LETS TALK ABOUT ÉRIC CHELLE

Re: LETS TALK ABOUT ÉRIC CHELLE

Dammy wrote: Thu Jan 16, 2025 11:44 pm
Damunk wrote: Thu Jan 16, 2025 11:12 pm :o
Enugu II wrote: Thu Jan 16, 2025 7:49 pm
gochino wrote: Thu Jan 16, 2025 7:31 pm
Enyi wrote: Thu Jan 16, 2025 7:08 pm
Mr Shows wrote: Wed Jan 15, 2025 10:07 pm
Enyi wrote: Tue Jan 14, 2025 9:54 am I have to admit that even though it seemed like a false dawn that after all the wait, we ended up with him….we might want to look at this from a different prospective esp. after the unveiling.

Every manager starts somewhere.

Southgate was as bad a manager as Lampard but he took England to 2 finals.

Ferguson was awful as Scotland manager

And the list goes on….

After listening to the guy, he might as well be a middle ground of Foreign and local coach….. he is obsessed with the SE team to a point that if an Malian, I will be annoyed.

He talks a good game as well….

He is going to be a dictator or “headmaster” those days in coaching are gone. He is going to approach it as a brother as one of them……

If the team buys into his philosophy and gels…..NFF might have pulled out a rabbit from the hat with this one but…..the jury is still out.

If only they can manage not to interfere with the team…

I am looking forward to the March games to see how his team plays, the results and then fully judge him from there…..
In fairness, as each day goes by, I feel more positive about this. Eguavoen is the best and most experienced local coach we have and there is hardly anyone here who would wager their house on him winning all 6 games. Even is we hired Pep, there is no guarantee he will immediately adapt to the African terrain and hit the ground running..

Chelle is hungry and he isn't here to do us a favour. He knows what this can do for his career. If he pulls this off, the implication for 'Africa' is massive.
Hunger can go a long way in football and if the players buy into it that will elevate this guy
Sorry but these set of players have never looked hungry that's exactly where the problem is.
Precisely!! People think that flaunting a player's club will do it. We saw how that failed against guys literally from Chicken FC in Rwanda. The reality is that several guys can play but what often differentiates one team from the next is level of effort and hunger. Simply passing the ball leisurely from one guy to the next is BS.
That is only true when the margins are very thin.
You have to have achieved a level of proficiency for ‘hunger’ to make a difference.

Carlisle FC, currently bottom of the lowest (4th) tier of the English Football League can in a one-off or even two-legged tie still pull off a miraculous win over Liverpool, currently top of the Premier League and 71 places above them. Very rare, but it happens.
There are many variables that can account for this on the day, and that is the beauty of football.

But to say “hunger” is a top critical factor in modern day football, na lie. Hunger with limited quality is nothing.
Be as hungry as you like; over a spate of games, quality will come out tops virtually every time.

It’s the reason the feats of teams like Leicester City (EPL 2015/16), Greece (Euros 2004) and Denmark (Euros ‘92) come along like once in 20 years. A lot of things have to go wrong with the competitors for sheer hunger devoid of top talent to trump every other quality team.
It just doesn’t happen.
Fantasy football.
Quality is not enough as we have seen with the current SE. They need to add hunger, determination, grit etc to the quality to get the expected results of a team of their calibre .
We have players who play with passion like Ekong, Osimhen, Onyeka, Nwabali etc. We need the other players to step up their game when playing for the SE.
I believe a player like Ojediran should be added to the midfield. He brings in the much needed energy in midfield.
The coach needs to make the team more competitive and invitations to inactive players should stop. Current form should be the basis for player call ups and the fact that some of our inactive players like Awoniyi, Iheanacho, Sadiq etc are either seeking for or completed transfers to get more playing time is positive news
Then ‘hunger’ is not the word.
Every professional player has a hunger for success - unless maybe they’ve already been there, done that.
Professional athletes are highly competitive individuals by nature. They want to win every match and we’ve heard them say this time after time.
I know we think they’re not ‘hungry’, but do you really think they don’t ALL want to go for the World Cup? They’re not ‘hungry’? They’re not motivated?
I don’t get that logic.

What I do know is that players need the right environment to give them that confidence to believe in self and the collective for optimum performance. It’s good to get into the minds of footballers. You’ll find that ‘hunger’ is not their problem. They just want to win. They hate losing, even if they are playing for fun in their back garden. But they are humans like us and the same things that affect us at work and at home affect them too.

Listen to Omeruo’s podcast with Ndidi, Assisat and a number of journalists.
Thouroughly enjoyable and enlightening.

One other thing.
Players like the young Ojediran you rightly mentioned play that way not because they are ‘hungry’. Like you suggested, it’s the ‘energy’ of his game. That is his football personality. They all have their own styles.
Not all players can be like Osimhen who wears his heart on his sleeve and is forever putting his hands on his head at missed opportunities not even by him! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
That’s his personality but why does anyone think he is more ‘hungry’ than say, Lookman who is as cool as a kukumba, or Bruno or Ndidi?
Iheanacho who is now being questioned was playing no different when he was a ‘hungry’ 17 year old that conquered the world. It’s his form that has dipped, not his desire or hunger.

Until a player retires, I really doubt they lose that hunger we keep referring to.
It’s not really something professional footballers would agree with.
Just my opinion.

Enyi wrote: Tue Jan 14, 2025 9:54 am I have to admit that even though it seemed like a false dawn that after all the wait, we ended up with him….we might want to look at this from a different prospective esp. after the unveiling.

And the list goes on….

After listening to the guy, he might as well be a middle ground of Foreign and local coach….. he is obsessed with the SE team to a point that if an Malian, I will be annoyed.

He is going to be a dictator or “headmaster” those days in coaching are gone. He is going to approach it as a brother as one of them……

If the team buys into his philosophy and gels…..NFF might have pulled out a rabbit from the hat with this one but…..the jury is still out.

I am looking forward to the March games to see how his team plays, the results and then fully judge him from there…..
...note, with good administrators at their fa.
When we compare oyinbo and our own, we tend to skip the real issues causing the problem.

Damunk wrote: Thu Jan 16, 2025 11:12 pm :o
Enugu II wrote: Thu Jan 16, 2025 7:49 pm

And the list goes on….

In fairness, as each day goes by, I feel more positive about this. Eguavoen is the best and most experienced local coach we have and there is hardly anyone here who would wager their house on him winning all 6 games. Even is we hired Pep, there is no guarantee he will immediately adapt to the African terrain and hit the ground running..

Chelle is hungry and he isn't here to do us a favour. He knows what this can do for his career. If he pulls this off, the implication for 'Africa' is massive.
Hunger can go a long way in football and if the players buy into it that will elevate this guy
Sorry but these set of players have never looked hungry that's exactly where the problem is.
Precisely!! People think that flaunting a player's club will do it. We saw how that failed against guys literally from Chicken FC in Rwanda. The reality is that several guys can play but what often differentiates one team from the next is level of effort and hunger. Simply passing the ball leisurely from one guy to the next is BS.
That is only true when the margins are very thin.
You have to have achieved a level of proficiency for ‘hunger’ to make a difference.

Carlisle FC, currently bottom of the lowest (4th) tier of the English Football League can in a one-off or even two-legged tie still pull off a miraculous win over Liverpool, currently top of the Premier League and 71 places above them. Very rare, but it happens.
There are many variables that can account for this on the day, and that is the beauty of football.

But to say “hunger” is a top critical factor in modern day football, na lie. Hunger with limited quality is nothing.
Be as hungry as you like; over a spate of games, quality will come out tops virtually every time.

It’s the reason the feats of teams like Leicester City (EPL 2015/16), Greece (Euros 2004) and Denmark (Euros ‘92) come along like once in 20 years. A lot of things have to go wrong with the competitors for sheer hunger devoid of top talent to trump every other quality team.
It just doesn’t happen.
Fantasy football.
Quality is not enough as we have seen with the current SE. They need to add hunger, determination, grit etc to the quality to get the expected results of a team of their calibre .
We have players who play with passion like Ekong, Osimhen, Onyeka, Nwabali etc. We need the other players to step up their game when playing for the SE.
I believe a player like Ojediran should be added to the midfield. He brings in the much needed energy in midfield.
The coach needs to make the team more competitive and invitations to inactive players should stop. Current form should be the basis for player call ups and the fact that some of our inactive players like Awoniyi, Iheanacho, Sadiq etc are either seeking for or completed transfers to get more playing time is positive news
Dammy,

Exactly!!

I do not believe any one discards quality. We all know that as far as Africa is concerned, Nigeria has quality players. That is NEVER in dispute. We have that in abundance.

What has been different is how hungry our guys are at every game, every inch, every day. We have seen that in only small doses. Most of the time we play as if we are on some vacation. This just has to stop. We cannot walk onto the field and think that the Rwanda or Botswana local stays will just lay down and give up. Our players must always play with 110 effort. Examine Osimhen. This guy does not care if he is playing against Morocco or against Swaziland, he comes 110.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Chief Dammy, thank you jare.

We know we can up our game against perceived tougher opposition.

How can we retain the same aggression and tempo against the so-called lesser teams?

The key is competition... play players whose spots are not secured and who don't want to give up their shirt...

I doubt Eric 'ki lon' Chelle will introduce any new players to the mix, at least not right now. His first game is a must win game and now is not the time to experiment. He will probably spend time watching recent games of the current squad to see how he can improve and work on the deficiencies in the current set up.

One thing we all want to see back in our game, is that mindset when we spend the first couple of minutes sizing up the opposition and then relentlessly go for the jugular, rather than dropping the pace and only applying pressure when we are chasing the game. That's the kind of hunger that I am looking to see revitalised under EC.

We dominate, and sustain pressure. Players give their all and when subbed, those coming off the bench terrorise the opposition even more.

To be honest, even if the performance isn't pretty, I'll gladly take the 3 points....

Mr Shows wrote: Fri Jan 17, 2025 7:23 pm I doubt Eric 'ki lon' Chelle will introduce any new players to the mix, at least not right now. His first game is a must win game and now is not the time to experiment. He will probably spend time watching recent games of the current squad to see how he can improve and work on the deficiencies in the current set up.

One thing we all want to see back in our game, is that mindset when we spend the first couple of minutes sizing up the opposition and then relentlessly go for the jugular, rather than dropping the pace and only applying pressure when we are chasing the game. That's the kind of hunger that I am looking to see revitalised under EC.

We dominate, and sustain pressure. Players give their all and when subbed, those coming off the bench terrorise the opposition even more.

To be honest, even if the performance isn't pretty, I'll gladly take the 3 points....
Of course, he will not change personnel now but he will closely watch training and match effort. Bet on it.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Sat Jan 18, 2025 12:06 am
Mr Shows wrote: Fri Jan 17, 2025 7:23 pm I doubt Eric 'ki lon' Chelle will introduce any new players to the mix, at least not right now. His first game is a must win game and now is not the time to experiment. He will probably spend time watching recent games of the current squad to see how he can improve and work on the deficiencies in the current set up.

Of course, he will not change personnel now but he will closely watch training and match effort. Bet on it.
It will be malpractice to make whole sale changes. However, inviting certain players that have zero merit will also be malpractice. Imagine inviting Iheanacho and giving the excuse of "I cant change the team." That will be laughable and very 1d1otic.

Nonsense or should i say gibberish? If we don't value the effort of a team that came second in the AFCON, that only lost to the host coyntry in the championship game, we will not value any Nigerian team. Like Farakhan told Chris Wallace when he tried to rubbish Nigeria, some of you need to be quiet. Yeah, I am talking to you. And you know why I am talking to you....
Cellular wrote: Fri Jan 17, 2025 6:27 pm

Chief Dammy, thank you jare.

We know we can up our game against perceived tougher opposition.

How can we retain the same aggression and tempo against the so-called lesser teams?

The key is competition... play players whose spots are not secured and who don't want to give up their shirt...

Dammy wrote: Thu Jan 16, 2025 11:44 pm I believe a player like Ojediran should be added to the midfield. He brings in the much needed energy in midfield.
Mr Shows wrote: Fri Jan 17, 2025 7:23 pm I doubt Eric 'ki lon' Chelle will introduce any new players to the mix, at least not right now.

You might both be pleased to hear that ‘Ki Lon Chelle’ was allegedly at the Lens game yesterday vs PSG to have a look at Ojediran who came on as a sub.
:thumb: :thumb: :thumb:

Damunk wrote: Sun Jan 19, 2025 5:14 pm
Dammy wrote: Thu Jan 16, 2025 11:44 pm I believe a player like Ojediran should be added to the midfield. He brings in the much needed energy in midfield.
Mr Shows wrote: Fri Jan 17, 2025 7:23 pm I doubt Eric 'ki lon' Chelle will introduce any new players to the mix, at least not right now.

You might both be pleased to hear that ‘Ki Lon Chelle’ was allegedly at the Lens game yesterday vs PSG to have a look at Ojediran who came on as a sub.

If Chelle does his work right and with integrity, people will be stunned how badly and corrupt our football has been for decades and how complicit the fans have been. Fans who has supported their benefactors to get spots in the SE list - benefactors who bribe fans, but have been completely sh1t for years - will hang their hands in shame. :oops:

danfo driver wrote: Sun Jan 19, 2025 5:34 pm

If Chelle does his work right and with integrity, people will be stunned how badly and corrupt our football has been for decades and how complicit the fans have been. Fans who has supported their benefactors to get spots in the SE list - benefactors who bribe fans, but have been completely sh1t for years - will hang their hands in shame. :oops:
Not just the fans, even the media that are supposed to be the watchdog has been compromised!
Imagine still referring to a long past his prime Ahmed Musa as the SE captain! A team he has not played for in almost 2 years!

Another one we have, but he cant get into the team. Some fans and media who have collected money to feed their families told us that we should look to the past rotten sh1t who have put us in the horrendous position that we find ourselves. The brazenness of the corruption is beyond me. We could have had an outrageous team, but we arent allowed to,

Keep in mind that there are criminals here who still call for Kelechi Nwakali to be selected. Tell me, how can you not see that such a criminal is on Kelechi's payroll and has sold his country for the money Kelechi is paying him?

danfo driver wrote: Sun Jan 19, 2025 6:42 pm Keep in mind that there are criminals here who still call for Kelechi Nwakali to be selected. Tell me, how can you not see that such a criminal is on Kelechi's payroll and has sold his country for the money Kelechi is paying him?
I wouldn’t go as far as that and I very much doubt it.
On that basis, many might feel that Sadiq is paying me money to ‘promote’ him. Many genuinely think he is shytt and not worthy, but I seriously disagree for reasons I have mentioned.
There are those that will still swear by our ‘Beloved Son’ Nacho. I seriously disagree with them, but I just think they simply see things differently.
Na so e dey be.

Damunk wrote: Sun Jan 19, 2025 6:53 pm
danfo driver wrote: Sun Jan 19, 2025 6:42 pm Keep in mind that there are criminals here who still call for Kelechi Nwakali to be selected. Tell me, how can you not see that such a criminal is on Kelechi's payroll and has sold his country for the money Kelechi is paying him?
On that basis, many might feel that Sadiq is paying me money to ‘promote’ him. Many genuinely think he is shytt and not worthy, but I seriously disagree for reasons I have mentioned.
There are those that will still swear by our ‘Beloved Son’ Nacho. I seriously disagree with them, but I just think they simply see things differently.
Na so e dey be.
My brother, while I do not think Sadiq deserves to be in the SE today, at least, he was bought to be a starter for Sociedad (a Div 1 team) and then got injured and the injury has messed him up. Even with that, he has now joined another Div 1 team - Valencia.

Kelechi on the other was rotting in Div 2, when he moved to Div 1, it was to worthless teams and he was shi1 and led his team to relegations. Now, he has moved to Div 3 were he has scored only 1 goal.

Please, with a serious face, tell me a logical and rational reason why any well-meaning fan will suggest such a player for the national team. I am not trying to be cheeky here, lets just be honest and forthright for 5 minutes -- what other reason will a person who has not been paid off with money or sex suggest a Div 3 player who has scored one goal this season to be in the national team?

danfo driver wrote: Sun Jan 19, 2025 7:06 pm
Damunk wrote: Sun Jan 19, 2025 6:53 pm
Na so e dey be.
My brother, while I do not think Sadiq deserves to be in the SE today, at least, he was bought to be a starter for Sociedad (a Div 1 team) and then got injured and the injury has messed him up. Even with that, he has now joined another Div 1 team - Valencia.

Kelechi on the other was rotting in Div 2, when he moved to Div 1, it was to worthless teams and he was shi1 and led his team to relegations. Now, he has moved to Div 3 were he has scored only 1 goal.

Please, with a serious face, tell me a logical and rational reason why any well-meaning fan will suggest such a player for the national team. I am not trying to be cheeky here, lets just be honest and forthright for 5 minutes -- what other reason will a person who has not been paid off with money or sex suggest a Div 3 player who has scored one goal this season to be in the national team?
I have put on my serious face and thought long and hard about your question.
The verdict is there is absolutely no rational reason, even when allowing my imagination to stretch as far as it can.

I found one irrational reason though: mental illness. :tic:

danfo driver wrote: Sun Jan 19, 2025 6:37 pm Another one we have, but he cant get into the team. Some fans and media who have collected money to feed their families told us that we should look to the past rotten sh1t who have put us in the horrendous position that we find ourselves. The brazenness of the corruption is beyond me. We could have had an outrageous team, but we arent allowed to,

While I do not foresee wholesale changes, some new players like Uche Christantus and Hamzat Ojediran will get their chance in the upcoming WCQs in March. Players like Iheanacho and Awoniyi will be dropped if their situation doesn’t change. The likes of Akpoguma could be recalled if he keeps playing well. Ditto Nathan Tella and Zaidu.
Chelle is currently doing the rounds in Europe and we will see the result when he names his first squad

Dammy wrote: Sun Jan 19, 2025 7:54 pm
danfo driver wrote: Sun Jan 19, 2025 6:37 pm Another one we have, but he cant get into the team. Some fans and media who have collected money to feed their families told us that we should look to the past rotten sh1t who have put us in the horrendous position that we find ourselves. The brazenness of the corruption is beyond me. We could have had an outrageous team, but we arent allowed to,

While I do not foresee wholesale changes, some new players like Uche Christantus and Hamzat Ojediran will get their chance in the upcoming WCQs in March. Players like Iheanacho and Awoniyi will be dropped if their situation doesn’t change. The likes of Akpoguma could be recalled if he keeps playing well. Ditto Nathan Tella and Zaidu.
Chelle is currently doing the rounds in Europe and we will see the result when he names his first squad
Can u imagine instead of scouting these players in Europe some would want him to spend his time coaching CHAN team.

And the list goes on….

Drive comes from the coach…..and his tactics otherwise why is he there? Any Tom, d#$% or Harry can pick a team. Only a coach/Manager can drive them….

Amorim current Manchester United coach left Sporting…undefeated. His assistant and the u-21 coach took over couldn’t win anything….same players, same season same team…..

mcal wrote: Fri Jan 17, 2025 1:55 pm

And the list goes on….

...note, with good administrators at their fa.
When we compare oyinbo and our own, we tend to skip the real issues causing the problem.

But under same administration. Carsley nearly did a Finidi?……

Nothing is being skipped bro

Dammy wrote: Sun Jan 19, 2025 7:54 pm

Uche Chrisantus is not SE level atm

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp