The Arsenal - Related News and Development for 2017/2018
Re: The Arsenal - Related News and Development for 2017/2018
Ogbunigwe some of us have joined the distant arsenal fans for 5 years now
Things might come to those who wait but only those things left behind by those who hustle-Abraham Lincoln
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
Chief Ogbus, welcome.Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:You guys can keep doing your "Arsenal For Life", but I have abandoned you guys in the wilderness with Wenger & Waffi, and have now joined forces with Oloye, Cellular, Ardiles and the few others who saw through the con much earlier. I should have known the man was a fraud when he was stubbornly fielding Almunia and claiming he was a top goalie.
Just like any pyramid scheme, some pipul go wait tire.
You do know Waffi is a Finance guy? Anytime he looks at the balance book he gets excited...

You shook all heh way to the Europa this season and it's not looking any betterWaffiman wrote:Oh! I am quaking in my boots.anikulapo wrote:Aurier to Toto Almost a done deal![]()
Barkley might be next![]()
I think it might be time to ignore football and start focusing on the NBA season .... #WINTERISCOMING to the Emirates![]()

Robbynice wrote:Kai! Guys don dey abandon ship...Guys make una calm down. Hope still dey...
Sancho now going to Dortmund ? How do they keep doing it 

I wish it was my company's Balance Sheet, then I will get very excited.Cellular wrote:Chief Ogbus, welcome.Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:You guys can keep doing your "Arsenal For Life", but I have abandoned you guys in the wilderness with Wenger & Waffi, and have now joined forces with Oloye, Cellular, Ardiles and the few others who saw through the con much earlier. I should have known the man was a fraud when he was stubbornly fielding Almunia and claiming he was a top goalie.
You do know Waffi is a Finance guy? Anytime he looks at the balance book he gets excited...

Waffi when I attacked the board for being feckless and lacking ambition, you defended them. Kroenke and the rest of the board don't need to win for the underlying value of arsenal to keep increasing at a steady rate year after year. Little wonder they are apathetic to winning. Where I blame Wenger is 2 things
1. He enables the ambitionless owners/board. He easily could throw his toys out and make some noise about needing more support
2. I actually finally think that coaching wise, Wenger is now past it. He still wont get it done regardless of the quality of personnel he has.
1. He enables the ambitionless owners/board. He easily could throw his toys out and make some noise about needing more support
2. I actually finally think that coaching wise, Wenger is now past it. He still wont get it done regardless of the quality of personnel he has.
"We will go through the gate. If the gate is closed, we will go over the fence. If the fence is too high, we will pole vault in. If that doesn’t work, we will parachute in. But we are going to get health-care reform passed"
Nancy Pelosi, 01/28/2010 after Scott Brown got elected to Ted Kennedy's senate seat.
Arsenal bid 90 million for Thomas Lemar?
Idonbelivit!!!
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/footba ... paign=1490

"Our enemies are the political profiteers, the swindlers, the men in high and low places that seek bribes and demand 10 percent; those that seek to keep the country divided permanently so that they can remain in office as ministers or VIPs at least, the tribalists, the nepotists, those that make the country look big for nothing before international circles, those that have corrupted our society and put the Nigerian political calendar back by their words and deeds." - Kaduna Nzeogwu
I just saw it too and I was like dang...lolNkume wrote:Arsenal bid 90 million for Thomas Lemar?Idonbelivit!!!
this is the part I dont get. Why is it smarter to bid 90m on deadline day, when you could have put in a bid of 70 or 80m 2 weeks ago? if you really need the player, why not give yourself enough time to conclude the deal?Nkume wrote:Arsenal bid 90 million for Thomas Lemar?Idonbelivit!!!
By the way, is the player that good?
Never enter into a quarrel with an id!ot, lest he drag you down to his level and then beat you up with experience.
Word on the street is that Lemar is all that plus a bag of chips but who really knowsPapaK wrote:this is the part I dont get. Why is it smarter to bid 90m on deadline day, when you could have put in a bid of 70 or 80m 2 weeks ago? if you really need the player, why not give yourself enough time to conclude the deal?Nkume wrote:Arsenal bid 90 million for Thomas Lemar?Idonbelivit!!!
- Chief Ogbunigwe
PapaK wrote:this is the part I dont get. Why is it smarter to bid 90m on deadline day, when you could have put in a bid of 70 or 80m 2 weeks ago? if you really need the player, why not give yourself enough time to conclude the deal?Nkume wrote:Arsenal bid 90 million for Thomas Lemar?Idonbelivit!!!
PapaK: No need to rack your brains. If it looks like a scam, sounds like a scam, smells like a scam, it IS a scam. Not sure they were really interested in signing Lemar, otherwise, they would have done it much earlier. Just like Wenger could have signed Mbappe while he was somewhat under the radar. It is the throwing a crazy number out there, so they can say, we tried but he was too expensive. If fore some reason the sellers bite, then consider him one of those purchases that AW will be forced to play because of his price tag....
How much did Man U pay for Pogba again that people didn't allow us to hear word? De Gea nko? Some people were crying like it is their fathers' money.Was it not obvious to AW when he "nearly signed" Mbappe that if the kid goes on to excel, he will become too expensive for Arsenal? But again, Arsenal has a history of overpaying for known average players....Xhaka, Mustafi....
- Chief Ogbunigwe
Cellular wrote:Chief Ogbus, welcome.Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:You guys can keep doing your "Arsenal For Life", but I have abandoned you guys in the wilderness with Wenger & Waffi, and have now joined forces with Oloye, Cellular, Ardiles and the few others who saw through the con much earlier. I should have known the man was a fraud when he was stubbornly fielding Almunia and claiming he was a top goalie.
Thanks you very much...as for Waffi, me I don dey preach to anyone wey get ears say the man and Wenger dey join share the money. Na the natives wey follow Waffi (even though his gists sometimes dey sweet) get wahala.
- Chief Ogbunigwe
Robbynice wrote:Word on the street is that Lemar is all that plus a bag of chips but who really knowsPapaK wrote:this is the part I dont get. Why is it smarter to bid 90m on deadline day, when you could have put in a bid of 70 or 80m 2 weeks ago? if you really need the player, why not give yourself enough time to conclude the deal?Nkume wrote:Arsenal bid 90 million for Thomas Lemar?Idonbelivit!!!
Na, word on the streets is that una be Natives....Wenger go dash una mirror say "look yaself, see how you fine", then you go pack all ya money and emotions, give am to share with Waffi dem....
There are 2 types of owners in sportsWaffiman wrote:
I wish we had an Owner like Fenway, who have put over £150m of their own money in the club via stadium cost (which is not considered as FFP debt) and reducing debt by converting it to equity.
The consequences are, Liverpool with average revenue over the last 2 seasons of over £40m less than Arsenal, have also spent more on player's wages but do not have to worry about FFP. If our owner did this, we would easily have bought a CM like Seri and Lemar.
But we all want to blame Wenger only. I take a balanced view, I look at the holistic picture always. Wenger has his faults but he is not responsible for everything. Also, it is not all bad at Arsenal, there are a lot of good things too.
1. pure investors e.g. Kroenke who are in it strictly for the value
2. investors who are also fans. They are in it for the money, but they also want to win e.g. David Dein, FenwaySports group. They make money but they also win.
One can argue that Liverpool's funding is purely organic. All the owners have done is convert some of the increase in value of their underlying investment into working capital for the club. Our greedy owner refuses to do the same and prefers to keep all his capital gains to himself. (only realized when he sells)
Kroenke paid a total of £423 million for 67.01% of Arsenal shares. The same shares are now valued by Forbes (and by Usmanov's recent offer) at £1.03B. So by just owning Arsenal for a decade and without taking any cash out, Kroenke is worth £600m more today than a decade ago. Thanks Arsenal. There's nothing except his own greed stopping him from taking some of that £600m in capital gains and re-investing it as working capital to improve on-field performance like the Fenway Sports Group have done at Liverpool via their loan-to-equity deal. That is not financial doping! It's an owner investing some of the increase in value of his club into his club.
But Kroenke is just a shrewd shrewd businessman who cares nothing about on-field winning. People who don't understand finance thinks it's profit he cares about. Wrong! That man cares nothing about winning or whatever paltry accounting profits we declare, he just cares about the steady growth of the value of his underlying investment. And if that investment continues to grow at 9.5% year on year as Arsenal has done despite serving up rubbish to fans, why waste money building a winning team. And in Wenger, he has the perfect manager that can keep his investment sound without rocking the boat or demanding the owner invest.
Contrast that to FenwaySports Group owner of Liverpool FC and Boston Red socks. The previous owners of Boston Red socks were like Kroenke, content to watch their investment grow, while putting nothing into the franchise or showing any serious interest in winning. Then Fenway bought Boston Red socks, and within a couple years, they had some of the highest wages in the country, signed big stars, won a couple of world series, and are consistently one of the best teams in baseball. They didn't do it by investing their own personal outside funds. Nope, they just plowed back some of the increase in values of their shares directly into the club to build a better product. They are now doing the same thing at Liverpool.
Last edited by amafolas on Thu Aug 31, 2017 2:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"We will go through the gate. If the gate is closed, we will go over the fence. If the fence is too high, we will pole vault in. If that doesn’t work, we will parachute in. But we are going to get health-care reform passed"
Strong on the ball, can dribble, sweet left foot, dead ball specialist, can cross.......better than any of our current midfieldPapaK wrote:this is the part I dont get. Why is it smarter to bid 90m on deadline day, when you could have put in a bid of 70 or 80m 2 weeks ago? if you really need the player, why not give yourself enough time to conclude the deal?Nkume wrote:Arsenal bid 90 million for Thomas Lemar?Idonbelivit!!!
......don't believe the hype.......sounds like another usual AFC scam......throw a bid in and count down to 11pm
“If this year, you cannot compete with Spurs, with all the respect I have for them, and Leicester, then change your sport. I’m sorry.” Emmanuel Petit
"I didn't buy Arsenal stake to win trophies" Kroneke
Looks like Arsenal won't sign anyone today.
Street of AtlantaChief Ogbunigwe wrote:Robbynice wrote:Word on the street is that Lemar is all that plus a bag of chips but who really knowsPapaK wrote:this is the part I dont get. Why is it smarter to bid 90m on deadline day, when you could have put in a bid of 70 or 80m 2 weeks ago? if you really need the player, why not give yourself enough time to conclude the deal?Nkume wrote:Arsenal bid 90 million for Thomas Lemar?Idonbelivit!!!
Na, word on the streets is that una be Natives....Wenger go dash una mirror say "look yaself, see how you fine", then you go pack all ya money and emotions, give am to share with Waffi dem....
Robbynice wrote:Word on the street is that Lemar is all that plus a bag of chips but who really knowsPapaK wrote:this is the part I dont get. Why is it smarter to bid 90m on deadline day, when you could have put in a bid of 70 or 80m 2 weeks ago? if you really need the player, why not give yourself enough time to conclude the deal?Nkume wrote:Arsenal bid 90 million for Thomas Lemar?Idonbelivit!!!
Stop listening to voices in your head

But I have also heard City have upped their offer for Sanchez. I also know Monaco want Iwobi on loan. Wenger refused. Maybe it is why they have increased the offer.PapaK wrote:this is the part I dont get. Why is it smarter to bid 90m on deadline day, when you could have put in a bid of 70 or 80m 2 weeks ago? if you really need the player, why not give yourself enough time to conclude the deal?Nkume wrote:Arsenal bid 90 million for Thomas Lemar?Idonbelivit!!!
Arsenal must meet 2 combined rules. I have ecplained this to those who PMed me.
There is the FFP Wages to Revenue compliance rule. Whicch goes directly from this PL rule:
PL rules state you can't allocate more than £7m of TV money to wage bill if it exceeds £67m. But you can use other non-TV revenue streams.
Arsenal have failed to develop other revenue streams. Clubs like Liverpool have found a way thanks to their Owner. But our Owner has taken money out, and they have asked the Manager to sell.
If you do the sums, Wengers now has the option of selling Sanchez to buy Lemar. This is what the Owner and Board wants.
But, selling Chambers for minimum £20m and loaning or selling Perez makes Arsenal compliant. This is a very tight call.
Of course, the Board can tweak debt, like Liverpool have, keep players and buy Lemar.
For me, City's reported offer for Sanchez and Arsenal's for Lemar suggests this might be the move.
One thing I know for sure is this, it is not FFP or wage rules or whatever that is stopping Arsenal from investing in their squad. Those who made the rules deliberately built loopholes into them. It is a useful cover for clubs like Arsenal who are too cheap to invest, but not a hindrance for any serious club that's willing to invest.Waffiman wrote:But I have also heard City have upped their offer for Sanchez. I also know Monaco want Iwobi on loan. Wenger refused. Maybe it is why they have increased the offer.PapaK wrote:this is the part I dont get. Why is it smarter to bid 90m on deadline day, when you could have put in a bid of 70 or 80m 2 weeks ago? if you really need the player, why not give yourself enough time to conclude the deal?Nkume wrote:Arsenal bid 90 million for Thomas Lemar?Idonbelivit!!!
Arsenal must meet 2 combined rules. I have ecplained this to those who PMed me.
There is the FFP Wages to Revenue compliance rule. Whicch goes directly from this PL rule:
PL rules state you can't allocate more than £7m of TV money to wage bill if it exceeds £67m. But you can use other non-TV revenue streams.
Arsenal have failed to develop other revenue streams. Clubs like Liverpool have found a way thanks to their Owner. But our Owner has taken money out, and they have asked the Manager to sell.
If you do the sums, Wengers now has the option of selling Sanchez to buy Lemar. This is what the Owner and Board wants.
But, selling Chambers for minimum £20m and loaning or selling Perez makes Arsenal compliant. This is a very tight call.
Of course, the Board can tweak debt, like Liverpool have, keep players and buy Lemar.
For me, City's reported offer for Sanchez and Arsenal's for Lemar suggests this might be the move.
Let me also join your distant Arsenal fans clubliving wrote:Ogbunigwe some of us have joined the distant arsenal fans for 5 years now
This is what annoys me about Arsenal. Is Lemar better than Bernardo Silva? But look how much Arsenal will have to pay for him