How can we get the SE to play like Spain?
Re: How can we get the SE to play like Spain?
To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli
So would you say the majority of football academies are being run the way they should be run?Agbako wrote: ↑Wed Jul 10, 2024 6:32 pm If there is any arm of our institution in Nigeria where one will expect serious growth of continuity,. One would have thought it will be the NFF with a strong private office holders backed by fIFA with no outside interference by the Nigerian Govt.
I see NFF as "Shoprite" MTN. Coca Cola. Nestle" etc.. Are these not profit driven businesses that competes daily in the business world. ? Is NFF not an entity that should be competing daily for business success? Lets chew on this for a minute.
But when there is no Vision nothing will ever work. Where leaders of the Chairmanship---- contests strictly on mediocrity/what you can come and steal------ not merit of what have you done and what are your plans for the position and NFF Org. your fighting to lead.
You see folks .... its just down right rubbish from the top. None of us will run our little soccer academy the way NFF does things.. Thats where the problem lies. All the beautiful bandages we are applying here are wonderful to treat an incurable sore,
Cos they are not NFF-run.
It’s the easiest thing in the world to heap all the blame on the NFF and its members, and I’m not in any way exonerating them. But I'm looking at the possibility of a ‘misdiagnosis’ here.
How possible is it to successfully run something like this in a broken wider system that is Nigerian society?
As a young doctor in Nigeria working in one of the three most ‘successful’ private hospitals on the Lagos island back then, I knew what was being done (and not being done) to keep the business running.
Maybe we should hear the views of some here who are running a business in Nigeria and what they are having to do to keep it afloat.
Any offers?

- packerland
Other than the fact that I did all my post secondary education here in the US, you might have won "moron of the year" award.danfo driver wrote: ↑Wed Jul 10, 2024 2:03 pmpackerland wrote: ↑Wed Jul 10, 2024 9:03 am
lol at Maresca. The guy is not the messiah. Let’s not forget that Leicester almost blew a 19pts lead and at one point were in 3rd place before a late surge had them winning the championship.Guys, how bad is our education system in Nigeria? And how prevalent is mental illness?Babadee wrote: ↑Wed Jul 10, 2024 9:33 am
Biesla that relegated Leeds if you don’t have the players that is a reckless way of playing.
Remember this Spanish team has players from crème de la crème of Europe. Barca, Madrid,City, Athletico etc
This team also won the last Olympic good medal.
Nigerians players are Playing mosly in relegation or mid table teams.
"How can we get the SE to play like Spain" - which soley indicates "style of play." And then we have two people who have history of mental illness - one going on and on about Maresca and his messiah or lack of messianic behavior! The other one going on and on about Bielsa relegating teams and being a reckless human being who should be arrested in Spain.
We need serous healthcare and education reform in Nigeria.
Let me summarize what you wrote: you said if we hire a competent coach like Bielsa or Maresca, they will invite the right players and have us playing like Spain. Babadee and others are telling you that our so called top players are bang average and are lazy. You can't make lemonade without lemons. Maresca and Bielsa can cut as many players that don't give effort and sign new ones, but when it comes to the national team, they are so much players you can deny invites before your FA starts thinking about replacing you. It's not like you can go and sign another national. Those Leicester and Leeds players know they can be easily replaced if they don't get with the program.
My response to you is that Maresca aint no second coming of Pepe Guardiola because he almost blew a 19 pts lead with experienced premier league players in the championship, something Pep won't do. Style without result will get you fired. Let's see how Maresca with his sexy style perform with Chelsea this coming season.
*As usual, you can chose to reply with one word or with another insult over having a dialogue like an adult*
Tobi17 wrote: ↑Wed Jul 10, 2024 3:22 amTo be fair, Croatia are going through the limbo of a transitional phase where some of their old guards are pretty much almost done (Modric etc), and of course the new generation of players who will need some time to form that bond...it's sometimes difficult to strike that balance when rebuilding. But I trust Croatia to be back in full force and better in no time, the right mentality and foundation is already there.mate wrote: ↑Wed Jul 10, 2024 3:06 amMake room for Croatia...we've entered the chat.Tobi17 wrote: ↑Wed Jul 10, 2024 1:15 amWell that's hardly surprising cause Brazil have been sh*t lately, they will feel right at home on here with us.Cellular wrote: ↑Wed Jul 10, 2024 12:37 am Everyone who has contributed to this thread so far has made valid contributions.
They have identified the problems and identified the solutions.
Much like what ails us as a country, the solution to our problems is right there among us.
Danfo Driver, as much as he tries to avoid discussing politics, always seems to see the interjection of our daily lives with our (bad) politics.
People see the right thing, know the right thing, and DO the WRONG thing
We have to reorient ourselves.
Demand more from ourselves.
Hold ourselves accountable.
You can't have an NFF that wasn't chosen on merit.
Which begets coaches not chosen on merit.
Which then chooses players not chosen on merit.
And expect to play like Spain.
You reap what you sow.
By the way, try going to some Brazilian soccer forums, and you will think you are in a Naijarian forum.
We too are sh*t lately!
Brazil on the other hand are perhaps in a conundrum of producing a surprisingly low number of world class level players (i personally think even that Endrik kid is massivelyoverhyped), they are yet to produce a top level striker and the midfield is subpar- which is rather unusual for a nation like Brazil that churns out exciting players every other season.
I have said and will continue to say much on Croatia and Brazil on the international board.
But I vow to watch the next Nigeria games and see what the heck is going on.
I at least want to apply an eye test...to see how good are the Super Eagle players.
It always comes down to that.
I will say regarding Croatia...we have a pipeline of young guys. Some already are world class, Gvardiol and Stanisic. But I alert know they're not going to be like Modric & Co...so very good coaching is needed now to be able to compete with tier 1 teams.
Every team has a context. Ours will be Dalic, who is not a good coach if he doesn't have an all around golden generation in depth.
See my response to Tobi.Cellular wrote: ↑Wed Jul 10, 2024 4:05 pmCome onnnnn, Mate.mate wrote: ↑Wed Jul 10, 2024 3:06 amMake room for Croatia...we've entered the chat.Tobi17 wrote: ↑Wed Jul 10, 2024 1:15 amWell that's hardly surprising cause Brazil have been sh*t lately, they will feel right at home on here with us.Cellular wrote: ↑Wed Jul 10, 2024 12:37 am Everyone who has contributed to this thread so far has made valid contributions.
Much like what ails us as a country, the solution to our problems is right there among us.
Danfo Driver, as much as he tries to avoid discussing politics, always seems to see the interjection of our daily lives with our (bad) politics.
You reap what you sow.
By the way, try going to some Brazilian soccer forums, and you will think you are in a Naijarian forum.
We too are sh*t lately!
Croatia has been to the top.
The generation that got them to the top are just getting old but are still competitive.
I get what you say. But it's hard, not least because I've gotten used to Croatia being a contender. And it burns worse because we have great young players...but have our own form of big-man syndrome where the old guard selfishly wouldn't give way.
Football is not complicated, but it does take some moving parts. Any 1 deficiency can cost you. Brazil is the best example...even for their culture and history, they're now having trouble producing world class talent in number. And their NT coaching is suspect too.
- danfo driver
I agree with you on the failure of Croatia to move passed the old guard. Thats becoming a big issue.mate wrote: ↑Wed Jul 10, 2024 9:59 pmSee my response to Tobi.Cellular wrote: ↑Wed Jul 10, 2024 4:05 pmCome onnnnn, Mate.mate wrote: ↑Wed Jul 10, 2024 3:06 amMake room for Croatia...we've entered the chat.Tobi17 wrote: ↑Wed Jul 10, 2024 1:15 amWell that's hardly surprising cause Brazil have been sh*t lately, they will feel right at home on here with us.Cellular wrote: ↑Wed Jul 10, 2024 12:37 am Everyone who has contributed to this thread so far has made valid contributions.
You reap what you sow.
We too are sh*t lately!
Croatia has been to the top.
The generation that got them to the top are just getting old but are still competitive.
I get what you say. But it's hard, not least because I've gotten used to Croatia being a contender. And it burns worse because we have great young players...but have our own form of big-man syndrome where the old guard selfishly wouldn't give way.
Football is not complicated, but it does take some moving parts. Any 1 deficiency can cost you. Brazil is the best example...even for their culture and history, they're now having trouble producing world class talent in number. And their NT coaching is suspect too.
Croatia will be fine, they have an exciting crop of young players that are coming up...they just need to permanently move on from the old guards.
With all due respect, that is the wrong question to ask. It is not how we can emulate Spain but how we can emulate to the true Nigerian pattern of play which is seen in our U17's and the SE of old. How can we get there? Pick the best local coach, give him the support, maintain a long term strategy and not be overly reactive based on early results and blips along the way and maintain utmost professionalism. Foreign Coaches sound sexy but it creates confusion in that they have their own ideas which may or may not be in concert with our strengths, and when they leave there is no continuity. They take their experience to the next African nation. At least with our own, regardless of the outcome, that experience is reinvested back into our football.Bigpokey24 wrote: ↑Tue Jul 09, 2024 10:30 pm Two fast and exciting players out wide, a complete deep playing DM and a feisty wing back like Cucurella
We can emulate such and make the SE great again
...all England players play for top 5 or 6 league clubs except their goalie, Pickford. Why? because all top 5 or 6 clubs have foreign goalies.
For Nigeria to be like england or spain we have to have 11 of of players playing top league and all as starters. Then of course throw in a very good NFA and coach.
No one was talking about Croatia until you showed up. Abeg carry your Croatia commot here.mate wrote: ↑Wed Jul 10, 2024 3:06 amMake room for Croatia...we've entered the chat.Tobi17 wrote: ↑Wed Jul 10, 2024 1:15 amWell that's hardly surprising cause Brazil have been sh*t lately, they will feel right at home on here with us.Cellular wrote: ↑Wed Jul 10, 2024 12:37 am Everyone who has contributed to this thread so far has made valid contributions.
You reap what you sow.
We too are sh*t lately!
To put it simply they have a clearly set out system from the ground up (youth levels, lower leagues to their top team) that trickles down to the National team level. The same can’t be said about our systemBigpokey24 wrote: ↑Tue Jul 09, 2024 10:30 pm Two fast and exciting players out wide, a complete deep playing DM and a feisty wing back like Cucurella
In many ways the discussions here speaks a lot about us Nigerians.
Just like that, you want to play like Spain!!!
Has anybody bothered to find out how they arrived at the way they play?
Do you think its as simple as ordering pounded yam at Iya Yemisi's bukateria?
Just like that, you want to play like Spain!!!
Has anybody bothered to find out how they arrived at the way they play?
Do you think its as simple as ordering pounded yam at Iya Yemisi's bukateria?
We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
highbury wrote: ↑Wed Jul 10, 2024 10:55 pmWith all due respect, that is the wrong question to ask. It is not how we can emulate Spain but how we can emulate to the true Nigerian pattern of play which is seen in our U17's and the SE of old. How can we get there? Pick the best local coach, give him the support, maintain a long term strategy and not be overly reactive based on early results and blips along the way and maintain utmost professionalism. Foreign Coaches sound sexy but it creates confusion in that they have their own ideas which may or may not be in concert with our strengths, and when they leave there is no continuity. They take their experience to the next African nation. At least with our own, regardless of the outcome, that experience is reinvested back into our football.Bigpokey24 wrote: ↑Tue Jul 09, 2024 10:30 pm Two fast and exciting players out wide, a complete deep playing DM and a feisty wing back like Cucurella
FRANCE WILL WIN EURO 28...and the question will be "how can Nigeria play like France?"

As long as we keep using 2 Midfielders and our main striker remains isolated, we can forget it.
get Nigeria to play like Poland first. Poland was kicked out from the first round, i know.
This team have improved since years ago when I watched them.
SE should play with a structure, and as a unit, the rest will fall in place.
Clearly u dont have the talent of spain, such talent is home produced.
We cant play like them, because our criteria for wide players is mostly based on defensive qualities with less focus on attack. This is why Zaidu and Simon are mainly deployed as our wide playersBigpokey24 wrote: ↑Tue Jul 09, 2024 10:30 pm Two fast and exciting players out wide, a complete deep playing DM and a feisty wing back like Cucurella
ANC wrote: ↑Sat Jul 13, 2024 12:21 pm get Nigeria to play like Poland first. Poland was kicked out from the first round, i know.
Exactly what Pesseiro did and git the sack. Nigerians have a problem coming to terms with reality. They want to play like Spain with Tanzanian material. Mscheeeew!
Now tell me how you can convince a 16yr old to go and play football when THE NEWS IS THAT SE cant beat Benin, No bonus payment.... whereas Yahoo and Kidnaping gives u instant wealth?ohenhen1 wrote: ↑Wed Jul 10, 2024 9:12 amEnyi wrote: ↑Wed Jul 10, 2024 7:54 amActually, its the other way round.....
A great National team, gets the locals investing in local football. then investors will invest in the local league to reap from the local league's newly found fame then the league grows.
i.e in Emgland, cycling was not a great passtime untill the English guy won tour de france....Everyone started cycling, Sky then invested heavily in it
Another erxample: MLS - USA hosted the world cup, its NT did well and the locals that hated Soccer became invested in it and rest is history....
Final example, there was a boom of academies in Nigeria and this was born out of the successes of the U-17/20...Now that the success has faded, most of these academies are fading as well...
so like Danfo and Bigpokey said..... Start with playing like Spain![]()
That is like trickle down economics. You are still expecting the national team to be good first by attracting a WOWO coach and scouting foreign based talents. Similar to the approach taken by the NFF. It wont wor k. It hasn't worked in the past. If you want a good national team. You have to build it up from the bottom up, Starting with competent NFF, then youth teams. This is what America is doing. This is what Spain did. Even England has embraced the bottom up approach by introducing the home grown rule. France another successful club has a culture of good home grown talent. Even Argentina has invested a lot in their league and youth football.
EVERYBODY builds their life on a role model....SE dont have that
- Molue Conductor
ANC wrote: ↑Sat Jul 13, 2024 12:21 pm get Nigeria to play like Poland first. Poland was kicked out from the first round, i know.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
- Field Marshall Ogolo
Ask Sunday Oliseh!Bigpokey24 wrote: ↑Tue Jul 09, 2024 10:30 pm Two fast and exciting players out wide, a complete deep playing DM and a feisty wing back like Cucurella
Why not surpass Spain? Why must they play like Spain bro?
I never LOSE, I either WIN or LEARN. – Nelson Mandela
Not too long ago, it was 'how do we get the SE to play like Brazil, or Argentina, or Holland?',
and now it's Spain. When are we going to realize that team sports like football is no different
from having ideas and making arguments? Successful coaches adopt playing styles that fits a
certain talent and temperament, and this is reflected on the players they invite or buy.
Looking at teams like Barcelona, Real Madrid, and Arsenal, these teams have a philosophy and
recruit accordingly. So too are Germany, Argentina, and now Spain.
Unfortunately, our SE cannot settle on a philosophy. What with coaches being changed on a
whim, and all sorts of players being invited with no standard requirements. I believe any
change in our football fortunes will have to come from a stable NFF with clear and well
defined ideas to what direction to pursue.
and now it's Spain. When are we going to realize that team sports like football is no different
from having ideas and making arguments? Successful coaches adopt playing styles that fits a
certain talent and temperament, and this is reflected on the players they invite or buy.
Looking at teams like Barcelona, Real Madrid, and Arsenal, these teams have a philosophy and
recruit accordingly. So too are Germany, Argentina, and now Spain.
Unfortunately, our SE cannot settle on a philosophy. What with coaches being changed on a
whim, and all sorts of players being invited with no standard requirements. I believe any
change in our football fortunes will have to come from a stable NFF with clear and well
defined ideas to what direction to pursue.
You want to get Nigeria playing like Spain ? We need to start from the ground up. Right from u7, u9, u13, you're teaching kids a similar style of play. Spain did not get like this overnight. We've seen their possession style evolve beyond just passing the ball. Now that they've gotten talent like Lamine and Nico, they don't need a thousand passes to score.
Spent the better part of the last year learning about this and comparing to the US Youth system and it's eye opening. Spain dey another galaxy, we still dey ready for takeoff
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna