Benin vs Nigeria (0:1) FT

Re: Benin vs Nigeria (0:0)

1naija wrote:I feel bad for Benin
Good for them. That's what can happen when you refuse to play.

Scipio Africanus wrote:That's what Onuachu can do! :clap: :clap: :clap:
What any normal footballer can do, score a tap in header off a rebound save with the keeper on the floor? Don’t let the excitement cloud critical thinking. He was piss poor up until the ball fortunately bounced to him. But we will take it :thumbs:

I liked what I saw from the home based player though, did you guys see the ball control off that long ball from the back, Kai! He needs a good coach to work on his decision making.
That goal required poise and timing to put it in the back of the net. One wrong move of his body and that ball would have bounced over the bar, or he would have missed the header entirely. That was a clinical finish, abeg! :clap: :clap: :clap:

maceo4 wrote:Basketballer with his normal tap-in/finger roll lol

MACE, it seems every CE was thinking about you once the ball hit the net...
But not when he was slowing our game down, losing the ball and fouling all over the place Mschew :taunt:
Re: Benin vs Nigeria (0:1)

Its a Goal wrote:Awala is a potential.
Iwuala...
I think so too. He should get more time vs Lesotho.

ohenhen1 wrote:Benin paid the price for trying to be too negative
pretty much.

maceo4 wrote:Basketballer with his normal tap-in/finger roll lol

MACE, it seems every CE was thinking about you once the ball hit the net...
But not when he was slowing our game down, losing the ball and fouling all over the place Mschew :taunt:
He was setting you up for a grandstand finish... 8-)

Re: Benin vs Nigeria (0:1) FT

Bigpokey24 wrote:Benin will qualify, Nigeria go wound Lesotho for them
Unfortunately for them there's nothing Nigeria can do to help. But fortunately for them everything is in their hands if they avoid defeat away against sierra leone in a few days time.

Overral decent result. We had enough chances to win by more than one goal. Benin came playing for a draw and game us way too much time on the ball.

Our pace is still too slow and we didn't use the wings as efficiently as we could. We were disciplined defensively for the most part and it was also nice to see both Onyekeru and Chuwkueze cover the fullbacks when necessary. Would have also liked to see Aina overlap a bit more. Every team we play knows Chuwkueze is a big threat, so Aina running down the touchline a bit more could have allowed Chuwkueze space tp drift into the middle now and then.

If Iwobi played as an AM we would have scored more goals. I noticed Aribo tended to slow the game down and pass sideways or backwards rather than making the forward pass. Aribo is better running off the ball than with the ball at his feet.
Last edited by olu on Sat Mar 27, 2021 7:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Leaf
Re: Benin vs Nigeria (0:1)

Post by Leaf »

Chxta wrote:Can anyone put the video of the goal here?
From where?
https://twitter.com/beINSPORTSUSA/statu ... 5075719171
oyek

Post by oyek »

The Beninous team tried to play it safe throughout the game but couldn't at the end.
If not for Jesus, where will i be?

What any normal footballer can do, score a tap in header off a rebound save with the keeper on the floor? Don’t let the excitement cloud critical thinking. He was piss poor up until the ball fortunately bounced to him. But we will take it :thumbs:

I liked what I saw from the home based player though, did you guys see the ball control off that long ball from the back, Kai! He needs a good coach to work on his decision making.
Suddenly we have a home base player that can do ONE thing right? Hmmmmm

olu wrote:Overral decent result. We had enough chances to win by more than one goal. Benin came playing for a draw and game us way too much time on the ball.

Our pace is still too slow and we didn't use the wings as efficiently as we could. We were disciplined defensively for the most part and it was also nice to see both Onyekeru and Chuwkueze cover the fullbacks when necessary. Would have also liked to see Aina overlap a bit more. Every team we play knows Chuwkueze is a big threat, so Aina running down the touchline a bit more could have allowed Chuwkueze space tp drift into the middle now and then.

If Iwobi played as an AM we would have scored more goals. I noticed Aribo tended to slow the game down and pass sideways or backwards rather than making the forward pass. Aribo is better running off the ball than with the ball at his feet.
Based on what? Hmmmmm

There is always one missing "Messi' that would have made use to win the WC. Today it is Iwobi. The day Iwobi is on the field we will find another missing 'Messi'
BigMuze

Post by BigMuze »

Very happy we won this away game for confidence going into WC Qualifying. All the good work of today would have been lost in a draw result. Either they were very afraid of us or we marshalled them start to finish. Well done Onuachu. Eventually
"Everyone, and particularly every true beliver, should decide which is more important to them. But as for me, I choose eternity over lifetime".

Suddenly we have a home base player that can do ONE thing right? Hmmmmm
He had some poor passes through, but will get better
BigMuze

Post by BigMuze »

Nigeria seriously needs a back up for Captain Wilfred Ndidi.
"Everyone, and particularly every true beliver, should decide which is more important to them. But as for me, I choose eternity over lifetime".
Leaf

Post by Leaf »

:agree: Size matters
The Onuachu / Osimhen combo up front is intriguing

I like the look of Iwuala. He looked more dangerous than Onyekuru. I hope he starts against Lesotho.

Bigpokey24 wrote:Benin will qualify, Nigeria go wound Lesotho for them
Unfortunately for them there's nothing Nigeria can do to help. But fortunately for them everything is in their hands if they avoid defeat away against sierra leone in a few days time.
Yep. Lesotho is out already hence that game is irrelevant to Benin. They have to at least get a draw against SL away.
lasgides

Post by lasgides »

Lolly wrote:Well done Boys.

Looking forward to seeing the boys live on Tuesday.
Same Here!

Robotnik wrote:He had some poor passes through, but will get better
He didn't...
Had one attempted through pass beautifully blocked and one pass that fell short between Aribo and Ndidi.

He also took a tight angled shot, when he might have crossed...
But on the basis of his cameo, was at par with everyone else out there.

Dammy wrote:I like the look of Iwuala. He looked more dangerous than Onyekuru. I hope he starts against Lesotho.
Onyekuru was arguably our most dangerous player in the first-half, and it took a terrific save to deny him a goal...

Scipio Africanus wrote:

That goal required poise and timing to put it in the back of the net. One wrong move of his body and that ball would have bounced over the bar, or he would have missed the header entirely. That was a clinical finish, abeg! :clap: :clap: :clap:
Sure...clinical tap in header into an empty net :clap: :clap: :clap:

BigMuze wrote:Nigeria seriously needs a back up for Captain Wilfred Ndidi.
I doubt that Ndidi will play on Tuesday...