Most Productive Strike Force for SE but Why is SE Not Dominant?
Re: Most Productive Strike Force for SE but Why is SE Not Dominant?
Our biggest problem is the attack! Remove Osimehn and we are in soup. How many goals have Boniface, Umar, Onuachu or Awoniyi scored? Combined, I don't think they have scored up to 5 goals.
I actually think it is and more physical. I believe this was/is a critical reason for the difficulties Kevin Akpoguma has experienced with SE. He always appears slower to the ball in the air and on the ground. Iwobi is fast but is he physical enough to play consistent and comfortably wide?danfo driver wrote: ↑Sun Mar 16, 2025 1:46 pmI'd assume the game in Africa is faster and more intense in the EPL or comparable.Enugu II wrote: ↑Sun Mar 16, 2025 12:41 pmDanfodanfo driver wrote: ↑Sun Mar 16, 2025 3:42 amNot necessarily. His best position is a position where he has the freedom to attack. Fulham plays him on the right or on the left, where he has the space to attack. he is not saddled with the responsibility of dropping back to defend like a CDM or like a RWB like he played at Everton, a while back.deanotito wrote: ↑Sun Mar 16, 2025 2:23 amSo his best position is as a right winger?danfo driver wrote: ↑Sat Mar 15, 2025 11:34 pmIwobi is a victim of Nigeria - his Uncle and bad coaching. There is a reason he never went for the No 10 shirt. Everyone already assumed he should be Okocha. he is not. And Nigerian coaches have often asked him to sacrifice himself. Like the AFCON, where he was asked to sacrifice himself and play as a DM and he was fantastic! If Iwobi was an asss hole and refused to sacrifice himself for the team, maybe Nigerians will respect him.
This season, he has been one of the best players in the EPl - he plays as a winger for Fulham. More in line with his natural ability - which is to attack.
lets see what Chelle has in store for him.
if Iwobi is given the space and freedom to attack, he will be decisive.
Good point and he has somewhat played in that position out wide for Nigeria and as I recall now, he scored an important game winner from there. However, given the pace of a number of African teams it is left to be seen how consistently he will be effective from such a position for the SE.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
danfo driver wrote: ↑Sun Mar 16, 2025 3:42 amNot necessarily. His best position is a position where he has the freedom to attack. Fulham plays him on the right or on the left, where he has the space to attack. he is not saddled with the responsibility of dropping back to defend like a CDM or like a RWB like he played at Everton, a while back.deanotito wrote: ↑Sun Mar 16, 2025 2:23 amSo his best position is as a right winger?danfo driver wrote: ↑Sat Mar 15, 2025 11:34 pmIwobi is a victim of Nigeria - his Uncle and bad coaching. There is a reason he never went for the No 10 shirt. Everyone already assumed he should be Okocha. he is not. And Nigerian coaches have often asked him to sacrifice himself. Like the AFCON, where he was asked to sacrifice himself and play as a DM and he was fantastic! If Iwobi was an asss hole and refused to sacrifice himself for the team, maybe Nigerians will respect him.
This season, he has been one of the best players in the EPl - he plays as a winger for Fulham. More in line with his natural ability - which is to attack.
This is part of what I mean. There’s no position in football called the “freedom to attack” position.
This is why I keep saying Iwobi is one of the most perplexing players I’ve ever watched. Can’t figure him out
- danfo driver
Akpoguma plays in Germany.Enugu II wrote: ↑Sun Mar 16, 2025 3:30 pmI actually think it is and more physical. I believe this was/is a critical reason for the difficulties Kevin Akpoguma has experienced with SE. He always appears slower to the ball in the air and on the ground. Iwobi is fast but is he physical enough to play consistent and comfortably wide?danfo driver wrote: ↑Sun Mar 16, 2025 1:46 pmI'd assume the game in Africa is faster and more intense in the EPL or comparable.Enugu II wrote: ↑Sun Mar 16, 2025 12:41 pmDanfodanfo driver wrote: ↑Sun Mar 16, 2025 3:42 amNot necessarily. His best position is a position where he has the freedom to attack. Fulham plays him on the right or on the left, where he has the space to attack. he is not saddled with the responsibility of dropping back to defend like a CDM or like a RWB like he played at Everton, a while back.deanotito wrote: ↑Sun Mar 16, 2025 2:23 amSo his best position is as a right winger?danfo driver wrote: ↑Sat Mar 15, 2025 11:34 pmIwobi is a victim of Nigeria - his Uncle and bad coaching. There is a reason he never went for the No 10 shirt. Everyone already assumed he should be Okocha. he is not. And Nigerian coaches have often asked him to sacrifice himself. Like the AFCON, where he was asked to sacrifice himself and play as a DM and he was fantastic! If Iwobi was an asss hole and refused to sacrifice himself for the team, maybe Nigerians will respect him.
Good point and he has somewhat played in that position out wide for Nigeria and as I recall now, he scored an important game winner from there. However, given the pace of a number of African teams it is left to be seen how consistently he will be effective from such a position for the SE.
Playing in Africa, you are usually dealing with bumpy pitches and hot weather. In terms of physicality and pace, I do not think the game is faster and more physical than EPL. Especially not faster -- not in our weather.
- danfo driver
I never said there was a position in football called "freedom to attack" position. Iwobi and Chrisantus are only perplexing to people who do not really understand the game. And I do not mean this insultingly, so apologies if it comes out that way.deanotito wrote: ↑Sun Mar 16, 2025 3:32 pmdanfo driver wrote: ↑Sun Mar 16, 2025 3:42 amNot necessarily. His best position is a position where he has the freedom to attack. Fulham plays him on the right or on the left, where he has the space to attack. he is not saddled with the responsibility of dropping back to defend like a CDM or like a RWB like he played at Everton, a while back.deanotito wrote: ↑Sun Mar 16, 2025 2:23 amSo his best position is as a right winger?danfo driver wrote: ↑Sat Mar 15, 2025 11:34 pmIwobi is a victim of Nigeria - his Uncle and bad coaching. There is a reason he never went for the No 10 shirt. Everyone already assumed he should be Okocha. he is not. And Nigerian coaches have often asked him to sacrifice himself. Like the AFCON, where he was asked to sacrifice himself and play as a DM and he was fantastic! If Iwobi was an asss hole and refused to sacrifice himself for the team, maybe Nigerians will respect him.
This is part of what I mean. There’s no position in football called the “freedom to attack” position.
This is why I keep saying Iwobi is one of the most perplexing players I’ve ever watched. Can’t figure him out
For example, Pirlo under Ancelotti's Christmas Tree was not required to have too many defensive responsibilities. Gattuso and Ambrosini handled that, giving Pirlo the opportunity to focus on creating.
Iwobi can play in any position in the midfield, as he has done for Fulham. POSITIONS like - AM, RW, LW. Those are the positions. However, he is given less defensive work, which means he has the opportunity to influence the game in the attacking phase, which brings out the best in him.
In addition to AM, RW and LW, In Nigeria and Everton, he has played as a DM, CM and RWB, with defensive responsibilities. Osimhen mentioned this at the airport when the team landed from Abidjan --- Iwobi has been sacrificing himself for the team. If you want to see the best of Iwobi, play him IN ANY POSITION ACROSS THE MIDFIELD, but make sure he is not saddled with significant defensive responsibilities. Its not rocket science -- Marco Silva does it every week and Iwobi is their best player, with Fulham being only 3 points off CL positions.
danfo driver wrote: ↑Sun Mar 16, 2025 7:38 pmI never said there was a position in football called "freedom to attack" position. Iwobi and Chrisantus are only perplexing to people who do not really understand the game. And I do not mean this insultingly, so apologies if it comes out that way.deanotito wrote: ↑Sun Mar 16, 2025 3:32 pmdanfo driver wrote: ↑Sun Mar 16, 2025 3:42 amNot necessarily. His best position is a position where he has the freedom to attack. Fulham plays him on the right or on the left, where he has the space to attack. he is not saddled with the responsibility of dropping back to defend like a CDM or like a RWB like he played at Everton, a while back.deanotito wrote: ↑Sun Mar 16, 2025 2:23 amSo his best position is as a right winger?danfo driver wrote: ↑Sat Mar 15, 2025 11:34 pmIwobi is a victim of Nigeria - his Uncle and bad coaching. There is a reason he never went for the No 10 shirt. Everyone already assumed he should be Okocha. he is not. And Nigerian coaches have often asked him to sacrifice himself. Like the AFCON, where he was asked to sacrifice himself and play as a DM and he was fantastic! If Iwobi was an asss hole and refused to sacrifice himself for the team, maybe Nigerians will respect him.
For example, Pirlo under Ancelotti's Christmas Tree was not required to have too many defensive responsibilities. Gattuso and Ambrosini handled that, giving Pirlo the opportunity to focus on creating.
Iwobi can play in any position in the midfield, as he has done for Fulham. POSITIONS like - AM, RW, LW. Those are the positions. However, he is given less defensive work, which means he has the opportunity to influence the game in the attacking phase, which brings out the best in him.
In addition to AM, RW and LW, In Nigeria and Everton, he has played as a DM, CM and RWB, with defensive responsibilities. Osimhen mentioned this at the airport when the team landed from Abidjan --- Iwobi has been sacrificing himself for the team. If you want to see the best of Iwobi, play him IN ANY POSITION ACROSS THE MIDFIELD, but make sure he is not saddled with significant defensive responsibilities. Its not rocket science -- Marco Silva does it every week and Iwobi is their best player, with Fulham being only 3 points off CL positions.
But you don’t give free roles to players of Iwobi’s production/caliber. He has not done anything either at club or country level that deserves a free role. He has not shown any talent that says if I gave him a free role like Pirlo, it would be worth it. I bet if you offered most players a free role, they’d take it. I mean, who wouldn’t like to do what they wanted? But we can’t play a game like that. Everyone has to do things they wouldn’t choose for themselves and only the special ones get freedom to design their work.
You’re saying I should play him in “any position across the midfield”, but that is not really useful advice until you actually build a team, tell me what the structure will be, and who the other 9 outfield players will be.
Some on here say he’s not an AM, but you want me to play him in any position across the midfield. Okay, does that mean he’s a CM…or some box to box type? Who plays with him in this midfield where he’s not an AM but is allowed to do what he wants? How do they complement him?? If it’s a 4-3-3 team, you’d essentially have 2 AMs and one DM, and none of the AM’s would defend…because you don’t want to saddle Iwobi with defensive responsibilities.
If he’s a RW that is not saddled with defensive responsibilities, then the RB better be a beast, because it’ll be open season on him. Do we have a beast of a RB available?? And all because Iwobi the Great cannot be saddled with defensive responsibilities?
I’ll say it again. I find that throughout this boy’s career, we fans have bent over backwards to make him great. He’s Jay Jay’s nephew. He played for Arsenal…..the story wrote itself…and we’ve been trying to make that story work. I’ve seen flashes of brilliance but never at a sustained level - and mostly at club level. For the National Team, I’m usually just left scratching my head. Decent performances but largely forgettable.
You guys confuse Osimhen's club form with his recent SE performances. He has scored only 5 goals in his last 16 competitive appearnces for Nigeria. That's hardly prolific.
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
Go to sleep.

- danfo driver
Unfortunately this is what we have to deal with on CE. A pathological liar. I dont know why you guys even respond to someone whose best days are carrying Yobo's jockstrap.Synopsis wrote: ↑Mon Mar 17, 2025 2:52 pmNot true. He has scored 8 goals in his last 16 games.
23 goals in 39 overall games…

@Deanotito, exactly. This has been my thought.
But you don’t give free roles to players of Iwobi’s production/caliber. He has not done anything either at club or country level that deserves a free role. He has not shown any talent that says if I gave him a free role like Pirlo, it would be worth it. I bet if you offered most players a free role, they’d take it. I mean, who wouldn’t like to do what they wanted? But we can’t play a game like that. Everyone has to do things they wouldn’t choose for themselves and only the special ones get freedom to design their work.
You’re saying I should play him in “any position across the midfield”, but that is not really useful advice until you actually build a team, tell me what the structure will be, and who the other 9 outfield players will be.
Some on here say he’s not an AM, but you want me to play him in any position across the midfield. Okay, does that mean he’s a CM…or some box to box type? Who plays with him in this midfield where he’s not an AM but is allowed to do what he wants? How do they complement him?? If it’s a 4-3-3 team, you’d essentially have 2 AMs and one DM, and none of the AM’s would defend…because you don’t want to saddle Iwobi with defensive responsibilities.
If he’s a RW that is not saddled with defensive responsibilities, then the RB better be a beast, because it’ll be open season on him. Do we have a beast of a RB available?? And all because Iwobi the Great cannot be saddled with defensive responsibilities?
I’ll say it again. I find that throughout this boy’s career, we fans have bent over backwards to make him great. He’s Jay Jay’s nephew. He played for Arsenal…..the story wrote itself…and we’ve been trying to make that story work. I’ve seen flashes of brilliance but never at a sustained level - and mostly at club level. For the National Team, I’m usually just left scratching my head. Decent performances but largely forgettable
- danfo driver
When Carlo gave Pirlo the free role at Milan, he had come from Inter where he failed spectacularly. He was loaned out for a couple of seasons by Inter and they discarded him to their neighbors.
If Carlo thought "this one has not shown any talent that says if I give him the free role [], it will be worth it," Pirlo would not have been given that role.
Anyway, I guess we all have our ideas about Iwobi.
List the 8 goals and the competition he score them in.
Synopsis wrote: ↑Mon Mar 17, 2025 2:52 pmNot true. He has scored 8 goals in his last 16 games.
23 goals in 39 overall games…
Disprove it with the stats.
And the identity thief speaks.
danfo driver wrote: ↑Mon Mar 17, 2025 3:05 pmUnfortunately this is what we have to deal with on CE. A pathological liar. I dont know why you guys even respond to someone whose best days are carrying Yobo's jockstrap.Synopsis wrote: ↑Mon Mar 17, 2025 2:52 pmNot true. He has scored 8 goals in his last 16 games.
23 goals in 39 overall games…![]()
- danfo driver
Tribalist, let it go. Like Awoniyi, your anger at Osimhen is because he speaks Yoruba. Your history here is well known.
1naija wrote: ↑Mon Mar 17, 2025 4:22 pm Disprove it with the stats.
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
Abeg, the two both of yous should take your lovefest to Face-me-I-Face-you.
We can dim the lights for the two of you.