NFF should beg Rohr to reconsider coming back
Re: NFF should beg Rohr to reconsider coming back
Eguavoen is the coach. And with this NFF, he will be the coach for a while. Make una feel free to rant sha
TRUE WORD. Decisions shall not be based on a one game result.Damunk wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 5:38 pmIt doesn’t matter to me what he said.Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 12:22 pmOne hopes that you checked what the poster stated after SE beat Rohr and Benin Eepublic 3-0 recently.Damunk wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 12:17 pmWhy won’t they disappear?greg wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 10:48 am All the Rohr haters don disappear again. Karma has given us one more critical date with him - a WCQ, and trust me he isn't done with us. It is clear to see which team is actually building stronger under the guidance of a real coach. Because he chose to be humble and not arrogant like some Nigerians, he got a lot of hate. Benin is the perfect team he needed to use to teach us a lesson.
They rained all sorts of insults on the guy, before and after the ignominious sacking which contributed hugely to our non qualification for the last World Cup. We couldn’t even have the decency to let him go quietly. We had to send curses his way as he left.
But we are Nigerians.
We do stupid things and defend it all with full chest.
Rohr has got small Rep of Benin punching above their weight and they must be delighted.
I’m sure Eguavoen and our players have much more respect for the man than our flighty fans.
My point is, I just find it unacceptable how fans completely lose their faculties when things don’t go well for the national team. That’s when we make irrational decisions.
Whether Rohr, Keshi, Peseiro and now Eguavoen, we burn bridges.
Our worst nightmare (and probably his greatest joy) would be if Rohr stops us from reaching the World Cup.
God forbid - but that’s what I said about Trump.![]()
However, decision on Rohr was not rash. In his case, there was series of poor results at HOME and that was it.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
So we decided to cut off our nose to spite our face.Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 9:11 pmTRUE WORD. Decisions shall not be based on a one game result.Damunk wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 5:38 pmIt doesn’t matter to me what he said.Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 12:22 pmOne hopes that you checked what the poster stated after SE beat Rohr and Benin Eepublic 3-0 recently.Damunk wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 12:17 pmWhy won’t they disappear?greg wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 10:48 am All the Rohr haters don disappear again. Karma has given us one more critical date with him - a WCQ, and trust me he isn't done with us. It is clear to see which team is actually building stronger under the guidance of a real coach. Because he chose to be humble and not arrogant like some Nigerians, he got a lot of hate. Benin is the perfect team he needed to use to teach us a lesson.
They rained all sorts of insults on the guy, before and after the ignominious sacking which contributed hugely to our non qualification for the last World Cup. We couldn’t even have the decency to let him go quietly. We had to send curses his way as he left.
But we are Nigerians.
Rohr has got small Rep of Benin punching above their weight and they must be delighted.
I’m sure Eguavoen and our players have much more respect for the man than our flighty fans.
My point is, I just find it unacceptable how fans completely lose their faculties when things don’t go well for the national team. That’s when we make irrational decisions.
Whether Rohr, Keshi, Peseiro and now Eguavoen, we burn bridges. T
Our worst nightmare (and probably his greatest joy) would be if Rohr stops us from reaching the World Cup.
However, decision on Rohr was not rash. In his case, there was series of poor results at HOME and that was it.
Excellent.

gochino wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 8:41 pmDon’t mind him a coach that has won nothing in over 30 years of coaching! If was that good he won't be coaching Beninhighbury wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 8:18 pmGo and sleep with your outdated and antiquated idea that nothing good can come from a Nigerian coach. By the way, when Nigeria beat Rohr’s team 3-0 without Osimhen, what do you have to say to that? You can keep saying it till the cows come home, but we will always reject that garbage.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 8:04 pm If Rohr knocks us out of the WC it’ll be the nd greatest comeback after Trump’s re-election . It was clear for all to see yesterday who the real tactician was between him and Eguavoen. It wasn’t even close.
SAY AGAIN...who's been coaching 30 years?

Yes. Because of the way the NFF bungled his sacking. The same way they did for Peseiro's and Finidi’s resignation. You should have a replacement ready before you sack a manager. That is why Eguavoen has to stay if we have learnt anythingDamunk wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 9:47 pmSo we decided to cut off our nose to spite our face.Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 9:11 pmTRUE WORD. Decisions shall not be based on a one game result.Damunk wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 5:38 pmIt doesn’t matter to me what he said.Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 12:22 pmOne hopes that you checked what the poster stated after SE beat Rohr and Benin Eepublic 3-0 recently.Damunk wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 12:17 pmWhy won’t they disappear?greg wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 10:48 am All the Rohr haters don disappear again. Karma has given us one more critical date with him - a WCQ, and trust me he isn't done with us. It is clear to see which team is actually building stronger under the guidance of a real coach. Because he chose to be humble and not arrogant like some Nigerians, he got a lot of hate. Benin is the perfect team he needed to use to teach us a lesson.
But we are Nigerians.
Excellent.![]()
Exactly.aruako1 wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 10:10 pmYes. Because of the way the NFF bungled his sacking. The same way they did for Peseiro's and Finidi’s resignation. You should have a replacement ready before you sack a manager. That is why Eguavoen has to stay if we have learnt anythingDamunk wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 9:47 pmSo we decided to cut off our nose to spite our face.Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 9:11 pmTRUE WORD. Decisions shall not be based on a one game result.Damunk wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 5:38 pmIt doesn’t matter to me what he said.Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 12:22 pmOne hopes that you checked what the poster stated after SE beat Rohr and Benin Eepublic 3-0 recently.Damunk wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 12:17 pmWhy won’t they disappear?greg wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 10:48 am All the Rohr haters don disappear again. Karma has given us one more critical date with him - a WCQ, and trust me he isn't done with us. It is clear to see which team is actually building stronger under the guidance of a real coach. Because he chose to be humble and not arrogant like some Nigerians, he got a lot of hate. Benin is the perfect team he needed to use to teach us a lesson.
But we are Nigerians.
Excellent.![]()
But Enugu II and his band of merry executioners are still in denial and tried to (and still want) to sell us the idea that all was well with the sacking.
Remember, the successor question was asked months and months into the ‘Sack Rohr!’ campaign.
The rest is history….painful history.
DNQ.
DamunkDamunk wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 10:19 pmExactly.aruako1 wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 10:10 pmYes. Because of the way the NFF bungled his sacking. The same way they did for Peseiro's and Finidi’s resignation. You should have a replacement ready before you sack a manager. That is why Eguavoen has to stay if we have learnt anythingDamunk wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 9:47 pmSo we decided to cut off our nose to spite our face.Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 9:11 pmTRUE WORD. Decisions shall not be based on a one game result.Damunk wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 5:38 pmIt doesn’t matter to me what he said.Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 12:22 pmOne hopes that you checked what the poster stated after SE beat Rohr and Benin Eepublic 3-0 recently.Damunk wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 12:17 pm
Why won’t they disappear?
But we are Nigerians.
Excellent.![]()
But Enugu II and his band of merry executioners are still in denial and tried to (and still want) to sell us the idea that all was well with the sacking.
Remember, the successor question was asked months and months into the ‘Sack Rohr!’ campaign.
DNQ.
Not sure why it is painful for you? Rohr was Nigeria's longest serving manager and yet he won nothing. So why is it painful? For me, it a as not. I would be pained if Nigeria had won under him and then he was suddenly sacked. For me, I have lost nothing. Nothing at all.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
I would deactivate my X account after that, that was * brutal.
See?Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 11:17 pm Damunk
Not sure why it is painful for you? Rohr was Nigeria's longest serving manager and yet he won nothing. So why is it painful? For me, it a as not. I would be pained if Nigeria had won under him and then he was suddenly sacked. For me, I have lost nothing. Nothing at all.
Pure denial.

See as you been change focus to a new strawman. We are not talking about the sacking but the consequences

DNQ and you all pretended it was “no big deal.”
That one too no pain you, abi?

Secondly…just to keep the records straight, kindly remind me again how many tournaments we competed in and “won nothing in the five years”.
3? 4? 5 tournaments?
As the official CE record keeper, kindly list them with the results, including any DNQs.
No shakin.

NFF no even get money to pay the kind of coach we truly deserve.
So really, we have no choice but to use our own.
For me, it’s blind faith not really based on anything tangible; but somehow we will get there.
We just need to be ready for a long painful journey.
A clear evidence is a coach who was able to navigate his team thru the qualifiers with 2 games to spare. It is unclear whether that is not considered tangibleDamunk wrote: ↑Sat Nov 16, 2024 7:22 amNFF no even get money to pay the kind of coach we truly deserve.
For me, it’s blind faith not really based on anything tangible; but somehow we will get there.
We just need to be ready for a long painful journey.

My blind faith started the moment Egu took over; not the day Libya beat Rwanda in Kigali.highbury wrote: ↑Sat Nov 16, 2024 7:28 amA clear evidence is a coach who was able to navigate his team thru the qualifiers with 2 games to spare. It is unclear whether that is not considered tangibleDamunk wrote: ↑Sat Nov 16, 2024 7:22 amNFF no even get money to pay the kind of coach we truly deserve.
We just need to be ready for a long painful journey.![]()
I had no choice and yet, had no idea what was to come.
After all, our ‘double DNQ’ is on record and is not a myth.
I wanted him sacked. But nobody asked the NFF to drag their feet so long with his replacement. Rohr was not a bad coach but his recent results were not great so fans were always going to be divided about his sacking. If they were going to sack him, it should have been the morning after the Cape Verde game with a replacement within days. But no, they dragged out his sacking and even then, had no replacement.Damunk wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 10:19 pmExactly.aruako1 wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 10:10 pmYes. Because of the way the NFF bungled his sacking. The same way they did for Peseiro's and Finidi’s resignation. You should have a replacement ready before you sack a manager. That is why Eguavoen has to stay if we have learnt anythingDamunk wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 9:47 pmSo we decided to cut off our nose to spite our face.Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 9:11 pmTRUE WORD. Decisions shall not be based on a one game result.Damunk wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 5:38 pmIt doesn’t matter to me what he said.Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 12:22 pmOne hopes that you checked what the poster stated after SE beat Rohr and Benin Eepublic 3-0 recently.Damunk wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 12:17 pm
Why won’t they disappear?
But we are Nigerians.
Excellent.![]()
DNQ.
With Peseiro, I wanted him gone. But again the NFF dragged things out. If they had decided to keep him, the likes of me would have moaned initially but changed tune if he did well. Again, the NFF handled the transition poorly. Same thing with Finidi.
The NFF is not capable of handling the recruitment of a decent foreign manager.
DamunkDamunk wrote: ↑Sat Nov 16, 2024 7:02 amSee?Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 11:17 pm Damunk
Pure denial.![]()
See as you been change focus to a new strawman. We are not talking about the sacking but the consequences
DNQ and you all pretended it was “no big deal.”
That one too no pain you, abi?![]()
Secondly…just to keep the records straight, kindly remind me again how many tournaments we competed in and “won nothing in the five years”.
3? 4? 5 tournaments?
As the official CE record keeper, kindly list them with the results, including any DNQs.
No shakin.![]()
The problem is that you seem invested in a manager who stayed the longest and produced very little. What i do not understand is why you are so invested in a guy like that. We have had managers, several, for shorter period and better productivity.
Importantly, why stick with mediocrity? For me, cut loose. We may yet stumble on a far better manager even without the cash to pay for one but not continue with an underachiever whose limits we know and encountered.
RohrBell wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 10:07 pmgochino wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 8:41 pmDon’t mind him a coach that has won nothing in over 30 years of coaching! If was that good he won't be coaching Beninhighbury wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 8:18 pmGo and sleep with your outdated and antiquated idea that nothing good can come from a Nigerian coach. By the way, when Nigeria beat Rohr’s team 3-0 without Osimhen, what do you have to say to that? You can keep saying it till the cows come home, but we will always reject that garbage.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Fri Nov 15, 2024 8:04 pm If Rohr knocks us out of the WC it’ll be the nd greatest comeback after Trump’s re-election . It was clear for all to see yesterday who the real tactician was between him and Eguavoen. It wasn’t even close.
SAY AGAIN...who's been coaching 30 years?