Nigeria Vs England Will Be Physical, Raheem Sterling Says
The game will be very physical - Raheem Sterling
On the England vs Nigeria friendly.
Speaking in an interview with Extratimesoccerlive ,
He said,
”I probably got more ticket requests than I have any game at Wembley, that’s for sure."
"I think we got a great physical team but I know for the fact that the Nigerian team will be as physical as us and technical as us but it’s going to be a game of the day.”
”It is a friendly but I don’t think it would be a friendly game because both teams are really going to get prepared and be ready.”
http://www.clintgist.com/sterling-says- ... 0807-html/
He said,
”I probably got more ticket requests than I have any game at Wembley, that’s for sure."
"I think we got a great physical team but I know for the fact that the Nigerian team will be as physical as us and technical as us but it’s going to be a game of the day.”
”It is a friendly but I don’t think it would be a friendly game because both teams are really going to get prepared and be ready.”
Nigeria Vs England Will Be Physical, Raheem Sterling Says
Manchester City star Raheem Sterling has stated that the game between the Super Eagles of Nigeria and the Three Lions of England will be a physical encounter.
The Super Eagles take on the Three Lions of England in an international friendly scheduled for Saturday, June 2.
Sterling is among the 23 players that could feature in the game which will be played at Wembley Stadium.
Speaking in an interview with Extratimesoccerlive, Sterling stated that the game between the two countries will be a physical encounter.
He said, ”I probably got more ticket requests than I have any game at Wembley, that’s for sure.
”I think we got a great physical team but I know for the fact that the Nigerian team will be as physical as us and technical as us but it’s going to be a game of the day.”
Sterling also further stated that despite the game being a friendly it will be a highly contested affair.
He said, ”It is a friendly but I don’t think it would be a friendly game because both teams are really going to get prepared and be ready.”
Sterling will be familiar with some Super Eagles players such as Victor Moses and Kelechi Iheanacho who he played with in the Premier League at Liverpool and Manchester City respectively.
The game will be a preparatory match for the Super Eagles 2018 FIFA World Cup opening game against Croatia while the Three Lions aim to use the game to prepare for their opener against Tunisia.
Source : http://www.clintgist.com/sterling-says- ... 0807-html/
The Super Eagles take on the Three Lions of England in an international friendly scheduled for Saturday, June 2.
Sterling is among the 23 players that could feature in the game which will be played at Wembley Stadium.
Speaking in an interview with Extratimesoccerlive, Sterling stated that the game between the two countries will be a physical encounter.
He said, ”I probably got more ticket requests than I have any game at Wembley, that’s for sure.
”I think we got a great physical team but I know for the fact that the Nigerian team will be as physical as us and technical as us but it’s going to be a game of the day.”
Sterling also further stated that despite the game being a friendly it will be a highly contested affair.
He said, ”It is a friendly but I don’t think it would be a friendly game because both teams are really going to get prepared and be ready.”
Sterling will be familiar with some Super Eagles players such as Victor Moses and Kelechi Iheanacho who he played with in the Premier League at Liverpool and Manchester City respectively.
The game will be a preparatory match for the Super Eagles 2018 FIFA World Cup opening game against Croatia while the Three Lions aim to use the game to prepare for their opener against Tunisia.
Source : http://www.clintgist.com/sterling-says- ... 0807-html/
Re: Nigeria Vs England Will Be Physical, Raheem Sterling Say
why is this friendly getting so much juice and hype.. 

The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
why can't we train at Wembley ? instead of the yeye micro stadium
He is right that Nigeria has some real specimens in their team: Balogun, Ekong, Ogu, Ndidi, Uzoho...
...hope the specimens don't clatter in and cause foul, penalty, red card.
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
Some High School stadiums in the US have way better stadiums than that public park nonsense called Barnet stadium.Bigpokey24 wrote:why can't we train at Wembley ? instead of the yeye micro stadium
- airwolex
When will these oyinbos learn that not all African Countries play the same way. Nigeria hasn't been a physically imposing team since 1994. The way that Serbian number 9 bullied all our defenders in our last friendly was embarrassing.
Because England has a lot of Nigerians. And England has a lot of history in general with Nigeria. It's also rare that African teams play against England.
Also England are a big team compared to some of the other countries we've recently had friendlies against.
Bigpokey24 wrote:why is this friendly getting so much juice and hype..
Anyone that can fry 3 sets of plantain without putting any in their mouth can keep a secret.
- imehjunior
Who dey beg am for ticket.
Nagasaki, plus the fact that it's almost an EPL England v EPL Nigeria
kendo wrote:Because England has a lot of Nigerians. And England has a lot of history in general with Nigeria. It's also rare that African teams play against England.
Bigpokey24 wrote:why is this friendly getting so much juice and hype..
You mean Mitrovic? Now i will be worried if fat Mitrovic troubled our defence...i will be very very worried.airwolex wrote:When will these oyinbos learn that not all African Countries play the same way. Nigeria hasn't been a physically imposing team since 1994. The way that Serbian number 9 bullied all our defenders in our last friendly was embarrassing.
Sterling echoing the oyinbo stereotype of African football. Nigeria certainly is not physical (not in the Cameroon mould) though we have some players you certainly don't want to cross- Ogu, Ekong, Nwankwo and Omeruo readily come to mind.
- The YeyeMan
You neva see the game? Mitrovic troubled Omeruo and Awaziem well well.oloye wrote:You mean Mitrovic? Now i will be worried if fat Mitrovic troubled our defence...i will be very very worried.airwolex wrote:When will these oyinbos learn that not all African Countries play the same way. Nigeria hasn't been a physically imposing team since 1994. The way that Serbian number 9 bullied all our defenders in our last friendly was embarrassing.
Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16
© The YeyeMan 2025
- maceo4
The two goals he scored nko, no be trouble?The YeyeMan wrote:You neva see the game? Mitrovic troubled Omeruo and Awaziem well well.oloye wrote:You mean Mitrovic? Now i will be worried if fat Mitrovic troubled our defence...i will be very very worried.airwolex wrote:When will these oyinbos learn that not all African Countries play the same way. Nigeria hasn't been a physically imposing team since 1994. The way that Serbian number 9 bullied all our defenders in our last friendly was embarrassing.
Re: The game will be very physical - Raheem Sterling
Hmm, talking like this in a FRIENDLY match? I hope they don't come looking to intentionally injure our people.proclaimjesus02 wrote:On the England vs Nigeria friendly.
He said,
Bros,Omeruo gets bullied off the ball a lot of time. He is not physicalObong wrote:Sterling echoing the oyinbo stereotype of African football. Nigeria certainly is not physical (not in the Cameroon mould) though we have some players you certainly don't want to cross- Ogu, Ekong, Nwankwo and Omeruo readily come to mind.
You never realize what you have till you lose it.
Yep! Remember that little Ranti dude from SAfrica muscling him out of the way in Uyo...KIZONZO wrote:Bros,Omeruo gets bullied off the ball a lot of time. He is not physicalObong wrote:Sterling echoing the oyinbo stereotype of African football. Nigeria certainly is not physical (not in the Cameroon mould) though we have some players you certainly don't want to cross- Ogu, Ekong, Nwankwo and Omeruo readily come to mind.

- metalalloy
- Flying Eagle
Obong wrote:Sterling echoing the oyinbo stereotype of African football. Nigeria certainly is not physical (not in the Cameroon mould) though we have some players you certainly don't want to cross- Ogu, Ekong, Nwankwo and Omeruo readily come to mind.
Is England physical in the "Cameroon mould"?
- theYemster
Not sure which of your minds it came to but is this the same Omeuro the South Africans ran rings around and tossed aside like a rag doll or there's another Omeuro?Obong wrote:Sterling echoing the oyinbo stereotype of African football. Nigeria certainly is not physical (not in the Cameroon mould) though we have some players you certainly don't want to cross- Ogu, Ekong, Nwankwo and Omeruo readily come to mind.

© ɹ ǝ ʇ s ɯ é ʎ ǝ ɥ ʇ" ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Look Nigeria should not go all in to justify the occasion, you dont want injuries at this key moment
Keshi played Omeruo despite his having malaria. That explains his timid effort that day. Remember 2013 AFCON? Have you forgotten how he handled the burly Drogba? Or the 2013 Confed Cup when he played with a bandaged head after a clash of heads? Omeruo's as tough as they come. Check his path from the under-20s.Gotti wrote:Yep! Remember that little Ranti dude from SAfrica muscling him out of the way in Uyo...KIZONZO wrote:Bros,Omeruo gets bullied off the ball a lot of time. He is not physicalObong wrote:Sterling echoing the oyinbo stereotype of African football. Nigeria certainly is not physical (not in the Cameroon mould) though we have some players you certainly don't want to cross- Ogu, Ekong, Nwankwo and Omeruo readily come to mind.