picked Gabon but at least we have the right to terminate his neglect, lack of respect for the standards and principles. It is uncomfortable to see the attitude and attire of Messi. Just for these reasons related to compliance with the host country, we condemn the dishonesty of the footballer and this is the minimum!”
:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :agree:
.......when africans start respecting themselves.........others will
“If this year, you cannot compete with Spurs, with all the respect I have for them, and Leicester, then change your sport. I’m sorry.” Emmanuel Petit

"I didn't buy Arsenal stake to win trophies" Kroneke

Gooner1 wrote:
Enugu II wrote:Image
:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :agree:
.......when africans start respecting themselves.........others will
you projecting your own cultural values which he may not share or in the least even be aware of / and you forgot that just only few years back this was wrenched boy growing up in some remote dusty Argentinian town so he wasn't exactly raised in Buckingham palace with etiquettes etc, whatever few protocols he knows now are something he had to pick up along the way.

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."