Awoniyi Injured.

Apparently is out for a month with a groin injury.
I think Akor Adams should be called as replacement.
Re: Awoniyi Injured.

Or Gift Orban

olu wrote: Sat Oct 07, 2023 7:18 pmOr Gift Orban
So out of form and possibly playing through some injury too.

We still have Moffi, Vic, Boniface and Nacho as strikers. No need to call a striker. If call a new mf of CD instead.

I wish him speedy recovery.

The injury has neutral effect on the SE. With 2 goals in over 500 minutes, it means he scores once in nearly 3 games. Therefore there is very high probability he would not have scored anyway.

1naija wrote: Sat Oct 07, 2023 8:36 pm I wish him speedy recovery.

The injury has neutral effect on the SE. With 2 goals in over 500 minutes, it means he scores once in nearly 3 games. Therefore there is very high probability he would not have scored anyway.
For this your mathematics to get full marks you need show your workings, including the weightings you gave the various factors you used in working out your probability.

Until then na incomplete I go give you for this exam.

It's based on data from proprietary analytical software developed by the master statistician, 1naija the great.
waka-man wrote: Sat Oct 07, 2023 8:53 pm

For this your mathematics to get full marks you need show your workings, including the weightings you gave the various factors you used in working out your probability.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sat Oct 07, 2023 7:51 pm We still have Moffi, Vic, Boniface and Nacho as strikers. No need to call a striker. If call a new mf of CD instead.
We had all of those, but still called Awoniyi, so what's your point? Akor is in great form. I think he deserves the opportunity. Especially in friendly games.

I'd call Orban or Dessers. We know Peseiro is also monitoring Akpom. Might be tough for Akpom because he is currently going through it in Amsterdam.

Akor is not ready yet.

Ugbowo wrote: Sat Oct 07, 2023 10:59 pm I'd call Orban or Dessers. We know Peseiro is also monitoring Akpom. Might be tough for Akpom because he is currently going through it in Amsterdam.

Akor is not ready yet.
Last edited by Enugu II on Sat Oct 07, 2023 11:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Ugbowo wrote: Sat Oct 07, 2023 10:59 pm I'd call Orban or Dessers. We know Peseiro is also monitoring Akpom. Might be tough for Akpom because he is currently going through it in Amsterdam.

Akor is not ready yet.
Honest question. How is Orban, 0 goals since August; Dessers, 3 goals in 14 games this season, and Akpom anymore ready than Akor? Out of the three players he has the best stats and plays at the highest level.
Last edited by niyi on Sat Oct 07, 2023 11:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Akor is not ready yet.
Dessers who is barely scoring in the Scottish league or Akpom who is yet to start a single game for Ajax are both more ready than a kid scoring regularly in ligue 1? Hmmm...ok.

Akor is not ready yet.
Akor is the most consistent out of those names you mentioned, Dessers is literally rubbish in Scotland and like Onuachu is at best a fringe player.

Tobi17 wrote: Sat Oct 07, 2023 11:29 pm

Akor is not ready yet.
Akor is the most consistent out of those names you mentioned, Dessers is literally rubbish in Scotland and like Onuachu is at best a fringe player.
Akor is of little value now because he doesn’t play a position of need. Even if he scores 20 goals in France he will not necessarily make SE a better team. A new 2 way MF, AM,GK, or CD are the only positions that can improve the team. No shade on his accomplishments but it’s true.

Ah na so you for tok.
Very acceptable data source.
A+ for you.
1naija wrote: Sat Oct 07, 2023 9:27 pm :rotf: :rotf:

It's based on data from proprietary analytical software developed by the master statistician, 1naija the great.
waka-man wrote: Sat Oct 07, 2023 8:53 pm

We need to call a goalkeeper to replace the injured Awoniyi. We don't need another average striker that will likely not see the pitch ever. We need a goalie desperately. No person playing in the Israeli League should ever play for Nigeria. Those days are gone.

bushboy wrote: Sat Oct 07, 2023 11:21 pm

Akor is not ready yet.
Dessers who is barely scoring in the Scottish league or Akpom who is yet to start a single game for Ajax are both more ready than a kid scoring regularly in ligue 1? Hmmm...ok.
I know Sadiq has been called up who has even worse stats than the aforementioned but my reason for shunning Akor was because of a lack of top flight exposure sans the few games in the Ligue 1 this season and his rapid rise in Norway last season. He has a body of work that is not enough to warrant a call up at this time especially in an area that is not of need for the SE.

Gift has been called up but injury prevented him from playing, he should be given a second chance. Dessers played last summer and did well and is playing consistently for Rangers. It is time to bring him back for a look in. Akpom was mentioned by the coach on the back of his superb season last season. I said he was struggling so I didnt advocate for him.

Ugbowo wrote: Mon Oct 09, 2023 4:15 pm
bushboy wrote: Sat Oct 07, 2023 11:21 pm

Akor is not ready yet.
I know Sadiq has been called up who has even worse stats than the aforementioned but my reason for shunning Akor was because of a lack of top flight exposure sans the few games in the Ligue 1 this season and his rapid rise in Norway last season. He has a body of work that is not enough to warrant a call up at this time especially in an area that is not of need for the SE.

Gift has been called up but injury prevented him from playing, he should be given a second chance. Dessers played last summer and did well and is playing consistently for Rangers. It is time to bring him back for a look in. Akpom was mentioned by the coach on the back of his superb season last season. I said he was struggling so I didnt advocate for him.
Gift Orbans case might be somewhat more complicated than we know, several Nigeria sport media outlets are reporting the Togolese FA corresponded with the NFF about putting a stop to inviting Orban to the NT cause he's Togolese and has been in contact with them before. If that's true then I don't see a scene where Gift gets called up to the SE at least for now.

Orban would be eligible for both Nigeria and Togo, and it is HIS CHOICE, so how on earth would Togo be able to stop him. Makes no sense.

1naija wrote: Sun Oct 08, 2023 7:09 pm We need to call a goalkeeper to replace the injured Awoniyi. We don't need another average striker that will likely not see the pitch ever. We need a goalie desperately. No person playing in the Israeli League should ever play for Nigeria. Those days are gone.

Do u have a goalie in mind that can play for Nigeria?

Any goalkeeper in the NPFL is better than the Israeli league basket.
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon Oct 09, 2023 9:25 pm
1naija wrote: Sun Oct 08, 2023 7:09 pm We need to call a goalkeeper to replace the injured Awoniyi. We don't need another average striker that will likely not see the pitch ever. We need a goalie desperately. No person playing in the Israeli League should ever play for Nigeria. Those days are gone.

Do u have a goalie in mind that can play for Nigeria?