Pay as you go for assistant coaches

Could there be a potential conflict of interest in the future if the coaches do not have a contract? I don’t like this at all. Is this how other countries pay their assistant coaches? I know it’s just football but game plans, strategies and implementation are a form of intellectual property, are they not?

https://scorenigeria.com.ng/nff-its-pay ... ssistants/

“The five assistants of Finidi are Benjamin James, Chima Onyeike (Fitness trainer), Mehmet Ozturk (match analyst, Daniel Amokachi and Olatunji Baruwa (goalkeeper trainer).”
Re: Pay as you go for assistant coaches

you are becoming an irritant , you complain too much

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon May 13, 2024 2:25 pm Could there be a potential conflict of interest in the future if the coaches do not have a contract? I don’t like this at all. Is this how other countries pay their assistant coaches? I know it’s just football but game plans, strategies and implementation are a form of intellectual property, are they not?

https://scorenigeria.com.ng/nff-its-pay ... ssistants/

“The five assistants of Finidi are Benjamin James, Chima Onyeike (Fitness trainer), Mehmet Ozturk (match analyst, Daniel Amokachi and Olatunji Baruwa (goalkeeper trainer).”
Emir,

This has been the M.O. since the Pinnick administration. When Pinnick ran into funding problems, he made the following decisions which continue: 1] All assistant coaches are paid only when officially in camp and thus per diem., and [2] all payments are in NGN. If these assistants are paid directly by Finidi as is the case for FC assistants under Peseiro, then they may receive monthly wages but from Peseiro's own wages.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Bigpokey24 wrote: Mon May 13, 2024 6:24 pm you are becoming an irritant , you complain too much
Its unfortunate to see him like this

The problem with that is you may struggle to keep the assistants for a reasonable amount of time if they are not properly compensated

olu wrote: Mon May 13, 2024 7:57 pm The problem with that is you may struggle to keep the assistants for a reasonable amount of time if they are not properly compensated
Not really. For two reasons:

1. These assistants are not "appointed" by the NFF. They are guys who Finidi hand-picked. So clearly, these are his friends who have agreed to go into battle with him and help him qualify for the world up and go there to fight for us. They wont just leave their friend, the same way Peseiro's assistants did not just leave thier friend when they claimed they were not paid for 6 months.

2. At least 2 of them (maybe even 3) have day jobs that pay them and it seems they will keep their day jobs.

danfo driver wrote: Mon May 13, 2024 8:06 pm
olu wrote: Mon May 13, 2024 7:57 pm The problem with that is you may struggle to keep the assistants for a reasonable amount of time if they are not properly compensated

1. These assistants are not "appointed" by the NFF. They are guys who Finidi hand-picked. So clearly, these are his friends who have agreed to go into battle with him and help him qualify for the world up and go there to fight for us. They wont just leave their friend, the same way Peseiro's assistants did not just leave thier friend when they claimed they were not paid for 6 months.

2. At least 2 of them (maybe even 3) have day jobs that pay them and it seems they will keep their day jobs.
Danfo,

....But consider that rate of remuneration may be a greater pull than is friendship. A guy who is offered a similar position on a stable wage scale is not likely to continue with SE regardless of friendship with Finidi. He will forgo the SE at a drop of a hat and pick a more stable pay as he is unlikely to maintain jobs that obviously are in conflict.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Mon May 13, 2024 8:15 pm

Danfo,

....But consider that rate of remuneration may be a greater pull than is friendship. A guy who is offered a similar position on a stable wage scale is not likely to continue with SE regardless of friendship with Finidi. He will forgo the SE at a drop of a hat and pick a more stable pay as he is unlikely to maintain jobs that obviously are in conflict.
How come Peseiro's guys did not "forgo the SE at a drop of a hat and pick a more stable pay?" Afterall, they were all Portuguese and have zero emotional connection to Nigeria. And dont forget we were told that they werent paid for 6 months.

Why do you think its the Nigerians who should have an emotional connection to Nigeria who will "forgo the SE at a drop of a hat and pick a more stable pay? Lets not even include the fact that 2 (perhaps 3) of them are going to continue receiving their present stable pay anyway, and the Nigerian pay is just an extra-pay.

danfo driver wrote: Mon May 13, 2024 8:21 pm

Danfo,

How come Peseiro's guys did not "forgo the SE at a drop of a hat and pick a more stable pay?" Afterall, they were all Portuguese and have zero emotional connection to Nigeria. And dont forget we were told that they werent paid for 6 months.

Why do you think its the Nigerians who should have an emotional connection to Nigeria who will "forgo the SE at a drop of a hat and pick a more stable pay? Lets not even include the fact that 2 (perhaps 3) of them are going to continue receiving their present stable pay anyway, and the Nigerian pay is just an extra-pay.
i taya oooo

danfo driver wrote: Mon May 13, 2024 8:21 pm

Danfo,

Danfo,

Peseiro's people were not paid on this scale. Unless you are referring to his Nigerian assistants. As for the Euro assistants paid by Peseiro, the modality of their payment was determined not by the NFF but by Peseiro. In any case, the scenario of leaving will come to play only if a competing offer is on the plate. I am not aware of it. What I state here is simply what is possible given the circumstance... this is simply an issue of logic. Lets assume you are one of those assistants, will you stick at receiving bonuses working for a friend when you can get a more stable monthly wages working elsewhere. Assume here the stable wage is higher than the bonuses.

Danfo you may want to listen to this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gH06nM9dQrw. Michael Nsen had reportedly received an offer to be Assistant to Findi. This issue of pay-as-you-go was precisely the or one of the reasons he declined.

Personally, I understand that the NFF is cash-strapped and that is why they have gone to p[ay-as-you-go but the reality is that there are downsides to such a system.

Enugu II wrote: Mon May 13, 2024 8:32 pm

Danfo,

Peseiro's people were not paid on this scale. Unless you are referring to his Nigerian assistants. As for the Euro assistants paid by Peseiro, the modality of their payment was determined not by the NFF but by Peseiro.
Peseiro said he was not paid for 6 months. How was he able to pay his assistants for 6 months? I presume he didnt.
In any case, the scenario of leaving will come to play only if a competing offer is on the plate. I am not aware of it.
so:

1. they didnt get paid for 6 months, but didnt go get another job?

2. why is it that the Portugues did not get a competing offer, but the Nigerians will?
What I state here is simply what is possible given the circumstance... this is simply an issue of logic. Lets assume you are one of those assistants, will you stick at receiving bonuses working for a friend when you can get a more stable monthly wages working elsewhere. Assume here the stable wage is higher than the bonuses.
There are 2 things that we know, so we do NOT speculate:

1. 2 or 3 Assistants already seem to have a stable weekly income, which seems they would continue to receive.

2. Coaches want to compete at, and hopefully win the world up. I suspect that these assistants would love to be the first to win the World Cup for an African country. For many people, me included, legacy is more valuable than money. So to answer your question -- were I one of them, my desire will be to win the world cup, while receiving bonueses.
Danfo you may want to listen to this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gH06nM9dQrw. Michael Nsen had reportedly received an offer to be Assistant to Findi. This issue of pay-as-you-go was precisely the or one of the reasons he declined.
Thats fair. And the same way Nsien declined, the ones we have now had a chance to decline, but didnt. However, if they change their mind (like all employees and independent contractors have a right to do), and resign, we will go out there and look for others.

Personally, I understand that the NFF is cash-strapped and that is why they have gone to p[ay-as-you-go but the reality is that there are downsides to such a system.
So because there are downsides, what would you propose we do? not have any assistants? :lol:
OJI

Post by OJI »

Pres. Tinubu don open floodgates o!

Come second in the next AFCON, get Abuja house, money, and M.O.N. honor. Each player's state governor's accolade na additional matta.

Danfo,

Like jobs plenty for market?

Most of these guys will use this stint with Naijaria to pad their resume.

The situation is a win-win for the assistants. If you no qualify, you go still list am for CV. If you qualify, you go get the bonuses and a free ride to the World Cup plus an opportunity to upgrade to a more stable situation.

Cellular wrote: Mon May 13, 2024 9:31 pm

Danfo,

Like jobs plenty for market?

Most of these guys will use this stint with Naijaria to pad their resume.

The situation is a win-win for the assistants. If you no qualify, you go still list am for CV. If you qualify, you go get the bonuses and a free ride to the World Cup plus an opportunity to upgrade to a more stable situation.
It’s a win-win for all. Off course they will add am to their CV. Did Nigeria not benefit from their services? Won’t we list AFCON second place in our history plus the tournament money.

danfo driver wrote: Mon May 13, 2024 7:11 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Mon May 13, 2024 6:24 pm you are becoming an irritant , you complain too much
Its unfortunate to see him like this
Danfo driver, you have become a bully o. Jumping/dumping on poor emir