Oliseh v Enyeama, how it happened.

Nzeamaka
Re: Oliseh , you are on your own here

Post by Nzeamaka »

Jeez ..... Not again, mod merge plsssss
Re: Oliseh v Enyeama, how it happened.

BAP wrote:The burial was a week ago abeg .. Does the world end because his mother died..

When Mikel's father was kidnapped did that give him excuse to show the Chelsea coach that he was a big man ..?/
The man lives in France .. he saw the mother what 4, 5 times a year ?

Abeg Enyeama is a professional he is not excused from team rules because of his situation
Golly. :shock:
You took the words out of my mouth... :shock:
My guy me too weak oh...I am not even sure the knucklehead realize what he did and frankly it is a damn shame...that is if you ask me...smh

BAP wrote:The burial was a week ago abeg .. Does the world end because his mother died..

When Mikel's father was kidnapped did that give him excuse to show the Chelsea coach that he was a big man ..?/

Abeg Enyeama is a professional he is not excused from team rules because of his situation
My guy me too weak oh...I am not even sure the knucklehead realize what he did and frankly it is a damn shame...that is if you ask me...smh

He has no idea what he's said wrong. None. If I had to point out a potential 'Dexter' or 'Jack the Ripper' in our midst, BAP would be top of that list right about now.

How did he publically embarrass him? Do you trust Colin Udoh? Because he corroborated Muyiwa's version of the event. Enyeama wanted to explain his side why he was late etc and Oliseh told him to sit down. He is the captain and the longest serving SE EVER! EVER! He just buried his mom, he can't be allowed to explain himself?
I dont know if you are on twitter, but check out the accounts of a handle known as "mr Mowiz" @guysly2much. He is also pretty close to the SE and has a version of the story that states what enyeama said. He has been pretty reliable in the past. I rather not post the stuff here because it is more uncorroborated "heresay" which will just add more fuel to the fire.
This is good :drool:
The sources are "apparently" similar to Muyiwa's but there are 3 players ... :thumbs:

So without further ado and in order to correct a lot of misinformation, allow me to do the needful.
BTW, I think Pa Oshee has the sanest take on things so far.... :thumbs:
:shock: :shock:
Well he is boasting but you be the judge. :)

BAP wrote:
opine wrote:
BAP wrote:
Enugu II wrote:IMHO, I do not see anything dramatically different from the story reported by Muyiwalawal and Collins. While it is clear that there are some opinionated stuff in Muyiwalawal’s piece, the core of his story is not that different from Collins. In fact, his story is more detailed than Collins’ is.

In any case, I believe Oliseh allowed emotions to overcome him in handling the matter. It was a difficult situation for him going by the story. It seems apparent that he wanted to get things under control by asserting his authority (Which he has) at the meeting by noting that he determines who speaks but it is apparent that Enyeama would not let that happen because he also wanted to set the record straight in front of everyone. Unfortunately, with both of them committed to controlling the narrative at the meeting the conflict quickly became public. It seems to me that Oliseh should have privately informed Enyeama before the talk with the Ambassador to let him know that Musa will now represent the players. That way the embarrassment of having Enyeama step up to speak would have been avoided. Moreover, such a private setting would have been a way to limit the bust up. However, it isn’t foolproof because such a bust up even in private may have delayed the meeting with the Ambassador and a scene would still have been created.

Any how, the claim that the SO’s talk on LB was directed to Echiejile is merely speculative. Is it possible that SO simply used the LB as an example whereas he may be referring to his dissatisfaction with play in several other positions? Afterall, the key reference is his disappointment with the team practice and not just Echiejile’s efforts. I do not believe that Muyiwalawal was even specific on this but I see that some forumers are already taking this speculation and running with it as if it was stated with conviction. Ultimately, I see nothing wrong in Oliseh exploding in a meeting with the players particularly if the practice was poor. He has to send the message that such effort is unacceptable and it is a message that needed to be sent to the group.

One thing that is clear to me is that Oliseh let his emotion take over. It is likely that he was miffed about Enyeama’s absence in the Tanzania game. Yes, Enyeama lost a parent but the point was the coaching staff were not informed about this until past the deadline for Enyeama to report. Now I am assuming that the passing of Enyeama’s mother occurred prior to the deadline for him to be in camp. This may have been interpreted by Oliseh as disrespect for his position particularly since Enyeama had seemed close to his predecessor (SK). With Ikeme performing well in absence of Enyeama, Oliseh may well have decided to call Enyeama’s bluff. But the passing of Enyeama’s mother was not the best moment to cut the cord on Enyeama. Thus, Enyeama’s invitation for these friendlies was another chance. However, with Enyeama turning up late for the friendlies, SO may have reached the boiling point and then Enyeama refusing to shut up at the meeting in spite of SO’s requests to do so may have quickly brought SO to undue explosion.

These are just my interpretations.

The reality now is that it is simply impossible for the two to co-exist at least during the two friendly games. Since Oliseh is coach, the best move is to support his actions NOW. After this weekend then this issue may be re-visited with SO to ascertain if he is willing to give Enyeama a chance and if he feels Enyeama still fits into his plans going forward. After all, he is the coach. My tuppence.

Well said

People forget that Oliseh stood up for Enyeama during the Kaduna Comment Matter just a few months ago .

http://www.thisdaylive.com/articles/oli ... nt/213288/

The Whole Enyeama had to bury his mother a few days ago narrative is overplayed in my mind. For one thing his Mother died over a month ago and grown men still function professionally even when their mother's die. He has played many games for his club since his mother died hasnt he ?
Are you freakin kidding me?! Whether it was a month ago she died, the guy just looked at his own mother in a casket only a matter of hours ago. C'mon man. Give me break!
The burial was a week ago abeg .. Does the world end because his mother died..

:scared: wow that is some extreme ish.

Some of our people lack the empathy gene sha.

Bros e no reach like dat o. :boo:

I have lead everyone's comment but the one from the guy called BAP....is disgraceful.......maybe he should wait till he loses someone....utterly disgraceful :shock: :shock: :shock:

BAP

Post by BAP »

BAP wrote:
BAP wrote:
opine wrote:
BAP wrote:
Enugu II wrote:IMHO, I do not see anything dramatically different from the story reported by Muyiwalawal and Collins. While it is clear that there are some opinionated stuff in Muyiwalawal’s piece, the core of his story is not that different from Collins. In fact, his story is more detailed than Collins’ is.

In any case, I believe Oliseh allowed emotions to overcome him in handling the matter. It was a difficult situation for him going by the story. It seems apparent that he wanted to get things under control by asserting his authority (Which he has) at the meeting by noting that he determines who speaks but it is apparent that Enyeama would not let that happen because he also wanted to set the record straight in front of everyone. Unfortunately, with both of them committed to controlling the narrative at the meeting the conflict quickly became public. It seems to me that Oliseh should have privately informed Enyeama before the talk with the Ambassador to let him know that Musa will now represent the players. That way the embarrassment of having Enyeama step up to speak would have been avoided. Moreover, such a private setting would have been a way to limit the bust up. However, it isn’t foolproof because such a bust up even in private may have delayed the meeting with the Ambassador and a scene would still have been created.

Any how, the claim that the SO’s talk on LB was directed to Echiejile is merely speculative. Is it possible that SO simply used the LB as an example whereas he may be referring to his dissatisfaction with play in several other positions? Afterall, the key reference is his disappointment with the team practice and not just Echiejile’s efforts. I do not believe that Muyiwalawal was even specific on this but I see that some forumers are already taking this speculation and running with it as if it was stated with conviction. Ultimately, I see nothing wrong in Oliseh exploding in a meeting with the players particularly if the practice was poor. He has to send the message that such effort is unacceptable and it is a message that needed to be sent to the group.

One thing that is clear to me is that Oliseh let his emotion take over. It is likely that he was miffed about Enyeama’s absence in the Tanzania game. Yes, Enyeama lost a parent but the point was the coaching staff were not informed about this until past the deadline for Enyeama to report. Now I am assuming that the passing of Enyeama’s mother occurred prior to the deadline for him to be in camp. This may have been interpreted by Oliseh as disrespect for his position particularly since Enyeama had seemed close to his predecessor (SK). With Ikeme performing well in absence of Enyeama, Oliseh may well have decided to call Enyeama’s bluff. But the passing of Enyeama’s mother was not the best moment to cut the cord on Enyeama. Thus, Enyeama’s invitation for these friendlies was another chance. However, with Enyeama turning up late for the friendlies, SO may have reached the boiling point and then Enyeama refusing to shut up at the meeting in spite of SO’s requests to do so may have quickly brought SO to undue explosion.

The reality now is that it is simply impossible for the two to co-exist at least during the two friendly games. Since Oliseh is coach, the best move is to support his actions NOW. After this weekend then this issue may be re-visited with SO to ascertain if he is willing to give Enyeama a chance and if he feels Enyeama still fits into his plans going forward. After all, he is the coach. My tuppence.

Well said

People forget that Oliseh stood up for Enyeama during the Kaduna Comment Matter just a few months ago .

The Whole Enyeama had to bury his mother a few days ago narrative is overplayed in my mind. For one thing his Mother died over a month ago and grown men still function professionally even when their mother's die. He has played many games for his club since his mother died hasnt he ?
Are you freakin kidding me?! Whether it was a month ago she died, the guy just looked at his own mother in a casket only a matter of hours ago. C'mon man. Give me break!

I get your point and if you've been reading, I tend to agree with you but the highlighted comment is the height of silliness.
What is silly about the point ... ?

Enyeama is a grown man who lives and works in another country .. He is not a five year old whose life revolves around his mother and cannot function without his mother. A week after his mother died he was playing for his club so what is silly about the point ?

Abeg stop being more catholic than the pope
Not sure what Catholicism has to do with anything. What does how many times you see your parent have to do with how much you love them????? It IS a silly point.
I'm not saying he cannot function without her, that's not what's silly about your point. The fact that you're counting how many times he saw his mother as a measure of love is one of the most bizarre things I've heard on these pages.
Well just because something is over your head doesnt make it bizzare or silly and furthermore who said anything about love ...? It raher says something about your ability to think deep :mrgreen:

The simple point embedded in "the number of times a year he saw her" quip which apparently you find so bizzare (I'll say it's simply over your head) is that she is not an integral part of his day to day life whereby losing her would then impact his ability to function professionally. An assertion which is easily borne out by the fact that he played for his club merely a week after her death and had done so many times since ...

The "being more catholic than the pope" comment is a commonly utilized saying about those who cry more than the bereaved . Giving that Mr Enyeama himself seemingly made no reference to his mothers death as a factor in all this but other people are doing so on his behalf and with such unfettered conviction too.

Hope that clears things up for you some !!!

BAP wrote:
opine wrote:
BAP wrote:

Well said

I get your point and if you've been reading, I tend to agree with you but the highlighted comment is the height of silliness.
BaP:

respectfully disagree. As a college student in a far away country, I saw my Mom max once every 2 years. I was devastated beyond description when she suddenly passed on...almost 20 yrs later, I can't even begin to say I am over it. Some people suffer/mourn differently from others, and I won't knock them on that. The farthest I can go is Plat's position, which is him asking to be excused until he can function in the SE. I would not knock him for crying over the loss of his Mom like a little kid...these things HURT!

platinum wrote:Fair point sir but I'm sure he wouldn't try to interrupt his coaches when they speak and would ask permission before making a speech.
Even in the unlikely event that he did, doubt that would be the coach's response...

We could digress into why folks feel the need to "interrupt" in Nigeria (or among Nigerians), but that would be a whole different discourse. In this context though, suffice it to state that Oliseh (whom btw I happen to like) instigated this entire episode - by so publicly de-captaining dude - and then seemingly compounded it with his (alleged) insensitivity.
Last edited by Gotti on Wed Oct 07, 2015 8:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

BAP

Post by BAP »

BAP wrote:
opine wrote:
BAP wrote:

Well said

BaP:

respectfully disagree. As a college student in a far away country, I saw my Mom max once every 2 years. I was devastated beyond description when she suddenly passed on...almost 20 yrs later, I can't even begin to say I am over it. Some people suffer/mourn differently from others, and I won't knock them on that. The farthest I can go is Plat's position, which is him asking to be excused until he can function in the SE. I would not knock him for crying over the loss of his Mom like a little kid...these things HURT!
Did I say he shouldn't mourn his mother ? What does all that have to do with functioning professionally ?

Do you walk around your job expecting people to give you special attention because you lost your mother ?

Did Enyeama himself say his mother has anything to do with this ?
Last edited by BAP on Wed Oct 07, 2015 8:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

platinum wrote:Fair point sir but I'm sure he wouldn't try to interrupt his coaches when they speak and would ask permission before making a speech.
Even in the unlikely event that he did, doubt that would be the coach's response...

We could digress into why folks feel the need to "interrupt" in Nigeria, but that would be a whole another discourse. In this context though, suffice it to state that Oliseh (whom btw I happen to like) instigated this entire episode - not least by de-captaining dude so publicly without forewarning.
Gotti,

I don't know if you can say the highlighted with conviction. None of really know if he did or not. There are reports that Enyeama was not going to play on Thursday and was not scheduled to train yesterday but he decided to show up anyway knowing that the Musa was the acting captain in camp. The said report claimed he was coming to look for trouble......

I don't know what to believe to be honest.

I just know that humans have compassion and I am hoping so does Oliseh. So in order for Oliseh to discard his compassionate feeling towards VE due to the loss of his mother and still send him out of the camp forcibly, VE must have crossed a MAJOR line.
BAP

Post by BAP »

Enyi wrote:

I have lead everyone's comment but the one from the guy called BAP....is disgraceful.......maybe he should wait till he loses someone....utterly disgraceful :shock: :shock: :shock:

Abeg all you cry baby's should go Pound Sand and Hug transformers over my comments ... if you wish

If you want to twist my words into what it's not then that's your palaver :mrgreen: useless people pstcheeeew

Such a horrible thing to say, I just shook my head in disgust. Some people really have issues upstairs.

Kabalega wrote:
How did he publically embarrass him? Do you trust Colin Udoh? Because he corroborated Muyiwa's version of the event. Enyeama wanted to explain his side why he was late etc and Oliseh told him to sit down. He is the captain and the longest serving SE EVER! EVER! He just buried his mom, he can't be allowed to explain himself?
I dont know if you are on twitter, but check out the accounts of a handle known as "mr Mowiz" @guysly2much. He is also pretty close to the SE and has a version of the story that states what enyeama said. He has been pretty reliable in the past. I rather not post the stuff here because it is more uncorroborated "heresay" which will just add more fuel to the fire.
This is good :drool:
The sources are "apparently" similar to Muyiwa's but there are 3 players ... :thumbs:

So without further ado and in order to correct a lot of misinformation, allow me to do the needful.
BTW, I think Pa Oshee has the sanest take on things so far.... :thumbs:
:shock: :shock:
Well he is boasting but you be the judge. :)

This is ugly. Wow.
BAP

Post by BAP »

BAP wrote:
opine wrote:
BAP wrote:

Well said

:scared: wow that is some extreme ish.

Some of our people lack the empathy gene sha.

Bros e no reach like dat o. :boo:
Na you sabi .. If you want pop a vein over what Bap said .. ...:)
Last edited by BAP on Wed Oct 07, 2015 8:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

BAP wrote: Well just because something is over your head doesnt make it bizzare or silly and furthermore who said anything about love ...? It raher says something about your ability to think deep :mrgreen:

The simple point embedded in "the number of times a year he saw her" quip which apparently you find so bizzare (I'll say it's simply over your head) is that she is not an integral part of his day to day life whereby losing her would then impact his ability to function professionally. An assertion which is easily borne out by the fact that he played for his club merely a week after her death and had done so many times since ...

The "being more catholic than the pope" comment is a commonly utilized saying about those who cry more than the bereaved . Giving that Mr Enyeama himself seemingly made no reference to his mothers death as a factor in all this but other people are doing so on his behalf and with such unfettered conviction too.

Keep digging.

BAP wrote:The "being more catholic than the pope" comment is a commonly utilized saying about those who cry more than the bereaved . Giving that Mr Enyeama himself seemingly made no reference to his mothers death as a factor in all this but other people are doing so on his behalf and with such unfettered conviction too.

BAP

Post by BAP »

BAP wrote:The "being more catholic than the pope" comment is a commonly utilized saying about those who cry more than the bereaved . Giving that Mr Enyeama himself seemingly made no reference to his mothers death as a factor in all this but other people are doing so on his behalf and with such unfettered conviction too.

Thanks for the instagram link ... I am going by the first hand real tiem reports by Muyiwa Lawal/Colimn uDOH and others not by what Enyeama posts on Instargram AFTER the whole palaver had taken place ...
Last edited by BAP on Wed Oct 07, 2015 8:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

BAP wrote:
opine wrote:
BAP wrote:

Well said

BaP:

We've been on this forum for well, for quite a bit...through the ayo akinfe's and rossike's and allard stories and all kinds of shenanigans. This is the most bizarre comment I can remember any forumer making in that time. A man should not be hurt by his parent's passing because after all he only saw her a few times a year. Even dogs have more empathy than that.

He has no idea what he's said wrong. None. If I had to point out a potential 'Dexter' or 'Jack the Ripper' in our midst, BAP would be top of that list right about now.
...welcome to compassionate cons, hypocrites, and bible clingers of our time. Yep, and they own and run everything :???:
mojojojo

Post by mojojojo »

Na wa wo.

Vincent Enyeama has hinted more than once that he wants to resign from SE. He even went as far as suggesting that SE need to find a replacement for him. And he has had his fair share of tussles with coaches. I remember Vogts (or Lagerback?) dropping him for Ejide for his lack of attitude.

That said his contributions to SE over the years are undeniable and far outweigh that of Oliseh.

Oliseh should have handled it better.

This is just a quarrel between a senior player that is not fully committed and a coach irritated by his unavailability and lack of desire.

Shameful that it had to go down like this.

VE will always be a legend.

We could digress into why folks feel the need to "interrupt" in Nigeria (or among Nigerians), but that would be a whole different discourse. In this context though, suffice it to state that Oliseh (whom btw I happen to like) instigated this entire episode - by so publicly de-captaining dude - and then seemingly compounded it with his (alleged) insensitivity.
In alignment, KPOM!!!
BAP

Post by BAP »

BAP wrote:
opine wrote:
BAP wrote:

Well said

BaP:

We've been on this forum for well, for quite a bit...through the ayo akinfe's and rossike's and allard stories and all kinds of shenanigans. This is the most bizarre comment I can remember any forumer making in that time. A man should not be hurt by his parent's passing because after all he only saw her a few times a year. Even dogs have more empathy than that.
And only fools and liars twist peoples words to make a a point while arguing against the creation of their own Imagination!!

Never said the man shouldn't be hurt simply said the man shouldn't be exempted from the rules of professionalism especially weeks after said breavement and after they have proven that they are well capable of conducting themselves in a professional manner :mrgreen: :)
Last edited by BAP on Wed Oct 07, 2015 8:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.