Taiwo Awoniyi out of coma after surgery

Showboy
Re: Taiwo Awoniyi has been placed in an induced coma

Post by Showboy »

YUJAM wrote: Wed May 14, 2025 3:55 am Wishing him a speedy recovery. I saw him crash into the goalposts but did not think his injury was that bad.
Wishing him a swift recovery. It looked worse as I saw the game - running at full pelt and slamming into goal posts is not for the faint hearted.

I also hope it allows a conversation to be had within FIFA with this nonsense of allowing play to run its course before the assistant referee acknowledges an offside.

We have a player that's been badly injured from an incident that could have been halted before the cross from Elanga came in. How many more of these incidents need to happen before the rules are revised? :(
"We must accept finite disappointment, but never lose infinite hope" (Martin Luther King, Jr)

Damunk wrote: Wed May 14, 2025 9:14 am
Lolly wrote: Wed May 14, 2025 8:41 am
Damunk wrote: Wed May 14, 2025 7:40 am Wow. Serious matter.
Sounds like he must have ruptured something during the collision.
Here’s wishing him a full and speedy recovery. :thumb:
I just heard he suffered from a ruptured intestine. I don’t know what this means but the report also said it is not life threatening. May the Lord heal him speedily.
If that was indeed the case, then it WAS life-threatening. It’s a surgical emergency.
Blunt injury to the abdomen always has the potential to rupture ( ie ‘burst’) something.
Other possibilities are ruptured spleen and/or liver.
All are emergency conditions.

Thank God he got prompt treatment. Na another thing we for dey talk.
Wow. This is serious. Thank God for prompt treatment. And Taiwo tried to continue playing on in that state.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Anytime someone has to be placed in an induced coma, it has to be as a result of a very serious medical condition. I join in praying for Taiwo Awoniyi’s speedy and complete recovery🤔❗️

Taiwo Awoniyi 'set to come out of induced coma' as Nottingham Forest 'anticipate full recovery'

Wishing him a speedy recovery.

For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

anointed wrote: Thu May 15, 2025 12:13 am Thank God he's out of coma

https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/arti ... ge298zel0o
Thajk God for the lad. This was actually a very serious injury,
'Potentially life-threatening'

Consultant colorectal surgeon Prof Gillian Tierney told BBC Sport: "The injury is really serious. It is potentially life-threatening.

"It is very easy to miss at the point of contact and can take hours to diagnose.

"In a hospital setting we would send a patient for a CT scan which could take up to 10 hours.

"If it occurred to an athlete who was super fit, very muscular and was running on adrenaline then I think it would be extremely understandable to miss it. Fluid leaking from the intestine would not be easy to diagnose straight away.

"Surgery is usually required and the stomach would be opened up. The mortality stat is 9%. So if an athlete who went through the procedure was really fit, they would stand a good chance of being OK."

Harpaul Flora, consultant vascular and general surgeon at the London Clinic, said ruptured intestines are "a pretty rare injury".

He added: "It's either a compression of the abdominal wall which has led to tearing and liquid seeping out - or the tear of an artery.

"Neither of those would be able to be diagnosed without a scan. There may have been bruising.

"It can be life-threatening. If it wasn't treated by a hospital it can give you an infection. It could then lead to sepsis, which is a life-threatening consequence."

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
Re: Taiwo Awoniyi

:roll:
Siddonlook11 wrote: Tue May 13, 2025 4:44 pm Wishing Taiwo a quick and speedy recovery.

Apparently , this was why the owner stormed into the pitch to berate Nuno :(

medical staff have cost many their soccer careers. I get the feeling the medical staff will be tossed after this debacle.

Owner yab sha , Nuno no be small pikin and no be medical staff.
That’s because it’s a lie. It’s a convenient excuse after the uproar about his berating the coach for the result
Re: Taiwo Awoniyi out of coma after surgery

The good news is that the surgery was successful.
The ‘goodest’ news is that he is expected to make a full recovery and it shouldn’t affect his career in any way.
He will be delighted to hear that. :thumb:

Fantastic news..Glad he will be back, but hope he has a lot more time to recover fully, Im sure this is part of the prescription

Damunk wrote: Thu May 15, 2025 4:49 pm The good news is that the surgery was successful.
The ‘goodest’ news is that he is expected to make a full recovery and it shouldn’t affect his career in any way.
He will be delighted to hear that. :thumb:
:thumbs: :thumbs:
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Wishing mai boi speedy recovery
ALL YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT INDUCED COMA
https://myacare.com/blog/medically-indu ... y-outcomes

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."