SE: We were shortchanged in Bonus Pay......

Super Eagles ask questions over payment of World Cup bonus
https://mtnfootball.com/news/674332/Sup ... -Cup-bonus
Wednesday Dec 28, 2016. 12:27

The Super Eagles have alleged they have been shortchanged by the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) in the payment of their win bonus for a 2018 World Cup qualifier.

The Eagles have received the bonus for the 3-1 home win over Algeria in November courtesy of a special government bailout.

The players are entitled to $5,000-a-man, but they received a million Naira each at the rate of 200 Naira even when a press statement by government clearly spelt out an official rate of 305 Naira to the US dollar.

At the government rate of 305 Naira to the dollar, each player is due 1,525,000 million Naira and not a million Naira NFF paid to each of them.

Twenty three players made the match day squad against Algeria in Uyo.

They received 23 million Naira, when they should have been paid over 35 million, an excess of 12 million Naira.

“The Office of the Accountant General of the Federation has released the mandate to Central Bank of Nigeria for payment of Naira equivalent of US$1,173,820.00 at N305/$ to Nigeria Football Federation to pay outstanding winning bonuses for Super Eagles in the 2018 World Cup Qualifying Matches and for the Super Falcons’ participation in the 10th Women’s Africa Nations Cup,” announced the press release signed by Kenechukwu N. Offie, director communications of the office of the accountant general of the federation.

The players and officials have now risen to allege that they did not get what was due to them.

“I got a million Naira as bonus for the win over Algeria, just I got for the win over Tanzania,” one of the Super Eagles players revealed.

“I was also told that the government released the money for both the wins over Zambia and Algeria, but we were only paid for one of them.”

“The NFF informed us that we will be paid in Naira for our home games due to a new government policy, but even at that we ought to be paid more than a million Naira because the official rate of the Naira to the dollar is 305 Naira and not 200 Naira,” added another aggrieved player.

Officials were equally paid at the rate of 200 Naira to the dollar.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: SE: We were shortchanged in Bonus Pay......

The level corruption in Nigeria under this administration is mind blowing. Forget about the noise about fighting corruption. This is by far the most incompetent administration Nigeria has ever had.

1naija wrote:The level corruption in Nigeria under this administration is mind blowing. Forget about the noise about fighting corruption. This is by far the most incompetent administration Nigeria has ever had.
No surprises, corruption/incompetence is the hallmark of 'Political Abokism '. :mrgreen:
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo

1naija wrote:The level corruption in Nigeria under this administration is mind blowing. Forget about the noise about fighting corruption. This is by far the most incompetent administration Nigeria has ever had.
...don't say bdk about Nigeria and Nigerians, you are Nigerian.

Signed

CE Protectors of the Corrupt and Incompetent Thieves.
chendosplastic

Post by chendosplastic »

Sad. Too very sad. Broad daylight robbery.
"The history book on the shelf is always repeating itself" - ABBA.
"Facts, Logic, truth is the way....stop ranting via emotions; seeing things through the prism of ethnicity is comfortable but ultimately a road to perdition." - airwolex.

Yet just last month you were here praising the same organisation...
1naija wrote:See as all of you are celebrating the handwork of Pinnick and the NFF, yet not a single kudos from any of you. Anyway, continue to have bad belle while Pinnick, Green and the NFF continue to serve you all humble pies.
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=276257&hilit=NFF

Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16

© The YeyeMan 2025

NFF: NOBODY SHORTCHANGED SUPER EAGLES
Abayomi Ademetan Abayomi Ademetan Dec 28, 2016
http://www.futbalgalore.com/2016/12/28/ ... er-eagles/

The Nigeria Football Federation has denied a report on an African football website that it shortchanged players of the Super Eagles with regards to payment of their win bonus for the 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifying match against Algeria in Uyo in November 2016.

Eagles’ Team Administrator Dayo Enebi Achor confirmed to thenff.com: “That report is a fabrication. The estimate we sent to the Government was for the sum of N1million for each player for a win. Nobody has been shortchanged.

“Sometimes in March this year, the NFF held a meeting with some technical crew members, team captain and vice captain, on behalf of the team, and told them to open bank accounts (in Nigeria) as the Federation was no longer disposed to paying cash. It was also at that meeting that the NFF told them they would no longer be paid in dollars for home matches, and that the win bonus for home match was a flat rate of N1million. The meeting took place at the team’s hotel in Kaduna and I was present at the meeting.

“It was based on this that the players were paid the sum of N500,000 each for the draw against Egypt in Kaduna (2017 Cup of Nations qualifier, March 2016) and the sum of N1million each for the win against Tanzania in Uyo (2017 Cup of Nations qualifier, September 2016). Their camp allowance has also been paid in naira (N50,000 per day) since March 2016.”

Achor also confirmed that for away matches, the players are entitled to the sum of $5,000 at the official rate obtaining at the time of match.

“The NFF has not shortchanged the players. The match against Algeria was a home match. Whenever the win bonus for the match against Zambia in Ndola is being paid, it would be $5,000 per player at the official rate that obtained at the time the match was played.”
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Based on the immediate above story

One thing is certain...N1 million was paid

I'm curious to know if the Zambia match bonus of $5000 has been paid as it was an away match played before Algeria. I'm pretty sure currency will be cited as reason for non payment if the payment has not been made
hangingfire

Post by hangingfire »

NFF: NOBODY SHORTCHANGED SUPER EAGLES
Abayomi Ademetan Abayomi Ademetan Dec 28, 2016
http://www.futbalgalore.com/2016/12/28/ ... er-eagles/

The Nigeria Football Federation has denied a report on an African football website that it shortchanged players of the Super Eagles with regards to payment of their win bonus for the 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifying match against Algeria in Uyo in November 2016.

Eagles’ Team Administrator Dayo Enebi Achor confirmed to thenff.com: “That report is a fabrication. The estimate we sent to the Government was for the sum of N1million for each player for a win. Nobody has been shortchanged.

“Sometimes in March this year, the NFF held a meeting with some technical crew members, team captain and vice captain, on behalf of the team, and told them to open bank accounts (in Nigeria) as the Federation was no longer disposed to paying cash. It was also at that meeting that the NFF told them they would no longer be paid in dollars for home matches, and that the win bonus for home match was a flat rate of N1million. The meeting took place at the team’s hotel in Kaduna and I was present at the meeting.

“It was based on this that the players were paid the sum of N500,000 each for the draw against Egypt in Kaduna (2017 Cup of Nations qualifier, March 2016) and the sum of N1million each for the win against Tanzania in Uyo (2017 Cup of Nations qualifier, September 2016). Their camp allowance has also been paid in naira (N50,000 per day) since March 2016.”

Achor also confirmed that for away matches, the players are entitled to the sum of $5,000 at the official rate obtaining at the time of match.

“The NFF has not shortchanged the players. The match against Algeria was a home match. Whenever the win bonus for the match against Zambia in Ndola is being paid, it would be $5,000 per player at the official rate that obtained at the time the match was played.”

"at the official rate obtaining at the time of match"
The above quote is the master-craft of highway robbery. This will ensure that players will NEVER get paid their entitlements on time as corrupt officials wait on the value of the Naira to go down while that of the dollar go up before paying the players. When the players eventually get paid months behind schedule, the crooks smile to their banks while players get short changed. There is something called interest. When you owe somebody, you should pay them interest. The interest in this case is the difference of 305 naira and 200 naira which is the total of 105 naira per dollar which will run into millions when factored into payments slashed off the entire team, including the officials. Whoever thought up this gimmick is a *kindperson*. I know this will be Pickin himself. THIS GUY AND HIS COONS ARE A PANTHEON OF THIEVES.
monkeypost

Post by monkeypost »

Buhari created round tripping, apparently its not a crime, you just play around with time and exchange rate.
If you give me Cole and I give you Gallas, surely, SURELY, you owe me money? waka man on the Cole Gallas transfer saga

1naija wrote:See as all of you are celebrating the handwork of Pinnick and the NFF, yet not a single kudos from any of you. Anyway, continue to have bad belle while Pinnick, Green and the NFF continue to serve you all humble pies.
:twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Did you go to the CIC school of comprehension? It's not the NFF that shortchanged the players and officials but the Buhari administration and APC. Lolly Mohammed may even have a hand in it.

Sports Ministry Steps in to Investigate NFF over W’Cup Bonus Saga
December 30, 2016058
http://nigeriamasterweb.com/paperfrmes.html
Chigozie Ihunda in action before the injury last season

Femi Solaja

The frosty relationship between the Sports Ministry and the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) remain unabated following the decision of the ministry to look into the recent allegations by some Super Eagles stars that they were shortchanged over their win bonus for the 2018 World Cup qualifier against Algeria by NFF.

Last week the Sports Minister, Solomon Dalung took the Glass House to the cleaner at the Annual General Meeting of the Federation on some salient issues including the financial dealings of the body with FIFA and the quest of the helm man’s quest to seek for an elective position in the CAF Executive Committee in the first quarter of next year.

But yesterday, the Permanent Secretary in the ministry, Christian Ohaa, said that the allegations will be investigated.

“The record of the amount released to the NFF is in black and white, nobody can shortchange the players again and I can tell you that we will look into it, I just got the report now and we will look into it,” Ohaa said.

AfricanFootball.com had reported on Wednesday, allegations by some Super Eagles players of being shortchanged on their win bonus for the 2018 World Cup qualifier against Algeria by the NFF.
Although, the NFF denied the allegations on Wednesday, claiming they had an agreement with the players to be paid a flat sum of one million naira for home wins.

Eagles coach at the time NFF claimed they reached the agreement Samson Siasia according to africanfootball.com has denied the team agreed to be paid N 1 million for a home win.
“I don’t know anything about one million naira” Siasia said yesterday.
“The agreement was that they will pay the equivalent of dollars at the bank rate, official rate. I don’t know about anything else.”

The Super Eagles’ win bonus is $5,000 per player, which would be N1,525,000 when converted at the official N305 to the dollar, but the players received N1 million each instead, with the NFF claiming that bonuses for home wins was pegged at a flat fee of a million naira, with only away wins attracting the $5,000.

SIASIA: EAGLES DID NOT AGREE MILLION NAIRA BONUS
http://africanfootball.com/news/674547/ ... aira-bonus
by Samm Audu
Thursday Dec 29, 2016. 15:56

Samson Siasia, head coach at the time the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) claimed they met with the Super Eagles and it was agreed the win bonus for a home win was pegged at a million Naira, has denied there was such an agreement.

In an official press statement Wednesday signed by spokesman Ademola Olajire and quoting Eagles team administrator, Dayo Enebi, the NFF claimed officials as well as captain and vice-captain were at a meeting in Kaduna in March when it was agreed the players will be paid a million Naira each for a home win.

But Siasia has now rubbished such a claim.

“I don’t know anything about one million (Naira),” Siasia opened up when contacted on Thursday.

“The agreement was that they will pay the equivalent of dollars at the bank rate, official rate. I don’t know about anything else.”

He was further questioned – The agreement they had with you was they will pay with current bank rate and there was no time that the players will be paid a million Naira each for a home win?

“No, no, no,” he replied.

Several other officials equally denied any agreement that the players be paid a million Naira each for a Super Eagles home win.

They were to be paid $5,000 for a home win at the official Naira rate the time the match was played.

Further investigations revealed that at the time of the AFCON double-header qualifiers against Egypt, the official bank rate to the USD was around 200 Naira and that explained why they were paid 500,000 Naira each for the home draw with Egypt ($2500 x 200).

The Eagles were paid a million Naira each, being the same rate, when they beat Tanzania in an AFCON in September, that was even when the Naira had seriously depreciated even at bank rate.

The players therefore ought to receive far more for the 2018 World Cup qualifier against Algeria in Uyo in November because the Naira had depreciated against the dollar and the official rate was between 310 and 315 Naira.