South African Pundit Gives Opinion on Eagles' Weakness.....
Re: South African Pundit Gives Opinion on Eagles' Weakness.....
- danfo driver
We play 4 right now. Do you want us to reduce it to 3?
- danfo driver
This one will do anything to deflect from the actual culprit. I wonder how much you receive at the end of every month from Opioror Mango Head.joao wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 7:14 pm Starting Iwobi and Chukwueze in the SE midfield is never going to work.
Iwobi is simply a 'container' - i.e. playing safe as not to cause damage. Chukwueze on
the other hand offers little in terms of challenging the defense, as he mostly ends up
losing the ball. Neither is good in defending thus the ease with which the opposition
run through our so-called midfield. Anyone doubting may claim can look back at the
few chances Zimbabwe had, including the one that tied the match.
We need midfielders with super ball control, aggressively challenges the defense, and
can make passes that puts the strikers in better scoring positions.
Yes, we dominated the possession against Zimbabwe but our attack is a slow build-up that
eventually gives the opposition defense time to reorganize. In short, we need to move the
ball faster when on offense.
Another annoying point is the way the equalizer for Zimbabwe happened. We can blame Ekong
forever, but did anyone notice where the other defenders were when the opposition scored?
Our 'world class' Aina was strolling in the six-yard box while the ball went in right where
he needs to be in such situation.
Again, it's a team sport and every individual should share the blame and learn from their mistakes.

the other problem with Samu, Iwobi, Ndidi is 2 of them have no clue where to be defensively when not in possession.
"We will go through the gate. If the gate is closed, we will go over the fence. If the fence is too high, we will pole vault in. If that doesn’t work, we will parachute in. But we are going to get health-care reform passed"
Nancy Pelosi, 01/28/2010 after Scott Brown got elected to Ted Kennedy's senate seat.
Do you have to argue all the time?????? You know exactly what I meant. I am not including wide players. We need an extra midfielder in the middle of the field.danfo driver wrote: ↑Sat Mar 29, 2025 2:58 amWe play 4 right now. Do you want us to reduce it to 3?
Since moving to a 442, we’ve been finding it hard to win games. We need to go back to a 433. Eguavoen should stop fantasizing about the 90’s Nigerian teams.
This should have been the approach after the first two games in the group, instead we kept fielding players in midfield who simply can't compete in terms mobility, agility and energy. Even my wife who isn't a soccer expert by any means always laughs at me whenever I complain about the Eagles languid (or is it lethargic ) style of play. She just says'' I don't know why you're stressing yourself, these your Eagles can't run o. Even watching them makes me fall asleep, they're so slow"mcal wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 11:32 am ...the minnow countries giving us headache have all local based midfielders, and in other positions, why can't we look at home?
Let "our jambodies play against their jambodies" instead of the so called foreign based slick fine boys trying to play "don't dirty" football.

...I tell you, a very good scout can find 11 to 23 players in the local league that can compete with these African minnows our foreign "star" find hard to play against.mutiman wrote: ↑Sat Mar 29, 2025 2:40 pmThis should have been the approach after the first two games in the group, instead we kept fielding players in midfield who simply can't compete in terms mobility, agility and energy. Even my wife who isn't a soccer expert by any means always laughs at me whenever I complain about the Eagles languid (or is it lethargic ) style of play. She just says'' I don't know why you're stressing yourself, these your Eagles can't run o. Even watching them makes me fall asleep, they're so slow"mcal wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 11:32 am ...the minnow countries giving us headache have all local based midfielders, and in other positions, why can't we look at home?
Let "our jambodies play against their jambodies" instead of the so called foreign based slick fine boys trying to play "don't dirty" football.![]()
But because every thing Nigeria is transactional aka bribe, they see these local players as not having enough to give to be included.
Nigeria football especially the SE is screwed for a long time to come, until we can find a person who will damn the consequences and go local.
- danfo driver
I am genuinely confused. I asked you a question, respectfully, and you are crying that we are arguing? How? Would you prefer that you make a comment on CE and no one responds to you? If thats what you want, say it and I will stay away from your posts.Synopsis wrote: ↑Sat Mar 29, 2025 9:14 amDo you have to argue all the time??????danfo driver wrote: ↑Sat Mar 29, 2025 2:58 amWe play 4 right now. Do you want us to reduce it to 3?
We do NOT play "wide players" under Chelle. We literally play a diamond. A diamond permits for 4 players in the middle of the field. And this is why the players struggled against Rwanda, because the Rwandan's were attacking us from the wings, since all our midfielders were in the middle.You know exactly what I meant. I am not including wide players. We need an extra midfielder in the middle of the field.
If you are saying that you would like Chelle to play at LEAST 3 central midfielders in the 4, rather than ony 2, then that is a different conversation, and I agree with you. In fact, I would prefer 4 CMs in the 4.
What I was telling you was that it doesnt matter who goes in the 4, the fact is we had 4 in the middle. And thats a FACT!
Do you make things up for fun. Since moving to 442, we have played ONLY 2 GAMES and won 1 and drew the other. In fact, we were the better team in both of the games and were completely dominating especially in the second game.Since moving to a 442, we’ve been finding it hard to win games. We need to go back to a 433. Eguavoen should stop fantasizing about the 90’s Nigerian teams.
Let me say for the record that I do NOT like the 442 diamond. Not my ideal, I am just a proponent of saying the truth.
- danfo driver
I ask again, when last did a Nigerian team win the CAF Champions League?mcal wrote: ↑Sat Mar 29, 2025 2:53 pm...I tell you, a very good scout can find 11 to 23 players in the local league that can compete with these African minnows our foreign "star" find hard to play against.mutiman wrote: ↑Sat Mar 29, 2025 2:40 pmThis should have been the approach after the first two games in the group, instead we kept fielding players in midfield who simply can't compete in terms mobility, agility and energy. Even my wife who isn't a soccer expert by any means always laughs at me whenever I complain about the Eagles languid (or is it lethargic ) style of play. She just says'' I don't know why you're stressing yourself, these your Eagles can't run o. Even watching them makes me fall asleep, they're so slow"mcal wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 11:32 am ...the minnow countries giving us headache have all local based midfielders, and in other positions, why can't we look at home?
Let "our jambodies play against their jambodies" instead of the so called foreign based slick fine boys trying to play "don't dirty" football.![]()
But because every thing Nigeria is transactional aka bribe, they see these local players as not having enough to give to be included.
Nigeria football especially the SE is screwed for a long time to come, until we can find a person who will damn the consequences and go local.
I as the question above because I am a man who likes truth and fact. I do not engage in wishes and conjecture. Lets state things in an honest and open way. If you guys say that there are players in the Nigerian league that a wonderful scout can find, who will compete against these African based minnows, then I suspect that our Nigerian club -- that compete with these guys in the CL - win the CL regularly, right?? Aunty and Uncle Daniel and Tanimola Tanimugu in the local lague dominate these guys in the CL right?
So, I ask again, when last did a Nigerian team win the CAF CL??
Please dont pretend like you do not see my post, please answer it and lets start our convo from there.
Stop it. Chukwueze and Simon weren’t deployed as central midfielders. They were wide midfielders and we relied on wing play.danfo driver wrote: ↑Sat Mar 29, 2025 5:02 pmI am genuinely confused. I asked you a question, respectfully, and you are crying that we are arguing? How? Would you prefer that you make a comment on CE and no one responds to you? If thats what you want, say it and I will stay away from your posts.Synopsis wrote: ↑Sat Mar 29, 2025 9:14 amDo you have to argue all the time??????danfo driver wrote: ↑Sat Mar 29, 2025 2:58 amWe play 4 right now. Do you want us to reduce it to 3?
We do NOT play "wide players" under Chelle. We literally play a diamond. A diamond permits for 4 players in the middle of the field. And this is why the players struggled against Rwanda, because the Rwandan's were attacking us from the wings, since all our midfielders were in the middle.You know exactly what I meant. I am not including wide players. We need an extra midfielder in the middle of the field.
If you are saying that you would like Chelle to play at LEAST 3 central midfielders in the 4, rather than ony 2, then that is a different conversation, and I agree with you. In fact, I would prefer 4 CMs in the 4.
What I was telling you was that it doesnt matter who goes in the 4, the fact is we had 4 in the middle. And thats a FACT!
Do you make things up for fun. Since moving to 442, we have played ONLY 2 GAMES and won 1 and drew the other. In fact, we were the better team in both of the games and were completely dominating especially in the second game.Since moving to a 442, we’ve been finding it hard to win games. We need to go back to a 433. Eguavoen should stop fantasizing about the 90’s Nigerian teams.
Let me say for the record that I do NOT like the 442 diamond. Not my ideal, I am just a proponent of saying the truth.
This is our 2nd game using a 442??? You can’t be serious. Do you even watch the games?
- danfo driver
Synopsis wrote: ↑Sat Mar 29, 2025 5:44 pmStop it. Chukwueze and Simon weren’t deployed as central midfielders. They were wide midfielders and we relied on wing play.danfo driver wrote: ↑Sat Mar 29, 2025 5:02 pmI am genuinely confused. I asked you a question, respectfully, and you are crying that we are arguing? How? Would you prefer that you make a comment on CE and no one responds to you? If thats what you want, say it and I will stay away from your posts.Synopsis wrote: ↑Sat Mar 29, 2025 9:14 amDo you have to argue all the time??????danfo driver wrote: ↑Sat Mar 29, 2025 2:58 amWe play 4 right now. Do you want us to reduce it to 3?
This is our 2nd game using a 442??? You can’t be serious. Do you even watch the games?

Mr. Keyboard tactician has no rebuttal.danfo driver wrote: ↑Sat Mar 29, 2025 7:00 pmSynopsis wrote: ↑Sat Mar 29, 2025 5:44 pmStop it. Chukwueze and Simon weren’t deployed as central midfielders. They were wide midfielders and we relied on wing play.danfo driver wrote: ↑Sat Mar 29, 2025 5:02 pmI am genuinely confused. I asked you a question, respectfully, and you are crying that we are arguing? How? Would you prefer that you make a comment on CE and no one responds to you? If thats what you want, say it and I will stay away from your posts.
This is our 2nd game using a 442??? You can’t be serious. Do you even watch the games?![]()
- danfo driver
Synopsis wrote: ↑Sat Mar 29, 2025 7:03 pmMr. Keyboard tactician has no rebuttal.danfo driver wrote: ↑Sat Mar 29, 2025 7:00 pmSynopsis wrote: ↑Sat Mar 29, 2025 5:44 pmStop it. Chukwueze and Simon weren’t deployed as central midfielders. They were wide midfielders and we relied on wing play.danfo driver wrote: ↑Sat Mar 29, 2025 5:02 pmI am genuinely confused. I asked you a question, respectfully, and you are crying that we are arguing? How? Would you prefer that you make a comment on CE and no one responds to you? If thats what you want, say it and I will stay away from your posts.
This is our 2nd game using a 442??? You can’t be serious. Do you even watch the games?![]()

Not true. If you watch the game properly particularly against Rwanda, Chukwueze was deployed as a midfielder. He operates from the middle (Right Central Midfielder) allowing Osayi Samuel to drift to the wings, watch when Lookman gave a defence splitting pass in Rwanda game to the right wing, it was Osayi that was there. A best way to look at it is to look at Chukwueze when the team is on the defensive side. In Zimbabwe game he had some occasional drift to the wing. As for Simon, he was also deployed as a midfielder (Left Central Midfielder) like Chukwueze, in Rwanda game though he was switching/drifting position as a supporting striker whenever Lookman operates as a midfielder/attacking midfielder. Truth we played 4 midfielders in our las 2 games and not 2. This was my observation. Shalom !
Synopsis wrote: ↑Sat Mar 29, 2025 5:44 pmStop it. Chukwueze and Simon weren’t deployed as central midfielders. They were wide midfielders and we relied on wing play.danfo driver wrote: ↑Sat Mar 29, 2025 5:02 pmI am genuinely confused. I asked you a question, respectfully, and you are crying that we are arguing? How? Would you prefer that you make a comment on CE and no one responds to you? If thats what you want, say it and I will stay away from your posts.Synopsis wrote: ↑Sat Mar 29, 2025 9:14 amDo you have to argue all the time??????danfo driver wrote: ↑Sat Mar 29, 2025 2:58 amWe play 4 right now. Do you want us to reduce it to 3?
Last edited by onovo on Sat Mar 29, 2025 8:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
- danfo driver
He is trolling. No need to take him seriously. Thats why I laughed in his face.onovo wrote: ↑Sat Mar 29, 2025 8:46 pm Not true. If you watch the game properly particularly against Rwanda, Chukwueze was deployed as a midfielder. He operates from the middle allowing Osayi Samuel to drift to the wings, watch when Lookman gave a defence splitting pass in Rwanda game to the right wing, it was Osayi that was there. A best way to look at it is to look at Chukwueze when the team is on the defensive side. In Zimbabwe game he had some occasional drift to the wing. As for Simon, he was also deployed as a midfielder like Chukwueze, in Rwanda game though he was switching/drifting position as a supporting striker whenever Lookman operates as a midfielder/attacking midfielder. Truth we played 4 midfielders in our las 2 games and not 2. This was my observation. Shalom !

I understand. Chukwueze role is similar what Yinus Musah does for AC Milan, Musah is a midfielder (Right Central Midfielder) but drifts into the right wing. Because Musah is Energetic and has high work rate Conceicao has favour him over Chukwueze.danfo driver wrote: ↑Sat Mar 29, 2025 8:49 pmHe is trolling. No need to take him seriously. Thats why I laughed in his face.onovo wrote: ↑Sat Mar 29, 2025 8:46 pm Not true. If you watch the game properly particularly against Rwanda, Chukwueze was deployed as a midfielder. He operates from the middle allowing Osayi Samuel to drift to the wings, watch when Lookman gave a defence splitting pass in Rwanda game to the right wing, it was Osayi that was there. A best way to look at it is to look at Chukwueze when the team is on the defensive side. In Zimbabwe game he had some occasional drift to the wing. As for Simon, he was also deployed as a midfielder like Chukwueze, in Rwanda game though he was switching/drifting position as a supporting striker whenever Lookman operates as a midfielder/attacking midfielder. Truth we played 4 midfielders in our las 2 games and not 2. This was my observation. Shalom !
Megastar or not we have the most expensive squad in Africa going by the value of our players.danfo driver wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 3:38 pmThey do not want to face the truth. That is the biggest problem with Nigerians. They would rather point fingers are phantom mother in laws and phantom village people. They simply do not want to face what is right there in front of them.aykwes8 wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 3:16 pm Respectfully, abd banter aside .. when you tell us that Nigeria’s team is full of these superstars on the team who are these stars that you hav?? Granted You have one forward player who is arguably world class Osihmen but that’s about it. After that the next I would say is another good forward player Lookman. My question is Who do you have in defense or midfield? Your team is not balanced and so this talk of star studded Nigeria team in my opinion is not factual. Apart from and Osihmen which other players fits this mega star profile that we’re made to beloved that you have in abundance
By African standards, our players are stars and have a higher profile than other players in our WCQ group.
Don’t toe the line of outsiders who are envious of our talents by pulling your country down.We are definitely struggling in our WCQs but that doesn’t mean we should start downgrading our players.
Despite everything I would take Nigerian players over Ghanaian players any day! A team that cannot qualify for AFCON should keep quiet and stay in their corner
- danfo driver
Dammy wrote: ↑Sat Mar 29, 2025 11:27 pmMegastar or not we have the most expensive squad in Africa going by the value of our players.danfo driver wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 3:38 pmThey do not want to face the truth. That is the biggest problem with Nigerians. They would rather point fingers are phantom mother in laws and phantom village people. They simply do not want to face what is right there in front of them.aykwes8 wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 3:16 pm Respectfully, abd banter aside .. when you tell us that Nigeria’s team is full of these superstars on the team who are these stars that you hav?? Granted You have one forward player who is arguably world class Osihmen but that’s about it. After that the next I would say is another good forward player Lookman. My question is Who do you have in defense or midfield? Your team is not balanced and so this talk of star studded Nigeria team in my opinion is not factual. Apart from and Osihmen which other players fits this mega star profile that we’re made to beloved that you have in abundance
By African standards, our players are stars and have a higher profile than other players in our WCQ group.
Don’t toe the line of outsiders who are envious of our talents by pulling your country down.We are definitely struggling in our WCQs but that doesn’t mean we should start downgrading our players.
Despite everything I would take Nigerian players over Ghanaian players any day! A team that cannot qualify for AFCON should keep quiet and stay in their corner
Please provide evidence of this. Thanks.
We can use Ademola in that role. Obi and Okocha are generational talents, they come once every 20 years. There's no Okocha in our local league.
http://www.melangeparis.com/
Be More Human!!
https://africa.businessinsider.com/loca ... 23/gcgzzy4danfo driver wrote: ↑Sat Mar 29, 2025 11:47 pmDammy wrote: ↑Sat Mar 29, 2025 11:27 pmMegastar or not we have the most expensive squad in Africa going by the value of our players.danfo driver wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 3:38 pmThey do not want to face the truth. That is the biggest problem with Nigerians. They would rather point fingers are phantom mother in laws and phantom village people. They simply do not want to face what is right there in front of them.aykwes8 wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 3:16 pm Respectfully, abd banter aside .. when you tell us that Nigeria’s team is full of these superstars on the team who are these stars that you hav?? Granted You have one forward player who is arguably world class Osihmen but that’s about it. After that the next I would say is another good forward player Lookman. My question is Who do you have in defense or midfield? Your team is not balanced and so this talk of star studded Nigeria team in my opinion is not factual. Apart from and Osihmen which other players fits this mega star profile that we’re made to beloved that you have in abundance
- danfo driver
Thanks. This is from 2023. I assumed you were speaking about today and using the figures of our squad today?Dammy wrote: ↑Sun Mar 30, 2025 8:25 amhttps://africa.businessinsider.com/loca ... 23/gcgzzy4danfo driver wrote: ↑Sat Mar 29, 2025 11:47 pmDammy wrote: ↑Sat Mar 29, 2025 11:27 pmMegastar or not we have the most expensive squad in Africa going by the value of our players.danfo driver wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 3:38 pmThey do not want to face the truth. That is the biggest problem with Nigerians. They would rather point fingers are phantom mother in laws and phantom village people. They simply do not want to face what is right there in front of them.aykwes8 wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 3:16 pm Respectfully, abd banter aside .. when you tell us that Nigeria’s team is full of these superstars on the team who are these stars that you hav?? Granted You have one forward player who is arguably world class Osihmen but that’s about it. After that the next I would say is another good forward player Lookman. My question is Who do you have in defense or midfield? Your team is not balanced and so this talk of star studded Nigeria team in my opinion is not factual. Apart from and Osihmen which other players fits this mega star profile that we’re made to beloved that you have in abundance
For instance, Osimhen was valued at 120m 2 years ago, but today, his value - based on his release clause - is 70 million
Could you provide an updated list that reflects the value, as of today? Thanks!