U17 WAFU B Qualifiers - Nigeria (1) v Niger (0)

Last edited by Lolly on Sun May 19, 2024 7:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
Re: U17 WAFU B Qualifiers - Nigeria v Niger

Manu Garba’s team alway seem to be very organized when compared to some of the youth teams we’ve seen lately. Not bad for a team that was selected just last week.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sun May 19, 2024 6:59 pm Manu Garba’s team alway seem to be very organized when compared to some of the youth teams we’ve seen lately. Not bad for a team that was selected just last week.
:lol: That na serious exaggeration.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

The usual problem with Nigerian teams. We struggle to create much in the 3rd half. We are now playing long balls that are easily being cut out.

Goooaal 1-0.

Nigeria score.

Lolly wrote: Sun May 19, 2024 7:07 pm The usual problem with Nigerian teams. We struggle to create much in the 3rd half. We are now playing long balls that are easily being cut out.

You can’t assemble a team 5 days before the competition and expect to dazzle the opponent. We need to embrace good prep and constant improvement rather than constantly hustling to strike gold.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sun May 19, 2024 7:11 pm
Lolly wrote: Sun May 19, 2024 7:07 pm The usual problem with Nigerian teams. We struggle to create much in the 3rd half. We are now playing long balls that are easily being cut out.

You can’t assemble a team 5 days before the competition and expect to dazzle the opponent. We need to embrace good prep and constant improvement rather than constantly hustling to strike gold.
But our defenders are playing like a well drilled unit and making the right decisions with their passes. Weren’t they all assembled at the same time?

Lolly wrote: Sun May 19, 2024 7:15 pm

But our defenders are playing like a well drilled unit and making the right decisions with their passes. Weren’t they all assembled at the same time?
Defense is not the same as attack. In order to have a potent attack you need cohesion between MF and attack, making the right runs and passes. It’s takes time. Defenders can cover for each other, attackers have to be available for each other to receive passes by making the right reads and runs.

U never play ball before? There’s a reason why lower ranked teams like Burley pack the bus vs teams like man city. It’s easier for them to defend than to score!
onovo

Post by onovo »

This is a hurriedly assembled team. Thus at this stage what is most important, is to qualify which ever way. Those things you are talking about can be considered in later stage/future when Manu Garba has time to spend with the team. Let the team just qualify, that is all

onovo wrote: Sun May 19, 2024 7:35 pm

This is a hurriedly assembled team. Thus at this stage what is most important, is to qualify which ever way. Those things you are talking about can be considered in later stage/future when Manu Garba has time to spend with the team. Let the team just qualify, that is all
Abi o. The team is actually quite solid though conservative in their approach. Lolly no even gree them 20mins before he starts rubbishing them.
Re: U17 WAFU B Qualifiers - Nigeria (1) v Niger (0)

I am not rubbishing the team. Just analysing what I have seen over the two games I have seen.

Chei…. We don chop red card. :scared:

Dangerous free-kick to Niger just at the edge of the penalty box. Second of such free kicks in 5 minutes.

And red card to Nigerian defender.

Poor from the referee. Very bad decisions.

Our goalkeeper with a world class save.

Lolly wrote: Sun May 19, 2024 7:57 pm Dangerous free-kick to Niger just at the edge of the penalty box. Second of such free kicks in 5 minutes.

African refs! The man might as well be wearing Orange…
All of Niger Rep’s chances have come off dodgy reffing decisions. Haba!!

I wonder what % of our primary school kids have access to organized sports at school or recreational facilities. Though we’ve had success at the youth level, I don’t think getting to a large majority of kids who have real talent. Imagine if there’s a top talent who lives in the outskirts of Ebonyi, Ekiti,or Benue state. Are we getting to those kids?

Gotti wrote: Sun May 19, 2024 8:02 pm
Lolly wrote: Sun May 19, 2024 7:57 pm Dangerous free-kick to Niger just at the edge of the penalty box. Second of such free kicks in 5 minutes.

The ref actually made the right decision on the pk and red card. The defender brought down a man that was clear on goal.

These kids already mastering the art of faking injuries by rolling on the ground. They’re forgetting that they’re the team that needs a goal.

We would be lucky to hold on to the lead.

But our defenders have been superb tonight but the pressure is mounting from all angles.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sun May 19, 2024 8:10 pm

The ref actually made the right decision on the pk and red card. The defender brought down a man that was clear on goal.
No he didn’t. Our defender got to the ball before their player who just rolled over into the penalty box.

Too much.

3pts. Well done boys! :thumbs: