Camp News

Re: Camp News

iworo wrote: Mon Jan 29, 2024 6:32 am
This guy balled. I love players with energy.

But he performs better in this 5-4-1 formation in the DM role, not in a 4-2-4 like Peseinro had used him in the past.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Watching that in detail shows how Alex dropped deep to cover him….

Onyeka was everywhere but Alex was disciplined….

Just thinking - how good him and Yusuf will be

Ajayi Ekong Bassey

Aina Yusuf Onyeka Zaidu

Iwobi Osimhen Lookman

Lolly wrote: Mon Jan 29, 2024 10:43 am

But he performs better in this 5-4-1 formation in the DM role, not in a 4-2-4 like Peseinro had used him in the past.
Frank Onyeka is the nearest DM that I can begin to compare to Sunday Oliseh. Once he starts to deliver long, accurate, cross-field passes behind the opposition defence line, he is there. But from a defensive point of view, very impressive!
You can control your choice, but not necessarily the consequences

Goldleaf wrote: Mon Jan 29, 2024 1:24 pm

Frank Onyeka is the nearest DM that I can begin to compare to Sunday Oliseh. Once he starts to deliver long, accurate, cross-field passes behind the opposition defence line, he is there. But from a defensive point of view, very impressive!
I’m still not 100% sure he is a proper DM even though he has been playing that role at this AFCON.

packerland wrote: Mon Jan 29, 2024 3:07 pm

I’m still not 100% sure he is a proper DM even though he has been playing that role at this AFCON.
He is not. But if he can give this level of performance in the role, fantastic! :clap:

That’s the key difference.
What stands players out as exceptional is when they hardly lose possession. Very few forced errors and virtually no unforced errors makes a huge difference in team performance.
If the majority of our players did not lose the ball as a matter of course, we are basically on another level.

Strikers will naturally lose possession more frequently because they are actively being confronted to deny them possession.
But if our midfielders and defenders were able to retain the ball and not just clear ball upfield to avoid danger it would really raise our overall game.

Too often I see the opposite and if the stats are studied, I can bet you that Iwobi will have the highest percentage of completed passes and either Zaidu or Ajayi the lowest. Iwobi finds his man maybe 90% of the time.

At the 2019 AFCON, Musa had the lowest in the whole SE team and probably one of the lowest in the whole tournament.
sabb

Post by sabb »

Damunk wrote: Mon Jan 29, 2024 5:54 pm

That’s the key difference.
What stands players out as exceptional is when they hardly lose possession. Very few forced errors and virtually no unforced errors makes a huge difference in team performance.
If the majority of our players did not lose the ball as a matter of course, we are basically on another level.

Strikers will naturally lose possession more frequently because they are actively being confronted to deny them possession.
But if our midfielders and defenders were able to retain the ball and not just clear ball upfield to avoid danger it would really raise our overall game.

Too often I see the opposite and if the stats are studied, I can bet you that Iwobi will have the highest percentage of completed passes and either Zaidu or Ajayi the lowest. Iwobi finds his man maybe 90% of the time.

At the 2019 AFCON, Musa had the lowest in the whole SE team and probably one of the lowest in the whole tournament.
Most of them especially the forwards tend to dribble first rather than think of the pass but Iwobi is always looking for the pass, head up and looking for who's available, even in that Onyeka clip there was a pass to Simon and instead of directing the ball towards goal he wanted to stop it and ball is lost. In training they are always showing clips of the boys practising the 1 touch pass but come match days nothing of sort only glimpse.
To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli
sabb

Post by sabb »

Enyi wrote: Mon Jan 29, 2024 10:54 am
Watching that in detail shows how Alex dropped deep to cover him….

Onyeka was everywhere but Alex was disciplined….

Just thinking - how good him and Yusuf will be

Ajayi Ekong Bassey

Aina Yusuf Onyeka Zaidu

Iwobi Osimhen Lookman
Really like this formation, Vic O and Lookman will really benefit from Iwobi's selfless play and all 3 are interchangeable
Yusuf and Onyeka can interchange on who sits and who moves up.
To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli

Damunk wrote: Mon Jan 29, 2024 5:54 pmThat’s the key difference.

Very well said, Damunk. And what you described above is what makes many a Brazilian team and teams like Pep's Barcelona and Man City seem otherworldly at their peaks.

sabb wrote: Mon Jan 29, 2024 6:36 pm Most of them especially the forwards tend to dribble first rather than think of the pass but Iwobi is always looking for the pass, head up and looking for who's available, even in that Onyeka clip there was a pass to Simon and instead of directing the ball towards goal he wanted to stop it and ball is lost. In training they are always showing clips of the boys practising the 1 touch pass but come match days nothing of sort only glimpse.
Thanks Sabb for your discernment of our most basic fault.
What you pointed out is primarily what is killing African footballers, and this is not new.
Our players seem not to understand the importance of team ball possession. They
prefer to dwell on the ball instead of looking for the best teammate to pass the ball on to.
When players hangs on to the ball too long, only bad things can happen, as the chances are
high that they are dispossessed, the previously open player is marked and a pass is intercepted,
or worse the player gets injured in a tackle.
Unfortunately, most of the fans prefer applauding on pretty runs that yields nothing or worse
disaster for the team.

iworo wrote: Mon Jan 29, 2024 6:51 am
Amaju still dey carry assets upandan.

Una see di two assets abi na liabilities way dey behind am? :D :taunt:

...Kwango head. People who ruin Nigeria walking around free.

Former NFF president, Amaju Pinnick, applauds the Super Eagles of Nigeria superlative victory over
the Indomitable Lions of Cameroon 2-1
to get to the quarter finals of the African Nations Cup.
So, Cameroon scored and almost equalized?

Pinnick, under whose administration Nigeria missed qualifying for many international tournaments
including WC 2023 is now having a voice and being applauded? What were his achievements again?

Where are all those voices bleating about under-achieving players and coaches.

mcal wrote: Mon Jan 29, 2024 8:09 pm ...Kwango head. People who ruin Nigeria walking around free.
When I become President of Nigeria, you can be rest assured that it wont be the case anymore.

You, must you carry your syncopancy everywhere? Who ask you about synergy? :veryangry: :veryangry:
Cellular wrote: Mon Jan 29, 2024 8:01 pm
iworo wrote: Mon Jan 29, 2024 6:51 am
Amaju still dey carry assets upandan.

Una see di two assets abi na liabilities way dey behind am? :D :taunt: