Eric Chelle is After Ethan Nwaneri and It's Already in the Press

I can tell you for free that it won't be successful. Moves like this are never made public until you have the bird in the bag. How many times did Amaju Pinick blathered in the press and truncated what should have been successful 'captures' of promising players.

While it's not totally an impossibility to see him play for Nigeria but watch him get invited for England's next internationals.

Desperate Eric Chelle Meets Arsenal Star, Set to Convince Him to Play for Super Eagles

Eric Chelle is scheduled to meet with in-form Arsenal midfielder Ethan Nwaneri this week. Nwaneri scored a goal for the Young Lions in a friendly against Portugal U21s during the international break. Super Eagles prepare ahead of Russia 2018 qualifiers | Legit TV The 18-year-old also made history in February as the youngest player to complete more than five dribbles and an assist in a single match against Leicester City. Read more: https://www.legit.ng/sports/football/16 ... lInFaM1nfQ
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
Re: Eric Chelle is After Ethan Nwaneri and It's Already in the Press

We are after every foreign based player, but they get rubbished due our systemic disfunction
and impatient abusive so-called fans. The ITKs suggesting we bring back Cyriel Dessers were
the same saying he is worthless when first invited.
Honesty, I don't know which faction is more problematic - the NFF or the fandom. The former
seems clueless, while the later is mostly a delusional group, rife with illogical declarations.

kash n' karry

Post by kash n' karry »

anointed wrote: Mon Mar 31, 2025 10:09 am I can tell you for free that it won't be successful. Moves like this are never made public until you have the bird in the bag. How many times did Amaju Pinick blathered in the press and truncated what should have been successful 'captures' of promising players.

While it's not totally an impossibility to see him play for Nigeria but watch him get invited for England's next internationals.

Desperate Eric Chelle Meets Arsenal Star, Set to Convince Him to Play for Super Eagles

Eric Chelle is scheduled to meet with in-form Arsenal midfielder Ethan Nwaneri this week. Nwaneri scored a goal for the Young Lions in a friendly against Portugal U21s during the international break. Super Eagles prepare ahead of Russia 2018 qualifiers | Legit TV The 18-year-old also made history in February as the youngest player to complete more than five dribbles and an assist in a single match against Leicester City. Read more: https://www.legit.ng/sports/football/16 ... lInFaM1nfQ
:evil: :twisted:
I totally agree, this invitation should be on a down low. Ethan can easily fit our attacking midfield to replace thesometimes lethargic Iwobi. I can't imagine if we had Nwaneri & Eberechi on the SE team playing at the same time. Those players woulda been drawing circles around all our opponents, including European National opponents.

I wish Chelle had invited Nwaneri for the last 2 games bcos our June friendlies is a long time away and England can be a spoiler anytime till that first friendlies.
================================================================
All i want is your hips, Natasha !! :mrgreen:

...the money and time spent chasing these foreign born, they could have got 5 to 6 players at home base to play defense and midfield.
Dem go bring person wey don dey drink very fresh milk from infancy, to come journey around for backwardness.

mcal wrote: Tue Apr 01, 2025 3:41 am ...the money and time spent chasing these foreign born, they could have got 5 to 6 players at home base to play defense and midfield.
Dem go bring person wey don dey drink very fresh milk from infancy, to come journey around for backwardness.

THEY CAN TRY, BUT...I don't expect them to lure the young man to play for Nigeria. Nwaneri probably considers himself good enough to play for England so will wait for his England call.

You're right. Nigeria goes on these wild goose chases instead of expending the same resources to find more of such players locally.
kash n' karry

Post by kash n' karry »

Bell wrote: Tue Apr 01, 2025 4:23 am
mcal wrote: Tue Apr 01, 2025 3:41 am ...the money and time spent chasing these foreign born, they could have got 5 to 6 players at home base to play defense and midfield.

THEY CAN TRY, BUT...I don't expect them to lure the young man to play for Nigeria. Nwaneri probably considers himself good enough to play for England so will wait for his England call.

You're right. Nigeria goes on these wild goose chases instead of expending the same resources to find more of such players locally.
Exactly, we have such players locally if we are paying attention to better scouting. And once discovered before they are allowed to go out and be bought by Europe, they can play just a friendly for Nigeria that way even if any European country wants to use them, it now too late to do so !!

In our country with a population of 230 million, there are brimming talents from all over who can be sought after if the right efforts is put into scouting !!
=========================================================
CAUTION! You are about to enter the No Spin Zone !!

kash n' karry wrote: Tue Apr 01, 2025 4:55 am

Exactly, we have such players locally if we are paying attention to better scouting. And once discovered before they are allowed to go out and be bought by Europe, they can play just a friendly for Nigeria that way even if any European country wants to use them, it now too late to do so !!

In our country with a population of 230 million, there are brimming talents from all over who can be sought after if the right efforts is put into scouting !!
Tiff n Dash, I see you haven’t changed much. Where in Nigeria do you know of a player better than Nwaneri? Is that player at Niger Tornadoes or Yum Yum?
kash n' karry

Post by kash n' karry »

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Tue Apr 01, 2025 5:06 am

Tiff n Dash, I see you haven’t changed much. Where in Nigeria do you know of a player better than Nwaneri? Is that player at Niger Tornadoes or Yum Yum?
But if you can't get Nwaneri, can we look inwards and see if there are players with such bulging "potentials" ??
Some time chasing waterfalls is can yield tangible effects but most times can be just.. . day dreaming !! :roll:

Nwaneri has similar skills to Eberechi, yet we were not able to secure the latter, we lost him to England.
I am dead sure at this stage, Nwaneri is looking at the qualification potentials of Nigeria to the World Cup at this stage compared to a potential call up with England, which seems to be already coasting to qualification of the 2026 big party !! :taunt:
==========================================================
Aaaaagghhh gaaddammmnn ittt !! Wherez my Heineken + big wet bubble booty chics ? :mrgreen:

What problem will this player solve in the current SE?

fabio wrote: Tue Apr 01, 2025 7:50 am What problem will this player solve in the current SE?
cross ball? :lol:

fabio wrote: Tue Apr 01, 2025 7:50 am What problem will this player solve in the current SE?
...could it be sit the corrupt NFA up, and the myopic naija media to stop salivating for euros and dollars, or players carrying women handbags as the new fashion at camps :?

...abi o. What's the worse that can happen with home based players that we have not seen and experienced with the foreign shiny stars...defeats and draws in the hands of African minnows.

He would help our right wing problem. Chukwueze and Iheanacho no be am.

Synopsis wrote: Tue Apr 01, 2025 12:18 pm
He would help our right wing problem. Chukwueze and Iheanacho no be am.
...why invoking his name, abi na him cause the let down at Uyo?
I see no more "na Musa, Iheanacho is now the new escape goat"
:sad:

I'M CONFIDENT...with a huge population, there's MORE THAN ONE Nwanweri studying in a secondary school library (not a bad thing) or hawking wares in the streets today. There are Saka's all over the place doing Uber rounds. But how do they become known if you don't have a method in place for unearthing and developing them with the focus misdirected at Europe?

Bell wrote: Tue Apr 01, 2025 8:44 pm

I'M CONFIDENT...with a huge population, there's MORE THAN ONE Nwanweri studying in a secondary school library (not a bad thing) or hawking wares in the streets today. There are Saka's all over the place doing Uber rounds. But how do they become known if you don't have a method in place for unearthing and developing them with the focus misdirected at Europe?
Not sure how we can’t have a scout team in both Europe and Nigeria.

Population size has nothing to do with talent availability. Much much smaller countries deal with us on a regular basis, Zim, CAR , Croatia, Sweden and CIV to name few. We have to make a decision and stick with it. Do we want to create the best possible team that can challenge for the WC or want to use the SE as a testing ground for players want to sell.

To challenge for the WC you’ll need your core players to be in the top 1% of players in their position, the very best of the best. In actuality, there’re more brain surgeons in Nigeria than world class football players, same with most countries. You cannot pick them up at libraries and secondary schools and expect them to be as good as Nwaneri is at his age. Nwaneri has a lifetime of football education , he has been groomed for years. We don’t have such opportunities.

Synopsis wrote: Tue Apr 01, 2025 10:51 pm

Not sure how we can’t have a scout team in both Europe and Nigeria.

YOU CAN, YOU SHOULD, BUT...the problem is the NFF is focused almost entirely on Europe where the opporunities are few and far between. If enough attention is paid at the domestic end, the kids from Europe may find it hard to make the team.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Tue Apr 01, 2025 11:10 pm

Population size has nothing to do with talent availability. Much much smaller countries deal with us on a regular basis, Zim, CAR , Croatia, Sweden and CIV to name few. We have to make a decision and stick with it. Do we want to create the best possible team that can challenge for the WC or want to use the SE as a testing ground for players want to sell.

To challenge for the WC you’ll need your core players to be in the top 1% of players in their position, the very best of the best. In actuality, there’re more brain surgeons in Nigeria than world class football players, same with most countries. You cannot pick them up at libraries and secondary schools and expect them to be as good as Nwaneri is at his age. Nwaneri has a lifetime of football education , he has been groomed for years. We don’t have such opportunities.

CORRECT...Nwaneri has had a lifetime of football education which is exactly what we are asking the NFF to do for Nigerian kids. Oh yes, population can be a major factor. Simple statistics prove that: the bigger the sample size, the greater the likelihood of finding what you are looking for. The countries you mentioned are able to compete with Nigeria because those in charge in Nigeria do not know how to exploit their advantage. You can break Nigeria into four regions and build a team each that can compete with those countries. BTW, Nwaneri is not the ultimate goal - Nigeria can and should be aiming for better.

Bell wrote: Tue Apr 01, 2025 11:27 pm
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Tue Apr 01, 2025 11:10 pm

CORRECT...Nwaneri has had a lifetime of football education which is exactly what we are asking the NFF to do for Nigerian kids. Oh yes, population can be a major factor. Simple statistics prove that: the bigger the sample size, the greater the likelihood of finding what you are looking for. The countries you mentioned are able to compete with Nigeria because those in charge in Nigeria do not know how to exploit their advantage. You can break Nigeria into four regions and build a team each that can compete with those countries. BTW, Nwaneri is not the ultimate goal - Nigeria can and should be aiming for better.
Pls tell us 1 country that has a large talent pool because of its population that’s doing better than smaller countries. China and India have 2b + people but they’re irrelevant in football. Indinesia , Bangladesh, and Pakistan also have similar populations size and they’re worse. Brazil is the only comparable country to Nigeria in terms of population and we’re about 50yrs behind them in all aspects of life. It’s not about how many chickens payed eggs. It’s about how many eggs hatched.

How much “money and time” do you reckon in real terms?
You really think it costs that much?
Nwaneiri for instance is based in London, the same city as Iwobi, Bassey and the home towns of Aina, Lookman and Ekong.
Europe in general is small and is not the USA.
Meanwhile, emails, video and phone calls cost next to nothing.

You say it as if it costs millions to pay a home visit or watch a player on a coach’s radar.
It’s not that serious.
If however you are talking about corruption, then that’s an entirely different matter.

Damunk wrote: Wed Apr 02, 2025 5:18 am
How much “money and time” do you reckon in real terms?
You really think it costs that much?
Nwaneiri for instance is based in London, the same city as Iwobi, Bassey and the home towns of Aina, Lookman and Ekong.
Europe in general is small and is not the USA.
Meanwhile, emails, video and phone calls cost next to nothing.

You say it as if it costs millions to pay a home visit or watch a player on a coach’s radar.
It’s not that serious.
If however you are talking about corruption, then that’s an entirely different matter.
...my friend it does cost millions in naira if not euros. We already know of the escapades of the one tine NFA chief who loves his London club that he will jet to go watch their matches ON OUR Dimes aka our Pennies or Kobos.
A fraction of what is spent can be used to scout local players, house them, train them, and get them ready psychologically for a continental match. They can't do bad.

Again, what does we have to lose using local best 11, than lose a match the foreign based are already losing?

Of the 230m, how many are professional footballers or academy players?
Among those, how many are good enough for the national team?
My point is, I expect the scouting team knows where to find the best crop of suitable local players and they won't be in large number.

Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16

© The YeyeMan 2025