Will S Africa be disgraced today?
- Mister Dolly
Bro, that was not the best of African soccer...it was one of the best fighting displays by players hungry for spots on the team...YUJAM wrote:This is a massive result for S Africa. Bring a bunch of home based players to the Gold Cup and beat a Mexican side ranked 8th in the world.![]()
They truly displayed the best of African soccer today.
Kudos to RSA...that will go down as one of their greatest results no matter how anyone views it.
"Because of Jesus, it's a glorious life...."
True.. But a nice mix of raw talent infused with a bit of tactical discipline helped them to this victory. A fighting display but surely one could see the essence of African soccer in their game.
Mister Dolly wrote:Bro, that was not the best of African soccer...it was one of the best fighting displays by players hungry for spots on the team...YUJAM wrote:This is a massive result for S Africa. Bring a bunch of home based players to the Gold Cup and beat a Mexican side ranked 8th in the world.![]()
They truly displayed the best of African soccer today.
Kudos to RSA...that will go down as one of their greatest results no matter how anyone views it.
Meennnnn! I just came back from training I missed the whole thang. Was it a good game? I'm sure the Mexican channels will not show it again. 

http://nigeriamasterweb.com/paperfrmes.html
Keshi said that before the team arrived South Africa that he told skipper Joseph Yobo that the Eagles were going to win the Cup but the former Everton defender did not believe.

Good win for South Africa. Mexico didn't really play a bad game, the ball, as some times happens, just wouldn't go in the net for them. How many times did they hit the post/bar?
But South Africa played an intelligent game and were very well organized. The only player of theirs that I knew was Nomvete but I was really impressed with their midfielder #4 Phillip Evans (the white midfielder), as he was always in the right position. A very good defensive midfielder and he popped up and scored the first goal. It always bothers me that you rarely see someone place themselves at the far post on a corner kick even though many corners go through the middle and often pass by the far post. Well, Evans set himself up there and was able to opportunistically head in SA's opening goal. Why don't more players go to the far post on corners?
I also was impressed with the right back #2 (didn't get his name). But overall the team played well and these lesser known South African players showed that if you play hard and fair you can achieve results even against good teams like Mexico. Of course with 8 of the 12 teams making the next round in this Gold Cup, Mexico should still be in good shape and will move on and likely still will be the favorites to take the title but South Africa tonight produced a great result.
But South Africa played an intelligent game and were very well organized. The only player of theirs that I knew was Nomvete but I was really impressed with their midfielder #4 Phillip Evans (the white midfielder), as he was always in the right position. A very good defensive midfielder and he popped up and scored the first goal. It always bothers me that you rarely see someone place themselves at the far post on a corner kick even though many corners go through the middle and often pass by the far post. Well, Evans set himself up there and was able to opportunistically head in SA's opening goal. Why don't more players go to the far post on corners?
I also was impressed with the right back #2 (didn't get his name). But overall the team played well and these lesser known South African players showed that if you play hard and fair you can achieve results even against good teams like Mexico. Of course with 8 of the 12 teams making the next round in this Gold Cup, Mexico should still be in good shape and will move on and likely still will be the favorites to take the title but South Africa tonight produced a great result.
For beating common Mexico? What has Mexico done in football to deserve such respect. I have said this many times on this forum, MEXICO IS OVER-RATED, and has always been! Man, don't ever insult Africa like that again.mcal wrote:A huge win, and a day to be proud AFRICAN. I hope Galadima and his NFA cronies watched the game.
Mexico is ranked no 7 or 8 in the world. they just beat Brazil two wks ago.. i don't think they are overrated.
1naija wrote:For beating common Mexico? What has Mexico done in football to deserve such respect. I have said this many times on this forum, MEXICO IS OVER-RATED, and has always been! Man, don't ever insult Africa like that again.mcal wrote:A huge win, and a day to be proud AFRICAN. I hope Galadima and his NFA cronies watched the game.
My friend don't sound so ignorant about soccer. Didn't Venezula beat a No. 1 ranked Brazil team last year? Does that mean Venezuela is a power house?YUJAM wrote:Mexico is ranked no 7 or 8 in the world. they just beat Brazil two wks ago.. i don't think they are overrated.
1naija wrote:For beating common Mexico? What has Mexico done in football to deserve such respect. I have said this many times on this forum, MEXICO IS OVER-RATED, and has always been! Man, don't ever insult Africa like that again.mcal wrote:A huge win, and a day to be proud AFRICAN. I hope Galadima and his NFA cronies watched the game.
- tfco
- Eagle
Mexico just never seem to get it right in the big comps.YUJAM wrote:Mexico is ranked no 7 or 8 in the world. they just beat Brazil two wks ago.. i don't think they are overrated.
The US has Mexico's number, however Mexico seem to play well against Brazil. Go figure.
Over-rated?? Well, they are ranked 6th by FIFA, so let's see your rating.
Naira Did We

so are you saying that FIFA's ranking system is inaccurate?
this is the same Mexican team that played Germany and Argentina very close. lets give props where due. mexico is no joke..

1naija wrote:My friend don't sound so ignorant about soccer. Didn't Venezula beat a No. 1 ranked Brazil team last year? Does that mean Venezuela is a power house?YUJAM wrote:Mexico is ranked no 7 or 8 in the world. they just beat Brazil two wks ago.. i don't think they are overrated.
- tfco
- Eagle
I am giving props to Mex. Damn Internet, never really conveys what I mean. I should change my writing styleYUJAM wrote:so are you saying that FIFA's ranking system is inaccurate?this is the same Mexican team that played Germany and Argentina very close. lets give props where due. mexico is no joke..

Mexico plays nice football, which I enjoy watching. They always do well against their South/Latin American counterparts, but can't seem to break the jinx against the US.
Naira Did We

I was responding to 1Naija not you!

tfco wrote:I am giving props to Mex. Damn Internet, never really conveys what I mean. I should change my writing styleYUJAM wrote:so are you saying that FIFA's ranking system is inaccurate?this is the same Mexican team that played Germany and Argentina very close. lets give props where due. mexico is no joke..
Mexico plays nice football, which I enjoy watching. They always do well against their South/Latin American counterparts, but can't seem to break the jinx against the US.
Let's not talk about rating, cause I doubt you've ever been ranked.tfco wrote:Mexico just never seem to get it right in the big comps.YUJAM wrote:Mexico is ranked no 7 or 8 in the world. they just beat Brazil two wks ago.. i don't think they are overrated.
The US has Mexico's number, however Mexico seem to play well against Brazil. Go figure.
YUJAM, Fifa ranking is a rating of how good a team has performed during a certain period of time, and not an indication of how a good a team has been overall. Historically, Mexico has not lived up to the hype it gets from beating up on the likes of Honduras, Guatemela, Costa Rica, and USA (before they got better). Their ranking is based on their performances against these teams, and does not represent their true strength. Playing Brazil, Germany and Argentina close is not an indication of how strong a team is either. I am not saying they are bad side, but they are no better than any decent African side! I would pick Nigeria, Senegal, cameroon, Tunisia, Morocco and now south Africa over Mexico any day. So when people say they proud to be an African because a top African side beat an average Mexican side, I wonder if they really watch soccer.
I hear you.
In fact, I think one of the main things holding African teams back is a lack of tactical discipline. Teams like Mexico and a few other top ranked teams have excellent tactics and fitness, but find it difficult to cope with the spontaneity of the African game.
I was surprised by how disciplined the S Africans were though. The Mexicans tried everything especially on the corner kicks when they'd send two and three players to help with the build-up. But the S Africans held firm and defended well. They kept their shape coming forward too.
In fact, I think one of the main things holding African teams back is a lack of tactical discipline. Teams like Mexico and a few other top ranked teams have excellent tactics and fitness, but find it difficult to cope with the spontaneity of the African game.
I was surprised by how disciplined the S Africans were though. The Mexicans tried everything especially on the corner kicks when they'd send two and three players to help with the build-up. But the S Africans held firm and defended well. They kept their shape coming forward too.
1naija wrote:Let's not talk about rating, cause I doubt you've ever been ranked.tfco wrote:Mexico just never seem to get it right in the big comps.YUJAM wrote:Mexico is ranked no 7 or 8 in the world. they just beat Brazil two wks ago.. i don't think they are overrated.
YUJAM, Fifa ranking is a rating of how good a team has performed during a certain period of time, and not an indication of how a good a team has been overall. Historically, Mexico has not lived up to the hype it gets from beating up on the likes of Honduras, Guatemela, Costa Rica, and USA (before they got better). Their ranking is based on their performances against these teams, and does not represent their true strength. Playing Brazil, Germany and Argentina close is not an indication of how strong a team is either. I am not saying they are bad side, but they are no better than any decent African side! I would pick Nigeria, Senegal, cameroon, Tunisia, Morocco and now south Africa over Mexico any day. So when people say they proud to be an African because a top African side beat an average Mexican side, I wonder if they really watch soccer.
- Emeka Shagger
I could not give a toss usually about South African football but I must give credit here, They beat a strong Mexican team who recently beat Brazil 1-0, The SA outfit was made of of unknowns.
Take this into consideration and you probably have the biggest upset in world football for a long time.
This is a great result for the African continant!!
Take this into consideration and you probably have the biggest upset in world football for a long time.
We rid Africa of colonialists but there are Africans who live outside Africa. This is a clear sign that they embrace colonialism. These vermin should be hunted down and exterminated….Viva Africa… to hell with the traitors
.......and don't forget, Ghana destroyed south Africa about a month ago.Emeka Shagger wrote:I could not give a toss usually about South African football but I must give credit here, They beat a strong Mexican team who recently beat Brazil 1-0, The SA outfit was made of of unknowns.
Good point.
After watching the recent CIV vs Egypt WCQ, I came to the conclusion that African sides will pose some serious problems for their competition in the 2006 WC. I won't be surprised if an African team makes it as far as the semis.
Sir V wrote:.......and don't forget, Ghana destroyed south Africa about a month ago.Emeka Shagger wrote:I could not give a toss usually about South African football but I must give credit here, They beat a strong Mexican team who recently beat Brazil 1-0, The SA outfit was made of of unknowns.
an african side will make it to the semis only if 2 african team play each other in the quater finals.YUJAM wrote:Good point.
Sir V wrote:.......and don't forget, Ghana destroyed south Africa about a month ago.Emeka Shagger wrote:I could not give a toss usually about South African football but I must give credit here, They beat a strong Mexican team who recently beat Brazil 1-0, The SA outfit was made of of unknowns.
:x :x :x :x :xmastermind wrote:ANC 2006 will be one of the best in a very long long time. All these underdog teams will come out swinging again in Feb 2006. S.Africa, Ghana, Togo, Mali, CIV, Angola etc. now have a very strong team.
Where is Zimbabwe on that list

The wise speak when they have something to say,
fools speak when they have to say something.
The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.
Its our business to stir it up
fools speak when they have to say something.
The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.
Its our business to stir it up
If you watched the game, you'll understand, the SA boys did well in a competition that don't mean mean much to Africa. Nigeria played Mexico in same gold cup years back on the aftermath of our strong '94 team, what happened? ni.1naija wrote:For beating common Mexico? What has Mexico done in football to deserve such respect. I have said this many times on this forum, MEXICO IS OVER-RATED, and has always been! Man, don't ever insult Africa like that again.mcal wrote:A huge win, and a day to be proud AFRICAN. I hope Galadima and his NFA cronies watched the game.