Ireland 0-0 Nigeria: (FIFA Women World Cup )FT

Re: Ireland 0-0 Nigeria: (FIFA Women World Cup )

Have you looked at it from the Ireland perspective? The put in their best performance so far. The save on Kanu's header shows what we were up against. They were playing for pride.
mcal wrote: Mon Jul 31, 2023 1:00 pm ...tough match, tough to watch for 90 mins.
Was it too much celebration vs the Aussies or what?
E no go be easy for round of 16.
Re: Ireland 0-0 Nigeria: (FIFA Women World Cup )FT

Toni Payne was the highlight for us, absolutely brilliant performance

This was a disappointing performance, be like say the euphoria from the Aussie win, still lingering on

Dog Bruno

Post by Dog Bruno »

1naija wrote: Mon Jul 31, 2023 1:05 pm You do realize that Ireland was for playing for Pride and had nothing to lose right? We created great scoring chances, but couldn't convert. We have a lot to celebrate about. I am sure England are not popping champaign that they have to play us.

Dog Bruno wrote: Mon Jul 31, 2023 12:56 pm Please let no one celebrate this draw.
Pride or not, SF’s strategy and tactics to the game was piss-poor. It wasn’t like the Irish stopped them.
You are Your Own Dog
tolahs

Post by tolahs »

Dog Bruno wrote: Mon Jul 31, 2023 1:07 pm
tolahs wrote: Mon Jul 31, 2023 1:02 pm I watched the last 35mins. Right after our GK needed treatment for her shoulder, we stopped showing ambition - some hero ball.
This match was there for the taking - too many of our key forward players cannot trap a ball - too many bad 1st touches
…..and second touches, followed by third and fourth touches. Dude, it was kindergarten-like.

We've to be more accountable to the team but those bad touches killed a few promising moves. Defensively, we give too much space to girl with the ball. On our pressing, it was often one of our girls against 3 to 4 defenders - i'll watch their next match from the start to feel their tactics.
If I give you a good wine, you will see how it tastes and after you ask where it comes from,'' ""To put players in my team who are not good enough will not strengthen the England team, and would weaken the Arsenal team.''The only thing I can say is that whenever England do not win it is always my fault,even when I am not at the game".Wenger said.

Dog Bruno wrote: Mon Jul 31, 2023 1:13 pm
1naija wrote: Mon Jul 31, 2023 1:05 pm You do realize that Ireland was for playing for Pride and had nothing to lose right? We created great scoring chances, but couldn't convert. We have a lot to celebrate about. I am sure England are not popping champaign that they have to play us.

Dog Bruno wrote: Mon Jul 31, 2023 12:56 pm Please let no one celebrate this draw.
Pride or not, SF’s strategy and tactics to the game was piss-poor. It wasn’t like the Irish stopped them.
Again, not sure how you can fault the strategy or tactics. For tournament football, they were spot on. Take no risks, do only what’s necessary to get to the next round. You can criticise some individual performances but strategy and tactics were perfect.

We did create several scoring chances, but couldn't convert!

Dog Bruno wrote: Mon Jul 31, 2023 1:13 pm

danfo driver wrote: Mon Jul 31, 2023 12:56 pm Glad we won. Our decison-making is very very very poor. If we had that, we'd have been a much better team.
You still sneaking in here , you think say I no see you?. Where is I don’t watch women. FootbLl

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

Bigpokey24 wrote: Mon Jul 31, 2023 1:12 pm This was a disappointing performance, be like say the euphoria from the Aussie win, still lingering on
It was definitely disappointing for some fans because we wanted to win. However, it was not a disappointing performance. The girls tried and controlled majority of the game. Like I mentioned days ago, the Irish will come out fighting. No team likes to leave a world cup with 0 points. From a psychological perspective, we had something to lose, they didn't. This puts the pressure on us, which can affect performance.

Had Oshoala scored that chance she had early on, that would have killed the Irish's morale, and we'd have sailed.
Dog Bruno

Post by Dog Bruno »

Yup!
I hope the coaching team and players get the chance to sit down and watch this game together.
They shouldn’t just move on from this performance.
You are Your Own Dog

danfo driver wrote: Mon Jul 31, 2023 1:23 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Mon Jul 31, 2023 1:12 pm This was a disappointing performance, be like say the euphoria from the Aussie win, still lingering on
It was definitely disappointing for some fans because we wanted to win. However, it was not a disappointing performance. The girls tried and controlled majority of the game. Like I mentioned days ago, the Irish will come out fighting. No team likes to leave a world cup with 0 points. From a psychological perspective, we had something to lose, they didn't. This puts the pressure on us, which can affect performance.

Had Oshoala scored that chance she had early on, that would have killed the Irish's morale, and we'd have sailed.
Agreed , I wanted a win , i hope we work on taking our chances. Asisa was not it today

packerland wrote: Mon Jul 31, 2023 1:06 pm Maybe it’s good omen. The last 3 tournaments we topped our group, we crashed out in the next round.
why stop at Omen? may goodness, nah how some of una dey watch or view ball sef

Seems like this team plays to the level of the opponent.

As i said , whenever bigpokey opens a game thread involving any Nigerian team, 99.027 times we win or draw.
Last edited by Bigpokey24 on Mon Jul 31, 2023 5:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

She was my woman of the match

Re: Ireland 0:0 Nigeria…

CE , you people are very unfair. why didn't you people call tonythetigerkiller to the other game thread? our brother was here talking to himself for 90 freaking mins plus ET

ikemba

Post by ikemba »

This thread is really funny, dude all alone for 2 hours in a match thread :D :D :D

ikemba wrote: Mon Jul 31, 2023 2:32 pm This thread is really funny, dude all alone for 2 hours in a match thread :D :D :D
the thing weak me ooo.. we must never let such happen to our CE brothers ooo..nah 1naija cause this thing

Great job. Qualified from arguably the toughest group. We play whoever comes next and take our chances.

Bigpokey24 wrote: Mon Jul 31, 2023 1:26 pm
packerland wrote: Mon Jul 31, 2023 1:06 pm Maybe it’s good omen. The last 3 tournaments we topped our group, we crashed out in the next round.
why stop at Omen? may goodness, nah how some of una dey watch or view ball sef
Craving attention again? Pretty soon you will lie and claim that i’m editing your post.

Bigpokey:

You see Zambia right? Like I said, no team likes to leave a tournament with 0 points. Nigeria is the only country (and speifically Super Eagles and their fans) who go to tournaments to collect participation trophy and learn.

Congrats to our girls for qualifying but I have mixed feelings given we should have won the game.

In fairness, our tactical approach - given we needed a minimum draw to qualify - was right. However, at a point when Australia was up 3-0, there was less risk in us missing out had we gone for a win in order to potentially avoid England.

Anyway, I am grateful. These girls have made me proud for real. God bless them.