WAS OLISEH RIGHT TO DROP MIKEL & UWA?

Re: WAS OLISEH RIGHT TO DROP MIKEL & UWA?

Mikel should be banish from the team....useless sideway player

He is the COACH and he can drop whom ever he wants to drop...................Nobody is bigger than the team and nation.

I think Mikel has no place in Oliseh's Eagles, but Chima Akas is not better than Uwa from what I saw.

Benedict Iroha wrote:Mikel should be banish from the team....useless sideway player

Onobi mostly passed sideways and backwards today if you are being honest with yourself. I watched very closely in crystal clear HD.

Mikel was far better than Onobi, that is the truth , once you get past all these anti Mikel sentiments.

Don't worry , water will soon reach its level with this continued Yeye approach. I do not see us getting past Egypt in the ANCQ.
Last edited by vancity eagle on Tue Nov 17, 2015 6:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Benedict Iroha wrote:Mikel should be banish from the team....useless sideway player
Don't over reach my brother...there is a time for everyone, the simple truth is the likes of Mikel are suited for a particular type of game. This is Swaziland, some players just struggle to motivate themselves for certain type of matches...but let no one think or be deluded into thinking Mikel is no longer needed.

KPOM!

olumide

Post by olumide »

Nigeria is 53.2 times as large as Swaziland. Nigeria's population is more than 100 times that of Swaziland. Nigeria is one of the most decorated teams in Africa, in addition to some success at the World Cup, Olympic, and Global youth level. Swaziland has never qualified for a tournament in the entirety of its history. No disrespect to those boys, because they played hard and competed, but it would be an embarrassment for any group of Nigerian players to fail in the assignment of beating Swaziland over two legs. No one should receive any real credit for a 2-0 result over 180 minutes. You do not see European teams lauding coaches or decisions after beating San Marino or Andorra.

Ho-hum. Job done. Please sort out the team for the genuine challenges that lay ahead, because they are many.

oloye wrote:The truth is against okporoko teams from Swaziland, a team of home based boys who know how to treat minnows and put them in their place should be used. When you go against fellow big teams who boast of fellow ajebutter rich foreign pros..then rely on our own too. Why we took so many foreign pro to Swaziland in the first place baffled me..we should have faced them with the CHAN team.

This is a very stupid way of thinking.

Why would u use 2 different teams ?

When will the main team learn to play with each other ? When tournaments begin ?

You don't play 2 different teams for qualifying and then for tournaments.

NO TEAM IN THE WORLD DOES THIS.

Only backwards thinking will ask for this kind of thing.

Your team is your team, regardless of who or where you play.
Ever heard about styles and matchups?
olumide

Post by olumide »

Onobi mostly passed sideways and backwards today if you are being honest with yourself. I watched very closely in crystal clear HD.

Mikel was far better than Onobi, that is the truth , once you get past all these anti Mikel sentiments.

Don't worry , water will soon reach its level with this continued Yeye approach. I do not see us getting past Egypt in the ANCQ.
I just wonder if people are saying these things if Ikeme does not tip that shot over the bar. SE did not play significantly better than the previous match.

olumide wrote:Nigeria is 53.2 times as large as Swaziland. Nigeria's population is more than 100 times that of Swaziland. Nigeria is one of the most decorated teams in Africa, in addition to some success at the World Cup, Olympic, and Global youth level. Swaziland has never qualified for a tournament in the entirety of its history. No disrespect to those boys, because they played hard and competed, but it would be an embarrassment for any group of Nigerian players to fail in the assignment of beating Swaziland over two legs. No one should receive any real credit for a 2-0 result over 180 minutes. You do not see European teams lauding coaches or decisions after beating San Marino or Andorra.

Ho-hum. Job done. Please sort out the team for the genuine challenges that lay ahead, because they are many.

KPOM. They are celebrating a laboured victory over Swaziland at home. We could not score a goal during the run of play in 180 minutes.
:clap: :clap:

And the fools think we have arrived and want to banish our best player based on this mediocrity. I swear Nigerians are some very deluded people.

oloye wrote:The truth is against okporoko teams from Swaziland, a team of home based boys who know how to treat minnows and put them in their place should be used. When you go against fellow big teams who boast of fellow ajebutter rich foreign pros..then rely on our own too. Why we took so many foreign pro to Swaziland in the first place baffled me..we should have faced them with the CHAN team.
:thumb: Been saying this for a long time.
It is difficult to get the right mix but you sure need the 'raw' of the local boys in the fabrics against some African teams. It's been done from Westerhoff's time and was done when we almost crashed out of 2002 world cup and more recently in winning 2013 ACN.

Swaziland held us and we couldn't score from open play except from set pieces hmmmmm..una dey here dey masqurade... swaziland ooooo

truetalk wrote:

When will the main team learn to play with each other ? When tournaments begin ?

Ever heard about styles and matchups?

Yes I have heard of style match ups.

However you do not change your entire team for style match ups.

You may change parts of your starting 11, but not your 23 entirely. That is just plain dumb.

YemiBrazil wrote:
It is difficult to get the right mix but you sure need the 'raw' of the local boys in the fabrics against some African teams. It's been done from Westerhoff's time and was done when we almost crashed out of 2002 world cup and more recently in winning 2013 ACN.

U mean the same HB teams that couldn't beat Jordan, struggled against Yemen,will somehow be the answer to ANCQ.

Think again.

How come Ghana, CIV, Senegal, Algeria, do not employ this brilliant strategy ?

Again you guys are looking for the wrong fixes.
dudu

Post by dudu »

olumide wrote:

I just wonder if people are saying these things if Ikeme does not tip that shot over the bar. SE did not play significantly better than the previous match.
Did you watch the first match at all??? We hardly tested their goal keeper. Today Ighalo got thrice as much opportunities than He got in the first match, even though He didn't score He was always present. In Swaziland the midfield couldn't push the ball up front they were more comfortable knocking it around in our own half but once they ventured forward they lost the ball. Today was different, we put in enough balls into their box today, although we were not clinical.

YemiBrazil wrote:

U mean the same HB teams that couldn't beat Jordan, struggled against Yemen,will somehow be the answer to ANCQ.

Think again.

How come Ghana, CIV, Senegal, Algeria, do not employ this brilliant strategy ?

Again you guys are looking for the wrong fixes.
Read and understand before you start jumping on every comment. Keyword - MIX.
With Mikel that you are frothing in the mouth over in the team we played 0-0 in Swaziland.

dudu wrote:
olumide wrote:

Did you watch the first match at all??? We hardly tested their goal keeper. Today Ighalo got thrice as much opportunities than He got in the first match, even though He didn't score He was always present. In Swaziland the midfield couldn't push the ball up front they were more comfortable knocking it around in our own half but once they ventured forward they lost the ball. Today was different, we put in enough balls into their box today, although we were not clinical.
They see what they want to see :D

opine wrote:
Bigpokey24 wrote:against Swaziland, abegiii, bring on the likes of ghana away or CIV etc....
Then why were you menstruating all over the place earlier?
you must have mistaken me for someone else, Mikel was injured fyi
Then why open such useless thread in the first place? Next time call Mikel direct, abi Golden boy don block your number?

That man is old enough to be your Papa :veryangry: :veryangry: :veryangry: :veryangry: You can disagree with him without insulting him haba!!!!

Lori wrote:My own be say Paul Onobi looked the part today...dude ballled in the middle of the park....Mikel definitely wasn't missed in this game...big gamble by SO for taking out two key players in a must win game, and oh..Austin Oborakpo was immense today, another depth in our defense opens.

Nonsense. Looked what part ?

The guy did not make his presence known they way Mikel always does. He did nothing but keep it simple. Most of the time passed sideways or backwards, and I didn't see any urgency in him that Mikel supposedly lacked.

Play Onobi against Egypt, and better teams , on the road as well and you will see where all this rubbish will get you.

We struggled at home against Swaziland. 2 free kicks saved our blushes. This is Ke$hi all over again if u ask me.

Basically played like Mikel :dream: :dream: :dream: :dream:

airwolex wrote:I think Mikel has no place in Oliseh's Eagles, but Chima Akas is not better than Uwa from what I saw.
See why it is good to invite players till we get it right! You can either play your way in or out.

olumide wrote:Nigeria is 53.2 times as large as Swaziland. Nigeria's population is more than 100 times that of Swaziland. Nigeria is one of the most decorated teams in Africa, in addition to some success at the World Cup, Olympic, and Global youth level. Swaziland has never qualified for a tournament in the entirety of its history. No disrespect to those boys, because they played hard and competed, but it would be an embarrassment for any group of Nigerian players to fail in the assignment of beating Swaziland over two legs. No one should receive any real credit for a 2-0 result over 180 minutes. You do not see European teams lauding coaches or decisions after beating San Marino or Andorra.

This is the problem with CE and i guess some of our Players, football is steady moving forward while we are still thinking we can still show up with our CV.
icee

Post by icee »

Ugbowo wrote:This was a very big call by Oliseh.

I did not see anything in Mikel's performance in Swaziland to warrant it. Moreso if you add Mikel's last two SE games prior to this break, he was the consensus MOM. So yes I am a bit mystified that he dropped him. Uwa, not so much.

But Oliseh won the game, so for that we have to give him credit.

You if you reference the game thread from the 1st leg. There was a moment, when, in my view - light bulb came on , and stayed on when I saw Mikel with the ball. It was very clear to me that Mikel was slowing the transition down. What is funny is...that on this particular play, Mikel still made a good pass but then the Swazs had resettled. I stated during Keshi's time that I could see a SE without Mikel starting. Mikel can be KEY to certain styles of play BUT it became clear to me last week (as I had suspected since Keshi days) that Mikel's downside of a more deliberate / controlled middle form was much less what fit what was around him. What was around Mikel was begging for fast-transition ability. I was not shocked at all when he was subbed. I had always wondered if a coach had the guts do it. This makes me think Oliseh as an idea ....he knows the template he's looking for. Boy, I bet he'll wish that with the skill and technique Mikel has, Mikel can play a part in that quick transitions system BUT he is not conditioned that way. His muscles are not fast-twitch type - can't run fast, can shoot from afar. Mikel is a prime candidate to bring in to protect a lead. Keep things in control, increase close possession and stabilize the middle. To start, in what I see the SE becoming...I doubt. Overall - I think Mikel played well, very well, he played to his Mikel form in the first leg BUT i think SO reckons we need a different type of the midfielder. Mikel will probably start seeing less action not based on his performance the past few games BUT solely based on his style.