How to make the SE a power house again
in the 80s we started working on our SE. 3 AFCON finals, in the 90s the SE were crowned super. 2AFCON Finals, and the world cup debut. Many teams on the continent were frightened to play us. We started dropping in the lates 2010s, fast forward today, we are shiiitttttt

We have to ensure whatever we did to rejuvenate the Green eagles (from Muda to Okocha them)who become the Super Eagles must be re-born. E don do. Our SE are no longer the same. This ish hurts a lot

I want a ball carrier, a playmaker . This is how we were successful. We have too many stiff footballers.

We have to ensure whatever we did to rejuvenate the Green eagles (from Muda to Okocha them)who become the Super Eagles must be re-born. E don do. Our SE are no longer the same. This ish hurts a lot

I want a ball carrier, a playmaker . This is how we were successful. We have too many stiff footballers.
Re: How to make the SE a power house again
It is harder to claim much supremacy in today's football world. There is parity in the sport,
with yesterday's minnows refusing to be continuously stepped on. Imagine the likes of Italy
and Germany sweating it out with teams they used to dispatch with ease.
It is getting harder to dominate in team sports, as the players have to be in sync, with regards
focus, discipline, and psychologically.
Lest we forget the huge part administration has to play, in organizing the grassroots and the local
league, such that talents can be discovered at early stages of development. We cannot continue
missing continental and world level age grade tournaments and be expecting to build the SE on
foreign raised talents only.
In short we need NFF officials who are in love of the sports and not in position simply to make
money for themselves..
with yesterday's minnows refusing to be continuously stepped on. Imagine the likes of Italy
It is getting harder to dominate in team sports, as the players have to be in sync, with regards
Lest we forget the huge part administration has to play, in organizing the grassroots and the local
league, such that talents can be discovered at early stages of development. We cannot continue
missing continental and world level age grade tournaments and be expecting to build the SE on
In short we need NFF officials who are in love of the sports and not in position simply to make
money for themselves..
You’re absolutely right my brother. Italy’s recent World Cup struggles highlight how team cohesion, tactical discipline and mentality often outweigh individual star power. Their Euro 2020 triumph showed what a well drilled, unified squad could achieve under Roberto Mancini, yet their failures in missing back to back World Cups (2018 and 2022) exposed the inconsistency in their approach.joao wrote: ↑Thu Apr 03, 2025 1:09 am It is harder to claim much supremacy in today's football world. There is parity in the sport,
money for themselves..
Even in 2010 and 2014, despite having talented squads (largely locally based players), Italy lacked the chemistry and adaptability needed to progress, because they were eliminated in the group phase on both occasions. Meanwhile, World Cup teams like 2022 Morocco team (50% of their players were born outside the country) and 2018, 2022 Croatia team (30% of their players were born outside the country) proved that unity and a clear tactical identity can take a team deep into the tournament.
Italy is one of the most successful national teams in World Cup history, second only to Brazil. Yet, here on the forum, some continue to belittle African teams that have put in the hard work to become a cohesive unit.
Nigeria has the talent, but unless we rebuild with a strong, cohesive unit, we’ll continue to fall behind in international football.
2022 World Cup

Last edited by iworo on Thu Apr 03, 2025 6:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Pinnich a his the Innit boys must go. The stench has infested everything from NPFL, U16, U21, and SE. Even the women's brand. They all suffering from identity crises. No world or continental cup anywhere 10+ years and qualifications in all the men's teams have become a real struggle. I cant even remember last time a foreigner say they love Nigerian football. The brand is at its lowest ever point on par with the likes of Lesotho, Zimbabwe, and Cape Verde. Nigeria tried to cheat with innit boys but it hadn't worked. No short cut in football. You gotta develop the grassroots and local league to have steady supply of quality players.
Very simple matter.
Half the players who are starting are not difference makers and should be on the bench.
About half pf the players who are on the bench are not good enough for the National team.
There are 6-7 players that are potential difference makers and starters
Half the players who are starting are not difference makers and should be on the bench.
About half pf the players who are on the bench are not good enough for the National team.
There are 6-7 players that are potential difference makers and starters
So why aren’t Nigerian clubs winning in Africa? Are the innit boys responsible for?oscar52 wrote: ↑Thu Apr 03, 2025 2:36 am Pinnich a his the Innit boys must go. The stench has infested everything from NPFL, U16, U21, and SE. Even the women's brand. They all suffering from identity crises. No world or continental cup anywhere 10+ years and qualifications in all the men's teams have become a real struggle. I cant even remember last time a foreigner say they love Nigerian football. The brand is at its lowest ever point on par with the likes of Lesotho, Zimbabwe, and Cape Verde. Nigeria tried to cheat with innit boys but it hadn't worked. No short cut in football. You gotta develop the grassroots and local league to have steady supply of quality players.

- danfo driver
Hey! good evening. How you dey?EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Thu Apr 03, 2025 2:56 amSo why aren’t Nigerian clubs winning in Africa? Are the innit boys responsible for?oscar52 wrote: ↑Thu Apr 03, 2025 2:36 am Pinnich a his the Innit boys must go. The stench has infested everything from NPFL, U16, U21, and SE. Even the women's brand. They all suffering from identity crises. No world or continental cup anywhere 10+ years and qualifications in all the men's teams have become a real struggle. I cant even remember last time a foreigner say they love Nigerian football. The brand is at its lowest ever point on par with the likes of Lesotho, Zimbabwe, and Cape Verde. Nigeria tried to cheat with innit boys but it hadn't worked. No short cut in football. You gotta develop the grassroots and local league to have steady supply of quality players.![]()
Did you see the thread on the former coach of Benin Republic? It was moved to World Forum. Here it is, in case you didnt see it yet:
viewtopic.php?f=30&t=320639
You guys need to move on already from the 80's and 90's peak era for starters. The 442 and bombing down the wings era is over.
Imagine foolishly believing that what worked in the 80s and 90s can just simply be applied to today for success.
Football has moved on from 2010, let alone the 80s.
Our biggest problem BY FAR, is the criminal NFF.
When we fail to reach a second consecutive WC, I just know these criminals will fail to do the necessary, which would be to accept responsibility and all resign.
They will blame foreign born/based players and call for an entirely homebased squad. Just watch.
We will hear their corrupt PR men on this forum say things like
"Foreign born failed to qualify for 2 WCs, what do we have to lose. Homebased players cannot do any worse"
I already know their gameplan because they are so damned predictable.
When we fail to reach a second consecutive WC, I just know these criminals will fail to do the necessary, which would be to accept responsibility and all resign.
They will blame foreign born/based players and call for an entirely homebased squad. Just watch.
We will hear their corrupt PR men on this forum say things like
"Foreign born failed to qualify for 2 WCs, what do we have to lose. Homebased players cannot do any worse"
I already know their gameplan because they are so damned predictable.
You need to take us through the lofty achievements of the CHAN team to convince us that what you are saying isn’t BS. I’m sure you are “in love with their football”.oscar52 wrote: ↑Thu Apr 03, 2025 2:36 am Pinnich a his the Innit boys must go. The stench has infested everything from NPFL, U16, U21, and SE. Even the women's brand. They all suffering from identity crises. No world or continental cup anywhere 10+ years and qualifications in all the men's teams have become a real struggle. I cant even remember last time a foreigner say they love Nigerian football. The brand is at its lowest ever point on par with the likes of Lesotho, Zimbabwe, and Cape Verde. Nigeria tried to cheat with innit boys but it hadn't worked. No short cut in football. You gotta develop the grassroots and local league to have steady supply of quality players.
Bringing up the CHAN team is a distraction from his main point. The point is about improving the league and then focusing on that as our main source of players, not about the current players in the league.Damunk wrote: ↑Thu Apr 03, 2025 7:26 amYou need to take us through the lofty achievements of the CHAN team to convince us that what you are saying isn’t BS. I’m sure you are “in love with their football”.oscar52 wrote: ↑Thu Apr 03, 2025 2:36 am Pinnich a his the Innit boys must go. The stench has infested everything from NPFL, U16, U21, and SE. Even the women's brand. They all suffering from identity crises. No world or continental cup anywhere 10+ years and qualifications in all the men's teams have become a real struggle. I cant even remember last time a foreigner say they love Nigerian football. The brand is at its lowest ever point on par with the likes of Lesotho, Zimbabwe, and Cape Verde. Nigeria tried to cheat with innit boys but it hadn't worked. No short cut in football. You gotta develop the grassroots and local league to have steady supply of quality players.
Too much focus on foreign-born players condemns us to being a second-rate team. We have to develop players born in Nigeria. Top talent is born not made. If Osimhen was born in Europe he likely would not have played for Nigeria as his country of birth would have capped him before we got anywhere close. We only got Lookman because he didn't make the England team, and his career was on a downward trajectory. His resurgence in Atlanta came after his SE debut.
If you look back to our '94 team, you’ll notice that Ekoku couldn’t make the SE starting 11 even though he was banging in goals in the EPL. We had a better league in Nigeria then. To be a team competing for the WC, we must have the footballing infrastructure at home that allows top talent to come through. Meaning a good, well-funded, league. Even if players leave the country in their teens, they'll still play for Nigeria.
Very good points orion. A good league will also help identify top talents who could end up at top clubs. When the league was good the likes of finidi went to Ajax from sharks, Kanu from Iwanyanwu national to Ajax, Pascal Ojigwe to FC kaiserlauten from Enyimba, Taribo
west Sharks,Rangers , Julius Berger to Auxere, Amokachi from Ranchers Bees to Brugge,Agu, Wilfred A to Rayo, Rufai, Keshi to Anderletch, OLISEH to Lokeren, etc.. Taye Taiwo from Lobi to Marseille, Musa from Kano Pillars to Venlo.
Today they head out to eastern Europe. Due to corrupt agents who are greedy....
We had quality players. Today we only have Osimhen who moved from Nigeria ( ultimate strikers)straight to Wolfsburg same with Obafemi(fc ebiede) to Iinter. I think the youth program and the league should be invested in .
The amount of money Ahly, Pirates, Sundowns, ES Tunis will make this summer during the world club cup should be a lesson. Investing in our league is the beginning of success.
We also need our own facility strictly for football whereby all the national teams train alas France, England, Morocco etc
west Sharks,Rangers , Julius Berger to Auxere, Amokachi from Ranchers Bees to Brugge,Agu, Wilfred A to Rayo, Rufai, Keshi to Anderletch, OLISEH to Lokeren, etc.. Taye Taiwo from Lobi to Marseille, Musa from Kano Pillars to Venlo.
Today they head out to eastern Europe. Due to corrupt agents who are greedy....
We had quality players. Today we only have Osimhen who moved from Nigeria ( ultimate strikers)straight to Wolfsburg same with Obafemi(fc ebiede) to Iinter. I think the youth program and the league should be invested in .
The amount of money Ahly, Pirates, Sundowns, ES Tunis will make this summer during the world club cup should be a lesson. Investing in our league is the beginning of success.
We also need our own facility strictly for football whereby all the national teams train alas France, England, Morocco etc
While the results clearly indicate the closing of gaps between strong and formerly weak teams globally, there are still dominant teams. Make no mistake about that. In Africa, Senegal and Morocco have been dominant for a while. Why not Nigeria? That is the question.joao wrote: ↑Thu Apr 03, 2025 1:09 am It is harder to claim much supremacy in today's football world. There is parity in the sport,
money for themselves..
Take a look at this World Cup qualifiers, most of the seeds have held with exception of Nigeria. That is a symptom. If parity is the cause why is it, relatively, a problem just for Nigeria?
Hopefully, Nigeria's administrators are working hard in solving the problem and not throwing up their hands claiming parity.
Last edited by Enugu II on Thu Apr 03, 2025 4:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
How to make the SE a power house again, let's replicate what has worked before. With before (I mean before Pinnick and his disastrous policy).
Focus on football development.
Revive the developmental youth programme started by the Maigari administration.
Put resources back into the u-17 and u-21.
Ensure we qualify for the Olympics football.
Develop and nurture a home based team, who play regular friendly matches.
very good points. We should be able to use both the FC born and home born kids to only build a formidable SE . I am glad we have some top init boys who are still very young, however we should never neglect those raw talentsfabio wrote: ↑Thu Apr 03, 2025 3:00 pm How to make the SE a power house again, let's replicate what has worked before. With before (I mean before Pinnick and his disastrous policy).
for once in a while try as much as possible to be positive, very soon i will block you . haba . Everyone here is hurting about the SE, but you constantly come here to destroy ideas etc .
U Dey crase. What ideas are you talking about here? Daydreaming na idea?Bigpokey24 wrote: ↑Thu Apr 03, 2025 3:34 pmfor once in a while try as much as possible to be positive, very soon i will block you . haba . Everyone here is hurting about the SE, but you constantly come here to destroy ideas etc .

Last time I checked, since the year 2000 Egypt and Cameroon have been the most consistent teamsEnugu II wrote: ↑Thu Apr 03, 2025 12:39 pmWhile the results clearly indicate the closing of gaps between strong and formerly weak teams globally, there are still dominant teams. Make no mistake about that. In Africa, Senegal and Morocco have been dominant for a while. Why not Nigeria? That is the question.joao wrote: ↑Thu Apr 03, 2025 1:09 am It is harder to claim much supremacy in today's football world. There is parity in the sport,
money for themselves..
Take a look at this World Cup qualifiers, most of the seeds have held with ex option of Nigeria. That is a symptom. If parity is the cause why is it, relatively, a problem just for Nigeria?
Hopefully, Nigeria's administrators are working hard in solving the problem and not throwing up their hands claiming parity.
in Africa with regards AFCON and World Cup qualifying. Morocco and Senegal have been consistent lately, on
the continent, but they are still struggling to dispatch yesterday's so-called minnows. Thus my point that there
is parity in the sport.
As for our Super Eagles, our main problems in my view are administrative (NFF) meddling, fans overhyping
players, and players attitude. The NFF needs to be able to let the appointed coach pass or fail on his own
merit, without unnecessary interventions and distractions. Fans need to realize that not any 'talented' player
can be a fit on every team, and let the coach do his/her job. Finally, some of our players do not have the focus
and discipline to play top level team football. To appreciate what I mean, lets compare the individual mental
focus, and team discipline teams like France, Croatia, Spain, Argentina, and Uruguay engage on the field, with
what is on display by our SE.
In short, the game is not just about talents alone but like an orchestra, a combined focus with intent
at a 'goal'.
There you go!! Thus, it is not simply parity given the teams that you and I have mentioned above that have stayed relatively consistent overtime. There are more endemic problems such as those you have mentioned (highlighted).joao wrote: ↑Thu Apr 03, 2025 4:30 pmLast time I checked, since the year 2000 Egypt and Cameroon have been the most consistent teamsEnugu II wrote: ↑Thu Apr 03, 2025 12:39 pmWhile the results clearly indicate the closing of gaps between strong and formerly weak teams globally, there are still dominant teams. Make no mistake about that. In Africa, Senegal and Morocco have been dominant for a while. Why not Nigeria? That is the question.joao wrote: ↑Thu Apr 03, 2025 1:09 am It is harder to claim much supremacy in today's football world. There is parity in the sport,
money for themselves..
Take a look at this World Cup qualifiers, most of the seeds have held with ex option of Nigeria. That is a symptom. If parity is the cause why is it, relatively, a problem just for Nigeria?
in Africa with regards AFCON and World Cup qualifying. Morocco and Senegal have been consistent lately, on
the continent, but they are still struggling to dispatch yesterday's so-called minnows. Thus my point that there
is parity in the sport.
As for our Super Eagles, our main problems in my view are administrative (NFF) meddling, fans overhyping
players, and players attitude. The NFF needs to be able to let the appointed coach pass or fail on his own
merit, without unnecessary interventions and distractions. Fans need to realize that not any 'talented' player
can be a fit on every team, and let the coach do his/her job. Finally, some of our players do not have the focus
and discipline to play top level team football. To appreciate what I mean, lets compare the individual mental
focus, and team discipline teams like France, Croatia, Spain, Argentina, and Uruguay engage on the field, with
what is on display by our SE.
In short, the game is not just about talents alone but like an orchestra, a combined focus with intent
at a 'goal'.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
improve economic situation in Nigeria. It all trickles down...
- danfo driver
We already did