'Mathematical ' is livid! Who can blame him?

Re: 'Mathematical ' is livid! Who can blame him?

404 wrote:You can disagree with Segun “Mathematical” Odegami without being vile and disrespecting a man who is one of Nigeria’s first AFCON winners and a footballing legend. Those that have to restore to abusing him have no home training and obviously have no respect for those who have brought glory to Nigerian football. He has every right to give his opinion and you have every right to disagree without being abusive to a man who has accomplished more than most of you armchair players, coaches and critics will ever accomplish in your lives!
:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo

I love the mathematical, but I remember vividly after the semi-final exit of Mali 2002. He was equally as livid and said anyone but Amodu should be a coach. Onigbinde was hired and you all know how that went afterwards. It's a lot easier to destroy stuff than to create so people shouting about firing should put even more energy towards the hiring.

highbury wrote:I guess these Nff folks more especially potbelled Pinnick wants to waste a generation of Nigerian footballers. Are you telling we can't find a single player from the 94/98 set to coach SE?
I can't believe folks are getting hoodwinked. Rohr has not won any trophy as a player or manager. If we want foreign why not get the best of the best?
There lies the issue....

What makes Rohr the best coach to coach Nigeria?

Let’s say we are rehiring coaches today. What exactly makes him the great coach....his trophy cabinet? His style of play? What exactly...

Take man management out and the guy is just a white poor man’s Amodu (RIP)

If Pinnick can’t do better....he should go too.....

Hell, Go appoint seedorf and kluivert.....they will be cheap

Go and watch the tactical changes they made against us....with worse players and had 65% of the ball

highbury wrote:I guess these Nff folks more especially potbelled Pinnick wants to waste a generation of Nigerian footballers. Are you telling we can't find a single player from the 94/98 set to coach SE?
I can't believe folks are getting hoodwinked. Rohr has not won any trophy as a player or manager. If we want foreign why not get the best of the best?
But he has!!

HE DID IT TWICE AND WE FAILED TO QUALIFY EVEN FOR THE AFCON! What do you expect the man to do? :roll:

john12 wrote:All these bullish because you lost to the best team at the competition? And the same DELUSIONAL will call English pundits DELUSIONAL
So why is Algeria the best team? It's not like they had better overall players, and it's not like they have been the best team for a while. :?

They are the best coached team, and have been improving better than us since we beat them in the WCQ.

Segun needs to shut up! If you have what it takes, go ahead and secure your coaching badges! Pick up a team, even if na division 3, and show us that you can translate your talk to successful tactics on the actual pitch! In no time, the SE job will be handed to you and you can lead us to glory. But 30 something years after he stopped playing, na so so talk the man dey talk. I've tired of hearing him. Take action or shut up!!

Bell wrote:
ohsee wrote:
Sampo wrote:Rohr lacks Naija football mettle. :boo:

There were Tiko, Westerhof, Bonfrere before him. They understood our football culture and reinforced it

They were European too, but knew very well how we roll with our football style.

This man takes away more than he adds to our pedigree.

Big Sheg saw through the tactical incompetence and called it since Russia 2018.

:curse: :curse: :curse: :curse:

https://www.youtube.com/?v=R3J-8otXjNA[/video]
:thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :agree: :agree: :agree: :agree: :agree: :agree: :agree: :agree:
I can't believe this is the first time I have heard this guy speak. I love this guy! :thumbs: :thumbs: This is what Nigerians should be--articulate, intelligent, and knowledgeable about the world! Up Mathematical! :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:
FIRST TAKEAWAY FROM ODEGBAMI - INDIGENOUS COACHES

Like many, Odegbami is opposed to the renewal of Rohr's contract and hand the reins to a Nigerian. That subject has been debated here for decades. Some have remained on one side or the other, while some have moved back and forth. Personally, I think Nigeria should as a matter of policy use a Nigerian coach for the foreseeable future. No need to restate the reasons which have been provided here ad nauseam. That decision needs to be made fast given the fast-approaching AFCON and WC.
KPOM!!! To the hundredth power. When people like Odegbami, who know and breathe football talk, one wonders how some opponents can even make a case for Rohr to remain.

At some point (hopefully sooner rather than later) we will have football administrators who understand and/or take seriously the concept of football philosophy and why it is something you have to not just understand and articulate but crystallize by ensuring that most (if not all) of your resources -- particularly the coaches / managers you hire -- are aligned with that philosophy.

Not to say you won't find the odd German here and there, and not at all oblivious to the change brought by Joachim Loew to Germany's football philosophy in the last decade or so, the fact remains that the average German football coach -- and more so one raised in the same era as Gernot Rohr -- still embraces the German football philosophy of an efficient, minimalist and conservative approach to the round leather game.

That has never been how Nigerian soccer plays and most definitely not how how it has thrived. To the john12's of this world, no one is saying categorically that your man is a terrible coach. Instead, he just happens to be a terrible coach for Nigeria.

Enyi wrote:
There lies the issue....

What makes Rohr the best coach to coach Nigeria?

Let’s say we are rehiring coaches today. What exactly makes him the great coach....his trophy cabinet? His style of play? What exactly...

Take man management out and the guy is just a white poor man’s Amodu (RIP)

If Pinnick can’t do better....he should go too.....

Hell, Go appoint seedorf and kluivert.....they will be cheap

Go and watch the tactical changes they made against us....with worse players and had 65% of the ball
Plus they are Dutch.

Its like Seedorf/Kliuvert turning Cameroon into Nigeria of yore and the opposite happening with our German coach. Not cool.

Sampo

Post by Sampo »

theDunamis wrote:At some point (hopefully sooner rather than later) we will have football administrators who understand and/or take seriously the concept of football philosophy and why it is something you have to not just understand and articulate but crystallize by ensuring that most (if not all) of your resources -- particularly the coaches / managers you hire -- are aligned with that philosophy.

Not to say you won't find the odd German here and there, and not at all oblivious to the change brought by Joachim Loew to Germany's football philosophy in the last decade or so, the fact remains that the average German football coach -- and more so one raised in the same era as Gernot Rohr -- still embraces the German football philosophy of an efficient, minimalist and conservative approach to the round leather game.

That has never been how Nigerian soccer plays and most definitely not how how it has thrived. To the john12's of this world, no one is saying categorically that your man is a terrible coach. Instead, he just happens to be a terrible coach for Nigeria.
This is my beef with Rohr's employers at NFF.
Dem Germans are great in organizational aspects and structural implementation.
They should have been in charge of assisting to clean up the rot at the Glass House.
The coaching approach and our football mentality are at odds with each other.
Even the marvelous Stevie Wonder can see that.
Abeg, tell them! :clap: :clap: :clap:
S a m p o
Fly, Eagles! Fly!!!
Sampo

Post by Sampo »

Lest one forgets, couple the man's coaching style with his emasculating utterances.
He strips the lads of the Naija traditional can-do psyche.
No matter what, the institution we call the Super Eagles does not have a culture of entering the pitch with timidity, even when we had periods of rebuilding from the scratch (1984, 1988, 1990).
Rohr habitually puts fear of the opponents all over his wards.

Does anybody here know of any of our coaches past, foreign or local, who tagged our team underdogs and then went ahead and deployed exactly cowardly tactics to match???

Someone should ask Rohr, what are those attributes that make the Super Eagles super. I can bet the man would not know.... :curse: :curse: :curse:
S a m p o
Fly, Eagles! Fly!!!

theDunamis wrote:At some point (hopefully sooner rather than later) we will have football administrators who understand and/or take seriously the concept of football philosophy and why it is something you have to not just understand and articulate but crystallize by ensuring that most (if not all) of your resources -- particularly the coaches / managers you hire -- are aligned with that philosophy.

he is a terrible coach, period. That's if he's a coach in the first place.

Chief, you mean he is masquerading as a coach?

Maybe he is a DOKITA then :taunt:

Chief, you mean he is masquerading as a coach?

Maybe he is a DOKITA then :taunt:
He is a lifelong learner of the game.

Curve whiz
INTERVIEW: How Rohr Cost Nigeria AFCON Semi-Final - Odegbami

Post by Curve whiz »

INTERVIEW | How Rohr Cost Nigeria AFCON Semi-Final Match – Odegbami

Seasoned sports administrator and former Super Eagles captain, Segun Odegbami says poor coaching and inexperience of some of the players cost Nigeria the semi-final match.

via the @TheInterviewNigeria

https://theinterview.ng/2019/07/18/how- ... -odegbami/