ETIM VS OKOCHA WHO IS MORE SKILLFUL?

Re: ETIM VS OKOCHA WHO IS MORE SKILLFUL?

Okocha was miles ahead

Toxicarrow wrote:True or False?
So there's not one single video clip of Etim available on the internet?
seloweizer

Post by seloweizer »

Toxicarrow wrote:True or False?
So there's not one single video clip of Etim available on the internet?
Exactly! I have searched up and down and sideways on YOUTUBE and can’t find a decent video of Etim Esin displaying those so-called skills. Please let’s not delude ourselves- JayJay was one of the best in the world when you talk about skills. Go watch videos of when he played in the lower leagues even before he came to global limelight...

Abeg make una stop these kain tins.
Look who is Here Again!

Youth football is no way the same as playing professional football in Europe, despite Etims record of career defining mistakes if he was better than Jay Jay the world would’ve surely been made aware of his ability since he did play in Belgium at one point but?

Chei, what happened to Mudi E?

Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16

© The YeyeMan 2025

paj wrote:https://youtu.be/_0CFy0wGZbw
Rare Esin clip
He was just an ok player its an insult to Jay Jay

Etim would have added firepower to our 1994 WC squad if he wasn't banned.
He was a very good, direct and technical player, blessed with pace and power. I watched his one man demolition of Cameroon in a WCQ in Adamasingba stadium in Ibadan in 1989. That was one of the most complete displays in national team colours by any Nigerian player.
A big shame that he lacked the discipline to match his talents.

oloye wrote:I have said it once and i would say it again Etim was nothing but a hype, a hype by a country looking for new stars after the ones of the 70's and early 80's all faded and dropped from the skies. In between the years when the Green Eagles became old and bald so also did the stars. While the nation found solace with the under aged teams, we were dying for superstars to replace the faded stars of the likes of Odegbami, Muda, Alloy, Adokiye, CCC, Okalla. We scoured the horizons of our thriving league back then we could not find any player worthy of stepping inot their shoes. After winning the ANC 80, these stars left a vacuum.

So whenever a starlet was spotted playing for the under aged teams we quickly lap it up and look up to him to become the next big deal. Many starlets tried to climb up and join up with the only shining star that was left, Henry Nwosu. We shrined anyone or anything that give the appearance of having the ability to do the job. What made Etim popular was the gunshot wounds he sustained from arm robbers. He was a very good footballer no doubt, he was very good, he was good at running at people and because he was well built and breda like in height it was difficult to disposess him of the ball. His biggest asset was the dribbling runs with close ball control. His subsequent move to Belgium after the Chile 87 fiasco sort of elevated him to the position of the new army of stars that was beginning to form around that time, Nwosu was still around but now fading, but there was Keshi shining ever so brightly, there were others like Sofoluwe, Ademola Adeshina, Sam Okwaraji who held fort. But around this era playing outside the shores of the nation elevates you to another level completely and Etim was one of those who benefitted immensely from this elevation. Etim was succesful in Belgium well we thought playing in Belgium was the utopia of playing abroad , until we discovered that Belgium was just a stepping stone to greater things.

Etim rode on the wave of the hype, but the question for anyone trying to compare these two would be, what major tournament did Etim play for Nigeria outside of the 87 disaster? JJ in my humble opinion is a legend when it comes to Nigerian football, playing in 3 WC and 4 ANC while collecting medals along the way should lay this comparison to rest forever.

Talking about plethora of skills, JJ i would comes top anytime , anywhere, anyday.
The Belgian league back then was not a stepping stone and the best Belgian players played in the league.
It was one of the leagues like Holland and Portugal that were devalued by the Bosman ruling and the best players left. Etim played in an era where the 3 foreign player rule was in force. This was an era where the likes of FC Brugges got to the champions league final ,Anderlecht won the European cup winners cup and Belgium got to the semi finals of the world cup.

Truly and honestly Jay Jay all day long
ojafranpa

Post by ojafranpa »

Dammy wrote:Etim would have added firepower to our 1994 WC squad if he wasn't banned.
He was a very good, direct and technical player, blessed with pace and power. I watched his one man demolition of Cameroon in a WCQ in Adamasingba stadium in Ibadan in 1989. That was one of the most complete displays in national team colours by any Nigerian player.
God bless you Dammy. Was about to talk about his exploits that day. He single handedly destroyed the likes of Kunde, Emile Mbuh,Tawtaw etc at Adamasingba. Nija won 2-0. I remember Kunde and Tawtaw holding their waist because of Etim twisting and running them ragged with sublime football skills.
ojafranpa

Post by ojafranpa »

Etim is solid but Jay Jay na baba. They were both in the national camp but Etim got banned.

Was Etim playing regular club football in 94? Would he really have been any better than Okocha, Adepoju, and Siasia?
Dammy wrote:Etim would have added firepower to our 1994 WC squad if he wasn't banned.
Aswani

Post by Aswani »

Etim Esin really let himself down, he was a very good player that could have gone very far in his career, same as Tarila and Henry.

For those of us that are not of the YouTube generation and saw these guys live, we can only shake our heads and wonder what could have been.

A better question would have probably been Henry vs Okocha, I am picking the former every single time.

ojafranpa wrote:
God bless you Dammy. Was about to talk about his exploits that day. He single handedly destroyed the likes of Kunde, Emile Mbuh,Tawtaw etc at Adamasingba. Nija won 2-0. I remember Kunde and Tawtaw holding their waist because of Etim twisting and running them ragged with sublime football skills.
Those guys were like man mountains, they kicked Etim but it had no effect. Jayjay wouldn't have survived those brutal tactics. They just couldn't bring Etim down, Kunde challenged Siasia to a header and Siasia's scream of pain could be heard in the stands.
It's a shame Etim and Jayjay never got to play together for Nigeria, it would have been fire!

ojafranpa wrote:
Those guys were like man mountains, they kicked Etim but it had no effect. Jayjay wouldn't have survived those brutal tactics. They just couldn't bring Etim down, Kunde challenged Siasia to a header and Siasia's scream of pain could be heard in the stands.
It's a shame Etim and Jayjay never got to play together for Nigeria, it would have been fire!
This is where footballers are different, JJ does not need to take their kicks he would sort them out by dribbling thuggery out of them.

Nwosu was dribbling them at the time, he even went to play in their backyard for Racing Baffousam. That is why I said all this Etim hype need to stop,so now it is his ability to take a hit, eyin people yi papa :lol:

No comparison.. Etim was good, Okocha in another class of his own. Did you see what JJ did to the mighty Oliver Khan and against Algeria in Lagos in the 1994 world class qualifiers??

No Nigerian player has been able to announce himself in the Super Eagles the way Okocha did in 1993?