Ahmed Musa returns, to lead Super Eagles against Black Stars in London

:thumb:
Ahmed Musa will captain the Nigeria Super Eagles at the Unity Cup in London later this month, leading the team against Ghana and other nations.

NPFL club Kano Pillars have confirmed that their star forward Ahmed Musa will captain the Nigeria Super Eagles in the upcoming Unity Cup tournament scheduled for late May 2025 at Brentford Stadium, London.

The club announced on their social media that Musa is set to lead the national team from May 26 to 31 during the four-nation competition featuring Nigeria, Ghana, Jamaica, and Trinidad & Tobago.

https://www.pulsesports.ng/football/sto ... 6464337972
Re: Ahmed Musa returns, to lead Super Eagles against Black Stars in London

Fake news! I heard Essien is coming back to the Black sisies. :laugh:

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Tue May 06, 2025 5:22 am Fake news! I heard Essien is coming back to the Black sisies. :laugh:

NPFL club Kano Pillars have confirmed that their star forward Ahmed Musa will captain the Nigeria Super Eagles in the upcoming Unity Cup tournament scheduled for late May 2025 at Brentford Stadium, London.

goke313 wrote: Thu May 08, 2025 7:52 pm If true, we're not serious as a football nation and don't deserve to be in the World Cup
Ahmed Musa is still officially the captain. A player who hasn't been part of the mix for such a long time is being kept as a captain, but outside the team. This is unprecedented in Nigerian football. So we have a rudderless ship.

I'm surprised they're still expecting results with this outrageous nonsense.

goke313 wrote: Thu May 08, 2025 7:52 pm If true, we're not serious as a football nation and don't deserve to be in the World Cup
...if true, is the match in question a world cup or afcon qualifier?
Don't fall for a bait from a Ghananess breda.
goke313

Post by goke313 »

mcal wrote: Thu May 08, 2025 9:34 pm

Given the expectations we’re behind. Didn’t qualify for the last WC, behind on points during qualifiers for next WC. We don’t have the luxury to waste valuable international windows on players who are mediocre and have no business representing the SE.

I can understand if we’re Argentina already qualified for WC2026, winning WC ,and continental title of the highest level…even they’re not %$#@^& off

If Musa accepts to play this game, then it confirms what his facial features implies.

ANC wrote: Fri May 09, 2025 1:30 am If Musa accepts to play this game, then it confirms what his facial features implies.
Could you expatiate on this, please?

goke313 wrote: Fri May 09, 2025 1:14 am

Given the expectations we’re behind. Didn’t qualify for the last WC, behind on points during qualifiers for next WC. We don’t have the luxury to waste valuable international windows on players who are mediocre and have no business representing the SE.

I can understand if we’re Argentina already qualified for WC2026, winning WC ,and continental title of the highest level…even they’re not %$#@^& off
...there are many and many other rotten things going in our football than to worry about Musa being on the team.
Our current position is not, and was never his fault but many will call his name.
This is a case of 'barking on the wrong tree'.
goke313

Post by goke313 »

mcal wrote: Fri May 09, 2025 3:50 am

...there are many and many other rotten things going in our football than to worry about Musa being on the team.
Our current position is not, and was never his fault but many will call his name.
Of course its not a singular or solely on Musa’s selection.
This is part of the problem
goke313

Post by goke313 »

goke313 wrote: Fri May 09, 2025 4:44 am

he is also a big part of the problem because Musa isnt just sitting down in is house and they are forcing call ups on him. He is actively - with his godfathers - demanding call ups. The godfathers for the likes of Tanimu and Papa Daniels are doing it because they are making money from selling these players. They cant sell Musa and they wouldnt take his match bonus. So what are they gaining? Think about it! That tells you all you need to know about Musa. This is a guy who looked us in the eye and said he will be at the next World Cup. :lol: :lol: What he fails to realize is that IF it is their plan to force him into our World Cup squad, then God will make sure we do NOT go to the World Cup until Musa retires. If it takes us another 50 years, so may it be! We will wait for him to retire before we make another World Cup.

danfo driver wrote: Fri May 09, 2025 1:38 am
ANC wrote: Fri May 09, 2025 1:30 am If Musa accepts to play this game, then it confirms what his facial features implies.
Could you expatiate on this, please?
abegi, leave me alone before I get jumped.

danfo driver wrote: Fri May 09, 2025 4:51 am
goke313 wrote: Fri May 09, 2025 4:44 am

he is also a big part of the problem because Musa isnt just sitting down in is house and they are forcing call ups on him. He is actively - with his godfathers - demanding call ups. The godfathers for the likes of Tanimu and Papa Daniels are doing it because they are making money from selling these players. They cant sell Musa and they wouldnt take his match bonus. So what are they gaining? Think about it! That tells you all you need to know about Musa. This is a guy who looked us in the eye and said he will be at the next World Cup. :lol: :lol: What he fails to realize is that IF it is their plan to force him into our World Cup squad, then God will make sure we do NOT go to the World Cup until Musa retires. If it takes us another 50 years, so may it be! We will wait for him to retire before we make another World Cup.
:thumb: :thumb:

im hearing they are inviting 12!! HB players. What a waste. Even when we are on the verge on WC elimination, the criminals at the NFF still want to market players.

bret- hart wrote: Fri May 09, 2025 8:47 pm im hearing they are inviting 12!! HB players. What a waste. Even when we are on the verge on WC elimination, the criminals at the NFF still want to market players.
Called it. NFF is so predictable. What a waste.
Synopsis wrote: Sat Mar 29, 2025 12:48 pm We will use mostly home based players.

Any Nigerian fan who attend these games is sick in the head. We need a full boycott.

Synopsis wrote: Fri May 09, 2025 11:09 pm
bret- hart wrote: Fri May 09, 2025 8:47 pm im hearing they are inviting 12!! HB players. What a waste. Even when we are on the verge on WC elimination, the criminals at the NFF still want to market players.
Synopsis wrote: Sat Mar 29, 2025 12:48 pm We will use mostly home based players.
Synopsis,

For me, I expected a full WC preparation with three friendlies. However, it is now clear that some top level Nigerian players have or will ask to be excused for a variety of reasons. Note that there are also media reports that T & T will present mostly their HB players as well. More than likely, several new FB of Nigeria will be tested. Given this situation, would you still think that such a tourney presents the best test for SE?

In any case, my answer is that whether we are playing against Team B of T & T or not, it is still a good time to use our A squad or who ever is available from that squad. While not all A squad members will be available, use as many as those who will be.

Second, I have absolutely ZERO concern if the games are also used to build up the B team. Bear in mind that the B Team qualified for the CHAN and need tune up games as well. Thus, blending the teams together is not a bad idea at all. That is my view.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

danfo driver wrote: Sat May 10, 2025 1:23 am Any Nigerian fan who attend these games is sick in the head. We need a full boycott.
Delayed gratification is not in their dictionary.
SE brand should be a cash-making machine if they worked at it, but they keep peeing on the brand.

Enugu II wrote: Sat May 10, 2025 1:25 am
Synopsis,

For me, I expected a full WC preparation with three friendlies. However, it is now clear that some top level Nigerian players have or will ask to be excused for a variety of reasons. Note that there are also media reports that T & T will present mostly their HB players as well. More than likely, several new FB of Nigeria will be tested. Given this situation, would you still think that such a tourney presents the best test for SE?

In any case, my answer is that whether we are playing against Team B of T & T or not, it is still a good time to use our A squad or who ever is available from that squad. While not all A squad members will be available, use as many as those who will be.

Second, I have absolutely ZERO concern if the games are also used to build up the B team. Bear in mind that the B Team qualified for the CHAN and need tune up games as well. Thus, blending the teams together is not a bad idea at all. That is my view.
So you have no problem wasting valuable time for our A Team which has a NEW COACH and is in a dire situation, on our B Team ?

You are part of the problem.

vancity eagle wrote: Sat May 10, 2025 5:02 am
Enugu II wrote: Sat May 10, 2025 1:25 am
Synopsis,

So you have no problem wasting valuable time for our A Team which has a NEW COACH and is in a dire situation, on our B Team ?

You are part of the problem.
I am concerned for both at this time and that is why I made the statement. Team A is ofcourse in dire need but some of its critical personnel will choose to stay away. That is a certainty. That won't be the Manager's fault. Thus, trying to also get critical players from Team B valuable time is not a bad idea at all.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

I say feck CHAN! All our efforts should be channeled towards the WCQs and these friendlies should be used to build towards the WCQs.
It seems that what the fans want and what the NFF wants is different. This NFF is the worst in living memory with many of them moonlighting as agents
I will ask again, which one is more important, CHAN or the World Cup?