Musa Yahaya joins Portuguese 2nd division side Portimonense

Re: Musa Yahaya joins Portuguese 2nd division side Portimone

metalalloy wrote:Congrats to him. IMO, he has the talent to get himself out of the 2nd division.
Trust me , he would need more than talent! Talent is aplenty in Portugal!
What most people don't realize is the politics of sports and football. A lot of things will have to come together for a player to get the right opportunity. It starts with choosing your representatives wisely. I don't know why some of these young players don't go and seek out someone like John Shittu. The way he packaged and managed Mikel should be what these guys should be looking for.

It is like coming overseas. If you get with the wrong crew/crowd you will end up in purgatory... if not hell.
What makes you think they don't? The question is whether Shittu would agree to manage someone like Yahaya? Does Musa have the clout to make it worth Shittu's while? Yahaya does not have the same profile that Mikel had when the likes of Shittu snatched him from the agents like Fletcher (that obi allegedly had contracts with) in 2003.

obaGol wrote:
metalalloy wrote:Congrats to him. IMO, he has the talent to get himself out of the 2nd division.
What most people don't realize is the politics of sports and football. A lot of things will have to come together for a player to get the right opportunity. It starts with choosing your representatives wisely. I don't know why some of these young players don't go and seek out someone like John Shittu. The way he packaged and managed Mikel should be what these guys should be looking for.

It is like coming overseas. If you get with the wrong crew/crowd you will end up in purgatory... if not hell.
If all they are looking for is to make money and not really much impact, Shittu is your man. Can you compare Mikel and Messi's status now ? Mikel should have gone to Manu under a real coach. Instead he's begging to go to Rio now.
What are you talking about? Mikel made the right choice. He has had a long productive career. He is one of the most decorated African players not just Naijarian player.

You are the type that lead young players astray. John Shittu did a heck of a job with Mikel's career.

Ma broda,

The fact that Mikel who is now "soji" to the football business, still keeps Shittu as his agent says it all!

Cmoke :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D
obaGol wrote:

If all they are looking for is to make money and not really much impact, Shittu is your man. Can you compare Mikel and Messi's status now ? Mikel should have gone to Manu under a real coach. Instead he's begging to go to Rio now.
What are you talking about? Mikel made the right choice. He has had a long productive career. He is one of the most decorated African players not just Naijarian player.

You are the type that lead young players astray. John Shittu did a heck of a job with Mikel's career.

Post by Super Eagle »

Thank you! I have been telling them that it takes more than a talent to succeed at the highest level, but some peeps just don't get it. Once you step outside your locality, you'd realize that your so called talent isn't all that special because there are dozen or more other guys who are, perhaps, more talented than you. Then you'd need a "competitive edge" to get over the hump. Trust me on that one....I know.

O pari
Note to: Emir Kongi, big porkey, and smartbrother: Don't talk unless you can improve the silence. (c)
www.awooze.com

#BringBackOurGirls
Hashtag #KeshiDonHammer
obaGol

Post by obaGol »

Cmoke wrote:Ma broda,

The fact that Mikel who is now "soji" to the football business, still keeps Shittu as his agent says it all!

Cmoke :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D
obaGol wrote:

In life, as well as soccer, once must seek new challenges to improve ones self. Mike has had a long career alright but the success you are reffering to is less and less as a result of his impact. Instead of having some self respect and going somewhere to seek new challenges - like any player who truly believes in themselves would - he sits on the bench with a smile (perhaps he want's to be closer to his children - fair enough). That's not progress, that's not managing a career. Any dummy can sell a player that was ranked 2nd second to Messi over to a rich club like Chelsea. If Shittu really cared, he'd have let the boy go to develop under Ferguson, like Ronaldo and Beckham (two really successful individuals). But Shittu wanted to make money as fast as he could and look at the result.

If he was as good as we all think he is, Musa Yahaya would have walked straight into the Porto, Benfica or Sporting Lisbon teams. At 17, Cristiano Ronaldo was a Sporting regular and at 18, the great Ronaldo player evert PSV game that season.

Will Musa Yahaya just become another European journeyman? We all thought Rabiu was the new Okocha but alas, he failed to impress wherever he went. Hmmmmmmmmmmmmm.
rasak74

Post by rasak74 »

Ayo Akinfe wrote:If he was as good as we all think he is, Musa Yahaya would have walked straight into the Porto, Benfica or Sporting Lisbon teams. At 17, Cristiano Ronaldo was a Sporting regular and at 18, the great Ronaldo player evert PSV game that season.

Will Musa Yahaya just become another European journeyman? We all thought Rabiu was the new Okocha but alas, he failed to impress wherever he went. Hmmmmmmmmmmmmm.
How many Ronaldos do we have in Africa? African people sha, u have to crawl before you walk u know.

Rabiu is not a failure at trencin, he won a championship with dem and played a major part along the way.
Internet gangster
Uses the internet as a front for acting like a tough guy gang member, usually because they are hoping to gain the respect that they lack in their real life. Don't be fooled........This person is a sham. This person is not actually an attack dog, they are a timid house cat.
Troll
One who deliberately starts an argument in a manner which attacks others on a forum without in any way listening to the arguments proposed by his or her peers.

Ayo Akinfe wrote:If he was as good as we all think he is, Musa Yahaya would have walked straight into the Porto, Benfica or Sporting Lisbon teams. At 17, Cristiano Ronaldo was a Sporting regular and at 18, the great Ronaldo player evert PSV game that season.

What are you talking sef?
There is a whole range of ability between being a CRon-level player and a journeyman.
Why not list for us the 17 year old players in world history that were at that age 'sporting regulars' in top level clubs and tell us what percentage of total number of successful footballers they actually represent.

If we were to use your own warped criteria in your very own profession, you would be rated an absolute, total, unmitigated failure. :idea:

rasak74 wrote:

How many Ronaldos do we have in Africa? African people sha, u have to crawl before you walk u know.

Rabiu is not a failure at trencin, he won a championship with dem and played a major part along the way.
You appear to forget that Yahaya's nickname is Iniesta. He is supposed to be a world class talent as the name suggests!

rasak74 wrote:

You appear to forget that Yahaya's nickname is Iniesta. He is supposed to be a world class talent as the name suggests!
That was the name given to him by his peers in his local club even before he hit the national U17 team back home. Ayo you dey slack big time for this matta. :lol: :lol: :lol:
rasak74

Post by rasak74 »

rasak74 wrote:

Nickname?
Okoro messi nko?
Internet gangster
Uses the internet as a front for acting like a tough guy gang member, usually because they are hoping to gain the respect that they lack in their real life. Don't be fooled........This person is a sham. This person is not actually an attack dog, they are a timid house cat.
Troll
One who deliberately starts an argument in a manner which attacks others on a forum without in any way listening to the arguments proposed by his or her peers.

What are you talking sef?
There is a whole range of ability between being a CRon-level player and a journeyman.
Why not list for us the 17 year old players in world history that were at that age 'sporting regulars' in top level clubs and tell us what percentage of total number of successful footballers they actually represent.

If we were to use your own warped criteria in your very own profession, you would be rated an absolute, total, unmitigated failure. :idea:
No mind wAyo, na di kin argument e fit gerra away with for him local beer parlour. Ability is a distant requirement for success in sports. It might give you an opportunity to be looked at but there are many reasons why youth players have to go the circuitous route. There's the issue of work permit and limits on the number of foreign unproven talent the team can carry.

I wish we had a professionally ran league so these boys can keep playing until a better situation comes along.

Great players who excel after brilliant U17 World Cups generally go straight into the top league:

Babayaro: Anderlecht
Kanu: Ajax
Iheanacho: Man City
Mikel: Chelsea

When a player starts going down the route Musa Yahaya is going, I worry about them. They seldom make it to the summit!

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Great players who excel after brilliant U17 World Cups generally go straight into the top league:

Babayaro: Anderlecht
Kanu: Ajax
Iheanacho: Man City
Mikel: Chelsea

When a player starts going down the route Musa Yahaya is going, I worry about them. They seldom make it to the summit!
Different eras.

Plus you forget say Mikel was sequestered in Norway.

Again, it is about getting proper representation.

Not an ideal move, however, he is still only 18 and can still have a very successful career in Europe and for the SE with regular playing time . The likes of Drogba, essien, Yaya, oliseh, and ikepba all started with small clubs and went on to have very good careers. Even some European players first cut their teeth with small clubs via loan moves. Dele Alli is a good example.

olu wrote:Not an ideal move, however, he is still only 18 and can still have a very successful career in Europe and for the SE with regular playing time . The likes of Drogba, essien, Yaya, oliseh, and ikepba all started with small clubs and went on to have very good careers. Even some European players first cut their teeth with small clubs via loan moves. Dele Alli is a good example.
Exactly.
You'd think that older forumers would recognise that there is no single route to stardom. :roll:

Some of you can delude yourselves as much as you like but the truth of the matter is that the big teams have decided Yahaya is not good enough. This is a player who was on the books of Spurs for heaven sake!

What should have happened is that Spurs should have loaned him out to someone like Sporting Lisbon, Benfica, Genk, Feyernoord, Lille, etc. When a player is an exceptional talent (As we all thought Yahaya was), he does not play in the Portuguese second division!

I chose to live in the real world and face the realities staring me in the face. Convention has taught us that terrible moves like this are generally part of a downward spiral!

Over 90% of our players who make such moves end up back in the Nigerian League soon. Were it say Sporting Lisbon, Benfica or Porto he went to, then yes, we could call it a positive move!

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Some of you can delude yourselves as much as you like but the truth of the matter is that the big teams have decided Yahaya is not good enough. This is a player who was on the books of Spurs for heaven sake!

What should have happened is that Spurs should have loaned him out to someone like Sporting Lisbon, Benfica, Genk, Feyernoord, Lille, etc. When a player is an exceptional talent (As we all thought Yahaya was), he does not play in the Portuguese second division!

I chose to live in the real world and face the realities staring me in the face. Convention has taught us that terrible moves like this are generally part of a downward spiral!

Over 90% of our players who make such moves end up back in the Nigerian League soon. Were it say Sporting Lisbon, Benfica or Porto he went to, then yes, we could call it a positive move!
Not comparing the two but just like the big teams decided that Yaya Toure wasn't good enough? Remember even after being at Beveren from ASEC he went on a trial to Arsenal who thought him as being "average".

They did not deem it fit to fight to get him a work permit...

He moved on and the rest as they say is history.

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Some of you can delude yourselves as much as you like but the truth of the matter is that the big teams have decided Yahaya is not good enough. This is a player who was on the books of Spurs for heaven sake!

Not comparing the two but just like the big teams decided that Yaya Toure wasn't good enough? Remember even after being at Beveren from ASEC he went on a trial to Arsenal who thought him as being "average".

I tire for this your argument ooooooooo! Someone went to Metalurk Donetsk, Olympiakos, Monaco and Barcelona and you are comparing him with a player plying his trade in the Portuguese second division!!!

Only junk players ply their trade at that level. I am extremely worried that this may spell doom for Yahaya. It is not as if we are talking about the German, Spanish, English or Italian second divisions!

I tire for this your argument ooooooooo! Someone went to Metalurk Donetsk, Olympiakos, Monaco and Barcelona and you are comparing him with a player plying his trade in the Portuguese second division!!!

Only junk players ply their trade at that level. I am extremely worried that this may spell doom for Yahaya. It is not as if we are talking about the German, Spanish, English or Italian second divisions!
You just listed his various stops and you are worried about someone that just started his own journey?

Please list all the clubs Yaya passed through to get to where he currently is...

Musa Yahaya just needs to keep working hard at his craft and look at Yaya's own career to let him know it is not about how or where you start but about improving your game until you get to the ideal place.

You just listed his various stops and you are worried about someone that just started his own journey?

Please list all the clubs Yaya passed through to get to where he currently is...

Musa Yahaya just needs to keep working hard at his craft and look at Yaya's own career to let him know it is not about how or where you start but about improving your game until you get to the ideal place.

Classy players NEVER stoop as low as the Portuguese second division! Ask yourself why Lisbon, Benfica or Porto did not take Yahaya on loan from Spurs.

Indeed! That's why the late great Rasidi Yekini started his career (in Europe) in that very division abi?

The Portuguese 2nd division is perfect for an African player starting their career in Europe.
rasak74

Post by rasak74 »

Dele Alli went from MK don to Spur, so what is stopping Yahaya from Div 2 to Benfica, Braga, Porto or Lisbon?

He is not enough as old as Dele Alli.
Internet gangster
Troll