1969 - Reuters footage of Nigeria vs. Brazil featuring Pele!

onwuatuegwu
1969 - Reuters footage of Nigeria vs. Brazil featuring Pele!

Post by onwuatuegwu »

January 28, 1969 - Reuters footage of Nigeria (NFA XI) vs. Brazil (Santos) football match featuring Edson Arantes do Nascimento AKA Pele!

https://www.facebook.com/blastix/videos ... 6843603519

A recent post asked about claims that a truce was called during the Civil War because of this match. Sifting through the comments on that thread, it turns out there was no official truce however many folks listened in on Radio Nigeria across the country and including Biafra.

The match ended 2-2 with Pele scoring both goals for Santos. Military Governor of Lagos Mobolaji Johnson, his wife, and I believe Oba Oyekan are visible in the stands at about the 2:28 point.

Link to recent post: https://www.facebook.com/.../permalink/5620928127947923
Re: 1969 - Reuters footage of Nigeria vs. Brazil featuring P

onwuatuegwu wrote:January 28, 1969 - Reuters footage of Nigeria (NFA XI) vs. Brazil (Santos) football match featuring Edson Arantes do Nascimento AKA Pele!

https://www.facebook.com/blastix/videos ... 6843603519

A recent post asked about claims that a truce was called during the Civil War because of this match. Sifting through the comments on that thread, it turns out there was no official truce however many folks listened in on Radio Nigeria across the country and including Biafra.

The match ended 2-2 with Pele scoring both goals for Santos. Military Governor of Lagos Mobolaji Johnson, his wife, and I believe Oba Oyekan are visible in the stands at about the 2:28 point.

Link to recent post: https://www.facebook.com/.../permalink/5620928127947923
Wow.
Thanks for this. :clap:
I believe it was played at the Onikan stadium.

I believe Pa Ohsee can tell us more about this match!

I'm I the only one who can't access the Facebook link?

Tobi17 wrote:I'm I the only one who can't access the Facebook link?
me sef no see anything :lol:

Thanks to those who went to their personal archive and produced a video they recorded of the game.
Last edited by 1naija on Tue Mar 30, 2021 4:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Nice one!

so no be today lagosians begin rush pitch self

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

1naija wrote:Thanks to those who went to their personal archive and produce a video they recorded of the game.
Still mischievous at 73 3/4 years old, you no dey taya! :mrgreen: