Tella Starts in Leverkusen versus Munich

Re: Tella Starts in Leverkusen versus Munich

danfo driver wrote: Sat Feb 10, 2024 8:08 pm
Tobi17 wrote: Sat Feb 10, 2024 7:57 pm I believe the next AFCON is next year in Morocco, a perfect and inexcusable opportunity to start bedding in the new generation of players...only Ekong and Omeruo should be the veteran players leading the lines and hopefully going for the 5th trophy when we win on Sunday.
Good luck with that! With Ogbu, Osho, Adadabioyo, Frederick and Torounarigha, in a sane world where everyone born by a woman has sense, Omeruo will have zero chance of making our AFCON 2025 squad. But this is Nigeria, so I expect Omeruo and Musa to be on the team.

You do realize that Tella is already part of the squad?

Sometimes its a little too easy for Nigerians to default to cynicism

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

vancity eagle wrote: Sat Feb 10, 2024 7:38 pm But we have a water break motivator so who needs him.

Some are still trying to justify the .motivators place in the team, even claiming he plays a pivotal motivational role.
Again we picked 25 instead of 27 players.
onovo

Post by onovo »

danfo driver wrote: Sat Feb 10, 2024 8:13 pm
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sat Feb 10, 2024 8:09 pm The only thing that matters for Tella is his ability to defend and work like a war horse on both sides. The days of attacking wingers only ar3 done for SE. We're on to defensive wingers.
Are we also done with learning? :lol: :lol:

Please learn to watch games. I have warned you several times. This is how Leverkusen lines up, does it look familiar to you?

-----------------------------------------------Hradecky----------------------------------------------

---------------Edmond Tapsoba---------Jonathan Tah-------------Piero Hincapie-----------------------------

--Josip Stanisic--------------Granit Xhaka------------Robert Andrich-----------------Alex Grimaldo---------

-------------------Nathan Tella-------------------------------------------Florian Wirtz-----------------------------

---------------------------------------------Amine Adli-------------------------------------------------------------
@Danfo, on another note, how does Xabi Alonso uses his 3 4 3 formation that has made his team solid in attack and play with lot of flare ? For us 3 4 3 has brought a defence balance/made us very defensive but our attack is conservative.

Anyway I guess Grimaldo and Frimpong whom are the wingback have great attacking potentials beside their defensive duties. Two of the three goals scored by Leverkusen today were scored by wingback. Our Super Eagles wingback could possibly learn from how Frimpong and Grimaldo does their duties under 3 4 3 formation
Last edited by onovo on Sat Feb 10, 2024 10:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

onovo wrote: Sat Feb 10, 2024 10:09 pm
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sat Feb 10, 2024 8:09 pm The only thing that matters for Tella is his ability to defend and work like a war horse on both sides. The days of attacking wingers only ar3 done for SE. We're on to defensive wingers.

Please learn to watch games. I have warned you several times. This is how Leverkusen lines up, does it look familiar to you?

-----------------------------------------------Hradecky----------------------------------------------

---------------Edmond Tapsoba---------Jonathan Tah-------------Piero Hincapie-----------------------------

--Josip Stanisic--------------Granit Xhaka------------Robert Andrich-----------------Alex Grimaldo---------

-------------------Nathan Tella-------------------------------------------Florian Wirtz-----------------------------

---------------------------------------------Amine Adli-------------------------------------------------------------
@Danfo, on another note, how does Xabi Alonso uses his 3 4 3 formation that has made his team solid in attack and play with lot of flare ? For us 3 4 3 has brought a defence balance/made us very defensive but our attack is conservative.
We really play 5 at the back (5-4-1/5-2-3)
onovo

Post by onovo »

Synopsis wrote: Sat Feb 10, 2024 10:15 pm

I agree with you then, cos Alonso uses 343 and Leverkusen attack has been explosive this season.

Anyway I guess Grimaldo and Frimpong whom are the wingback have great attacking potentials beside their defensive duties. Two of the three goals scored by Leverkusen today were scored by wingback. Our Super Eagles wingback could possibly learn from how Frimpong and Grimaldo does their duties under 3 4 3 formation
1. They have better wide players than us. Simon and Chukwueze are not up to par.

2. Their midfielders can advance the ball forward, while with us it's only Iwobi.

3. While Aina is a good wingback, Sanusi is nowhere good enough.

Tuchel will be lucky to see out the season. Why mirror the shape of a well oiled machine and concede all hope of conquest? Bizarre. Leverkusen are good but Bayern were hopeless.

txj wrote: Sat Feb 10, 2024 10:02 pm
Tobi17 wrote: Sat Feb 10, 2024 7:57 pm I believe the next AFCON is next year in Morocco, a perfect and inexcusable opportunity to start bedding in the new generation of players...only Ekong and Omeruo should be the veteran players leading the lines and hopefully going for the 5th trophy when we win on Sunday.
Good luck with that! With Ogbu, Osho, Adadabioyo, Frederick and Torounarigha, in a sane world where everyone born by a woman has sense, Omeruo will have zero chance of making our AFCON 2025 squad. But this is Nigeria, so I expect Omeruo and Musa to be on the team.

I didnt mention Tella in my post. Let me list the names I mentioned to make it a bit easier for you:

Ogbu,
Osho,
Adadabioyo,
Frederick,
Torounarigha,
Omeruo, and
Musa.

Hope this was helpful.

Grimaldo, Fringpong, Wirtz and Hoffman (their starting AMs and WBs) are very creative. Then they use a very creative CF - Boniface (Hlozek and Adli). To be fair, Schick doesnt really make them less creative.

Finally, Palacios is a fantastic deeplying playmaker who can create from deep. Then you have Xhaka, who has fantastic long and short passing qualities.

Their team, in itself, has very very very creative players. Hell, even their back three is made up of ball-playing CBs who are press-resistant.

Synopsis wrote: Sat Feb 10, 2024 10:15 pm

False

danfo driver wrote: Sun Feb 11, 2024 12:02 am
txj wrote: Sat Feb 10, 2024 10:02 pm

I didnt mention Tella in my post. Let me list the names I mentioned to make it a bit easier for you:

Ogbu,
Osho,
Adadabioyo,
Frederick,
Torounarigha,
Omeruo, and
Musa.

Hope this was helpful.

Two of the new players that you listed are ALREADY involved with the team.

Its too easy to be cynical.

We have steadily made changes to improve the squad. And that's the way to go. Not uproot everything in one fell swoop...
Last edited by txj on Sun Feb 11, 2024 12:43 am, edited 1 time in total.

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Damunk wrote: Sat Feb 10, 2024 9:39 pm
sabb wrote: Sat Feb 10, 2024 8:40 pm Another selfless baller, hope to see him in the qualifiers
Those South Africans never see anytin.
Their coach is making mouth, saying “We will beat Nigeria” in the WC qualifiers.
Dem never tell am?
Did he really say that? I only heard him say that the South African players should move to clubs in Europe to get better.

Leverkusen have only 13 games left to achieve Invincibility in a season.
Damn. Hope they can hold on.
That would be incredible for the team once called
Neverkusen.

sabb wrote: Sat Feb 10, 2024 8:40 pm Another selfless baller, hope to see him in the qualifiers
That lad is quality for real.

txj wrote: Sun Feb 11, 2024 12:21 am

Two of the new players that you listed are ALREADY involved with the team.

Its too easy to be cynical.

We have steadily made changes to improve the squad. And that's the way to go. Not uproot everything in one fell swoop...
I agree

My Client :D

https://x.com/archiert1/status/1756449711643312267?s=20

“We have controlled well the right moment when to press, when to wait, who could have the ball, who could not have the ball.”

Xabi Alonso with great detail on his Leverkusen team’s 3-0 win v Bayern.
@thomashitz on @ESPNFC . Big praise for Adli, Wirtz and Tella here too.

He has already played in the World Cup qualifiers. He played the first half against Zimbabwe.