Ifeanyi UDEZE: Why It Would be Wrong to SACK Rohr NOW......

Udeze: Why It Would Be Wrong To Sack Rohr Now
https://www.completesports.com/udeze-wh ... -rohr-now/
27 December 3, 2021 11:50 am

Former Nigeria international Ifeanyi Udeze says sacking Super Eagles head coach Gernot Rohr just under a month before next year’s AFCON will be a big mistake.

There have been calls for the removal of Rohr following uninspiring performances by the Eagles in recent games.

They suffered a shock loss at home to minnows Central African Republic and had to force Cape Verde to a draw, which sealed qualification into the play-off round.
And following calls for the German to be relieved of his role, Udeze posited that the timing is too short.

“The timing is too short, a lot of people want Rohr to go but they are not looking at the timing,” Udeze said in Friday’s edition of his radio programme ‘No Holds Barred’ on Brila FM.

“We have about 33 days to the Nations Cup and bringing in a new coach would be like starting all over again.

“This has happened to us a lot of times I remember after the 2002 AFCON just three months before the World Cup they sacked the coach (Amodu Shuaibu) and brought in another coach and we all know how we ended up that year.

“So if Rohr is asked to go now the timing is wrong, they should wait and see what he will do at the Nations Cup because of he leaves it will affect our players.”
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: Ifeanyi UDEZE: Why It Would be Wrong to SACK Rohr NOW......

Enugu II wrote: Sat Dec 04, 2021 1:21 am

Former Nigeria international Ifeanyi Udeze says sacking Super Eagles head coach Gernot Rohr just under a month before next year’s AFCON will be a big mistake.

There have been calls for the removal of Rohr following uninspiring performances by the Eagles in recent games.

They suffered a shock loss at home to minnows Central African Republic and had to force Cape Verde to a draw, which sealed qualification into the play-off round.
And following calls for the German to be relieved of his role, Udeze posited that the timing is too short.

“The timing is too short, a lot of people want Rohr to go but they are not looking at the timing,” Udeze said in Friday’s edition of his radio programme ‘No Holds Barred’ on Brila FM.

“We have about 33 days to the Nations Cup and bringing in a new coach would be like starting all over again.

“This has happened to us a lot of times I remember after the 2002 AFCON just three months before the World Cup they sacked the coach (Amodu Shuaibu) and brought in another coach and we all know how we ended up that year.

“So if Rohr is asked to go now the timing is wrong, they should wait and see what he will do at the Nations Cup because of he leaves it will affect our players.”
Ooohhhh.....this is getting aggravating. NFF has Rohr's account number, phone number and address. Deposit the $$$ and send Okada to deliver his sack letter if he's not answering the phone. Das all!

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sat Dec 04, 2021 1:28 am

Ooohhhh.....this is getting aggravating. NFF has Rohr's account number, phone number and address. Deposit the $$$ and send Okada to deliver his sack letter if he's not answering the phone. Das all!
LOL. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

I hope it can be over quickly and new SE Manager is appointed. However, it is interesting to learn about the varying views on the situation.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Udeze is wrong.

How can now be the wrong time yet he thinks we should wait til after the afcon to maybe fire him right before the final playoff. That is just daft.

We get a new coach NOW he will have at least one, maybe two friendlies and at least 4 games at afcon, plus weeks of camping with 28 players, to get ready for the playoffs. That is enough time for a good coach to make an impact on the team.

Either he goes now, or we are stuck with him until after the world cup.

vancity eagle wrote: Sat Dec 04, 2021 1:49 am Udeze is wrong.

How can now be the wrong time yet he thinks we should wait til after the afcon to maybe fire him right before the final playoff. That is just daft.

The truth is that with a busy calendar, there is no wrong time. Managers can be removed whenever. In fact, if Rohr has been underwhelming why not remove him immediately and have a new Manager re-energize the team? We had Shuaibu Amodu do this years ago when Johaness Bonfrere was floundering with the team. The team was suddenly re-energized and the rest is history.

Enugu II wrote: Sat Dec 04, 2021 1:34 am

I hope it can be over quickly and new SE Manager is appointed. However, it is interesting to learn about the varying views on the situation.
What varying views? His employers have asked him to resign and he refused. The next move is for them to formally sack him. Why is that taking weeks and meeting after meeting?

Since the NFF have been meeting over this issue Man U and Tottenham have both sacked and appointed new coaches. All this is doing us racking up Bigporker 's number of post. Faya him already joor.

vancity eagle wrote: Sat Dec 04, 2021 1:49 am Udeze is wrong.

We get a new coach NOW he will have at least one, maybe two friendlies and at least 4 games at afcon, plus weeks of camping with 28 players, to get ready for the playoffs. That is enough time for a good coach to make an impact on the team.

...under normal circumstances yo can't even get a decent friendly na under this turbulent times you go find a competent team to scrimmage with. Dream on.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sat Dec 04, 2021 2:13 am

What varying views? His employers have asked him to resign and he refused. The next move is for them to formally sack him. Why is that taking weeks and meeting after meeting?

Since the NFF have been meeting over this issue Man U and Tottenham have both sacked and appointed new coaches. All this is doing us racking up Bigporker 's number of post. Faya him already joor.
...because ManU and Tottenham get stashes of cash at their disposal, or good credit, the thieves got none :biggrin: :biggrin:

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sat Dec 04, 2021 2:13 am

Emir,

I do not see this as a surprise considering the circumstances.

1. The NFF renewed Rohr's contract because the outcry at the time was not largely about results. It was about not using homebased lads and Rohr neglecting the homebased lads while staying mostly in Europe. Rohr had met the demands of the initial contract by medaling at the AFCON and getting to the WC. Thus, Pinnick took the middle ground by renewing Rohr but getting concessions from Rohr -- wage recalculation, attention to local league, and a public statement that he will begin to spend time in Nigeria.

2. Then the NFF stood behind Rohr even after the fans were growing restless with the lacklustre results at home (after contract renewal). If you check, Pinnick repeatedly pointed out to Nigerians that sacking Rohr will cost the Federation dearly.

3. However, results got worse and not better culminating with the 1-1 tie against CPV. If Nigeria had beaten CPV in Lagos even by 2-0 (and they started dreamily with that goal!), Rohr and the NFF would have silenced Nigerians. Instead, the 1-1 gave critics more impetus. The NFF was under siege. Make no mistake about that. The NFF had to act and quickly because I bet the Ministry was also pissed.

4. But the fact that all were up in arms has an obstacle: Where is the money to pay the man? You cannot get rid of him without paying him. Or else not only will Rohr go to FIFA but all the cache that Pinnicjkk has built with FIFA will suddenly take a HUGE HIT! Do you think, Pinnick wants that? Be real.

5. Best deal for Pinnick is find the money to get Rohr out amicably. That is best way for both Pinnick and NFF. Apparently they now have the funds to do so.

6. ......BUt bet on the Ministry now stepping in to insist that the Ministry has a say on who Nigeria can hire. If Pinnick or someone is now claiming that the private entity providing for Rohr's sack has only done so because they were assured that the NFF will hire an FC then na real waaaa! (Cunny man die, na cunny man go bury am!) That may be a Pinnick strategy to fend off the Sports MInistry. We shall see. :roll:

Honestly, I have been waiting to hear/ read Rohr is gone and the NEW COACH is ... yet it hasn't happened. I am beginning to wonder if Rohr is going anywhere at all

Enugu II wrote: Sat Dec 04, 2021 5:04 am
4. But the fact that all were up in arms has an obstacle: Where is the money to pay the man? You cannot get rid of him without paying him.
Kinda begs the question, Why doesn’t the NFF have the money to pay Rohr❓🤔❗️

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Sun Dec 05, 2021 2:19 am
4. But the fact that all were up in arms has an obstacle: Where is the money to pay the man? You cannot get rid of him without paying him.

Because the NFF 'oga them' are busy taking trips and paying themselves.
As the saying goes, 'old habits die hard'. The NFF officials operate by paying themselves
and owing their workers and players. They seem quite clueless about generating funds,
but not hesitating about tabling grand plans. The main reason why they are hesitant on
the Rohr issue is because the NFF is the party that screwed up. I want to bet that Rohr
is taking the SE to AFCON.

joao wrote: Sun Dec 05, 2021 2:49 am

As the saying goes, 'old habits die hard'. The NFF officials operate by paying themselves
and owing their workers and players. They seem quite clueless about generating funds,
but not hesitating about tabling grand plans. The main reason why they are hesitant on
the Rohr issue is because the NFF is the party that screwed up. I want to bet that Rohr
:source:

...exactamente!
But a greater percent of Nigerian football fans don't see it that way, the rot is the cause.
This is akin to the totality of what is happening in government of the day and the citizens.

TTTK

The NFF has never had money sitting. It depends on state budgeting to handle its commitments. Inspite of recent efforts to tap into private receivables, those are still not enough to cover NFF commitments. This really should not be a surprise. Commitments are huge including beach football.

Damunk wrote: Sun Dec 05, 2021 6:15 am

:source:
My personal opinion, deduced from current facts and antecedents of how we run things.
Would you argue that NFF officials are working pro bono, or that Rohr is the
only employee owed salaries, or that there will be a new coach walking the sidelines at
AFCON a month from now?

Enugu II wrote: Sun Dec 05, 2021 11:58 am

TTTK

The NFF has never had money sitting. It depends on state budgeting to handle its commitments. Inspite of recent efforts to tap into private receivables, those are still not enough to cover NFF commitments. This really should not be a surprise. Commitments are huge including beach football.
EII,

A little research reveals that the NFF receives funding from various sources including FIFA, CAF and private sponsorship, as well as guaranteed and non guaranteed government support. All told, the funding is by no means overwhelming but it is adequate to fulfill the NFF’s key obligations, obligations which often go unfulfilled.

The main problem with NFF funding isn’t the availability of funds but inadequate planning and mismanagement in the administration of said funds. Consider, for example, that the SuperEagles World Cup jersey sold out just days after it was revealed. What happened to the unexpected yet significant financial windfall due the NFF as a result? Again, what about the numerous corporate partnerships with the SuperEagles? Those funds ought to guarantee that Nigeria’s football teams don’t have to depend on last minute handouts to participate in competitions. Finally, proper planning and sound financial management ought to dictate that the NFF should refrain from hiring expensive foreign coaches that she cannot afford unless she secures guaranteed financial sponsorship for the payment of any financial obligations incurred as a result of the hire❗️

Cheers

My fellow Ajegunle pikin Udeze may be right or wron depending on our ultimate goal. If qualifying for World Cup is the goal, then sack him now otherwise there will be little time for the new coach to prepare for March 2022 world cup playoffs!

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Mon Dec 06, 2021 2:25 am
Enugu II wrote: Sun Dec 05, 2021 11:58 am

TTTK

EII,

A little research reveals that the NFF receives funding from various sources including FIFA, CAF and private sponsorship, as well as guaranteed and non guaranteed government support. All told, the funding is by no means overwhelming but it is adequate to fulfill the NFF’s key obligations, obligations which often go unfulfilled.

The main problem with NFF funding isn’t the availability of funds but inadequate planning and mismanagement in the administration of said funds. Consider, for example, that the SuperEagles World Cup jersey sold out just days after it was revealed. What happened to the unexpected yet significant financial windfall due the NFF as a result? Again, what about the numerous corporate partnerships with the SuperEagles? Those funds ought to guarantee that Nigeria’s football teams don’t have to depend on last minute handouts to participate in competitions. Finally, proper planning and sound financial management ought to dictate that the NFF should refrain from hiring expensive foreign coaches that she cannot afford unless she secures guaranteed financial sponsorship for the payment of any financial obligations incurred as a result of the hire❗️

Cheers
TTTK

It is actually more complicated. The NFF receives money from the state in the same way the state offices do. There is a budget indicating that all operations will be paid for. However, the problem is access to that budgeted sum. The delays in making funds available after it is budgeted is the big problem. In essence, the fact that the money is budgeted is not the same as having access to it for your operations.

It is precisely the bottlenecks in accessing the funds that the current NFF has attempted to work around by increasingly sourcing private funding needed to seamlessly support operations. However, even some of these private funds are not released as contracted.