Oliseh's Book and his "attack" of JJ Okocha

Toxicarrow
Re: Oliseh's Book and his "attack" of JJ Okocha

Post by Toxicarrow »

kendo wrote:I bought the book. I have almost finished... just a few pages of the final chapter.

Indeed it does have a "I am a golden child" vibe to it but it's his own biography, so of course it'll be like that.
I like how the books does talk about things behind the scenes... disappointing but not surprising. The NFA really showed dem pepper, both players and coaching staff. Jo Bonfrère was very patient.

One part of the book did surprise me a bit: after NIGERIA vs CONGO in AFCON 2000 in lagos, angry fans stoned the bus and almost seriously injured some players.
Glad to see another reader in the house :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:
Check out Sooting's website:
https://shootingstarssc.com/

kendo wrote:I bought the book. I have almost finished... just a few pages of the final chapter.

Indeed it does have a "I am a golden child" vibe to it but it's his own biography, so of course it'll be like that.
I like how the books does talk about things behind the scenes... disappointing but not surprising. The NFA really showed dem pepper, both players and coaching staff. Jo Bonfrère was very patient.

One part of the book did surprise me a bit: after NIGERIA vs CONGO in AFCON 2000 in lagos, angry fans stoned the bus and almost seriously injured some players.
For how long have you been supporting/watching Nigeria?

Those days were different. Things have changed. We now have a fan base which is sadly full with Arsenal and Tottenham fans who are disgusting losers! Consequently, our fan base is now deeply rooted in loser-mentality. You see it on this forum everyday with fans happy to go to tournaments to "learn.' Tufiakwa! What a shameful and disgusting experience to support the same team as these people. Unfortunately, this is where we are today. In those days, you knew that once you put on that shirt, it was victory or nothing! kai! gone are the days :oops: :(

But that's old news na, they even broke the windows of the team bus. I believe that was one of the reasons why they stopped hosting games in Lagos.
How Rashidi Yekini knelt and begged due to Super Eagles gang

How Rashidi Yekini knelt and begged due to Super Eagles gang up

The socially awkward striker grovelled in front of his teammates before they went to USA ’94, where he scored the country’s first goal at the World Cup

Former Nigeria captain and coach Sunday Oliseh has revealed how star striker Rashidi Yekini shockingly went on his knees to beg his teammates for support ahead of the FIFA World Cup USA ’94.

Nigeria were making their debut at the tournament, and Yekini, who was the Super Eagles’ top scorer, realised that he was the envy of many and was afraid he would not find the needed service to score at the Mundial.

He had become the first Nigerian to be named CAF African Footballer of the Year in 1993. His five goals the following year had done them a world of good in winning the 1994 Africa Cup of Nations title in Tunisia, and Oliseh stated that he was the “real and only superstar” of the team.

But there seemed to have been envy at his good fortunes among teammates. Rumours in the media stated that the players were unhappy that the socially awkward striker had refused to spend any of his POTY winning money on teammates.

Writing in his new autobiography, Audacity to Refuse, Oliseh said that days before the team’s departure to the US, Yekini fell on his knees to plead with his teammates for consistent service to enable him to score goals.

It was an act that “shocked” Oliseh and has him “puzzled” till date.

The following are excerpts from the book:

“The next day we had a meeting amongst ourselves called up by Captain Keshi and the senior players. Several issues were discussed and like always, the youngsters and minorities, of which I was a member, just looked on speechless and impotent at the charade.

“To my greatest surprise, Rasheed Yekini, who had been criticised, in my opinion unjustly for certain small issues, went on his knees in front of the whole group and pleaded for forgiveness from anyone in the group who might have held any grudges against him for whatever reasons. I was totally shocked.

“His reasoning, as I later gathered, was that he feared being ganged up against at the World Cup proper and deprived of service in matches. This action broke me down and till date has me puzzled. I felt revolted but impotent.

“In my opinion, he was the real and only superstar in the group, the most prolific in front of the goal, and by far the best striker the Super Eagles ever produced.

“Our entire attacking strength was built around him, and it was his goals that had qualified us for the 1994 World Cup.”

“He had almost single-handedly won us the 1994 African Nations Cup just weeks earlier, and without his potency, we did not stand a chance at the World Cup.”

“How could he beg for service when most of the goals he got at the AFCON he got from me and Finidi George, and we liked the guy, though he did not socialise enough with us to know it.

True, Rashidi Yekini had clamoured for reinforcement to the team after the 1994 AFCON’s success, and he might have been paying the price.

“Unfortunately, some media houses falsely later rumoured that the entire Green Eagles team players were unhappy with Rashidi because he did not share his prize money, 5,000 dollars, from the African Player of the Year award with the group; 5,000 Dollars divided by 22 players would be 227 dollars and 30 cents, a ridiculous, false, and baseless accusation!”

Yekini would go on to score Nigeria’s first-ever World Cup goal in a 3-0 victory against Bulgaria a few weeks later.

He’s still Nigeria’s all-time top scorer with 37 goals in 62 caps.

Yekini died on May 4, 2012, at the age of 48.

Sunday Oliseh’s Audacity To Refuse is available via www.sundayoliseh.tv and in Nigeria via Roving Heights Books.

https://soccernet.ng/2021/05/how-rashid ... ng-up.html
kendo

Post by kendo »

Those days were different. Things have changed. We now have a fan base which is sadly full with Arsenal and Tottenham fans who are disgusting losers! Consequently, our fan base is now deeply rooted in loser-mentality. You see it on this forum everyday with fans happy to go to tournaments to "learn.' Tufiakwa! What a shameful and disgusting experience to support the same team as these people. Unfortunately, this is where we are today. In those days, you knew that once you put on that shirt, it was victory or nothing! kai! gone are the days :oops: :(

Oh of course, I remember how over-zealous Super Eagles fans could be. I remember reading in the papers just before WC-2002 that NEPA had urged fans OT too riot if they took light. Hehehe
Anyone that can fry 3 sets of plantain without putting any in their mouth can keep a secret.
kendo

Post by kendo »

gochino wrote:

But that's old news na, they even broke the windows of the team bus. I believe that was one of the reasons why they stopped hosting games in Lagos.

Oliseh said their reserve keeper was closed to being fatally injured when a huge rock was throw thru the window.

My question to the SE Fans at the time, if u had injured the team-players who will play the matches???
Anyone that can fry 3 sets of plantain without putting any in their mouth can keep a secret.
Re: How Rashidi Yekini knelt and begged due to Super Eagles

iworo wrote:How Rashidi Yekini knelt and begged due to Super Eagles gang up

The socially awkward striker grovelled in front of his teammates before they went to USA ’94, where he scored the country’s first goal at the World Cup

Former Nigeria captain and coach Sunday Oliseh has revealed how star striker Rashidi Yekini shockingly went on his knees to beg his teammates for support ahead of the FIFA World Cup USA ’94.

Nigeria were making their debut at the tournament, and Yekini, who was the Super Eagles’ top scorer, realised that he was the envy of many and was afraid he would not find the needed service to score at the Mundial.

He had become the first Nigerian to be named CAF African Footballer of the Year in 1993. His five goals the following year had done them a world of good in winning the 1994 Africa Cup of Nations title in Tunisia, and Oliseh stated that he was the “real and only superstar” of the team.

But there seemed to have been envy at his good fortunes among teammates. Rumours in the media stated that the players were unhappy that the socially awkward striker had refused to spend any of his POTY winning money on teammates.

Writing in his new autobiography, Audacity to Refuse, Oliseh said that days before the team’s departure to the US, Yekini fell on his knees to plead with his teammates for consistent service to enable him to score goals.

It was an act that “shocked” Oliseh and has him “puzzled” till date.

The following are excerpts from the book:

“The next day we had a meeting amongst ourselves called up by Captain Keshi and the senior players. Several issues were discussed and like always, the youngsters and minorities, of which I was a member, just looked on speechless and impotent at the charade.

“To my greatest surprise, Rasheed Yekini, who had been criticised, in my opinion unjustly for certain small issues, went on his knees in front of the whole group and pleaded for forgiveness from anyone in the group who might have held any grudges against him for whatever reasons. I was totally shocked.

“His reasoning, as I later gathered, was that he feared being ganged up against at the World Cup proper and deprived of service in matches. This action broke me down and till date has me puzzled. I felt revolted but impotent.

“In my opinion, he was the real and only superstar in the group, the most prolific in front of the goal, and by far the best striker the Super Eagles ever produced.

“Our entire attacking strength was built around him, and it was his goals that had qualified us for the 1994 World Cup.”

“He had almost single-handedly won us the 1994 African Nations Cup just weeks earlier, and without his potency, we did not stand a chance at the World Cup.”

“How could he beg for service when most of the goals he got at the AFCON he got from me and Finidi George, and we liked the guy, though he did not socialise enough with us to know it.

True, Rashidi Yekini had clamoured for reinforcement to the team after the 1994 AFCON’s success, and he might have been paying the price.

“Unfortunately, some media houses falsely later rumoured that the entire Green Eagles team players were unhappy with Rashidi because he did not share his prize money, 5,000 dollars, from the African Player of the Year award with the group; 5,000 Dollars divided by 22 players would be 227 dollars and 30 cents, a ridiculous, false, and baseless accusation!”

Yekini would go on to score Nigeria’s first-ever World Cup goal in a 3-0 victory against Bulgaria a few weeks later.

He’s still Nigeria’s all-time top scorer with 37 goals in 62 caps.

Yekini died on May 4, 2012, at the age of 48.

Sunday Oliseh’s Audacity To Refuse is available via www.sundayoliseh.tv and in Nigeria via Roving Heights Books.

https://soccernet.ng/2021/05/how-rashid ... ng-up.html
That was the crux of the matter, his vocal support for the recall of Chidi Nwanu put him in trouble with those who had conspired to keep him out of the team unjustly.

kendo wrote:

Oh of course, I remember how over-zealous Super Eagles fans could be. I remember reading in the papers just before WC-2002 that NEPA had urged fans OT too riot if they took light. Hehehe
i see nothing wrong with that, you play rubbish in Lagos we give you the beatings of your lives. I encourage such 100%, since that own goal in 1981 , all SE players sat up

kendo wrote:

i see nothing wrong with that, you play rubbish in Lagos we give you the beatings of your lives. I encourage such 100%, since that own goal in 1981 , all SE players sat up
Which own goal in 1981?

odiye world cup qualifiers

Bigpokey24 wrote:odiye world cup qualifiers

So they tried to keep Chidi Nwanu out.
I always wondered how Augustine Equavon and Thomas Oliha, the Ezeugo fellas made that team, even
Mike Emenalo was suspect.
Last edited by ANC on Sun May 09, 2021 11:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Bigpokey24 wrote:odiye world cup qualifiers
:thumb:

kendo

Post by kendo »

kendo wrote:

That's terrible. People can get seriously hurt.
use ggs eggs, tomatoes... not rocks.

kendo wrote:

well some used swan water bottles on Ikpeba during AFCON 2k...Ikepba tried to abuse the fans back and Lagos fans waya am well well

kendo wrote:

well some used swan water bottles on Ikpeba during AFCON 2k...Ikepba tried to abuse the fans back and Lagos fans waya am well well
His wife was dying of cancer too.

kendo wrote:

His wife was dying of cancer too.
yes we all know Atinuke passed RIP.... why derail?

the issue with Oliseh, Odemwingie and to a certain extent Mikel.....

unless u know these guys personally.....you wont understand them truly. these guys call a spade a spade and at the time, u might not get it.... but later when u think about it....

these guys hit with their heart

Enyi wrote:the issue with Oliseh, Odemwingie and to a certain extent Mikel.....

unless u know these guys personally.....you wont understand them truly. these guys call a spade a spade and at the time, u might not get it.... but later when u think about it....

these guys hit with their heart
Yeah, Odemwingie calls a spade a spade, as in oyibo na oyibo, abi❓❗️

Toxicarrow wrote:My copy of Sunday Oliseh's book - "Audacity to Refuse" arrived at my doorstep four hours ago. In my curiosity for the "inside scoop" on what happened in Mali 2002, I went straight to the three chapters ( 16, 17 & 18) about the pre-Mali 2002 qualifying matches, Mali 2002, and 2002 WC. Oliseh tactically lambasted Jay Jay Okocha even without naming him. He called him "selfish" and "egoist" who destabilized the team for his own selfish goals. In sum, he partly blamed Okocha for the ugly episodes in Mali. Of course, Nigerian media, NFA and Sport Minister were not spared by Oliseh

However, what was quite shocking and revealing in these three chapters about Mali 2002 was Coach Amodu's poor medical condition. He wrote:
"The coaches were also unpaid and Coach Shuaibu called me up to this room for a private talk. He informed me that he had a bad feeling about the FA, and shocked me when he confided in me that he had serious health problems that no one knew about. I broke down completely and had to sit down. That explained why Coach Shuaibu was always confined to his room, only venturing out for training sessions, matches, and dinner. He implored me to keep it to myself, which I have till date" - p. 316
I got my book and just finished same chapters. I don’t think it’s Jay Jay only. He never directly mentioned the culprit (s). But he omitted Kanu Nwankwo and Jay Jay from the list of those he thanked for their support during the qualifier for 2002 AFCON and World Cup at page 316:
”The entire group agreed, thanks to support I received from level headed colleagues such as Tijani Babangida, Finidi George, Aghahowa, Yobo, Victor Agali and Yakubu Aiyegbeni”
As I said the identity of the guy is not revealed between the 2 senior leadership left out. It seems Keshi had warned Sunday not to give in allowing this guy having his own room as he had insisted when everyone was sharing room.
Per Sunday, the person later became the captain of the SE, after leading the mischief against him and the coaches. He also said the team led by the person, had worst appearance at 2002 World Cup, couldn’t qualify for subsequent World Cup in Germany (2006)and never did better at AFCON until Keshi was recalled as coach. And that the best the country could do was the same bronze they won at Mali.
I will put my money on Kanu as he was closest to Onigbinde during JapaKorea ‘02. In the chapter on Atlanta Olympic, he also took a swipe at Kanu for reporting late to camp. The betrayal by the 2 along with Patrick Ekeji set Nigeria back for a decade.
“Whether qualifying for the Workd cup qualifiers or not, the team lacked leadership, was undisciplined, and celebrated the same third place at the AFCON for a decade...”

True! We are now in a generation where third place at AFCON is celebrated as “golden bronze” to quote Sunday Oliseh.

furiously frank wrote:
Toxicarrow wrote:My copy of Sunday Oliseh's book - "Audacity to Refuse" arrived at my doorstep four hours ago. In my curiosity for the "inside scoop" on what happened in Mali 2002, I went straight to the three chapters ( 16, 17 & 18) about the pre-Mali 2002 qualifying matches, Mali 2002, and 2002 WC. Oliseh tactically lambasted Jay Jay Okocha even without naming him. He called him "selfish" and "egoist" who destabilized the team for his own selfish goals. In sum, he partly blamed Okocha for the ugly episodes in Mali. Of course, Nigerian media, NFA and Sport Minister were not spared by Oliseh

However, what was quite shocking and revealing in these three chapters about Mali 2002 was Coach Amodu's poor medical condition. He wrote:
"The coaches were also unpaid and Coach Shuaibu called me up to this room for a private talk. He informed me that he had a bad feeling about the FA, and shocked me when he confided in me that he had serious health problems that no one knew about. I broke down completely and had to sit down. That explained why Coach Shuaibu was always confined to his room, only venturing out for training sessions, matches, and dinner. He implored me to keep it to myself, which I have till date" - p. 316
I got my book and just finished same chapters. I don’t think it’s Jay Jay only. He never directly mentioned the culprit (s). But he omitted Kanu Nwankwo and Jay Jay from the list of those he thanked for their support during the qualifier for 2002 AFCON and World Cup at page 316:
”The entire group agreed, thanks to support I received from level headed colleagues such as Tijani Babangida, Finidi George, Aghahowa, Yobo, Victor Agali and Yakubu Aiyegbeni”
As I said the identity of the guy is not revealed between the 2 senior leadership left out. It seems Keshi had warned Sunday not to give in allowing this guy having his own room as he had insisted when everyone was sharing room.
Per Sunday, the person later became the captain of the SE, after leading the mischief against him and the coaches. He also said the team led by the person, had worst appearance at 2002 World Cup, couldn’t qualify for subsequent World Cup in Germany (2006)and never did better at AFCON until Keshi was recalled as coach. And that the best the country could do was the same bronze they won at Mali.
I will put my money on Kanu as he was closest to Onigbinde during JapaKorea ‘02. In the chapter on Atlanta Olympic, he also took a swipe at Kanu for reporting late to camp. The betrayal by the 2 along with Patrick Ekeji set Nigeria back for a decade.
“Whether qualifying for the Workd cup qualifiers or not, the team lacked leadership, was undisciplined, and celebrated the same third place at the AFCON for a decade...”
Haba, isn't this obvious that it was jay jay? Kanu was assistant captain to Okocha and only took over after Okocha retired, besides, Oliseh has openly criticized Okocha in earlier interviews.

ANC wrote:So they tried to keep Chidi Nwanu out.
I always wondered how Augustine Equavon and Thomas Oliha, the Ezeugo fellas made that team, even
Mike Emenalo was suspect.
Chidi was in direct competition with Keshi. It will be a travesty not to take Keshi to the ANC or WC. Chidi was having a good season. So pressure was mounted to CW. General view was that Keshi was the one preventing Chidi from making the team. The 'Bendel'/NNB boys have huge influence due to the BIG BOSS.