Club African trash Rivers United in CAF cup reverse

Re: Club African trash Rivers United in CAF cup reverse

See goalkeeper. If the keeper for out CL team is that bad , how terrible are the rest? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

The stupidest thread, so far, this year🤔❗️

this is what 1naija produces for Nigeria... what a shameful club

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Thu Dec 21, 2023 3:34 pm See goalkeeper. If the keeper for out CL team is that bad , how terrible are the rest? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
So the CL club automatically should have the best goalie in the country? Just asking?
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Thu Dec 21, 2023 8:48 pm
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Thu Dec 21, 2023 3:34 pm See goalkeeper. If the keeper for out CL team is that bad , how terrible are the rest? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
So the CL club automatically should have the best goalie in the country? Just asking?

No, not the best.
But you would expect a certain level of performance reflective of the league.
In fact, in reality he should be and probably is above the average of the league’s GKing standards to have carried his team to the CL.

No way is it imaginable that Man City or Real or Bayern or Napoli etc would have a goalie below the average for their respective leagues.
I think that’s a realistic expectation.
How would they have managed success otherwise?

Levels. :idea:

Damunk wrote: Thu Dec 21, 2023 9:54 pm
No, not the best.
In fact, in reality he should be and probably is above the average of the league’s GKing standards to have carried his team to the CL.

No way is it imaginable that Man City or Real or Bayern or Napoli etc would have a goalie below the average for their respective leagues.

The thing is he isn't (under normal circumstance) their first choice keeper, not even second choice for the majority of his career but it all changed this season when their higher ups decided to Freeze out #1 Victor Sochima after rejecting a bid from a club abroad for his services

Sunset wrote: Thu Dec 21, 2023 10:57 pm
No, not the best.

The thing is he isn't (under normal circumstance) their first choice keeper, not even second choice for the majority of his career but it all changed this season when their higher ups decided to Freeze out #1 Victor Sochima after rejecting a bid from a club abroad for his services
That’s fair enough and I won’t argue the facts with you because I don’t know them.
But you cannot blame anybody for believing that a Champions League team has an above average ‘keeper for the domestic league they represent.

Under normal circumstances in a normal country, one would expect a Champions League qualifying team to even reinforce whichever position they think they might be weak.
So these guys didn’t do that?

Damunk wrote: Fri Dec 22, 2023 12:30 am
Sunset wrote: Thu Dec 21, 2023 10:57 pm
No, not the best.

That’s fair enough and I won’t argue the facts with you because I don’t know them.
But you cannot blame anybody for believing that a Champions League team has an above average ‘keeper for the domestic league they represent.

Under normal circumstances in a normal country, one would expect a Champions League qualifying team to even reinforce whichever position they think they might be weak.
So these guys didn’t do that?
They have Mutawakilu Seidu (2nd choice) but he has only been listed for 2 games this season so most likely he's just getting back from an injury, but at the same time this is just another one of the self inflicted setbacks.

You're not wrong there need to be standards and it's one thing that continues to plague Nigerian Clubs year after year where the top clubs lose their best players to moves abroad and struggle to replace them due to poor scouting/laziness.
And to be fair to Rivers they have managed the best (amongst Nigerian clubs) for the most part but should've done more scouting those with international experience.

Take that Second goal for example this is the player who made the error:

Not that he's a bad player but he literally has barely 1 full season of top-flight Football to his name, and with just that it'll show when you come up against North African sides