German Coach speaks on tactics against Dream team

obrin2
Re: German Coach speaks on tactics against Dream team

Post by obrin2 »

Against very good opposition you have to bury your chances as they can be pretty limited. I watched the game up until the point the striker was lucky to have the ball at his feet with a marker and goalkeeper to beat. A Nigerian player, I think Mikel maybe, was free to his left and better positioned. All he needed to do was square the ball for 'Mikel' to equalize. Instead, he decided to take the more difficult route, and we know how that ended. That was enough for me. For me, that was a selfish act. I stopped watching at that point because I didn't see a team working for each other. Against a mediocre team you could get away with that, but against quality opposition you better bury your chances. The Nigerian team did not take full advantage of its chances.

maceo4 wrote:But I thought Shehu was Cafu??? What happened????
He turned into O'kafor
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
icee

Post by icee »

obrin2 wrote:Against very good opposition you have to bury your chances as they can be pretty limited. I watched the game up until the point the striker was lucky to have the ball at his feet with a marker and goalkeeper to beat. A Nigerian player, I think Mikel maybe, was free to his left and better positioned. All he needed to do was square the ball for 'Mikel' to equalize. Instead, he decided to take the more difficult route, and we know how that ended. That was enough for me. For me, that was a selfish act. I stopped watching at that point because I didn't see a team working for each other. Against a mediocre team you could get away with that, but against quality opposition you better bury your chances. The Nigerian team did not take full advantage of its chances.

I of course kept watching but at this point, I had a baad feeling that we lost the game right there. I am of the opinion that with Etebo and Azubike in the game, we may have escaped with a win. Udo was a huuge drop off. With Mikel swampped Etebo would have been more useful.

obrin2 wrote:Against very good opposition you have to bury your chances as they can be pretty limited. I watched the game up until the point the striker was lucky to have the ball at his feet with a marker and goalkeeper to beat. A Nigerian player, I think Mikel maybe, was free to his left and better positioned. All he needed to do was square the ball for 'Mikel' to equalize. Instead, he decided to take the more difficult route, and we know how that ended. That was enough for me. For me, that was a selfish act. I stopped watching at that point because I didn't see a team working for each other. Against a mediocre team you could get away with that, but against quality opposition you better bury your chances. The Nigerian team did not take full advantage of its chances.
Exactly. But that was human error! Players make wrong choices. That does not make them useless. Neymar made MANY wrong decisions versus South Africa!

maceo4 wrote:But I thought Shehu was Cafu??? What happened????

Cafu kor , Roberto Carlos nii

We love to hype our players.
Edu

Post by Edu »

papilo wrote:
Goldleaf wrote:Stanley Amuzie is in the class of Furo Iyenemi. Nuff said! :roll:

Funny enough, the Germans exploited our full back weakness but we never exploited theirs to the full. They were weak too with their full backs. Watch Brazil scroe goals from moves from the flanks.
:lol: :lol: Haba!! Not that bad. He is decent but not as good as we have been made to believe.

The young man is work in progress. Just like Taiwo used to be defensively. Offensively and ball skills, he's better than most L.backs we've had lately. You guys chill abeg..
These are not seasoned players except for Mikel.

Germany were tactically astute (what a surprise!). The way 3-4 Germans swarmed all over Mikel any time he went near the ball was something else. Clearly they realised that Mikel was the only Nigerian player with enough composure on the ball to play killer passes to Sadiq, Ezekiel etc.

are you sure these quotes are not manufactured