I owe NFF no apology, says Jay Jay Okocha

‘Politics should not be played in football’

The controversies surrounding the appointment of football tactician, Eric Chelle, as head coach of the Super Eagles may be far from over, if latest declaration by legend Austin Jay Jay Okocha is anything to go by.

Okocha, who is one of the best footballers to come from Africa has not hidden his dislike for NFF decision to hand the Super Eagles to Chelle. Shortly after NFF announced Chelle, Okocha and some ex-players, including Kanu Nwankwo, expressed their views about the Super Eagles’ failure to win any trophy in recent years. They blamed the situation on politics and the inconsistency in coaching personnel.

Okocha stated that the running of the country’s football administration by politicians and changing of coaches, have and would continue to ruin the country’s chances of winning trophies. He argued that Nigeria has the best players in the world but has been unable to win trophies, attributing it to poor administration and changing of coaches.

“The Super Eagles may not win any trophy until the current NFF officials are dissolved or reformed,” he said. “Appoint new officials who know more about football, who have interest in football, who loves football, whose lifestyles represent football.

“You can’t appoint politicians to manage football. They will turn it to politics and that’s what is happening today. We have the best players in the world, yet we have no trophy to lay our hands, not because of the players, absolutely not.

“When you change a coach, you have changed a dream, a vision, and a mission, in short, you have changed a generation.

“Changing of a coach isn’t just as it sounds to the ear. It’s harmful to the players, they will lose focus, except the players on their own demand for a better coach. Before you consider changing a coach, get some key players and interview them, seek their opinion because most of the players’ performance is based on the good relationship they share with their coach,” he stated.

Okocha insisted then that the NFF should be reformed, stressing that politics should be separated from the game. I am well convinced that my speech today may offend many people, because truth they say is bitter.”

Okocha’s outburst did not go down well with some top officials of the NFF, including his former teammate Victor Ikpeba, who is a key figure in the Technical Committee that recommended Eric Chelle to the football body. Ikpeba tongue-lashed Okocha and Kanu for trying to rubbish the job of the Technical Committee.

However, latest report emerged yesterday with Okocha declaring that he owes the NFF no apology. “If their decision is taking me to the court, so be it. “We can’t continue to keep quiet while things continue to spoil.

“I have received series of messages to apologise to NFF, and my question is, ‘for what? For demanding a better committee?’ No, I can’t apologise while I just made my own personal opinion. Don’t we have right for freedom of speech again in Nigeria?”

He continued: “Football is the only ties that keep Nigeria going as one. It is our only source of Joy. If you politicise it what will be our hope tomorrow? We must be free and allowed to express our minds.”

https://guardian.ng/sport/i-owe-nff-no- ... ay-okocha/
Re: I owe NFF no apology, says Jay Jay Okocha

iworo wrote: Fri Jan 17, 2025 3:06 pm I owe NFF no apology, says Jay Jay Okocha

The controversies surrounding the appointment of football tactician, Eric Chelle, as head coach of the Super Eagles may be far from over, if latest declaration by legend Austin Jay Jay Okocha is anything to go by.

Okocha, who is one of the best footballers to come from Africa has not hidden his dislike for NFF decision to hand the Super Eagles to Chelle. Shortly after NFF announced Chelle, Okocha and some ex-players, including Kanu Nwankwo, expressed their views about the Super Eagles’ failure to win any trophy in recent years. They blamed the situation on politics and the inconsistency in coaching personnel.

Okocha stated that the running of the country’s football administration by politicians and changing of coaches, have and would continue to ruin the country’s chances of winning trophies. He argued that Nigeria has the best players in the world but has been unable to win trophies, attributing it to poor administration and changing of coaches.

“The Super Eagles may not win any trophy until the current NFF officials are dissolved or reformed,” he said. “Appoint new officials who know more about football, who have interest in football, who loves football, whose lifestyles represent football.

“You can’t appoint politicians to manage football. They will turn it to politics and that’s what is happening today. We have the best players in the world, yet we have no trophy to lay our hands, not because of the players, absolutely not.

“When you change a coach, you have changed a dream, a vision, and a mission, in short, you have changed a generation.

“Changing of a coach isn’t just as it sounds to the ear. It’s harmful to the players, they will lose focus, except the players on their own demand for a better coach. Before you consider changing a coach, get some key players and interview them, seek their opinion because most of the players’ performance is based on the good relationship they share with their coach,” he stated.

Okocha insisted then that the NFF should be reformed, stressing that politics should be separated from the game. I am well convinced that my speech today may offend many people, because truth they say is bitter.”

Okocha’s outburst did not go down well with some top officials of the NFF, including his former teammate Victor Ikpeba, who is a key figure in the Technical Committee that recommended Eric Chelle to the football body. Ikpeba tongue-lashed Okocha and Kanu for trying to rubbish the job of the Technical Committee.

However, latest report emerged yesterday with Okocha declaring that he owes the NFF no apology. “If their decision is taking me to the court, so be it. “We can’t continue to keep quiet while things continue to spoil.

“I have received series of messages to apologise to NFF, and my question is, ‘for what? For demanding a better committee?’ No, I can’t apologise while I just made my own personal opinion. Don’t we have right for freedom of speech again in Nigeria?”

He continued: “Football is the only ties that keep Nigeria going as one. It is our only source of Joy. If you politicise it what will be our hope tomorrow? We must be free and allowed to express our minds.”

Kai, JJ don vex.

Ultimately, though, it is just his opinion. It is not an opinion shared by several others of his former team mates including Ikpeba and Egu who are part of the decision makers and former SE that Okocha noted should be running football (?).
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Jay Jay should goan siddon for durty.
The man has been a politician and shied away from taking a stand that is in the interest of team.
He has always been about, "jos lemme play ball...I don't do politics".
We remember when Finidi and Oliseh stood their ground based on principle and lost out for a place at the World Cup.
JayJay and Kanu sold out and convinced Taribo to join them.

Agbako

Post by Agbako »

Cellular wrote: Fri Jan 17, 2025 6:05 pm

The man has been a politician and shied away from taking a stand that is in the interest of team.
We remember when Finidi and Oliseh stood their ground based on principle and lost out for a place at the World Cup.
Kai ,, I never believe I can read this on this forum.. times are changing oooo.. Oyingbo standing tall to speak the truth even if its against his own tribes man. There is hope...

Agbako wrote: Fri Jan 17, 2025 8:39 pm

Kai ,, I never believe I can read this on this forum.. times are changing oooo.. Oyingbo standing tall to speak the truth even if its against his own tribes man. There is hope...
Cellular is not like that

Agbako wrote: Fri Jan 17, 2025 8:39 pm

What are you implying? That Igbo people do not tell the truth or that they do not speak out against people from their own ethnicity?

I really don't know why people often struggle to separate the message from the motives or circumstances of the person delivering it. I guess it's easier to dismiss the truth-teller by questioning their motives than to face uncomfortable realities. One thing for sure is that some folks often project their own tendencies onto others. If they believe they would only speak out under self-serving circumstances, they may assume others are doing the same.

Okocha is right, he had to speak up or forever hold his word. Any reasonable person that watched the Nff news conference could see that our football is ran by incompetence people who likely are too ignorant to realize the damage they're doing to our football. Those that should know better like Ikpeba and Eguaveon have been part of the system for so long that they've become part of it.

...for Ipkeba, Eguaveon, their own as is many others up there, is a case of "how much I go collect". That presser for presentation of the new coach was an eyesore. I truly suspect the delay in hiring and announcing a coach have to do with amount each one will get for the voting to agree, nothing else.
Fingers seriously crossed as this remaining qualifier approaches.

In developed nations like France, Germany , Italy etc, the coach has a much bigger role to play than the football,Federation because the federation is already at the highest level of football administration, infrastructure, marketing and all aspects of preparing a team for success. In Nigeria, it’s the administration that drags down the coach. To be successful , a coach has to be skilled in working with inept administrators, bad infrastructure, corruption and all manner of incompetence. Every successful coach we’ve ever had was very good at managing the Nff and getting things done on and off the pitch.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Fri Jan 17, 2025 10:41 pm In developed nations like France, Germany , Italy etc, the coach has a much bigger role to play than the football,Federation because the federation is already at the highest level of football administration, infrastructure, marketing and all aspects of preparing a team for success. In Nigeria, it’s the administration that drags down the coach. To be successful , a coach has to be skilled in working with inept administrators, bad infrastructure, corruption and all manner of incompetence. Every successful coach we’ve ever had was very good at managing the Nff and getting things done on and off the pitch.
Yup that's the reason Paso left. He only wanted to focus on football. He was smart enough to leave b4 dem finish hin mental health

mcal wrote: Fri Jan 17, 2025 10:08 pm ...for Ipkeba, Eguaveon, their own as is many others up there, is a case of "how much I go collect". That presser for presentation of the new coach was an eyesore. I truly suspect the delay in hiring and announcing a coach have to do with amount each one will get for the voting to agree, nothing else.
Wow. So it really was that bad?
Thank God I didn’t watch it, make e no go spoil my belleh this new year.

Damunk wrote: Sat Jan 18, 2025 8:39 am
mcal wrote: Fri Jan 17, 2025 10:08 pm ...for Ipkeba, Eguaveon, their own as is many others up there, is a case of "how much I go collect". That presser for presentation of the new coach was an eyesore. I truly suspect the delay in hiring and announcing a coach have to do with amount each one will get for the voting to agree, nothing else.
Wow. So it really was that bad?
Thank God I didn’t watch it, make e no go spoil my belleh this new year.
Don’t bother to watch it bro. It was incredibly uncomfortable to watch and quite embarrassing. The entire presentation reinforced stereotypes about Africans being disorganized.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Fri Jan 17, 2025 9:53 pm Okocha is right, he had to speak up or forever hold his word. Any reasonable person that watched the Nff news conference could see that our football is ran by incompetence people who likely are too ignorant to realize the damage they're doing to our football. Those that should know better like Ikpeba and Eguaveon have been part of the system for so long that they've become part of it.
Okocha knows what he needs to do to change the rot.
He should not be standing about waiting to be appointed NFF President or into the NFF board.

Go in there, run as either Delta FA member/chairman or Enugu FA member/chairman, and get into the board.

DO THE DAMN WORK!

There was once upon a time that if Jay Jay had lent his voice to the maladministration by the FA, things could have changed for the better.

His fellow Ex-Eagles recently went on every conceivable platform to complain and file charges against the NFF.
Where was he? Did he lend his voice to their cause?

There's a petition with EFCC and others regarding the corruption within the NFF brought about by some former players.

Let JayJay join them and get them the attention they deserve.

And if he wants to run to become NFF President, he should start the process.

Cellular wrote: Sat Jan 18, 2025 6:40 pm
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Fri Jan 17, 2025 9:53 pm Okocha is right, he had to speak up or forever hold his word. Any reasonable person that watched the Nff news conference could see that our football is ran by incompetence people who likely are too ignorant to realize the damage they're doing to our football. Those that should know better like Ikpeba and Eguaveon have been part of the system for so long that they've become part of it.
Okocha knows what he needs to do to change the rot.
He should not be standing about waiting to be appointed NFF President or into the NFF board.

Go in there, run as either Delta FA member/chairman or Enugu FA member/chairman, and get into the board.

DO THE DAMN WORK!

There was once upon a time that if Jay Jay had lent his voice to the maladministration by the FA, things could have changed for the better.

His fellow Ex-Eagles recently went on every conceivable platform to complain and file charges against the NFF.
Where was he? Did he lend his voice to their cause?

There's a petition with EFCC and others regarding the corruption within the NFF brought about by some former players.

Let JayJay join them and get them the attention they deserve.

And if he wants to run to become NFF President, he should start the process.
Are you not a site admin on CE? The most popular Nigerian football forum. What have you done to bring attention to the mismanagement of Nigerian football? Have you made ny efforts to expose the corruption you know exists in our football management?

Why have you not organized meetings, interviews, petitions to address the issues facing Nigerian football? You have a platform just like JJ does, though it’s not the same, you can do your own part as an administrator of the largest Nigerian football fan site. Abi I lie? What are you willing to do with the powers within you for Nigerian football progress? :smile:

Well done Jay Jay,there’s got to be a better way!

Eaglezbeak wrote: Sun Jan 19, 2025 6:14 pm Well done Jay Jay,there’s got to be a better way!
His outburst has come about 10 months too late.
oluwaseye the 1st.

Post by oluwaseye the 1st. »

Plenty of "very good" local coaches who year on year get knocked out of the continental championships at the preliminary or group stages.
Truth needs no support system, it can stand firmly on its legs!!

COYS

oluwaseye the 1st. wrote: Mon Jan 20, 2025 1:35 pm Plenty of "very good" local coaches who year on year get knocked out of the continental championships at the preliminary or group stages.
The cook is as good as the ingredient he/she uses. If you have maybe one or two key players and the rest are poor what exactly will be the output?
Last edited by Enugu II on Tue Jan 21, 2025 12:58 am, edited 1 time in total.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Mon Jan 20, 2025 1:46 pm
oluwaseye the 1st. wrote: Mon Jan 20, 2025 1:35 pm Plenty of "very good" local coaches who year on year get knocked out of the continental championships at the preliminary or group stages.
The cook us as good as the ingredient he/she uses. If you have maybe one or two key players and the rest are poor what exactly will be the output?
EII,

You can safely extend this line of reasoning to the national team. We fans deceive ourselves about the overall quality of our national team. We have a handful of exceptional and very good players but we are lacking in some key positions. We need to engage in a more extensive talent search to shore up the deficiencies. You can readily draw an example from the EPL. Not even Pepe Guardiola can accomplish much with a deficient team. That’s the glaring truth and we need to come to grips with that reality🤔❗️

Last edited by TonyTheTigerKiller on Tue Jan 21, 2025 10:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

JAY JAY SPOKE THE TRUTH, BUT...why now? The NFF/NFA has been in a rot for decades and people like him with a megaphone should have spoken out. With a better FA, we would not be debating IC vs FC, players would receive their bonuses as promised, players would not show up late with flimsy excuses, there would be funds to plan friendlies, better players would be discovered, the women's teams would be playing at a higher level, etc.

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Mon Jan 20, 2025 11:51 pm
Enugu II wrote: Mon Jan 20, 2025 1:46 pm
The cook us as good as the ingredient he/she uses. If you have maybe one or two key players and the rest are poor what exactly will be the output?
EII,

You can safely extend this line if reasoning to tge national team. We fans deceive ourselves about the overall quality of our national team. We have a handful of exceptional and very good players but we are lacking in some key positions. We need to engage in a more extensive talent search to shore up the deficiencies. You can readily draw an example from the EPL. Not even Pepe Guardiola can accomplish much with a deficient team. That’s the glaring truth and we need to come to grips with that reality🤔❗️

GOOD POINT THERE...I can't help shaking my head when people place certain coaches on a pedestal and make a legend of them, then rubbish and banish others. People ignore the environment and make up of the team and base their perception largely on the winning percentage. But as I've always said, a coach is only as good as his players. Show me one of those legendary coaches and I'd show you the great players that played for him. This is true of all sports, all levels, both genders, worldwide. This is in no way to suggest that all coaches are equal and a bad coach can destroy a good collection of players..

The football in Nigeria is happening mostly in the south of the country. The expertise is in the south.

In the domestic league, southern clubs have won 43 league titles, compared to 5 in the north, and 4 in the middle belt.

About 90% of SE players are from the south.

If the administration of our football was based on merit, the administrators would mirror the results being produced on the field. Instead, the North always wants to be in charge of our football, even though the results show that the expertise is in the South. Yes, Pinnick was there for 2 terms but they gave him hell and attempted to oust him at every turn until FIFA threatened them. Now we have bumbling fools running the show.

I'm almost done with the country, to be honest.