Why Next SE Invitations matter

Nigeria's manager is surely looking up to the next series of 3 international games as a means of understanding his team much better than the last internationals when he was up close with the team for a very short period. This time, he will get a really good look at his team before the next round of World Cup qualifiers.

The expectation, therefore, is that he will invite several new players who are yet to be seen in camp by him and some who were in camp but did not feature in actual games.

I think these 3 internationals shall lead to 2 or 3 changes in the SE starting team and especially in defense and midfield. It should also give him opportunity to see another goalkeeper in an actual game.

Of course, there will be players who may not only lose starting positions but squad positions.

These decisions, for me, make the upcoming international games valuable and interesting to follow.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: Why Next SE Invitations matter

If we invited the best Nigerian players available all the time we wouldn't have to "try out " new players all the time. Chelle will be forced to turn the upcoming friendlies into a Mexico jamboree by inviting mostlybHB with a sprinkle of new real players. In the end it's likely that the friendlies will reveal nothing.

I think he does need to invite many of those players on the fringes, rather than completely new faces.
Who is an invitable fringe player?
IMHO, any player that has been on his previous lists that haven’t had the chance to play (like Ogbu and Torunarigha) plus one or two that have never been invited before but continue to make headlines - like Uche Chrisantus.

I’m hoping that this ‘friendly’ tournament allows for multiple substitutes, rather than just three.
And I’m hoping he has the courage to begin to hint Ekong that his future is as an ‘off-field’ captain.

Stick to the core, 3-4 players to replace obvious areas of weakness, build team Chemistry, cohesion and mental toughness . A team Psychologist is needed urgently.

Babalawo wrote: Sun Apr 27, 2025 8:09 pm Stick to the core, 3-4 players to replace obvious areas of weakness, build team Chemistry, cohesion and mental toughness . A team Psychologist is needed urgently.
KPOM

Damunk wrote: Sun Apr 27, 2025 7:36 pm I think he does need to invite many of those players on the fringes, rather than completely new faces.
IMHO, any player that has been on his previous lists that haven’t had the chance to play (like Ogbu and Torunarigha) plus one or two that have never been invited before but continue to make headlines - like Uche Chrisantus.

I’m hoping that this ‘friendly’ tournament allows for multiple substitutes, rather than just three.
And I’m hoping he has the courage to begin to hint Ekong that his future is as an ‘off-field’ captain.
Honestly, if Chelle is really up to the task then he ought to begin reconstructing that defense and these friendlies present the opportunity to do so.

I am not sure why you mention the number of substitutions but the rule allows 6 and with friendlies, teams may reach agreement for a higher number of subs. However, I am now uncertain how such agreements impact FIFA's official rating of such a game as per A and B internationals.

As an aside, I doubt that the likes of Osimhen would be available for these games. He likely would be busy with his impending change of clubs. Other starters may seek time off as well.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Sun Apr 27, 2025 9:25 pm
Damunk wrote: Sun Apr 27, 2025 7:36 pm I think he does need to invite many of those players on the fringes, rather than completely new faces.

Honestly, if Chelle is really up to the task then he ought to begin reconstructing that defense and these friendlies present the opportunity to do so.

I am not sure why you mention the number of substitutions but the rule allows 6 and with friendlies, teams may reach agreement for a higher number of subs. However, I am now uncertain how such agreements impact FIFA's official rating of such a game as per A and B internationals.

As an aside, I doubt that the likes of Osimhen would be available for these games. He likely would be busy with his impending change of clubs. Other starters may seek time off as well.
Sorry jare. My mind was thinking five and three at the same time (five subs in a max of 3 batches).
My point however is whether the teams will agree to have unlimited subs for the tournament.

There’re rumors that the Nff wants to use the friendlies to give some members of the U20 Afcon team “exposure “ by giving them undeserved invitations to the friendly games. Chelle is supposedly fighting it but he’s sure to give up some slots.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon Apr 28, 2025 2:23 pm There’re rumors that the Nff wants to use the friendlies to give some members of the U20 Afcon team “exposure “ by giving them undeserved invitations to the friendly games. Chelle is supposedly fighting it but he’s sure to give up some slots.
You chat too much shiiit and lies. My goodness. So the u 20 that ends on 19th of May, you are here with your pathetic propaganda stating that some u20 players have been forced on the manager , so the nff has already had the visas to the UK and Moscow approved for the players. You are so easily bamboozled

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon Apr 28, 2025 2:23 pm There’re rumors that the Nff wants to use the friendlies to give some members of the U20 Afcon team “exposure “ by giving them undeserved invitations to the friendly games. Chelle is supposedly fighting it but he’s sure to give up some slots.
You mean CHAN players?

Dammy wrote: Mon Apr 28, 2025 3:03 pm
You mean CHAN players?
Yes. It’s on OWN.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Tue Apr 29, 2025 1:46 am
Dammy wrote: Mon Apr 28, 2025 3:03 pm
You mean CHAN players?
Yes. It’s on OWN.
In my estimation, and by past experience, several top level players will take a rain check for these games. Bet on it.

I hope the NFF lets the players know the importance of the Unity Cup matches vis a vis the WCQs.
Any player dropping out without genuine reasons should be dropped for the WCQs.
These matches are not ordinary friendlies but team building towards the crucial WCQs

Dammy wrote: Tue Apr 29, 2025 10:21 am I hope the NFF lets the players know the importance of the Unity Cup matches vis a vis the WCQs.
Any player dropping out without genuine reasons should be dropped for the WCQs.
These matches are not ordinary friendlies but team building towards the crucial WCQs

But how would NFF deny a guy with a letter from a doctor claiming muscle injuries? Or one claiming need to work out a transfer or family problems? Clearly, the matches are important but they are still international friendlies and not competitive games.

Rumors of Musa's recall for the 4 nation tournament have started again.

vancity eagle wrote: Wed Apr 30, 2025 2:18 pm Rumors of Musa's recall for the 4 nation tournament have started again.
They’re using naija journalists to test the waters! If I see him in London during the Unity Cup, I will gather people to heckle the life out of him!
Shameless man that refuses to give way to the younger generation

I started off by looking at the three internationals as a test of who will be considered for the upcoming WC qualifiers. However, I am toning that down as I realize that several of the top players may not even be available for these friendlies. Top me, it is unfortunate. However, Chelle must play with the cards that are dealt to him. He has no choice.

Enugu II wrote: Wed Apr 30, 2025 5:28 pm I started off by looking at the three internationals as a test of who will be considered for the upcoming WC qualifiers. However, I am toning that down as I realize that several of the top players may not even be available for these friendlies. Top me, it is unfortunate. However, Chelle must play with the cards that are dealt to him. He has no choice.
Chief, kindly share which top players and why they won’t be available.

Enugu II wrote: Wed Apr 30, 2025 5:28 pm I started off by looking at the three internationals as a test of who will be considered for the upcoming WC qualifiers. However, I am toning that down as I realize that several of the top players may not even be available for these friendlies. Top me, it is unfortunate. However, Chelle must play with the cards that are dealt to him. He has no choice.
It's good for the coach that top players are not available.... An opportunity to discover players who can suit his style of play and a strong bench

fabio wrote: Wed Apr 30, 2025 6:44 pm
It's good for the coach that top players are not available.... An opportunity to discover players who can suit his style of play and a strong bench
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

The national team is NOT a place you "discover" players. :oops:

Babalawo wrote: Wed Apr 30, 2025 5:31 pm
Chief, kindly share which top players and why they won’t be available.
I do not know of any specific players but believe there will be multiple players that would claim rest, injuries, working on completing transfers. We wait and see.
ugly boy

Post by ugly boy »

Oshimen and Lookman would not be available as they should be sorting transfers

ugly boy wrote: Thu May 01, 2025 11:36 am Oshimen and Lookman would not be available as they should be sorting transfers
Players of this calibre don’t need to go for trials and the negotiations are done over the phone by their agents.
All agreed, they go for medical screening which is a one day affair.
We are not talking about Tiaminu here. :rotf: