Sunday Oliseh signs for Racing Genk

Vieira
Sunday Oliseh signs for Racing Genk

Post by Vieira »

It's just been confirmed,the former Bochum player signed a contract for 2 years with an option for a year.He returns back to the country where it all started.Good luck to him.

BTW,Ishiaku's playing for Club Bruges tonight for a friendly against Porto.I'll give an analysis of his performances later.
DAgrin

Post by DAgrin »

and now with this bullshit move Oliseh aplly's for a SE shirt??
Sorry there is no space for Oliseh in the Eagles.
"The secret of life is to have no fear." - Fela Kuti

Naija 4 life!
Egunje

Post by Egunje »

Goodluck with the "Racing Junks" :D :D .

Good luck to Sunday. However, as this shows, he is way past it. Belgian's Juliper league is of a lesser quality than the English Championship
Yiba

Post by Yiba »

If Oliseh was top fit he would have gone to the middle east to earn some dollars before retirement.
Skylolo

Post by Skylolo »

This man is no longer good enough to play for the Super eagles..Not even if Wenger bought him to replace Patrick Vieira
To God be the glory

A good move for Oliseh. As for the talk of his returning to the SE, let's wait and see what happens. Right now, he is not in any condition to play for the national team, having not played a top level game in some months.
baprophet

Post by baprophet »

Thanks Mystic

Yours appears to be the only sensible post on this thread.

Yet people on this very thread are advocating for players who play in Wolves and Macclesfield. I laugh at people sha ! tell me what leagues do the likes of Osaze odemgwie play in ?

Again there is no dounbt Oliseh is past his prime but being past your prime by no means implies that you are absolutely no longer relevant to the Eagles. The likes of okocha, kanu are past their prime and are still relvant, The likes of David Beckham , Roberto Carlos, Cafu and Ronaldo are past their primes buts still relevant, Furthermore, playing for european clubs and playing for the eagles are two different bowls of food!
mke1010

Post by mke1010 »

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Good luck to Sunday. However, as this shows, he is way past it. Belgian's Juliper league is of a lesser quality than the English Championship

Why becos Finjana plays there? I still dey ask wetin happen to the long line of drooling scouts and managers that were waiting to sign him this summer? Or na becos SE failed to get a result in Kano you feel liberated from your numerous falsehoods?
Al B Sure

Post by Al B Sure »

Martin

Post by Martin »

Oliseh will be battling Cameroonian Justice Wamfor to be the starting defensive midfielder at Racing Genk. Another Cameroonian, Eric Matoukou starts at centerback for the club, who will be playing UEFA Cup this coming season.

mke1010 wrote:
Why becos Finjana plays there? I still dey ask wetin happen to the long line of drooling scouts and managers that were waiting to sign him this summer? Or na becos SE failed to get a result in Kano you feel liberated from your numerous falsehoods?
A 'sauce' told me that Boro are looking at Seyi. I doubt if it would happen though.

baprophet wrote:Thanks Mystic

Yours appears to be the only sensible post on this thread.

Yet people on this very thread are advocating for players who play in Wolves and Macclesfield. I laugh at people sha ! tell me what leagues do the likes of Osaze odemgwie play in ?

Again there is no dounbt Oliseh is past his prime but being past your prime by no means implies that you are absolutely no longer relevant to the Eagles. The likes of okocha, kanu are past their prime and are still relvant, The likes of David Beckham , Roberto Carlos, Cafu and Ronaldo are past their primes buts still relevant, Furthermore, playing for european clubs and playing for the eagles are two different bowls of food!
Osaze Odemigwe plays for Lille in France. This just shows how out of touch you are.

Belgium's Juliper League is of a lesser quality than the English Championship. When you add to that the fact that Oliseh is on the wrong side of 30, there is absolutely no justification for playing him ahead of up and coming youngsters who are playing in better leagues than him.

Back to Kanu, please if na joke make you stop am. He is of NO relevance to the Super Eagles. JJ can be taken along as a squad player but I cannot see him playing 90 minutes anymore.
baprophet

Post by baprophet »

Osaze Odemigwe plays for Lille in France. This just shows how out of touch you are.
Belgium's Juliper League is of a lesser quality than the English Championship. When you add to that the fact that Oliseh is on the wrong side of 30, there is absolutely no justification for playing him ahead of up and coming youngsters who are playing in better leagues than him.

Back to Kanu, please if na joke make you stop am. He is of NO relevance to the Super Eagles. JJ can be taken along as a squad player but I cannot see him playing 90 minutes anymore.
Well pardon me if Osaze's RECENT move to Lisle skipped my mind for a second nonetheless fact still remains that osaze was deemed relevant despite his presence in an inferior league. For whatever its's worth the Belgian League IMHO is at the very least at par as with the russian, Ukrainian, and turkish leagues where a number of relevant players ply their trade and it sure as heck is better than the Norwegian leauge where olofinjana was when you started singing his Praises, likewise the English Chamiponiship where homeboy currently plies his trade.

Truth be told, i am tired of this discussion. I believe part of the reason we disagreee is that our outlook on what we should consider our national team is different, I believe a national team should consist strictly of proven, experienced,mentally fit players brought toghether to blend. You like many others seem to believe in building for the "mythical" future in the national team so we are simply going to have to agree to differ!

Emm, Chief, una play foul here.
The likes of Anderletch and Club Brugges were good clubs, at least from an European standpoint. However, that was many years ago.

I am surprised you would suggest that the Belgian league is currently at par with the Ukrainian League (both Shaktar Donesk & Dinamo Kyiev) and Russian Leagues (CSKA Moskow - UEFA Cup Champions). Fact is: the Belgian league at this point in time is not even close! And Racing Genk? I am not even sure they have finished in the top half of the Juliper League in ages (I may be wrong, though)

Let's face the facts. Oliseh is past his prime - we need to stop reaching for the past when we can groom players for the future!
baprophet wrote:
Well pardon me if Osaze's RECENT move to Lisle skipped my mind for a second nonetheless fact still remains that osaze was deemed relevant despite his presence in an inferior league. For whatever its's worth the Belgian League IMHO is at the very least at par as with the russian, Ukrainian, and turkish leagues where a number of relevant players ply their trade and it sure as heck is better than the Norwegian leauge where olofinjana was when you started singing his Praises, likewise the English Chamiponiship where homeboy currently plies his trade.

Truth be told, i am tired of this discussion. I believe part of the reason we disagreee is that our outlook on what we should consider our national team is different, I believe a national team should consist strictly of proven, experienced,mentally fit players brought toghether to blend. You like many others seem to believe in building for the "mythical" future in the national team so we are simply going to have to agree to differ!

BA Prophet, Osaze is about to start his second season at Lille. What is recent about that?

As per Seyi and Norway, Seyi was a young man with a promising future. Can you describe Oliseh as that?

Let us face facts. Oliseh is past it. I loved the Sunday Oliseh of 1998 but that player is gone and we only have a shadow of him with us now. He is simply playing out the last of his days and is nowhere near Eagles material.
Cristao

Post by Cristao »

Abeg Wolves will school Racing Genk .. It is actually good that Hoddle is grooming Olofinjana .. i predict promotion for them this season .. I have not yet lost hope on Seyi .. He is still a class player. My only prob with him is his consistetncy. Oliseh can be tried in a friendly but honestly he has no place in the current Eagles.

Otitokoro wrote:Emm, Chief, una play foul here.
The likes of Anderletch and Club Brugges were good clubs, at least from an European standpoint. However, that was many years ago.

I am surprised you would suggest that the Belgian league is currently at par with the Ukrainian League (both Shaktar Donesk & Dinamo Kyiev) and Russian Leagues (CSKA Moskow - UEFA Cup Champions). Fact is: the Belgian league at this point in time is not even close! And Racing Genk? I am not even sure they have finished in the top half of the Juliper League in ages (I may be wrong, though)

Let's face the facts. Oliseh is past his prime - we need to stop reaching for the past when we can groom players for the future!
Abeg tell am. Racing Genk is no better a club than Plymouth Argyle which Taribo has just signed for. Should we as such invite Ribo back?

Olofinjana has no business playing for Nigeria. He is not an international class player and I doubt if he will ever be. The sooner we realise this the better. Hopefully now we have a half-decent coach Yussuf Ayinla will start seeing some regular action in tandem with Obodo in defensive midfield.
baprophet

Post by baprophet »

BA Prophet, Osaze is about to start his second season at Lille. What is recent about that?
He switched in the middle of the 2204/2005 season so that imho is recent. But the larger point is that he was deemed relevant even when in belgium

As per Seyi and Norway, Seyi was a young man with a promising future. Can you describe Oliseh as that?
Like I said earlier, promising futures simply dont equate to relevance in the eagles. Soccer games are not played in the FUTURE they are played in the NOW! The likes of obafemi Martins are younger than Seyi but they have proven their current relevance so i am not against youth but i am against the notion of usiing the eagles as a nursery for the future. There Have been MANY players with PROMISING FUTURES whom have graced the eagles but i believe its a self evident truth that promising futures simply dont suffice.

Let us face facts. Oliseh is past it. I loved the Sunday Oliseh of 1998 but that player is gone and we only have a shadow of him with us now. He is simply playing out the last of his days and is nowhere near Eagles material.
I guess this is where we differ and you are certainly entitled to your opinion but in the larger scheme of things it doesnt mean squat. All thats relvant is whether or not Oliseh can perform during friendlies or try outs. if he can bring him on, if he cant cut him it really is that simple!

This is incorrect. Osaze transferred from RAAL at the start of last season 2004/2005, not mid season.
baprophet wrote:He switched in the middle of the 2204/2005 season so that imho is recent. But the larger point is that he was deemed relevant even when in belgium

The point is that until someone else comes along and proves that he is more deserving of a shirt, Olofinjana will continue to be in the lineup.
A lot of talk has been said about Obodo and or Atanda Yussuf but neither of them has been able to displace Seyi Olofinjana. So, the question is: do you go on with a proven commodity who is a mainstay for his club or do you go with a 'has-been' who hasn't kicked a competitive ball in over a year? You be the judge.
baprophet wrote: Like I said earlier, promising futures simply dont equate to relevance in the eagles. Soccer games are not played in the FUTURE they are played in the NOW! The likes of obafemi Martins are younger than Seyi but they have proven their current relevance so i am not against youth but i am against the notion of usiing the eagles as a nursery for the future. There Have been MANY players with PROMISING FUTURES whom have graced the eagles but i believe its a self evident truth that promising futures simply dont suffice
baprophet

Post by baprophet »

The point is that until someone else comes along and proves that he is more deserving of a shirt, Olofinjana will continue to be in the lineup.
Dont be so sure, i have a feeling that finjana's time is up hence the recent oliseh talk coming from the likes of Okocha, Eguavoen and Amokcahi . Suffice to say , that the verdisct is that he has been less than satisfactory
A lot of talk has been said about Obodo and or Atanda Yussuf but either of them has been able to displace Seyi Olofinjana. So, the question is: do you go on with a proven commodity who is a mainstay for his club or do you go with a 'has-been' who hasn't kicked a competitive ball in over a year? You be the judge.
Dont know much about yusuf but Obodo imho doesnt cut it either, he is an AM not a DM and oliseh played until he copped an injury circa december. So its not over a year!

mystic wrote:A good move for Oliseh. As for the talk of his returning to the SE, let's wait and see what happens. Right now, he is not in any condition to play for the national team, having not played a top level game in some months.

Well said - Mystic. Let's just wait and see if he still have what it takes for a top flight football. If so, let the chips fall where they may.