FC Dallas Defender Osaze Urhoghide

I don’t watch much MLS, but I have to say I’m pretty impressed by this kid’s speed, aggression and confidence in the video clip. That said, I’d love to hear from people who follow MLS more closely. Does he really have potential or is this just another flashy highlight reel making someone look like the next big thing :D?
Re: FC Dallas Defender Osaze Urhoghide

The boy is useless. :boo:

He has the most minutes played on his team and is the highest rated cb for fc Dallas.

24 years old.

We need all options because we need to move beyond Troost etc.

Whoscored has him as

#36 ranked player in MLS

#6 ranked for most headers

#16 ranked for CBs

Let's be serious as a people.
You can't be playing in the MLS and be seriously contending for a place in the SE.

naijaguy wrote: Fri Apr 25, 2025 8:45 am Let's be serious as a people.
You can't be playing in the MLS and be seriously contending for a place in the SE.
At 25 as well. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Our fanbase is cursed! :oops: No wonder some of them were praising the invitation of an MLS midfielder above others performing in stronger leagues.

Does the same thing apply to our NPFL?

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

danfo driver wrote: Fri Apr 25, 2025 5:23 pm

Our fanbase is cursed! :oops: No wonder some of them were praising the invitation of an MLS midfielder above others performing in stronger leagues.
Like we have so many options in central defence.

Ogbu, Osho, Torunariga Osuji all need to be looked at.

This guy as well, why not.

Chelle has already seen Ogbu and Torunariga and it seems he may not think they are up to par.

vancity eagle wrote: Fri Apr 25, 2025 5:27 pm

Chelle has already seen Ogbu and Torunariga and it seems he may not think they are up to par.
Absolutely NOT! You set standards and stick to it and you force people to meet those standards. If Osaze wants to play for Nigeria, he should get a team in a top league to buy him.

If we dont have defenders, then we should play without defenders. Nonsense!

We are short in quality in CD. We only have Bassey who is being courted by Newcastle, Aston Villa, Tottenham and Manchester United according to Fulham fans on their forum. Bassey has improved in leaps and bounds from the defender who only depended on his speed and physicality to a more rounded CD, who has improved in positioning and reading of the game, so it’s no surprise that he’s attracting interest, IMO, he needs an experienced CD beside him as adding the responsibility of oversight over a less experienced player to him may take away from his game.
What options do we have? Osuji and Frederick will come good in time but do we have the time? Balogun and Bassey appear to be past their prime, and Ogbu and Torunarigha do not seem to have impressed Chelle. I’m not surprised about Torunarigha as his team, Gent have conceded 17 goals including two 5-0 hammerings and a 4-1 defeat in the Belgian playoffs in 5 matches. Injury prone Gabe Osho of Auxerre is an option, but he has not set the world alight in the few matches he has played for the SE and is inexperienced at international level.
That leaves Tosin Adarabioyo as our best option. He has top level experience at the EPL and has played alongside Bassey, guiding him in his transition to the EPL, and we must do everything to convince him to switch over to Nigeria

Dammy wrote: Fri Apr 25, 2025 10:31 pm

We are short in quality in CD. We only have Bassey who is being courted by Newcastle, Aston Villa, Tottenham and Manchester United according to Fulham fans on their forum. Bassey has improved in leaps and bounds from the defender who only depended on his speed and physicality to a more rounded CD, who has improved in positioning and reading of the game, so it’s no surprise that he’s attracting interest, IMO, he needs an experienced CD beside him as adding the responsibility of oversight over a less experienced player to him may take away from his game.
What options do we have? Osuji and Frederick will come good in time but do we have the time? Balogun and Bassey appear to be past their prime, and Ogbu and Torunarigha do not seem to have impressed Chelle. I’m not surprised about Torunarigha as his team, Gent have conceded 17 goals including two 5-0 hammerings and a 4-1 defeat in the Belgian playoffs in 5 matches. Injury prone Gabe Osho of Auxerre is an option, but he has not set the world alight in the few matches he has played for the SE and is inexperienced at international level.
That leaves Tosin Adarabioyo as our best option. He has top level experience at the EPL and has played alongside Bassey, guiding him in his transition to the EPL, and we must do everything to convince him to switch over to Nigeria
You are a fan so the players you know are likely within a box - same as me, and others. The "we only have Ogbu, Torunarigha, Bassey etc" is false. There are many others out there in reputable leagues. Let the coaches do their job and speak to them.

We cannot continue to reduce our standards for 25 year olds in retirement leagues.

danfo driver wrote: Sat Apr 26, 2025 1:14 am

You are a fan so the players you know are likely within a box - same as me, and others. The "we only have Ogbu, Torunarigha, Bassey etc" is false. There are many others out there in reputable leagues. Let the coaches do their job and speak to them.

We cannot continue to reduce our standards for 25 year olds in retirement leagues.
Try to read and comprehend properly! I am not a fan of Uroghide and don’t think he deserves to be invited to the SE.
My comments have nothing to do with Uroghide, I am just pointing out how light we are in quality in the CD department and hoping we can put more effort in trying to get Adarabioyo.

Dammy wrote: Sat Apr 26, 2025 8:47 am
danfo driver wrote: Sat Apr 26, 2025 1:14 am

Try to read and comprehend properly! I am not a fan of Uroghide and don’t think he deserves to be invited to the SE.
My comments have nothing to do with Uroghide, I am just pointing out how light we are in quality in the CD department and hoping we can put more effort in trying to get Adarabioyo.
Thats what I am referring to. I didnt say you were a fan of Osaze. I said you are a football fan, like me and others, so our knowledge of players is limited. Dont forget how for years the shameless incompetence of our NFF and coaches made us believe that we didnt have goalkeepers?? they kept telling is that all we had were Akpeyi and Uzoho? For years!!! While Nwabali was chilling there. We cant and should never believe the lies the NFF and coaches tell us. We have players! We do! Dont believe the lies. They simply refuse to scout and invite them.