Eletu - Is he ready?
Re: Eletu - Is he ready?
Unfortunately your reasoning is set in the old ways of football where everything must be regimental and systematic. We've seen instances where various top national teams transition their young/exciting prospects into senior NT footie even before they get to play at any consistently high pro level. I'm not saying you're entirely wrong, but there's absolutely no evidence to suggest giving these kids (Daga, Eletu, Akinsanmiro etc) some cameo run outs in maybe friendly matches or tail-end minutes in games we've won and wrapped up will hurt anyone? it's called innoculating them to the atmosphere of international football, where they get to train with the big boys and have a feel of international standards of football...once again nobody gets hurt if we TRY...worst case scenario they will be deemed nor ready yet if thru fail the eye test of top football. Exposure is all I'm talking about, it's not like they will be first team starters right away; at least have them come off the bench for cameos every now and again.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sun Sep 24, 2023 10:08 pmTobi17 wrote: ↑Sun Sep 24, 2023 9:54 pmWhy wait till a couple of years? why not start integrating them into the senior NT now so they can understudy the established players? Daga, Akinsanmiro and Eletu aren't particularly newbies to high level football.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sun Sep 24, 2023 9:49 pmGreat to see the boy is doing well. We might just hammer ridiculously in a couple years with MF like we have with strikers this yr when a new generation of world class MF emerges. Akinsanmiro, Eletu, Daga Tijani and a couple others could all breakthrough at the same time.
Kai…. Imagine we get 5 new world class MF heading to the WC. E go sweet pass Amala and gbegiri.![]()
National teams are not for learning the ropes, I don’t know why we think we can train teenagers that haven’t established themselves in the national team. First they have to establish themselves as as pros in good teams and perform consistently to get a call to the national team. Right now they’re learning at a high level, let them graduate into first team action and perform. SE is for the best Nigerian professional players in their respective positions not the best students.
Football has moved past our 80's-90's reasoning of step by step growth.
Tobi17 wrote: ↑Sun Sep 24, 2023 10:18 pmUnfortunately your reasoning is set in the old ways of football where everything must be regimental and systematic. We've seen instances where various top national teams transition their young/exciting prospects into senior NT footie even before they get to play at any consistently high pro level. I'm not saying you're entirely wrong, but there's absolutely no evidence to suggest giving these kids (Daga, Eletu, Akinsanmiro etc) some cameo run outs in maybe friendly matches or tail-end minutes in games we've won and wrapped up will hurt anyone? it's called innoculating them to the atmosphere of international football, where they get to train with the big boys and have a feel of international standards of football...once again nobody gets hurt if we TRY...worst case scenario they will be deemed nor ready yet if thru fail the eye test of top football. Exposure is all I'm talking about, it's not like they will be first team starters right away; at least have them come off the bench for cameos every now and again.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sun Sep 24, 2023 10:08 pmTobi17 wrote: ↑Sun Sep 24, 2023 9:54 pmWhy wait till a couple of years? why not start integrating them into the senior NT now so they can understudy the established players? Daga, Akinsanmiro and Eletu aren't particularly newbies to high level football.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sun Sep 24, 2023 9:49 pmGreat to see the boy is doing well. We might just hammer ridiculously in a couple years with MF like we have with strikers this yr when a new generation of world class MF emerges. Akinsanmiro, Eletu, Daga Tijani and a couple others could all breakthrough at the same time.
Kai…. Imagine we get 5 new world class MF heading to the WC. E go sweet pass Amala and gbegiri.![]()
National teams are not for learning the ropes, I don’t know why we think we can train teenagers that haven’t established themselves in the national team. First they have to establish themselves as as pros in good teams and perform consistently to get a call to the national team. Right now they’re learning at a high level, let them graduate into first team action and perform. SE is for the best Nigerian professional players in their respective positions not the best students.
Name a country that caps players in youth academies or club youth teams. Have you ever seen a club youth team player in any European, South American or Asian national team?
Yes. Young players do get capped early but they have to show ability at a pro level first. It’s one thing to cap a 18yrs old AC Milan sensation who has been performing well vs serie A teams, it’s a whole other issue to cap an 18yr old in the Milan youth team who has never played at the pro level and their a reason for it.
Michael Owen debuted for England at 17yrs old after playing well for Liverpool, the rest is history. Bameyi,, Femi Opabunmi and others were rushed into the national team after doing well on youth teams and fell flat. Even the much hated Musa had to show his stuff in Holland before he got a call to SE.
Pls, stop this idea of trying out players in the 2nd half of meaningless games. National teams spots are earned, it’s a reward for the best of the best a nation has, it’s not a buffet where you can try a little bit of everything to see if you like it. Let’s have standards for once.
Btw, I’ll wait for you to list a country that caps players in youth academies.
- maceo4
It’s hard trying to reason with Tobi…literally no one does what he’s talking about…and for good reason…EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sun Sep 24, 2023 10:56 pmTobi17 wrote: ↑Sun Sep 24, 2023 10:18 pmUnfortunately your reasoning is set in the old ways of football where everything must be regimental and systematic. We've seen instances where various top national teams transition their young/exciting prospects into senior NT footie even before they get to play at any consistently high pro level. I'm not saying you're entirely wrong, but there's absolutely no evidence to suggest giving these kids (Daga, Eletu, Akinsanmiro etc) some cameo run outs in maybe friendly matches or tail-end minutes in games we've won and wrapped up will hurt anyone? it's called innoculating them to the atmosphere of international football, where they get to train with the big boys and have a feel of international standards of football...once again nobody gets hurt if we TRY...worst case scenario they will be deemed nor ready yet if thru fail the eye test of top football. Exposure is all I'm talking about, it's not like they will be first team starters right away; at least have them come off the bench for cameos every now and again.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sun Sep 24, 2023 10:08 pmTobi17 wrote: ↑Sun Sep 24, 2023 9:54 pmWhy wait till a couple of years? why not start integrating them into the senior NT now so they can understudy the established players? Daga, Akinsanmiro and Eletu aren't particularly newbies to high level football.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sun Sep 24, 2023 9:49 pmGreat to see the boy is doing well. We might just hammer ridiculously in a couple years with MF like we have with strikers this yr when a new generation of world class MF emerges. Akinsanmiro, Eletu, Daga Tijani and a couple others could all breakthrough at the same time.
Name a country that caps players in youth academies or club youth teams. Have you ever seen a club youth team player in any European, South American or Asian national team?
Yes. Young players do get capped early but they have to show ability at a pro level first. It’s one thing to cap a 18yrs old AC Milan sensation who has been performing well vs serie A teams, it’s a whole other issue to cap an 18yr old in the Milan youth team who has never played at the pro level and their a reason for it.
Michael Owen debuted for England at 17yrs old after playing well for Liverpool, the rest is history. Bameyi,, Femi Opabunmi and others were rushed into the national team after doing well on youth teams and fell flat. Even the much hated Musa had to show his stuff in Holland before he got a call to SE.
Pls, stop this idea of trying out players in the 2nd half of meaningless games. National teams spots are earned, it’s a reward for the best of the best a nation has, it’s not a buffet where you can try a little bit of everything to see if you like it. Let’s have standards for once.
BTW, waxing lyrical is so early 90s. It's like "all that and a bag of chips" (wey uncle Robbynice sef?), and Peace in the Middle East.
Just saying ...
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Thu May 25, 2023 3:38 am I didn’t watch the but noticed folks are waxing lyrical about him over his performance vs an Italy. How did he perform and how my-would you rate him against the up and coming MFs like Onyedika, Yusuf etc? Also, i-what type of Mf is he? DM, AM or box to box?

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sun Sep 24, 2023 10:56 pmTobi17 wrote: ↑Sun Sep 24, 2023 10:18 pmUnfortunately your reasoning is set in the old ways of football where everything must be regimental and systematic. We've seen instances where various top national teams transition their young/exciting prospects into senior NT footie even before they get to play at any consistently high pro level. I'm not saying you're entirely wrong, but there's absolutely no evidence to suggest giving these kids (Daga, Eletu, Akinsanmiro etc) some cameo run outs in maybe friendly matches or tail-end minutes in games we've won and wrapped up will hurt anyone? it's called innoculating them to the atmosphere of international football, where they get to train with the big boys and have a feel of international standards of football...once again nobody gets hurt if we TRY...worst case scenario they will be deemed nor ready yet if thru fail the eye test of top football. Exposure is all I'm talking about, it's not like they will be first team starters right away; at least have them come off the bench for cameos every now and again.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sun Sep 24, 2023 10:08 pmTobi17 wrote: ↑Sun Sep 24, 2023 9:54 pmWhy wait till a couple of years? why not start integrating them into the senior NT now so they can understudy the established players? Daga, Akinsanmiro and Eletu aren't particularly newbies to high level football.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sun Sep 24, 2023 9:49 pmGreat to see the boy is doing well. We might just hammer ridiculously in a couple years with MF like we have with strikers this yr when a new generation of world class MF emerges. Akinsanmiro, Eletu, Daga Tijani and a couple others could all breakthrough at the same time.

How ready was Onazi in 2013 when Keshi threw him into the fray at the AFCON?
And had been promoted to their First team at that.
Onazi was named on the Lazio bench for a few Serie A matches but played mainly in the primavera team. He started playing regularly for Lazio after the AFCON
His last appearance for their primavera team was in June 2012 and was a regular squad member of their first team before AFCON not to mention starting regularly in their Europa League campaign which really makes it a false equivalence to compare it to Eletu’s situation
Akinsanmiro has also scored 5 golas for Inter Milan team B. We need a friendly in March. I would call up Eletu and Akinsamiro