Possible 28 man squad for Afcon camping

Re: Possible 28 man squad for Afcon camping

Tobi17 wrote: Sun Nov 26, 2023 5:19 pm
bret- hart wrote: Sun Nov 26, 2023 4:58 pm
packerland wrote: Sun Nov 26, 2023 4:40 pm
bret- hart wrote: Sun Nov 26, 2023 4:34 pm
packerland wrote: Sun Nov 26, 2023 4:19 pm Those u-20 boys are not ready. I’m good if Uzoho, Musa, Sadiq & Collin’s are not on the list. The rest of the players need to wake up including all our so called strikers. Ohenhen1 I like the balance of your squad list even though I’m sure you have the right players. We won’t win jack carrying 12 attacking players.
I would not mind taking Eletu or Akinsanmiro. Onuche Ogbelu is also doing well. All ofvthem are midfielders. Better to take at least 1 of them that to take a waste of space Aribo.
BretHart,

Make you no fill our team with your clients Lol Those boys look like future stars but they’re not ready. If the core of our squad were performing well then I’ll say take 2 or 3 of those boys so they can get valuable experience. Even westerhoff was pressured to take a young Kanu to the 94 WC but he didn’t.
So you would rather take Aribo thar is a benchwarmer in Div 2?
Packer na my guy but I don't understand why he and other CE members are so fixated on keeping div 2 benchwarming deadweights all in the name of "keeping the core team"...Aribo is simply not good enough on current form and has no business in the AFCON final squad. A player like Ifeanyi Matthew and even Nwakali are playing their best football right now and should make the team with no excuses.
I was talking about taking the Mathew guy not the likes of Aribo…there are other Div 1 options we should look at ahead of kids still playing youth footie…

olu wrote: Sun Nov 26, 2023 5:53 pm Good squad. I would include Nwabili and Rasheed and take out 2 of the home based goalies. In midfield, I take out Daga, Eletu, and Akinsanmiro and add Alhassan Yusuf, Onyedika, Dele-Bashiru, and Ibrahim Olawoyin. Realistically those U-20 boys are at least a year or two away from being SE ready, with Daga being the most raw.

IMO, Yusuf is the best in the DM position other than Ndidi. Covers a lot of ground, makes intelligent passes, and is decent going forward. Seen him twice in the Champions league and I was impressed. He's also just 23.

Dele-Bashiru and Olawoyin can also play both CM and AM so they are both quite versatile. Dele-Bashiru is also just 22.
ohenhen1 wrote: Sun Nov 26, 2023 7:07 am The camp starts end of December.

Would switch to 4-3-3 formation, similar to what Liverpool is playing.

GK- Ojo, Obasogie,Osayi, Bankole

RB-Osayi, Aina,
LB- Sanusi, Onyemachi
CB- Ajayi, Bassey, Omeruo, Awaziem, Frederick
MF- Ndidi, Onyeka, Nwakili, Nwobodo, Daga, Eletu, Akinsanmiro
FW- Osimhen, Boniface, Moffi, Lookman, Chukwuze, Simon, Iheanacho, Iwobi
The 3 home bases goalkeepers projected to make the final 23 are better than Nwabili. I haven’t watched Rasheed play. Bankole is just a camp body. Makes no sense to invite overage players that are not part of the final 23. Overage players will be on standby but the extra camp invitees will be allocated to young players.

kingdom Osayi
Amas Obasogie
Olurenke Ojo

Dammy wrote: Sun Nov 26, 2023 7:03 pm Add Sadiq quick quick, Abi you no see the golazzo today?😁😁😁
I am actually thinking of just taking Osimhen and Boniface. Iheanacho can play as a striker. Need 5 or 6 midfielders.

ohenhen1 wrote: Sun Nov 26, 2023 8:16 pm
Dammy wrote: Sun Nov 26, 2023 7:03 pm Add Sadiq quick quick, Abi you no see the golazzo today?😁😁😁
I am actually thinking of just taking Osimhen and Boniface. Iheanacho can play as a striker. Need 5 or 6 midfielders.
Are you well? Osimhen that can stay healthy for long. Boniface should be on the team but with his lazy ways, you can’t on him playing 90mins. Adli has started to eat into his playing time at Bayern Leverkusen.

packerland wrote: Sun Nov 26, 2023 8:40 pm
ohenhen1 wrote: Sun Nov 26, 2023 8:16 pm
Are you well? Osimhen that can stay healthy for long. Boniface should be on the team but with his lazy ways, you can’t on him playing 90mins. Adli has started to eat into his playing time at Bayern Leverkusen.
How many midfielders and how many strikers are you going to take?

packerland wrote: Sun Nov 26, 2023 4:19 pm Those u-20 boys are not ready. I’m good if Uzoho, Musa, Sadiq & Collin’s are not on the list. The rest of the players need to wake up including all our so called strikers. Ohenhen1 I like the balance of your squad list even though I’m sure you have the right players. We won’t win jack carrying 12 attacking players.
I would not mind taking Eletu or Akinsanmiro. Onuche Ogbelu is also doing well. All ofvthem are midfielders. Better to take at least 1 of them that to take a waste of space Aribo.
BretHart,

Make you no fill our team with your clients Lol Those boys look like future stars but they’re not ready. If the core of our squad were performing well then I’ll say take 2 or 3 of those boys so they can get valuable experience. Even westerhoff was pressured to take a young Kanu to the 94 WC but he didn’t.
Packer na my guy but I don't understand why he and other CE members are so fixated on keeping div 2 benchwarming deadweights all in the name of "keeping the core team"...Aribo is simply not good enough on current form and has no business in the AFCON final squad. A player like Ifeanyi Matthew and even Nwakali are playing their best football right now and should make the team with no excuses.
Tobi17,

I agree that Aribo should not be on the plane to Ivory Coast. My issue is these u-20 boys Bret Hart is trying to fill the them with. Lightweights like Daga and Akinsanmiro will be suffocated by the experienced Senegalese players like Sarr, Gueye, Kouyate & Mendy. We saw Daga get sent off for trying to retaliate after getting hard fouled all day in a recent game.

The U20 players are just camp bodies unless one outperforms senior players. Still need to scout for more midfielders. Is Bonke injured?

packerland wrote: Sun Nov 26, 2023 8:51 pm
BretHart,

Tobi17,

I agree that Aribo should not be on the plane to Ivory Coast. My issue is these u-20 boys Bret Hart is trying to fill the them with. Lightweights like Daga and Akinsanmiro will be suffocated by the experienced Senegalese players like Sarr, Gueye, Kouyate & Mendy. We saw Daga get sent off for trying to retaliate after getting hard fouled all day in a recent game.
How is Daga a lightweight? Dude has u20, and Caf CL experience. Onochie Ogbelu is also playing in the CAF CL after playing in the U20 AFCON. Football is for the young. The SEs midfield needs young players with energy not old men that can barely run. Also those overrated senegalese players you mentioned would be handled just fine by Daga and co. Give them the chance to prove you wrong.

ohenhen1 wrote: Sun Nov 26, 2023 9:13 pm The U20 players are just camp bodies unless one outperforms senior players. Still need to scout for more midfielders. Is Bonke injured?
Are you 4 real. Its 2023 going to 2024 and you are still mentioning Bonke??? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

ohenhen1 wrote: Sun Nov 26, 2023 8:12 pm
olu wrote: Sun Nov 26, 2023 5:53 pm Good squad. I would include Nwabili and Rasheed and take out 2 of the home based goalies. In midfield, I take out Daga, Eletu, and Akinsanmiro and add Alhassan Yusuf, Onyedika, Dele-Bashiru, and Ibrahim Olawoyin. Realistically those U-20 boys are at least a year or two away from being SE ready, with Daga being the most raw.

IMO, Yusuf is the best in the DM position other than Ndidi. Covers a lot of ground, makes intelligent passes, and is decent going forward. Seen him twice in the Champions league and I was impressed. He's also just 23.

Dele-Bashiru and Olawoyin can also play both CM and AM so they are both quite versatile. Dele-Bashiru is also just 22.

RB-Osayi, Aina,
LB- Sanusi, Onyemachi
The 3 home bases goalkeepers projected to make the final 23 are better than Nwabili. I haven’t watched Rasheed play. Bankole is just a camp body. Makes no sense to invite overage players that are not part of the final 23. Overage players will be on standby but the extra camp invitees will be allocated to young players.

kingdom Osayi
Amas Obasogie
Olurenke Ojo
Take Ojo off the list. The guy is a bench warmer at Eyinmba.

bret- hart wrote: Mon Nov 27, 2023 5:02 am

RB-Osayi, Aina,
LB- Sanusi, Onyemachi

kingdom Osayi
Amas Obasogie
Olurenke Ojo
The last time I watched Enyimba which it was last month, Ojo was the starter. And he is now a regular invite to the Eagles.

I want a Bonke type midfielder. A physical enforcer type.

ohenhen1 wrote: Mon Nov 27, 2023 5:54 am

RB-Osayi, Aina,
LB- Sanusi, Onyemachi

kingdom Osayi
Amas Obasogie
Olurenke Ojo
The last time I watched Enyimba which it was last month, Ojo was the starter. And he is now a regular invite to the Eagles.

Basically you want a sumo wrestler or mechanic, unfortunately for you the modern day physical enforcer type of players still have some finesse and technique to their game...needless to say Bonke hasn't played a single league minute at L'orient over the season.

Please let's be serious here, go watch players like Ifeanyi Matthew, Olawoyin or Onuche Ogbelu and see what a physical enforcer with a rolls royce football brain looks like.

If you want enforcers, Yusuf and Nwobodo are better than options than Bonke. Both have a high work rate, win tackles, and are more polished. Particularly Yusuf who also contributes offensively too. Bonke has rarely played this season. Not sure if he's injured.

Haven't been that impressed with Ojo. Obasogie and Nwoke look better too me.

RB-Osayi, Aina,
LB- Sanusi, Onyemachi

kingdom Osayi
Amas Obasogie
Olurenke Ojo

No, I am looking for a Patrick Viera or a Roy Keane or a Gilberto Silva. Physical presence but with skill.

ohenhen1 wrote: Mon Nov 27, 2023 8:09 am No, I am looking for a Patrick Viera or a Roy Keane or a Gilberto Silva. Physical presence but with skill.
Bonke is the least player that fits that profile you described, are you trolling or what?

Tobi17 wrote: Mon Nov 27, 2023 8:25 am
ohenhen1 wrote: Mon Nov 27, 2023 8:09 am No, I am looking for a Patrick Viera or a Roy Keane or a Gilberto Silva. Physical presence but with skill.
Bonke is the least player that fits that profile you described, are you trolling or what?
He is not, but he is physical.

ohenhen1 wrote: Mon Nov 27, 2023 8:27 am
Tobi17 wrote: Mon Nov 27, 2023 8:25 am
He is not, but he is physical.
Well, don’t mention his name. Bonke has the physical attributes but doesn’t have the offensive skill sets of those legends you just mentioned.
Umaysee

Post by Umaysee »

Take Daga, Nwakili Eletu Akin off your list. Let them wait their turn.
Psalm 16:7
I will bless the Lord, who hath given me counsel: my reins also instruct me in the night seasons.
KJV
Umaysee

Post by Umaysee »

Take Daga, Nwakili Eletu Akin off your list. Let them wait their turn.
Psalm 16:7
I will bless the Lord, who hath given me counsel: my reins also instruct me in the night seasons.
KJV

RB-Osayi, Aina,
LB- Sanusi, Onyemachi

kingdom Osayi
Amas Obasogie
Olurenke Ojo

That was last time. This time he is a benchwarmer so take him off the list. We already have 1 benchwarmer goalkeeper we are trying to get rid of. Can't afford to have another one.

Bonke and every other bench warmer should not be called up. But I want a player with his physical trait for the African game.

Umaysee wrote: Mon Nov 27, 2023 2:23 pm Take Daga, Nwakili Eletu Akin off your list. Let them wait their turn.
I won’t, I want them to train with the senior players. Building for the future.

ohenhen1 wrote: Mon Nov 27, 2023 7:24 pm
Umaysee wrote: Mon Nov 27, 2023 2:23 pm Take Daga, Nwakili Eletu Akin off your list. Let them wait their turn.
I won’t, I want them to train with the senior players. Building for the future.
The way you guys are arguing is like this is the real list 🤣