WALDRUM SIGNS NEW FALCONS’ CONTRACT

GOOD news for stability…
He EARNED it by his RESULTS at WC.

ugly boy
Re: WALDRUM SIGNS NEW FALCONS’ CONTRACT

Post by ugly boy »

This team can win the Olympics

Some people said, after the WC, countries will be chasing him. Seems, he had no takers....

Good news , just continue improving the girls

fabio wrote: Tue Jan 16, 2024 2:29 pm Some people said, after the WC, countries will be chasing him. Seems, he had no takers....
You mean with all the things NFF showed him he still begged to accept NFF job? Hmmm

He’s getting old. He wants to win something. Falcons offer him that chance. The Olympic team could be even better than the WC team. Joe has developed well, Abiodun and Demahein are even better, and those killer midfielders of Uchebe, Ayinde and Payne are only getting stronger.

And we have one of the world’s best keepers.

Who wouldn’t want the job of coaching such a talented squad?

We have better coaches in Nigeria.

Our performances against Aus and England in the World Cup were among the best tactical performances in the history of Nigerian football. Maybe Siasia against Belgium at the Beijing Olympics in 08. Or Westerhoff against Bulgaria in 94. Can’t think of another match where we were so tactically superior to another team.

Lets give the man some credit.

fabio wrote: Tue Jan 16, 2024 2:29 pm Some people said, after the WC, countries will be chasing him. Seems, he had no takers....
He has a full time job with Pitt.

If Nigeria won 2 more games at the WC, he may have been in the picture for the US job.

That is probably the only job he would have left Nigeria for, as the current situation is super convenient for him with the part-time arrangement with the Falcons.

waka-man wrote: Tue Jan 16, 2024 5:36 pm Our performances against Aus and England in the World Cup were among the best tactical performances in the history of Nigerian football. Maybe Siasia against Belgium at the Beijing Olympics in 08. Or Westerhoff against Bulgaria in 94. Can’t think of another match where we were so tactically superior to another team.

Lets give the man some credit.
For once even the usual bias commentators weren’t just saying that our girls were physical and fast. Let the man finish the job.

No coach in women's football has as sweet a deal as Waldrum; head coach of Pitt women and Nigeria. Two very high profile jobs at the same time. Why would he want to give that up❓🤔❗️

ohenhen1 wrote: Tue Jan 16, 2024 5:01 pm We have better coaches in Nigeria.
Sure you do🤐

I am not pro foreign coaches but Waldrum has excellent credentials and has acquitted himself very well in his role as coach of the SuperFalcons🤔❗️

packerland wrote: Tue Jan 16, 2024 6:10 pm
waka-man wrote: Tue Jan 16, 2024 5:36 pm Our performances against Aus and England in the World Cup were among the best tactical performances in the history of Nigerian football. Maybe Siasia against Belgium at the Beijing Olympics in 08. Or Westerhoff against Bulgaria in 94. Can’t think of another match where we were so tactically superior to another team.

Let’s give the man some credit.
For once even the usual bias commentators weren’t just saying that our girls were physical and fast. Let the man finish the job.
:laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

Whoever is tickling Gotti should leave him alone. Bobo just dey giggle anyhow and it’s making it impossible for him to say anything.

waka-man wrote: Tue Jan 16, 2024 7:33 pm Whoever is tickling Gotti should leave him alone. Bobo just dey giggle anyhow and it’s making it impossible for him to say anything.

Meghan Good?

I was an early critic but became convinced about his impact when watching the WWC. This is a good decision by the NFF to renew his contract.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Tue Jan 16, 2024 8:43 pm I was an early critic but became convinced about his impact when watching the WWC. This is a good decision by the NFF to renew his contract.

He's a good coach. His resume as a college coach in the US is undeniable. However he needed to prove that he could hack it at the national team level and our World Cup performance was a huge boost for him in this aspect.

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Tue Jan 16, 2024 6:11 pm
No coach in women's football has as sweet a deal as Waldrum; head coach of Pitt women and Nigeria. Two very high profile jobs at the same time. Why would he want to give that up❓🤔❗️

I've never been a fan of this arrangement but I guess it works for both parties. The NFF gets to pay part time wages (as against what he would have demanded as a full time coach). While Randy has another source of income to fall back on when he's being owed by our football administrators.

Enugu II wrote: Tue Jan 16, 2024 8:43 pm I was an early critic but became convinced about his impact when watching the WWC. This is a good decision by the NFF to renew his contract.
I too was initially critical of him, but I quickly recognized the impact he had on the team with a disciplined defensive style of play, even during our losses in the pre-World Cup friendly matches. For the first time, I witnessed a Falcon team playing with a distinct pattern rather than relying solely on individual skills and physical strength. Therefore, I wholeheartedly support him to continue as the Falcon's coach.

ohenhen1 wrote: Tue Jan 16, 2024 5:01 pm We have better coaches in Nigeria.
Like who?

So we can't get anyone better than a college coach? Na wa oo!!

truetalk wrote: Tue Jan 16, 2024 8:35 pm
waka-man wrote: Tue Jan 16, 2024 7:33 pm Whoever is tickling Gotti should leave him alone. Bobo just dey giggle anyhow and it’s making it impossible for him to say anything.
Meghan Good?
Meghan is a good laugh alright….

But not as hilarious as waka-man’s assertion of the SF v England game, where we were a player up for over 35 minutes (including the entirety of extra-time) and could hardly create any credible scoring chances, as “among the best tactical performances in the history of Nigerian football”. But perhaps he was referring to the inexplicable substitution of Ordega for Kanu, or the even more inexplicable switching of Alozie (who was already blowing out of her sitter) to left-winger with Ajibade devolving to RWB.

Last edited by Gotti on Tue Jan 16, 2024 10:18 pm, edited 2 times in total.

They should have thrown in the Super Eagles Job as well, 1 stone 2 birds. I’m sure he’s better than that current Mugu we have there masquerading as a coach.