EXCLUSIVE: Le Guen Gets $50k-Per-Month Super Eagles Job
Re: EXCLUSIVE: Le Guen Gets $50k-Per-Month Super Eagles Job
aruako1 wrote:Do you know how long it takes to get justice via the courts? Keshi's law suit has outlasted him. Besides you have to keep paying lawyers and the good ones are not cheap. It is often easier to forgo the salaries and count your losses.1naija wrote:platinum wrote:That's been done....and done....and done.1naija wrote:So you quit and take them to court.platinum wrote:But those guarantees have been made to every foreign coach, it didn't prevent the FA from owing them all. Those guarantees were made to the late Keshi and similarly to Oliseh. If the FA had a credit rating, it would be a triple F. The guarantees mean absolutely nothing. No one got paid anything. The last few foreigners we had ended up having to go to FIFA months/years after being fired. I think the only guy who made away with his money was Lagerback and he was paid in bulk for his summer 'vacation'...it wasn't a long term deal.1naija wrote:The foreign coach will not accept the job until the NFF guarantee payment of the Salary. Nothing stopped the local coaches from taking such position. The ones that did take such position got paid. You can accept a job from a desperate position and then complain when your demands are not met. Blame the local coaches.akamoke wrote:50K to foreign coaches yet we still owe our local coaches 7 months, we deserve all we get.
And still, we keep repeating the merry dance. At what point do we call it the ridiculousness it is and ask for more? An FC doesn't begin to come close to addressing the issue. If anything, it is the FAs golden 'fleece'.
Which Nigerian coach has sued the NFF for owed salary? I am not excusing the non-payment of salaries to coaches by the NFF. I am just saying that is not the reason the local coaches that have handled the Super Eagles so far have been poor. We should stop using that as an excuse. Nigeria needs an experienced competent coach, be him local or foreign, period.
What's your point?
And who is responsible for the U23 being able to be in camp for a long time? Ghanaian FA? We can't pick and chose when to blame the NFF for our failure. We have given local coaches a chance to coach the team and they failed and were rightfully fired. If the next coach fails he will be fired as well. The Ghanaian, Egyptian, and Cameroonian FAs are not better than Nigerian FA, yet those countries have been able to succeed. Like Nigeria, they have all equally failed when they hired poor coaches. They replaced the incompetent coaches and were successful on the field, so why can't Nigeria be equally successful with a decent coach? Your argument should be whether or not Le Guen is a quality coach and not that he is not local.Cellular wrote:It that same thought process that makes NFF and fans think that fiam, once you insert a coach they will beat a team that is better prepared. We win these tourneys inspite of the NFF. In U23s, the fact they have camped for a long time, long enough to gel as a team, long enough to develop and fight for each other and seeing the opportunity as a means to improve their lot is the reason they tend to do well at times. But the consistency is lacking because sometimes they are overwhelmed by the ineptitude of our FA.1naija wrote:Cellular wrote:"Given the Opportunity"? LOL.1naija wrote:Cellular wrote:That's not the point. Sometimes I really have to question some of you guys purported education and exposure. You sure enough don't display it here.lacidi wrote:To think that about 70% of the people against having a foreigner coaching the SE are living in oyinbo countries and taking up jobs meant for sons of the soil. The hypocrisy.
Not all of us are car sales men who will get you into a car you can barely afford nor have the road to drive on because we are only interested in the commission.
We just can't keep allowing folks with nefarious intentions keep holding the rest of us to ransom.
WE DID NOT FAIL DUE TO LACKING OF COACHING. WE FAILED DUE TO PERSISTENT AND POOR ORGANIZATION/ADMINISTRATION.
How tough is it for you natives to understand this? One day, may you face the misfortune of working under this setup and have people question your competence.
EVERY single coach have had problems with the NFF especially with this current NFF regime. Le Guen will fix that?
Very Very old Uncle cellulite, your highlighted conclusion is not based on facts, rather is it based on unwarranted feelings. I am for giving opportunity to the local coaches as long as they are qualified and capable. But you can't blame the failure of these coaches on bad administration anymore ... not when we have recorded some success under the same poor administration. These coaches were poor senior team coaches, period. They were always found out when they met any decent "half baked" coach. At some point we have to admit our problem to find the solution. One thing no one can argue anymore is that local coaches have not been given an opportunity. Le Guen or whoever it is may turn out to be a poor coach as well. And he should be fired once he demonstrates that. I am of the opinion that from here on out we should fire our way to success.
The fallacy in your statement is that when they meet a decent half baked coach that they are found out. At the level we want to compete in, we need 100% focus. But we always come undone from the seams. Winning is not happenstance. It is extremely difficult to get players and coaches to be motivated when there are distractions from the FA due to meddling and unpaid financial commitments. You see the same officials squandering money and claiming they don't have money to pay you.
Please name me a single tourney we played in without financial squabbles?
A lot of things have to come together for you to win. And coaching is the least of the key ingredient required to win.
Again, these are all feelings and have nothing to do with whether those coaches were truly quality coaches. Siasia coached the U23 team to an Olympics silver medal under the same condition but could not win 2 key games at home with even more support that he supposedly got for the Olympics. That tells me it's not the poor administration that cause him to fail both times. Likewise Oliseh, Egoavoen, Keshi (Rest in Peace) etch. So let's forget feelings and consider facts.
I am not excusing poor administration. I am just saying that does not explain poor coaching!
There's no substitute for hard work... and planning.
Last edited by 1naija on Mon Jun 13, 2016 8:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Of course only Nigeria has a terrible FA in Africa right ?
Please these excuses are pathetic.
We have failed and succeeded with our FA.
ANYONE WHO BELIEVES COACHING IS NOT AN ISSUE HAS THEIR HEAD IN THE SAND.
This of course doesn't mean we cannot acknowledge problems with the NFF. Their problem now is that they are dilly dallying and wasting time in naming a coach and beginning to prepare for WCQ.
How many African countries have been more successful than Nigeria?vancity eagle wrote:Of course only Nigeria has a terrible FA in Africa right ?
In what ?aruako1 wrote:How many African countries have been more successful than Nigeria?vancity eagle wrote:Of course only Nigeria has a terrible FA in Africa right ?
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna
The goal should be to win the world cup. Wetin concern us with other African coaches.vancity eagle wrote:Of course only Nigeria has a terrible FA in Africa right ?
If we don't fix the problems with our FIFA. Paying Le Guen will be like throwing money away. If they actually pay him.
- maceo4
Is it your money? If a private bank wants to throw its money away wetin consign you? At least he is a coach with decent pedigree...ohenhen1 wrote:The goal should be to win the world cup. Wetin concern us with other African coaches.vancity eagle wrote:Of course only Nigeria has a terrible FA in Africa right ?
If we don't fix the problems with our FIFA. Paying Le Guen will be like throwing money away. If they actually pay him.
In footballjuventuss wrote:In what ?aruako1 wrote:How many African countries have been more successful than Nigeria?vancity eagle wrote:Of course only Nigeria has a terrible FA in Africa right ?
- Eaglezbeak
Not blaming the white man I'm blaming Africans,when you've been given ample opportunities to improve as people but yet you beg and pay others to save you whilst never learning how to do it your selves,you can't even mirror what you admire from the white man in everyday life but run to them and neglect your own land as it continues to decay,after the coach gets payed and leaves you'll still be left worst off again & again!vancity eagle wrote:Eaglezbeak wrote:White man still runs Africa at all levels!
Oh shut up. We have given you your "local coaches" and they have all failed, but you blame the white man. Maybe these "locals" should look themselves in the mirror and deal with their own inadequacies and shortcomings and figure out how they can improve without blaming others.
What top European manager will work in Nigeria and change the way Nigerians think and revolutionise your game?If it's another quick fix you want the result will be the same as usual or maybe your willing to give a European more time than a local coach but I doubt it they themselves will want to hang around in such a caotic environment!
Last edited by Eaglezbeak on Tue Jun 14, 2016 6:30 am, edited 1 time in total.
No mind them. Crying about somebody else's money. Anything to continue the anti foreign coach agenda.maceo4 wrote:Is it your money? If a private bank wants to throw its money away wetin consign you? At least he is a coach with decent pedigree...ohenhen1 wrote:The goal should be to win the world cup. Wetin concern us with other African coaches.vancity eagle wrote:Of course only Nigeria has a terrible FA in Africa right ?
I'd say 1-3 depending on what you use to measure success (WCQ, ANC, Local Leagues, Fifa Ranking)aruako1 wrote:In footballjuventuss wrote:In what ?aruako1 wrote:How many African countries have been more successful than Nigeria?vancity eagle wrote:Of course only Nigeria has a terrible FA in Africa right ?
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna
- Black I Ras
Crass idiocy
ONE GOD, ONE AIM, ONE DESTINY
Yes it is my money. As long as they collect money from the Federal government. It is my money.maceo4 wrote:Is it your money? If a private bank wants to throw its money away wetin consign you? At least he is a coach with decent pedigree...ohenhen1 wrote:The goal should be to win the world cup. Wetin concern us with other African coaches.vancity eagle wrote:Of course only Nigeria has a terrible FA in Africa right ?
Black I Ras wrote:Crass idiocy

- maceo4
No its not, stop being silly!ohenhen1 wrote:Yes it is my money. As long as they collect money from the Federal government. It is my money.maceo4 wrote:Is it your money? If a private bank wants to throw its money away wetin consign you? At least he is a coach with decent pedigree...ohenhen1 wrote:The goal should be to win the world cup. Wetin concern us with other African coaches.vancity eagle wrote:Of course only Nigeria has a terrible FA in Africa right ?
All this makes sense to people who know how to win in open or at the least semi-fair competition.Cellular wrote:
The fallacy in your statement is that when they meet a decent half baked coach that they are found out. At the level we want to compete in, we need 100% focus. But we always come undone from the seams. Winning is not happenstance. It is extremely difficult to get players and coaches to be motivated when there are distractions from the FA due to meddling and unpaid financial commitments. You see the same officials squandering money and claiming they don't have money to pay you.
A lot of things have to come together for you to win. And coaching is the least of the key ingredient required to win.
I saw this piece somewhere that might be relevant:
http://www.nativelogicquaterly.co.ukAfter 1994 World cup anthropologists discovered that an unusual religion had developed among some Nigerians of the chattering class. It was oriented around the concept of the foreign cargo coach who the cargo-cultists perceived as the source of the success of the Europeans and South Americans at the World Cup. This religion, known as the Foreign Unemployed Coach Cargo Cult Universal Pontificators, held that if the proper foreign coach was employed, victories would be sent from some heavenly place.
It was all very logical to the cultists. The cultists saw that they played hard but did not win whereas the Europeans and Americans had animated coaches of foreign descent who had won the world cup. They also believe that the magic words spoken in foreign accents masked magical spells which made opposing teams see three balls at a time.
The cult's beliefs are mostly limited to football coaches and do not apply to jobs held by cultists.
Advocating rational thought since 1987
Kneedeep wrote:I saw this piece somewhere that might be relevant:http://www.nativelogicquaterly.co.ukAfter 1994 World cup anthropologists discovered that an unusual religion had developed among some Nigerians of the chattering class. It was oriented around the concept of the foreign cargo coach who the cargo-cultists perceived as the source of the success of the Europeans and South Americans at the World Cup. This religion, known as the Foreign Unemployed Coach Cargo Cult Universal Pontificators, held that if the proper foreign coach was employed, victories would be sent from some heavenly place.
It was all very logical to the cultists. The cultists saw that they played hard but did not win whereas the Europeans and Americans had animated coaches of foreign descent who had won the world cup. They also believe that the magic words spoken in foreign accents masked magical spells which made opposing teams see three balls at a time.
The cult's beliefs are mostly limited to football coaches and do not apply to jobs held by cultists.

FUCCCUPs.
Kneedeep, you baad.

PS: How can I subscribe to the Native Logic Quarterly?

- achuzia-the-air-raid
vancity eagle wrote:No mind them. Crying about somebody else's money. Anything to continue the anti foreign coach agenda.maceo4 wrote:Is it your money? If a private bank wants to throw its money away wetin consign you? At least he is a coach with decent pedigree...ohenhen1 wrote:The goal should be to win the world cup. Wetin concern us with other African coaches.vancity eagle wrote:Of course only Nigeria has a terrible FA in Africa right ?
Then they said to one another, “We are truly guilty concerning our brother, for we saw the anguish of his soul when he pleaded with us, and we would not hear; therefore this distress has come upon us.” Genesis 42:21
“A doubtful friend is worse than a certain enemy. Let a man be one thing or the other, and we then know how to meet him” (Aesop, 620–564 BC).
- maceo4
achuzia-the-air-raid wrote:vancity eagle wrote:No mind them. Crying about somebody else's money. Anything to continue the anti foreign coach agenda.maceo4 wrote:Is it your money? If a private bank wants to throw its money away wetin consign you? At least he is a coach with decent pedigree...ohenhen1 wrote:The goal should be to win the world cup. Wetin concern us with other African coaches.vancity eagle wrote:Of course only Nigeria has a terrible FA in Africa right ?
RIP to two of our best coaches, wish NFF had given both of you the proper respect and support. Would take Keshi as coach any day anytime!
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
Kneedeep wrote:All this makes sense to people who know how to win in open or at the least semi-fair competition.Cellular wrote:
I saw this piece somewhere that might be relevant:http://www.nativelogicquaterly.co.ukAfter 1994 World cup anthropologists discovered that an unusual religion had developed among some Nigerians of the chattering class. It was oriented around the concept of the foreign cargo coach who the cargo-cultists perceived as the source of the success of the Europeans and South Americans at the World Cup. This religion, known as the Foreign Unemployed Coach Cargo Cult Universal Pontificators, held that if the proper foreign coach was employed, victories would be sent from some heavenly place.

- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
+2Damunk wrote:Kneedeep wrote:I saw this piece somewhere that might be relevant:http://www.nativelogicquaterly.co.ukAfter 1994 World cup anthropologists discovered that an unusual religion had developed among some Nigerians of the chattering class. It was oriented around the concept of the foreign cargo coach who the cargo-cultists perceived as the source of the success of the Europeans and South Americans at the World Cup. This religion, known as the Foreign Unemployed Coach Cargo Cult Universal Pontificators, held that if the proper foreign coach was employed, victories would be sent from some heavenly place.
The cult's beliefs are mostly limited to football coaches and do not apply to jobs held by cultists.![]()
FUCCCUPs.
Kneedeep, you baad.
PS: How can I subscribe to the Native Logic Quarterly?