Gernot Rohr disappointed after Jordan Torunarigha's Nigeria

gmoni1
Gernot Rohr disappointed after Jordan Torunarigha's Nigeria

Post by gmoni1 »

Gernot Rohr is disappointed following the decision of Jordan Torunarigha to turn down an opportunity to feature for Nigeria at the 2018 World Cup.

The German-born Nigerian has represented Germany youth sides but has yet to make his debut for the senior team which makes him eligible to play for the three-time African champions.

The defender who rose from the youth team of Hertha Berlin has made 14 appearances across all competitions this season for the Bundesliga outfit.

However, the 20-year-old has preferred to pledge his international future to the reigning world champions, much to the displeasure of the German tactician - looking to fortify his defence ahead of the big summer in Russia.

"It's disappointing because he was presented with a great chance to play in the World Cup if only he was interested," Rohr told BBC Sport.

"I've followed his progress, I believe he would have made positive contributions to the team.

"But we must really respect this young boy's decision now and wish him well."

Gernot Rohr ps

As part of the Super Eagles' preparation for the global tourney, they will slug it out with Atletico Madrid on May 22 before meeting with DR Congo six days later at the Godswill Akpabio International Stadium in Uyo. They conclude preparations with ties against England and Czech Republic on June 2 and June 6 respectively.

In Russia, they will be aiming to navigate their way past Argentina, Iceland and Croatia in Group D.

https://www.yahoo.com/sports/gernot-roh ... 37355.html
Re: Gernot Rohr disappointed after Jordan Torunarigha's Nige

Good luck to Jordan. We won't have him in future once his options have been exhausted

If his not motivated to represent GWG, its probably better if he just moves on. Good luck to him and his career.

charlie wrote:If his not motivated to represent GWG, its probably better if he just moves on. Good luck to him and his career.
why is Rohr always interested in all these foreign born players but incessantly ignores Nigerian born bona fide potential stars. It seems Mr Rohr lacks the discernment to recognize potential super stars or is he wittingly ignoring these stars for some perverse reasons .

gmoni1 wrote: ... As part of the Super Eagles' preparation for the global tourney, they will slug it out with Atletico Madrid on May 22 before meeting with DR Congo six days later at the Godswill Akpabio International Stadium in Uyo. They conclude preparations with ties against England and Czech Republic on June 2 and June 6 respectively.

In Russia, they will be aiming to navigate their way past Argentina, Iceland and Croatia in Group D.

https://www.yahoo.com/sports/gernot-roh ... 37355.html
Is this REAL? I thought it was a FAKE article or fake news

Is Jordan that good that he would walk straight into the 23 going to the World Cup? Is he better than Ekong, Balogun, Omeruo and Awaziem? Would he have added more value than Efe Ambrose? Or is it because he has a German background and training?

Obong wrote:Is Jordan that good that he would walk straight into the 23 going to the World Cup? Is he better than Ekong, Balogun, Omeruo and Awaziem? Would he have added more value than Efe Ambrose? Or is it because he has a German background and training?
Oyinbo na oyinbo now...

Obong wrote:Is Jordan that good that he would walk straight into the 23 going to the World Cup? Is he better than Ekong, Balogun, Omeruo and Awaziem? Would he have added more value than Efe Ambrose? Or is it because he has a German background and training?
Honestly I wonder . Definitely perplexed.

This what happens when we worship Overhyped foreign born players who will never get the German call.

Benedict Iroha wrote:This what happens when we worship Overhyped foreign born players who will never get the German call.
Who has worshipped Jordan?

Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16

© The YeyeMan 2025

We’ve been here before,I remember stating that some of these boys just don’t feel any attachment for Nigeria despite their family and was shot down just because of my opinion which has proven to be fact.Here we have a boy who could have been in Russia but turned it down because it wasn’t going to be with his country of birth.

Benedict Iroha wrote:This what happens when we worship Overhyped foreign born players who will never get the German call.
Nobody has worshipped him. He is a high quality startlet wanted by Germany and Nigeria. He has opted for Germany but at least we tried. We have a responsibility as a nation to get the best available, you are best catching them young.

Everyone knows our game now, but we must continue going for all promising young players. I know from going to watch Arsenal youth team games that we have placed every Nigerian there on alert. This makes a welcomed change to the past when we had no policy for recruitment of Nigerians in the disposal.

The old boys (ex Coaches and players) describe a young Nigerian goalie as the best they have seen since John Lukic over 25 years ago. They lament his choice of playing for Nigeria. He has rejected every attempt since he was 14 to play for England. We just cannot ignore opportunities like this. We did once and lost Alaba.

We should not be offering WC spots to young players to play for us. Seems uncouth and manipulative to me. It may have turned d boy off. I know what I'd feel as a dad if someone called my 20 yr old in a room and tried to influence what should be a career decision with a month in the sun. The biggest names from the biggest clubs have played for SE, pls!

Nobody has worshipped him. He is a high quality startlet wanted by Germany and Nigeria. He has opted for Germany but at least we tried. We have a responsibility as a nation to get the best available, you are best catching them young.

Everyone knows our game now, but we must continue going for all promising young players. I know from going to watch Arsenal youth team games that we have placed every Nigerian there on alert. This makes a welcomed change to the past when we had no policy for recruitment of Nigerians in the disposal.

The old boys (ex Coaches and players) describe a young Nigerian goalie as the best they have seen since John Lukic over 25 years ago. They lament his choice of playing for Nigeria. He has rejected every attempts by England. We just cannot ignore opportunities like this. We did once and lost Alaba.

Are you referring to Authur Okonkwo? Is he interested in playing for Nigeria?

Waffiman wrote:Nobody has worshipped him. He is a high quality startlet wanted by Germany and Nigeria. He has opted for Germany but at least we tried. We have a responsibility as a nation to get the best available, you are best catching them young.

The old boys (ex Coaches and players) describe a young Nigerian goalie as the best they have seen since John Lukic over 25 years ago. They lament his choice of playing for Nigeria. He has rejected every attempts by England. We just cannot ignore opportunities like this. We did once and lost Alaba.
Thank you. Nothing to do with "worshipping".

Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16

© The YeyeMan 2025

bret- hart wrote:

The old boys (ex Coaches and players) describe a young Nigerian goalie as the best they have seen since John Lukic over 25 years ago. They lament his choice of playing for Nigeria. He has rejected every attempt since he was 14 to play for England. We just cannot ignore opportunities like this. We did once and lost Alaba.

Are you referring to Authur Okonkwo? Is he interested in playing for Nigeria?

Yep. I am. I just hope we get him in our senior team. Kid is 16, he stands at 6ft 5ins. But he is so athletic it is unreal. He has a spring like a flea. This season he was the Under 19 goalie, he even played the odd game for the Under 23s, but was used mainly as a sub.

Right now, Arsenal have a major problem keeping him cos he has attracted interest from all over Europe. Barca Academy nicked a top midfield prospect of Arsenal last summer, they want him. Rumours are, he could be off there this summer.

He is under constant pressure to play for England. We are there also trying to make sure he plays for us. The Under 21 and 23 will be crunch time. We are monitoring the kid, hopefully, he continues to progress and he opts for us.

Waffiman wrote:Nobody has worshipped him. He is a high quality startlet wanted by Germany and Nigeria. He has opted for Germany but at least we tried. We have a responsibility as a nation to get the best available, you are best catching them young.

My bro, you have to speak to these players and their parents to get the players. It is just the way it is cos they have the option. It is the same in Rugby or Cricket. Look at what England just did to New Zealand. They just got one of the best young prospect in New Zealand rugby to play for them. The New Zealanders are fuming and it is a major issue in that country. How can a born and bred New Zealander who played every level of Rugby for them now opt for England when it really matters? Football is now the same, everyone wants the best talent.

Waffi,
Thanks for dropping some serious inside info about the youth setup.
It's obvious some people are stuck in the past with their old thinking.
Yes it's great to have a strong vibrant domestic league from where one can nurture and pick home grown players, but like it or not, the world's best talents migrate towards the strongest leagues.

It so happens that for historical reasons, Nigeria has a huge population domiciled in the country of one of such leagues (England) and that population will have children. If we had Nigerians in similar numbers living in Germany, Spain and Italy it would be an even bigger 'problem'.

Football is Nigeria's no 1 sport. We have the athletic ability and so it stands to reason that there will be wave after wave of Naija kids coming thru as time goes on. It is simply inevitable. The host country will not and cannot use all of them and it would be plain foolish of anyone not to go fishing in such deep waters in this hugely competitive era.

In fact, even our homegrown children are being snapped up by foreign clubs and that is only going to get worse. The young 14yr old Suleiman Ayomide that we have been eulogizing in another thread might soon become such a 'victim'. It's a global trend in a global commercial game and no amount of well-intended patriotism can stop it.