Nigeria vs Angola (1-0) Lookman x1, Moses assist FT

davidbam14
Re: Nigeria vs Angola (1-0) Lookman x1, Moses assist 2H

Post by davidbam14 »

green4life wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 8:10 pm
davidbam14 wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 8:01 pm
danfo driver wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 7:47 pm Glad to be in the Semis. But two things --

- very poorly managed game
- this game once again highlights the importance of picking your squad on merit
- this game once again highlights the fact that our players need to learn humility when they play smaller teams. They need to prosecute the game with the same discipline. Very disappointing.
thank God we won but i'm not sure about our coach anymore, the angolan coach understands tactics. If the angolan coach was in charge of nigeria how good we'll be.
Story. The same Angola Coach who couldn't make any adjustments over 100mins of football to create any quality chances on target? Our coach may not be the best but based on tournament performances, he has been managing these games very well against the so called better coaches.... shebi Angola hasn't lost in 10 games until today?
the point here is with the quality of players in the super eagles, the angolan coach may have done much better
Re: Nigeria vs Angola (1-0) Lookman x1, Moses assist FT

tolahs wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 8:07 pm
txj wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 8:05 pm
felarey wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 7:50 pm :clap: :clap: :clap: Job done! On to the next one....still wondering why Osimhen wasn't allowed to go rest and why it was worth playing with 10 men while a goal up and injury time??? Eniwe, I'm grateful, semis here we come! :D

Especially in those conditions...

He needs to use his squad better. If he doesn't trust them then you have to question why he took them in the first place...
:thumbs:
We all know he doesnt trust them and we all know why he took them. Musa was dishing out coaching instructions :rotf: Instead of them to give him a coaching role, he took a playing spot from a player who deserved it.

And then, look at Aribo coming in today and embarrassing himself.

Tobi17 wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 8:48 pm
sarkin doya wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 8:43 pm Angola was a dangerous team given their play in earlier games in this Afcon. However, SE mostly nullified their attacking threat.

There were two or three heart stopping moments in SE defence - Nwabali made one great save in the first half, diving low and then we have the post to thank in the second half when the Angolan attacker was through.

Apart from the above, Nwabali didn't have too much to do.
Angola was the highest goal scoring team in the tournament coming into this game so only a fool would have underrated their attacking threats, I mean this was a team that easily topped their group with a game to spare! there was only one team that could nullify Angola today and that team was Nigeria...our defensive discipline was always going to humble them, and you could see they were very cautious against us.
You really do need to learn how to control yourself and your mouth.

Last edited by Bigpokey24 on Fri Feb 02, 2024 10:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

danfo driver wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 9:35 pm
tolahs wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 8:07 pm
txj wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 8:05 pm
felarey wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 7:50 pm :clap: :clap: :clap: Job done! On to the next one....still wondering why Osimhen wasn't allowed to go rest and why it was worth playing with 10 men while a goal up and injury time??? Eniwe, I'm grateful, semis here we come! :D

Especially in those conditions...

He needs to use his squad better. If he doesn't trust them then you have to question why he took them in the first place...
:thumbs:
We all know he doesnt trust them and we all know why he took them. Musa was dishing out coaching instructions :rotf: Instead of them to give him a coaching role, he took a playing spot from a player who deserved it.

And then, look at Aribo coming in today and embarrassing himself.

Without much info on the fitness of players, its hard to make any hard conclusions.
We can only go by history, which is that he has always used Kele and Moffi...
so this may be a fitness issue...

We seemed to lose our discipline a bit, especially as players tired, which led to a disconnection of the lines.

My point here was that he should've brought Onuachi in earlier. No need to run Osimhen to the ground....

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Nna, Nna ki igwe ni di ebube

Ike re n'madu ne ya onyeoma
Ike ru wa ne ya n'kpa kpa su ku
Ike re ni igwe ne ya obidi

Nna, Nna ki igwe ni di ebube!!

Make una join me dey sing and dance! :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:
Re: Nigeria vs Angola (1-0) Lookman x1, Moses assist 2H

davidbam14 wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 9:34 pm
green4life wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 8:10 pm
davidbam14 wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 8:01 pm
danfo driver wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 7:47 pm Glad to be in the Semis. But two things --

- very poorly managed game
- this game once again highlights the importance of picking your squad on merit
- this game once again highlights the fact that our players need to learn humility when they play smaller teams. They need to prosecute the game with the same discipline. Very disappointing.
thank God we won but i'm not sure about our coach anymore, the angolan coach understands tactics. If the angolan coach was in charge of nigeria how good we'll be.
Story. The same Angola Coach who couldn't make any adjustments over 100mins of football to create any quality chances on target? Our coach may not be the best but based on tournament performances, he has been managing these games very well against the so called better coaches.... shebi Angola hasn't lost in 10 games until today?
the point here is with the quality of players in the super eagles, the angolan coach may have done much better
Easier said than done. Unfortunately football has never been mathematics.

Congrats 9JA. Proud of the lads. Next up.

west33637

Post by west33637 »

Bigpokey24 wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 11:17 pm
But yet, we are never favorites!! In the eyes of pundits we are never acknowledged. With our record, we are more consistent than ANY African country! How is this fact constantly ignored???