Maduka Okoye!!!

Re: Maduka Okoye!!!

ugly boy wrote: Sun Jan 19, 2025 12:58 pm Even in the USA people are convicted based on eye witness testimony talk less of Italy. All it takes is for them to flip more than one of the accused and offer them a deal.
Okoye or the ref whoever guaranteed the yellow card will be the main target of the investigation
It is going to take more than flipping. The point is did Okoye do it or not? A witness will be questioned, not so? If Okoye is not involved, then it will be a tall task for any one attempting to rope him in. Right now, these media reports have not even come close to anything that will deem Okoye guilty.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Udinese removes Okoye from the list of 25 for Serie A. In his place inserted Selvik
01/21/25 06:00 PM by Dimitri Conti

Photo
© photo by www.imagephotoagency.it
Change in the list for Serie A regarding Udinese, which removes goalkeeper Maduka Okoye, currently in the pits, from the list of 25 players registered for the top league, and inserts the latest arrival Egil Selvik in his place. Nothing definitive, however: during the market windows the aforementioned list can be continuously modified, until the moment of the closing of the negotiations and therefore the final deposit of the names.

The choice, we read on the specialized portal Tutto Udinese, was probably made for the moment that the Nigerian goalkeeper is experiencing. Okoye, in fact, is struggling with the wrist injury that forced him to the operation and that could keep him out until the end of the season; then there are the legal problems that emerged after the start of the investigation into football betting that saw him involved.

Meanwhile, last night Udinese lost 4-1 on the Como field and at the end of the match the Friulian coach Kosta Runjaic spoke at a press conference: "I'm not happy with the test, I'm not satisfied at all. We have other reasons to be angry today, not just the red in Solet. We started badly and without intensity and the right attention. It's not the way to play against a team like Como that was aggressive".

Udinese has apparently removed Okoye from its squad.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/businessda ... ban/%3famp

This is just sad. Maduka is one of my fav SE players. Hope he beats the accusations. How life can change fastt, from arguing he was the best SE to him possibly ending his career just like that. Very sad indeed.
Last edited by EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA on Thu Jan 23, 2025 6:06 am, edited 1 time in total.

This is why we desperately need a serious welfare office/r

This betting seems to coincide with the same time he was attacked by SE fans and he then went into depression and took time off. Who knows, maybe this was a habit he picked up to feel the void and give him happiness. That must have been a significantly dark time for him.

danfo driver wrote: Thu Jan 23, 2025 5:16 am This is why we desperately need a serious welfare office/r

This betting seems to coincide with the same time he was attacked by SE fans and he then went into depression and took time off. Who knows, maybe this was a habit he picked up to feel the void and give him happiness. That must have been a significantly dark time for him.

The betting case happened in March 2024. The case against him is thin. He was yellow carded in the 90th minute for time wasting in a match his team was leading 2-1. Goalkeepers do this all the time

Dammy wrote: Thu Jan 23, 2025 10:56 am
danfo driver wrote: Thu Jan 23, 2025 5:16 am This is why we desperately need a serious welfare office/r

The betting case happened in March 2024. The case against him is thin. He was yellow carded in the 90th minute for time wasting in a match his team was leading 2-1. Goalkeepers do this all the time
Did he place a bet on himself being yellow carded in the match? If he did, then he has breached the rules. The issue is the gambling, not the yellow card.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Dammy wrote: Thu Jan 23, 2025 10:56 am

KPOM. While I acknowledge that there may be more within the Prosecutor's Office, what is being presented thus far in the meda [ that I have read] is pure hogwash.

I just hope thay he gets exonerated but this is the type of thing that unfairly damages someone's career.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics