Before you Blame Onuachu, Moffi, Umar etal.

onovo
Before you Blame Onuachu, Moffi, Umar etal.

Post by onovo »

Like I did mention recently, Osimehn is currently our most creative player currently. He is the only striker who can cope with this our current lack of creativity, due to his raw aggression and passion. Onuachu, Moffi, and Umar et al, cannot cope with this our current style of play where the strikers are not serviced but are expected to create something out of nothing. Please watch carefully this video of our 94 team (used as reference) against almighty Ivory Coast (then defending champions) and see how Yekini was been serviced all round by Finidi, Oliseh, Okocha, and Amokachi. See the fluidity and creativity of these guys playing behind Yekini. See if Osimehn, Onuchu, Moffi, and Umar et al have ever enjoyed this kind of service in a single game, definitely not at all. Imagine if Osimehn gets this kind of service without having to resort to hustle ! Then someone will tell me that Iwobi is good

Re: Before you Blame Onuachu, Moffi, Umar etal.

Please, I take God beg una... MOVE ON WITH YOU OTHER STRIKERS!

Where will our current strikers get such supply from?

The 94 MF and defense extremely skilled at keeping and passing the ball, particularly the MF. They moved the ball so effortlessly and were able to create space for each other when in possession. Also, people often ignore the fact that Finidi and Amunike were 2 way players that allowed the MF to be solid.
onovo

Post by onovo »

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sat Jun 22, 2024 3:43 pm Where will our current strikers get such supply from?

The 94 MF and defense extremely skilled at keeping and passing the ball, particularly the MF. They moved the ball so effortlessly and were able to create space for each other when in possession. Also, people often ignore the fact that Finidi and Amunike were 2 way players that allowed the MF to be solid.
Exactly my thought !
Re: Before you Blame Onuachu, Moffi, Umar etal

onovo wrote: Sat Jun 22, 2024 5:19 pm
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sat Jun 22, 2024 3:43 pm Where will our current strikers get such supply from?

Exactly my thought !

Its almost impossible to create chances in the final third when you don’t have technically sound DM who have the ability to move the ball with short and long range passes and control the pace of the game. In recent times our DMs have been the combative ball winning types like Ndidi, Onyeaka, and Yusuf .

They’re good players but limited in their technical abilities. When we had Mikel, he was the main man in MF with his passing, vision , ability to take out defenders with a pass. Our inability to find similar players is one of the reasons the SE have had a hard time scoring. This is why players like Akinsanmiro have to be integrated into the team asap. Our dependence on wing play doesn’t work anymore.

The introduction of Bashiru’s ability to run with the ball and put defenders under pressure was a start. We need the CM that can make passes into space allowing Bashiru to put pressure on opposing teams. Once that’s achieved the defense gets destabilized , this is what strikers need.
onovo

Post by onovo »

@Emir, you have said it all, except I disagree with the Ndidi, Onyeka thing. They are just average players IMHO. This is why they cannot attract big clubs. Look at Ndidi with all the hype. Onyeka as well. A midfielder that cannot score goals, be creative and give defence splitting passes is very useless. We have to many jambodi players who calls themseves midfielders

Also regarding wing play, even from the Video, see how Oliseh and Okocha created a lot of space for the wingers particularly Finidi who was devasting from the right flank and gave an assist as well.
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sat Jun 22, 2024 5:55 pm

Exactly my thought !

Its almost impossible to create chances in the final third when you don’t have technically sound DM who have the ability to move the ball with short and long range passes and control the pace of the game. In recent times our DMs have been the combative ball winning types like Ndidi, Onyeaka, and Yusuf .

They’re good players but limited in their technical abilities. When we had Mikel, he was the main man in MF with his passing, vision , ability to take out defenders with a pass. Our inability to find similar players is one of the reasons the SE have had a hard time scoring. This is why players like Akinsanmiro have to be integrated into the team asap. Our dependence on wing play doesn’t work anymore.

The introduction of Bashiru’s ability to run with the ball and put defenders under pressure was a start. We need the CM that can make passes into space allowing Bashiru to put pressure on opposing teams. Once that’s achieved the defense gets destabilized , this is what strikers need.

onovo wrote: Sat Jun 22, 2024 6:28 pm @Emir, you have said it all, except I disagree with the Ndidi, Onyeka thing. They are just average players IMHO. This is why they cannot attract big clubs. Look at Ndidi with all the hype. Onyeka as well. A midfielder that cannot score goals, be creative and give defence splitting passes is very useless. We have to many jambodi players who calls themseves midfielders

Also regarding wing play, even from the Video, see how Oliseh and Okocha created a lot of space for the wingers particularly Finidi who was devasting from the right flank and gave an assist as well.

Exactly my thought !

Ndidi and Onyeaka are not useless they’re limited. If they could do things you want them to do they’d be at Barca, Real or other top clubs. We’re talking the best of the best like Pirlo,Rodri and Busquet type, there’re very few of them around. Declan Rice is a £100m player and shrined to high heavens in England but we’re seeing some of his limitation at the Euros. Remember, our 2 best CM since 94 are Oliseh and Mikel, both were one of the best in the world in their position. I recall that a lot of us believed Mikel was a No 10 until Maurinho made him a DM. The rest is history.
onovo

Post by onovo »

Agreed both Mikel and Oliseh were great central midfielders, but kind off similar in style of play. I have not really watched Akinsanmiro in National team either junior level/senior. The only junior player I can see from our youth teams is that guy with dada/dread lock in the current U-17, I can't remember his name. His defence splitting passes is top notch and a delight. I pray he develops properly and join the super eagles in no distant future.
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sat Jun 22, 2024 6:49 pm
onovo wrote: Sat Jun 22, 2024 6:28 pm @Emir, you have said it all, except I disagree with the Ndidi, Onyeka thing. They are just average players IMHO. This is why they cannot attract big clubs. Look at Ndidi with all the hype. Onyeka as well. A midfielder that cannot score goals, be creative and give defence splitting passes is very useless. We have to many jambodi players who calls themseves midfielders

Exactly my thought !

Ndidi and Onyeaka are not useless they’re limited. If they could do things you want them to do they’d be at Barca, Real or other top clubs. We’re talking the best of the best like Pirlo,Rodri and Busquet type, there’re very few of them around. Declan Rice is a £100m player and shrined to high heavens in England but we’re seeing some of his limitation at the Euros. Remember, our 2 best CM since 94 are Oliseh and Mikel, both were one of the best in the world in their position. I recall that a lot of us believed Mikel was a No 10 until Maurinho made him a DM. The rest is history.

onovo wrote: Sat Jun 22, 2024 7:11 pm Agreed both Mikel and Oliseh were great central midfielders, but kind off similar in style of play. I have not really watched Akinsanmiro in National team either junior level/senior. The only junior player I can see from our youth teams is that guy with dada/dread lock in the current U-17, I can't remember his name. His defence splitting passes is top notch and a delight. I pray he develops properly and join the super eagles in no distant future.
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sat Jun 22, 2024 6:49 pm

Exactly my thought !

Akinsanmiro is not as good as Mikel or Oliseh at the same age by any means but he does have the basic talent to be an effective long term CM option for SE. He’s very good at holding and distributing the ball, a key requirement in the CM position. He might never be a top CM but I can see him becoming a very dependable player in the future. Think about it, in 30yrs sine Oliseh and Okocha of 94, Mikel was the only world class MF we’ve found. Due respect to Iwobi but he doesn’t have the ability to impose his will on a game like the great players do. Iwobi is a team player, a system player.