Rohr: We will help him get a better club
I am already liking this man, it is obvious that he is interested in his players playing in top leagues and I hope his time brings an end to movements like Onazi's from Lazio to Trabzonspor.
Rohr: Troost-Ekong must shun Belgian club Gent for bigger club, league
Eagles defender William Troost-Ekong
by Staff Reporter
Monday Nov 14, 2016. 18:33
Nigeria coach Gernot Rohr has revealed he hopes William Troost-Ekong moves to a bigger club than Gent of Belgium so as to improve as a full international.
Troost-Ekong has been on loan at Norwegian club Haugesund, but will return to parent club Gent in January.
“Ekong is changing clubs, he must play at a high level. He has been playing in Norway, which is not bad, but he must play at a higher level,” Rohr said.
“He wants to go to Belgium, but it is not enough for him, we will try to help him so that he could go to a club, where he could play better and at a higher level.”
The 23-year-old Ekong, who represented Holland at age-group levels, was recently linked with a move to England, where he was once on the books of Fulham and Tottenham Hotspur.
Ekong, an international since June 2015, has formed a great central defence partnership in the Super Eagles with Leon Balogun, who features for Mainz 05 in the German Bundesliga.
It is a combo Rohr said has given him a great deal of satisfaction.
“We already have a good central defence. They have given us a good satisfaction,” he remarked.
By Wale Oyekanmi
http://africanfootball.com/news/663953/ ... lub-league
by Staff Reporter
Nigeria coach Gernot Rohr has revealed he hopes William Troost-Ekong moves to a bigger club than Gent of Belgium so as to improve as a full international.
Troost-Ekong has been on loan at Norwegian club Haugesund, but will return to parent club Gent in January.
“Ekong is changing clubs, he must play at a high level. He has been playing in Norway, which is not bad, but he must play at a higher level,” Rohr said.
“He wants to go to Belgium, but it is not enough for him, we will try to help him so that he could go to a club, where he could play better and at a higher level.”
The 23-year-old Ekong, who represented Holland at age-group levels, was recently linked with a move to England, where he was once on the books of Fulham and Tottenham Hotspur.
Ekong, an international since June 2015, has formed a great central defence partnership in the Super Eagles with Leon Balogun, who features for Mainz 05 in the German Bundesliga.
“We already have a good central defence. They have given us a good satisfaction,” he remarked.
By Wale Oyekanmi
Re: Rohr: We will help him get a better club
If a Nigerian coach had made the comment about getting a player to a better club, Nigerians will accuse him of being an agent
IN SUPER EAGLES WE TRUST
... and that the coach has collected some stuffed-up BROWN ENVELOP or that "he don hammar."ogasir wrote:If a Nigerian coach had made the comment about getting a player to a better club, Nigerians will accuse him of being an agent

- maceo4
Hehe una dey fin troubu!Odas wrote:... and that the coach has collected some stuffed-up BROWN ENVELOP or that "he don hammar."ogasir wrote:If a Nigerian coach had made the comment about getting a player to a better club, Nigerians will accuse him of being an agent![]()
ogasir wrote:If a Nigerian coach had made the comment about getting a player to a better club, Nigerians will accuse him of being an agent
I frankly do not care if a coach is an agent so long as he is picking Nigeria's BEST PLAYERS.
Rohr is picking Nigerias best players and the results are clearly there to see for all.
I cannot say the same about
SSS
Oliseh
Keshi
Point of correction, an agent- coach picks players from shitty clubs and force them down on us.
The last thing an enemy would want to see is a couple of million pissed
off old farts with attitudes and automatic weapons who know that their
best years are already behind them.
off old farts with attitudes and automatic weapons who know that their
best years are already behind them.
Why you dey find trouble?ogasir wrote:If a Nigerian coach had made the comment about getting a player to a better club, Nigerians will accuse him of being an agent

This is sad of you, bro. I am sorry to say. How can you be so gun-ho against agents and at the same time condone it blatantly because it is coming from your master?vancity eagle wrote:ogasir wrote:If a Nigerian coach had made the comment about getting a player to a better club, Nigerians will accuse him of being an agent
I frankly do not care if a coach is an agent so long as he is picking Nigeria's BEST PLAYERS.
Rohr is picking Nigerias best players and the results are clearly there to see for all.
SSS
Oliseh
Keshi

The main objective of a coach/agent will be to pick the players he is managing so he can give them exposure and sell them, so that automatically destroys the idea that a coach/agent (even the oyinbo ones) will pick the best players.vancity eagle wrote:ogasir wrote:If a Nigerian coach had made the comment about getting a player to a better club, Nigerians will accuse him of being an agent
SSS
Oliseh
Keshi
IN SUPER EAGLES WE TRUST
ogasir wrote:If a Nigerian coach had made the comment about getting a player to a better club, Nigerians will accuse him of being an agent
I was about to say the same thing. Is this not spiving? Why is the coach involved in this? If it is ok for him why waere the likes of SSS and Keshi and the rest despised over the same thing?
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
So convincing your players to play in the best leagues means you're an agent now?
Rohr needs to be absolutely clear about what he meant by "helping players get a better club." That is how Siasia became a massive crook. Amunike is currently doing the same nonsense, Keshi was not only doing it, but froze players out that didn't abandon their real agents because he strategically offered them freebies in an effort to poach them.Synopsis wrote:So convincing your players to play in the best leagues means you're an agent now?
If he is mainly advising them, I'm with it but if he wants to Sam Alardyce them, then no thank you.
Because Oyibo man is saying it , now you all believe him....Whereas I have been saying it for years and years... Stop sending Nigeria's top talent to 2nd and 3rd rate european leagues and clubs. Its stupid and it makes no sense and you are destroying the talent of the players. Don't send a kid who got all A1 at WAEC to community college in America. Let them hang out with their peers at IVY league colleges.Dammy wrote:I am already liking this man, it is obvious that he is interested in his players playing in top leagues and I hope his time brings an end to movements like Onazi's from Lazio to Trabzonspor.
by Staff Reporter
By Wale Oyekanmi
Vincent...are you listening to Rohr ??? you and your nigeria "oozing with talents" .. in solvakia
All theses Belgian clubs are not good enough ! Just becuase stephen Keshi and Oliseh went there in the 90's does not mean these kids of today should all go and start there... Its 30 years later..the standards have improved tremendously in Africa and in Nigeria in particular....Our mind set us also has to move up with it.
Any player in the national team set up should be good enough to play in any of the big 5 European leagues. Italy, England, Germany, Spain, France, at worst they go to the best clubs in Holland, Turkey, Portugal .... they rest of them are just not good enough... You can see in the UEFA tournaments how the English clubs trash most clubs outside of that group by 10-0 in a 2 legged affair... What is a Nigerian player who just won the U-17 wc going to learn in Slovakia... it makes no sense. Most of you witnessed how the Stars of the Nigerian league held the best clubs in Spain to 1-2 goal margin of loss. If any of those clubs played the top club in Bulgaria, they will trash them by 7 goals.. My point is the standards in Nigeria is not as bad as these lower European leagues. Don't let the lack of lush pitches and shinny Stadia fool you about Nigeria.. the Players are Physically fit and their form is very good and they are just as ambitious as their counterparts in Europe desiring to play for Madrid or Man u or Barca.
The only way this can stop is if the nigerian football federation takes an active role and takes good advice from people who understand European football well...
Its up to you guys, you either want more Iheanacho's or you want more Chrisantuses
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
SMDH @ natives!100%Naija wrote:Rohr needs to be absolutely clear about what he meant by "helping players get a better club." That is how Siasia became a massive crook. Amunike is currently doing the same nonsense, Keshi was not only doing it, but froze players out that didn't abandon their real agents because he strategically offered them freebies in an effort to poach them.Synopsis wrote:So convincing your players to play in the best leagues means you're an agent now?
If he is mainly advising them, I'm with it but if he wants to Sam Alardyce them, then no thank you.
Any chance to denigrate a local coach who actually won something... won it while going 19 games unbeaten. Who was it that Keshi froze out?
Just wait until Rohr actually gets to work with the local players and "helps them get into better leagues". You all will not have any problems with it because he is oyibo.
Meanwhile he is yet to win a gaddam thing. Not an AFCON title or a WC qualification.
It is okay.
- achuzia-the-air-raid
Colo-mentality is a mental illness.
Then they said to one another, “We are truly guilty concerning our brother, for we saw the anguish of his soul when he pleaded with us, and we would not hear; therefore this distress has come upon us.” Genesis 42:21
“A doubtful friend is worse than a certain enemy. Let a man be one thing or the other, and we then know how to meet him” (Aesop, 620–564 BC).
Solowe,Solowe wrote:Because Oyibo man is saying it , now you all believe him....Whereas I have been saying it for years and years... Stop sending Nigeria's top talent to 2nd and 3rd rate european leagues and clubs. Its stupid and it makes no sense and you are destroying the talent of the players. Don't send a kid who got all A1 at WAEC to community college in America. Let them hang out with their peers at IVY league colleges.Dammy wrote:I am already liking this man, it is obvious that he is interested in his players playing in top leagues and I hope his time brings an end to movements like Onazi's from Lazio to Trabzonspor.
by Staff Reporter
By Wale Oyekanmi
Vincent...are you listening to Rohr ??? you and your nigeria "oozing with talents" .. in solvakia
All theses Belgian clubs are not good enough ! Just becuase stephen Keshi and Oliseh went there in the 90's does not mean these kids of today should all go and start there... Its 30 years later..the standards have improved tremendously in Africa and in Nigeria in particular....Our mind set us also has to move up with it.
Any player in the national team set up should be good enough to play in any of the big 5 European leagues. Italy, England, Germany, Spain, France, at worst they go to the best clubs in Holland, Turkey, Portugal .... they rest of them are just not good enough... You can see in the UEFA tournaments how the English clubs trash most clubs outside of that group by 10-0 in a 2 legged affair... What is a Nigerian player who just won the U-17 wc going to learn in Slovakia... it makes no sense. Most of you witnessed how the Stars of the Nigerian league held the best clubs in Spain to 1-2 goal margin of loss. If any of those clubs played the top club in Bulgaria, they will trash them by 7 goals.. My point is the standards in Nigeria is not as bad as these lower European leagues. Don't let the lack of lush pitches and shinny Stadia fool you about Nigeria.. the Players are Physically fit and their form is very good and they are just as ambitious as their counterparts in Europe desiring to play for Madrid or Man u or Barca.
The only way this can stop is if the nigerian football federation takes an active role and takes good advice from people who understand European football well...
Its up to you guys, you either want more Iheanacho's or you want more Chrisantuses
Getting past your famous blue font, Fantastic opinion! Definitely on point.
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
Solowe, what most players gain from moving to such places include better nutrition, better training, and in classroom (academic) understanding of the rudiments of the game and requirements of various positions. They are typically raw...Solowe wrote:Because Oyibo man is saying it , now you all believe him....Whereas I have been saying it for years and years... Stop sending Nigeria's top talent to 2nd and 3rd rate european leagues and clubs. Its stupid and it makes no sense and you are destroying the talent of the players. Don't send a kid who got all A1 at WAEC to community college in America. Let them hang out with their peers at IVY league colleges.Dammy wrote:I am already liking this man, it is obvious that he is interested in his players playing in top leagues and I hope his time brings an end to movements like Onazi's from Lazio to Trabzonspor.
by Staff Reporter
By Wale Oyekanmi
And yes, like you, I have argued that the NFF should emulate USSF in playing a greater role in guiding players to better opportunities... especially with our national youth team players.
I disagree with you on the red part.... Better Nutrition ? NO ! Better Training, NO ! .. The only thing better that they get exposed to is better facilities... The rest of it Untrue ! Just becuase the food comes in a sealed container laden with salt, sugar and vinegar does not make it more nutritious than eating on the roadside in Ajegunle. Our players are lean and mean and strong with very little body fat before they live Nigeria. This is why they can run for 90 minutes and not get so fatigued.. They are not getting better coaches, or better opposition in training or matches... not everywhere in Europe is England or Germany...Cellular wrote:Solowe, what most players gain from moving to such places include better nutrition, better training, and in classroom (academic) understanding of the rudiments of the game and requirements of various positions. They are typically raw...Solowe wrote:Because Oyibo man is saying it , now you all believe him....Whereas I have been saying it for years and years... Stop sending Nigeria's top talent to 2nd and 3rd rate european leagues and clubs. Its stupid and it makes no sense and you are destroying the talent of the players. Don't send a kid who got all A1 at WAEC to community college in America. Let them hang out with their peers at IVY league colleges.Dammy wrote:I am already liking this man, it is obvious that he is interested in his players playing in top leagues and I hope his time brings an end to movements like Onazi's from Lazio to Trabzonspor.
by Staff Reporter
By Wale Oyekanmi
And yes, like you, I have argued that the NFF should emulate USSF in playing a greater role in guiding players to better opportunities... especially with our national youth team players.
- Eaglezbeak
lol,I'm glad I can see clearly,basically for the native a white man is right!
Solowe wrote:Because Oyibo man is saying it , now you all believe him....Whereas I have been saying it for years and years... Stop sending Nigeria's top talent to 2nd and 3rd rate european leagues and clubs. Its stupid and it makes no sense and you are destroying the talent of the players. Don't send a kid who got all A1 at WAEC to community college in America. Let them hang out with their peers at IVY league colleges.Dammy wrote:I am already liking this man, it is obvious that he is interested in his players playing in top leagues and I hope his time brings an end to movements like Onazi's from Lazio to Trabzonspor.
by Staff Reporter
By Wale Oyekanmi

- cchinukw
So because it is now oyibo making the statement no one is scrutinising Rohr's statement to see if he is hinting too at making a cut from such a transfer.
How is what he is suggesting any different from what coaches before him have done.
Put on your thinking caps guys and don't let your senses just vacate because oyibo na oyibo
How is what he is suggesting any different from what coaches before him have done.
Put on your thinking caps guys and don't let your senses just vacate because oyibo na oyibo

"How are UK Conservative MPs selected? They are selected for intelligence and then rejected at final stage for thar fact"
- Peter Hitchens interviewed on Novara Media 2025.

- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
There are somethings we do not want to say publicly but those of us around the team know that Nigerian coaches make millions from transfers. It is their main business!
The Belgian league is on the up right now and clubs like Anderlecht, Gent or Genk are great platforms to develop. They are really good springboards nowadays to make it to a bigger league.
1-2 years in Belgium to develop is a good thing.