Current Super Eagles team better than 2013 AFCON winning team - Kenneth Omeruo

True or false?

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
Re: Current Super Eagles team better than 2013 AFCON winning team - Kenneth Omeruo

Lolly wrote: Thu Jul 13, 2023 6:07 pm True or false?

i think you do not understand English or have no idea about football..... He never said the current team is better, he said if the current team has heart like the 2013 team, yes they could be better.

Re: Current Super Eagles team better than 2013 AFCON winning team - Kenneth Omeruo

Bigpokey24 wrote: Thu Jul 13, 2023 6:13 pm

i think you do not understand English or have no idea about football..... He never said the current team is better, he said if the current team has heart like the 2013 team, yes they could be better.
I see it as ian indictment on this current squad he makes two points:

1. That this team is more talented.
2. This team is most expensive in Africa.
3. This team lacks heart.

That, IMO, is an indictment. It supports points made by several others on SE that a bunch of these players are simply playing like vacationers and are not fully committed to the cause in spite of the 'glorified' resumes that they may have Even the NFF has alluded to this. Here, it shows us that some players in this squad actually believe that. My take, is I want a team that has heart and is full of players willing to die for GWG, even if less talented!
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
ikemba

Post by ikemba »

There is a huge difference. They do not have the late Stephen Keshi as Manager. It is actually managerial difference. Instead of the big boss , we have Peseiro.

Enugu II wrote: Thu Jul 13, 2023 7:49 pm

That, IMO, is an indictment. It supports points made by several others on SE that a bunch of these players are simply playing like vacationers and are not fully committed to the cause in spite of the 'glorified' resumes that they may have Even the NFF has alluded to this. Here, it shows us that some players in this squad actually believe that. My take, is I want a team that has heart and is full of players willing to die for GWG, even if less talented!
To have that 'heart' b/c the state of the country itself doesn't inspire the required level of patriotism, you almost need a sprinkling of 'hungry' players like Keshi's squad had to push the others and no allow them to rest on their laurels. Those hungry players will be giving the foreign based ones hell all the time to show them up and put fire under them IMO. It will be very hard to get these pro's to give to country what they do for club esp based on the level of professionalism and care they see at their club and then to come to be given sub-standard pitches, housing, care etc, I wouldn't blame them for not going 100%...

Said it a few times. This is actually a very talented bunch

Duh!

They are being let down by having coaches that are blaaah. That lack the ability to motivate or integrate the team properly.

Sorry but this isn't really a more talented bunch overall.

It is definately better in some aspects

More depth
Better strikers and wingers.

Keshis team had MIKEL, literally the best Nigerian player of all time. Yes I said it.

Enyeama also best Nigerian keeper of all time.

Onazi was a beast in midfield.

Thos current team has a bunch of basket keepers who have almost single handedly cost us the last afcon and wcq.

Omeruo should’ve been retired a long time ago if we had better central defenders.

Would have to highly disagree with that statement. That 2013 team was complete. A combination of speed and power. Our defense and midfield was good. The current team defense and midfield is not on par. Also the current team lacks character going forward. Osimhen maybe comparable with Emenike. But we don't have that doynamic duo with Ideye Brown. Onazi and Mikel Obi and Mba clearly superior to Iwobi, Ndidi and Aribo.

vancity eagle wrote: Thu Jul 13, 2023 9:23 pm Sorry but this isn't really a more talented bunch overall.

More depth

Keshis team had MIKEL, literally the best Nigerian player of all time. Yes I said it.

Thos current team has a bunch of basket keepers who have almost single handedly cost us the last afcon and wcq.
Mikel is not even in the top 10. I even rate Osimhen higher than Mikel.

vancity eagle wrote: Thu Jul 13, 2023 9:23 pm Sorry but this isn't really a more talented bunch overall.

More depth

That 2013 team had better midfielders and at one point Emenike’s goal per game ratio was on the same level as Osimhen.

Omeruo is just joking around.

The 2013 also had in form Victor Moses and Vincent Enyeama. The discusion should be in the 1994 team better than the 2013 team?

More depth

This is a weird argument you are making since both Mikel and Enyeama played in multiple ANC before and after without coming close to winning…Also, Onazi had zero experience going into that ANC, nobody knew he was a ‘beast’ until Keshi unlocked his hidden character…

Thus team overall has more talent BUT the 2013 Keshi team had more leaders and differences makers. A line up that had prime Mikel, Enyeama, Victor Moses and a fighter like Emenike was always going to dig deep to win tough games.

maceo4 wrote: Thu Jul 13, 2023 9:52 pm

More depth

This is a weird argument you are making since both Mikel and Enyeama played in multiple ANC before and after without coming close to winning…Also, Onazi had zero experience going into that ANC, nobody knew he was a ‘beast’ until Keshi unlocked his hidden character…
Onazi was somewhat of a conundrum for me, always saw him as a player that lacked finesse and ball playing skills, but he was one tenacious energizer bunny who always ran his socks off...the fact that he fell off so quickly kinda validates the theory that ball winning and hard-tackling type of midfielders never last long in the game, look at Ndidi for example.

Nigeria right now needs more Mikels and less Onazi's and Ndidis

Let’s not forget that Mikel was pretty regularly accused of lacking leadership qualities, of playing ‘Big Man’ football and on at least one occasion, feigning injury.
His ability was unrivaled, but he was no Uche, Keshi or Chukwu when it came to leadership.

Damunk wrote: Thu Jul 13, 2023 10:53 pm Let’s not forget that Mikel was pretty regularly accused of lacking leadership qualities, of playing ‘Big Man’ football and on at least one occasion, feigning injury.
His ability was unrivaled, but he was no Uche, Keshi or Chukwu when it came to leadership.
Keshi got him to play the best he’s ever played for Naija at that particular ANC, there was a hunger and desire in him, he even gave up the AM role for the betterment of the team.

EII, are you basing this on bigpokeys interpretation of what he said?

He said what the 2003 team had was more heart and more fighting spirit and that if the current team blends and have that fighting spirit they would be unstoppable.

How exactly does this translate to ... "this team lacks heart"?

What he is clearly saying is that this team is far more talented than the 2003 team, but that the team made up for it's lack of talent with more heart and fighting spirit. All these are true statements.

maceo4 wrote: Thu Jul 13, 2023 11:09 pm
Damunk wrote: Thu Jul 13, 2023 10:53 pm Let’s not forget that Mikel was pretty regularly accused of lacking leadership qualities, of playing ‘Big Man’ football and on at least one occasion, feigning injury.
Keshi got him to play the best he’s ever played for Naija at that particular ANC, there was a hunger and desire in him, he even gave up the AM role for the betterment of the team.
Correct. Which is why I didn’t understand why Keshi was playing him as an AM at the confederation cup. I love Mikel but I can’t stand when he plays AM for us or tries to take free kicks. Mourinho killed that part of his game.

In theory yes. But in practice no.
Though 2013 was more balanced. I would still say 2023 is better. We are performing MASSIVELY below potential.
The NFF and Peseiro are operating like amateurs. The team is 10 times better than its results.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
BAP

Post by BAP »

Chief so which players are not fully committed to the cause ?

At the ANC we played the best soccer in the tournament during the first round before a combination of Goalkeeper error and an Iwobi Red Card did us in against Tunisia . For the WCQ we outplayed Ghana both legs before GK error also did us in

On both occasions I saw those boys bawl there eyes out after the Games .. I mean seriously which player doesn't want to lift the ANC trophy or play at the WC ?

They’re not even close. Individually they’re better but as a team? No way.

Moses alone was better than all wingers combined.
13 MF is a million times better.
13 Defense is better
Osihmen is better than Emenike but he was just as effective.