Osimhen Breaks Record
- danfo driver
Re: Osimhen Breaks Record
The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Fri May 16, 2025 9:45 pmLOL. Osimhen has already established himself in the big leagues. What he's doing now in Turkey - a 3rd tier European league - should come as no surprise. His exploits in Turkey shouldn't be the standard by which we judge him in particular.Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri May 16, 2025 12:44 pmSIGNED.mcal wrote: ↑Thu May 15, 2025 11:00 am...I hope many, Nigerian fans in particular, will adhere to that.
We tend to caricature our players as not playing in "big leagues or big clubs" therefore that they are not suited for SE.
Talent is the key, and success especially with the national team is paramount.

They were waiting for him to fail! Hell! They were waiting for him to be second-best. I mean, if he was second in the highest goals scorer award and maybe second in the league or fail to win the cup or whatever, they would have finished him. And the funny thing is that it would have been very normal for him not to perform. It wouldnt have been a problem because he is human. Imagine setting your entire mind on a move and it falls through? The club you helped to win the league after 33 years tried ton destroy you. You ended up (after transfer market closed in Europe) had to go to a sh1t league. No pre-season, 2 months after season has started, sh1t players around you. Any normal person will be demoralized and probably not perform to their level. Even Mbappe, with everything at his feet, struggled to perform in a new league for the first 4 months! Osimehn, with all his problems, landed, got off the plane AND PERFORMED!!! THAT IS WHAT WE, AS AFRICANS, HAVE TO DO JUST TO SURVIVE! WE HAVE TO BE MORE THAN HUMAN!
Like I said, he is lucky! What many people (LED BY NIGERIANS) would have done to him would have been worse than what the jews/romans did to our lord!
- The YeyeMan
That's fair. Many would have likely ignored the circumstances he found himself in. To still produce as he's done is commendabledanfo driver wrote: ↑Sat May 17, 2025 1:35 amThe YeyeMan wrote: ↑Fri May 16, 2025 9:45 pmLOL. Osimhen has already established himself in the big leagues. What he's doing now in Turkey - a 3rd tier European league - should come as no surprise. His exploits in Turkey shouldn't be the standard by which we judge him in particular.Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri May 16, 2025 12:44 pmSIGNED.mcal wrote: ↑Thu May 15, 2025 11:00 am...I hope many, Nigerian fans in particular, will adhere to that.
We tend to caricature our players as not playing in "big leagues or big clubs" therefore that they are not suited for SE.
Talent is the key, and success especially with the national team is paramount.![]()
Oh boy! If Osimhen did not dogwalk this league, you would have seen the venom they would have issued him! There would have been no mercy. He is very lucky he has done what he has done, even though he had no pre-seaon and showed up almost 2 months after the season started. If he tried it!!! If he tried to dare not to perform, what they would have dont to him??? He would have seen the type of shege that these people have been waiting for years to issue to him.
They were waiting for him to fail! Hell! They were waiting for him to be second-best. I mean, if he was second in the highest goals scorer award and maybe second in the league or fail to win the cup or whatever, they would have finished him. And the funny thing is that it would have been very normal for him not to perform. It wouldnt have been a problem because he is human. Imagine setting your entire mind on a move and it falls through? The club you helped to win the league after 33 years tried ton destroy you. You ended up (after transfer market closed in Europe) had to go to a sh1t league. No pre-season, 2 months after season has started, sh1t players around you. Any normal person will be demoralized and probably not perform to their level. Even Mbappe, with everything at his feet, struggled to perform in a new league for the first 4 months! Osimehn, with all his problems, landed, got off the plane AND PERFORMED!!! THAT IS WHAT WE, AS AFRICANS, HAVE TO DO JUST TO SURVIVE! WE HAVE TO BE MORE THAN HUMAN!
Like I said, he is lucky! What many people (LED BY NIGERIANS) would have done to him would have been worse than what the jews/romans did to our lord!
"LFC won't win the CL" - Mar 12, 2025
© The YeyeMan 2025
Watching United last night, watching Arsenal all season, and having watched my Chelsea huff and puff, it boggles my mind why these teams are not throwing the bank at Victor.
Ok, Arsenal have a crazy, stubborn manager who wants to prove he can re-invent football the way his mentor Pep did, only he's not as good as he thinks he is. But I won't be surprised if he continues to refuse to see that he will always at best be the bridesmaid until he gets a killer up front. I'm not saying Arsenal would have won the league this season with Osimhen, but the gap to Liverpool would be low single digits at most, not the mid-teens that suggests they were never seriously in the race. Amazingly, mathematically, they are still not confirmed Champions League football next season and are only 3 points ahead of Man City in 6th place with 2 games to play.
Man United, are basically just above the relegation places, and seem to think Hojlund will be anything but a squad player. Alarmingly, for the last few weeks, their best striker has been... Maguire. Yes, that Maguire, Harry Maguire. I know United have a lot of problems, but if Fernandez had Osimhen ahead of him, they'd be in the top half at least. But I actually think Osimhen's energy, drive and excitement would be made the Old Trafford faithful the the man in games and they'd be challenging for Europe. Instead, their fans are now just an anxious wreck, waiting, with finger nails bleeding, for United to implode. They are rarely wrong.
Then my Chelsea. Two weeks ago I went to the Everton game and man, we look good O! We look good until the ball gets into the final third. Nicholas Jackson, abi na Michael Jackson, just dances about the place. Defenders rarely looked troubled. Even Palmer looks clueless because he has no target man to work with. Our brother's son, Madueke, looks a specimen, but I'm convinced the lack of output is because there is no one to output to. Don't get me wrong, every now and then, the Senegalese with an American name looks amazing. But every now and then Samuel Chukwueze looks amazing. But I wouldn't be any money on it happening; you just learn to thank God for his mercies when it does. We need a proper striker, and with our style of play, Osimen would create so much confusion in opposition boxes, Palmer, Neto, Madueke and Enzo would all be in double digits on goals just feeding off his scraps. And that doesn't include the 15 - 18 goals Osi would guarantee you even with his injury record.
So why are none of these teams breaking the bank to get him. E tire me sha.
Ok, Arsenal have a crazy, stubborn manager who wants to prove he can re-invent football the way his mentor Pep did, only he's not as good as he thinks he is. But I won't be surprised if he continues to refuse to see that he will always at best be the bridesmaid until he gets a killer up front. I'm not saying Arsenal would have won the league this season with Osimhen, but the gap to Liverpool would be low single digits at most, not the mid-teens that suggests they were never seriously in the race. Amazingly, mathematically, they are still not confirmed Champions League football next season and are only 3 points ahead of Man City in 6th place with 2 games to play.
Man United, are basically just above the relegation places, and seem to think Hojlund will be anything but a squad player. Alarmingly, for the last few weeks, their best striker has been... Maguire. Yes, that Maguire, Harry Maguire. I know United have a lot of problems, but if Fernandez had Osimhen ahead of him, they'd be in the top half at least. But I actually think Osimhen's energy, drive and excitement would be made the Old Trafford faithful the the man in games and they'd be challenging for Europe. Instead, their fans are now just an anxious wreck, waiting, with finger nails bleeding, for United to implode. They are rarely wrong.
Then my Chelsea. Two weeks ago I went to the Everton game and man, we look good O! We look good until the ball gets into the final third. Nicholas Jackson, abi na Michael Jackson, just dances about the place. Defenders rarely looked troubled. Even Palmer looks clueless because he has no target man to work with. Our brother's son, Madueke, looks a specimen, but I'm convinced the lack of output is because there is no one to output to. Don't get me wrong, every now and then, the Senegalese with an American name looks amazing. But every now and then Samuel Chukwueze looks amazing. But I wouldn't be any money on it happening; you just learn to thank God for his mercies when it does. We need a proper striker, and with our style of play, Osimen would create so much confusion in opposition boxes, Palmer, Neto, Madueke and Enzo would all be in double digits on goals just feeding off his scraps. And that doesn't include the 15 - 18 goals Osi would guarantee you even with his injury record.
- The YeyeMan
United are badly run - I wouldn't want him to end up at that circus. I'd say Inter or Juventus are his best betswaka-man wrote: ↑Sat May 17, 2025 11:30 am Watching United last night, watching Arsenal all season, and having watched my Chelsea huff and puff, it boggles my mind why these teams are not throwing the bank at Victor.
© The YeyeMan 2025
I’m telling you, if he was European or South American, he’d be on very big wages at a very big club!Tbite wrote: ↑Thu May 15, 2025 12:50 pm Victor Osimhen is probably the most misunderstood striker of today. Even world class scouts often don't understand his value.
People fixate too much kn his efficiency, forgetting that Osimhen's xG is absurd. It is otherworldly. Meaning Osimhen might just be the best striker in the world at creating spaces for goalscoring.
What does xG measure? It measures the likelihood that a shot will result in a goal. A fool will say that is all it means, but someone who thinks deeper will ask themselves why will xG gain? For xG to increase it means the ball is placed in a better position. And who creates that positioning? Sure it can be an element of the team or even the opposition, but when you have a massive outlier of an xG, it also is likely a product of the striker himself!
So if Osimhen creates 2-4 times the opportunities that his peers does, but he is more inefficient, you cannot tell me that he is not equal to them, or even potentially better.
Scouts should not be so foolish as to measure statistics in a bubble. Osimhen does not benefit from high goal scoring opportunities in some contexts in every single team that he has ever played for, and in every single competition that he has ever played for, the opportunities are very high. This is undoubtedly a player thst knows how to find space.
Combined with his pressure and how he opens up the defenses and his versatility, he is more value than the scouts are admitting.
It essentially means he is probably the hardest striker in the world to figure out. How are you going to shut him out, when he will simply adapt his body quite literally to the conditions. He will score from unorthodox angles, his dexterity is abnormal, and his aerial threat is second to none in the world, among strikers.
I do not think Osimhen is growing into a world class striker, I think he is already one.
As far as his attitude, once again, the scouts are being moronic. Is he theatrical, sure! But he is not disruptive. That is fiction. Napoli are objectively toxic, let's not get things twisted. But Osimhen does not unsettle the dressing room, that is nonsensical. There is not a single player he has played with, that will speak out against him!
So these scouts are really just trying to talk themselves out of a good thing. They are not using the brains as far as I am concerned.
- danfo driver
Those who are close to him said these 3 clubs and Juve approached him with an offer to move in January and he said NO. In fact, Maresca called him multiple times to convince him and he refused.
You guys keep repeating this idea about "why are these teams not throwing the bank at Victor." And someone said earlier in this thread that he got his information from the press.

My question is this. Why are you guys very much willing to listen to the negative news, but not willing to listen to and believe the news right from the horses mouth (well news, through his friends)?
I know you (Wakaman) do not have any bad intention. I am just wondering out loud why CE members seem to be always 100% in line with the negative news but the opposing news that actually has credibility, since we can verify the source, gets completely ignored?
Its the same way people here some how and some way tell us that no big club came for him last summer that is why he went to Turkey. When we ALL KNOW FOR A FACT that he had multiple offers from different big clubs and he turned down a bunch of those clubs to accept Chelsea. Chelsea/Napoli were negotiating the deal until the final second when Chelsea bungled it. Its quite interesting the way the Nigerian mind works sha.
Last edited by danfo driver on Sat May 17, 2025 2:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
- danfo driver
Not to belabor the point, but its something we should be teaching our children - that more often than not, in the West we will NEVER receive grace. And it will not only be from "others" but also from our own people. The likes of Haaland has struggled this season. Even last weekend, he was horrendous. But nobody said "pim!' They made excuses, that he just came back from injury. They will comfort others, and rub their backs. But when it comes to an African, zero grace is given to us. We are expected to become super-human immediately. And like i said, the most painful part is that it is our own people who will lead the witch hunt!The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Sat May 17, 2025 10:57 amThat's fair. Many would have likely ignored the circumstances he found himself in. To still produce as he's done is commendabledanfo driver wrote: ↑Sat May 17, 2025 1:35 amThe YeyeMan wrote: ↑Fri May 16, 2025 9:45 pmLOL. Osimhen has already established himself in the big leagues. What he's doing now in Turkey - a 3rd tier European league - should come as no surprise. His exploits in Turkey shouldn't be the standard by which we judge him in particular.Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri May 16, 2025 12:44 pmSIGNED.mcal wrote: ↑Thu May 15, 2025 11:00 am...I hope many, Nigerian fans in particular, will adhere to that.
Talent is the key, and success especially with the national team is paramount.![]()
Oh boy! If Osimhen did not dogwalk this league, you would have seen the venom they would have issued him! There would have been no mercy. He is very lucky he has done what he has done, even though he had no pre-seaon and showed up almost 2 months after the season started. If he tried it!!! If he tried to dare not to perform, what they would have dont to him??? He would have seen the type of shege that these people have been waiting for years to issue to him.
Well said! Even if he doesn't fit their style of play, there will always be corner kicks and set pieces and no striker born of a woman has scored more headers than Osimhen in the last couple of seasons! So it's almost a guarantee that he will score goals! If he doesn't get a solid club this time then I would be more than confused.waka-man wrote: ↑Sat May 17, 2025 11:30 am Watching United last night, watching Arsenal all season, and having watched my Chelsea huff and puff, it boggles my mind why these teams are not throwing the bank at Victor.
Honestly why did Chelsea do that, is it because it's well known that he is a Chelsea fan, I mean WTF?danfo driver wrote: ↑Sat May 17, 2025 2:06 pm Chelsea/Napoli were negotiating the deal until the final second when Chelsea bungled it. Its quite interesting the way the Nigerian mind works sha.
Why would anyone take such a pay cut?
- danfo driver
Just imagine this was Victor? The venom he would have gotten - led by Nigerians.
People dont understand the pressure of finals. Its not easy to score a goal at anytime, but its much more difficult to score in a final -- when the pressure is on. Pressure tells you who is who.
Victor scored in the U17 final, scored 2 in the final a few days ago and scored the decisive goal that won the league for Napoli.
People dont understand the pressure of finals. Its not easy to score a goal at anytime, but its much more difficult to score in a final -- when the pressure is on. Pressure tells you who is who.
Victor scored in the U17 final, scored 2 in the final a few days ago and scored the decisive goal that won the league for Napoli.
I had a discussion with an educated man from Catalonia, rhe only thing he had ro say about African football was speed and physicality. It is this type of laziness that limits how Afrivan footballers are assessed.
A person might equally come to the conclusion that Osimhen is all brawn, but his aerial technique for example, and i mean including the use of feet, is one of the best i have ever seen. And with Cristiano's decline, there is no footballer in fancy in the air better.
And the funny thing about Osimhen is, Osimhen if yesterday is not the same as Osimhen of today. His technique on the ground has already improved.
If his current rate of improvement is sustained, I predict he will be more technical than Drogba, and more technical than the average world class player (funny sentence i know).
Because if his take ons have reached the level that i think, combined with the aerial ability, cross field passing and reasonable first touch, all that is really left is shooting. He wouldn't even have to improve his through balls to be better than most world class players.
A person might equally come to the conclusion that Osimhen is all brawn, but his aerial technique for example, and i mean including the use of feet, is one of the best i have ever seen. And with Cristiano's decline, there is no footballer in fancy in the air better.
And the funny thing about Osimhen is, Osimhen if yesterday is not the same as Osimhen of today. His technique on the ground has already improved.
If his current rate of improvement is sustained, I predict he will be more technical than Drogba, and more technical than the average world class player (funny sentence i know).
Because if his take ons have reached the level that i think, combined with the aerial ability, cross field passing and reasonable first touch, all that is really left is shooting. He wouldn't even have to improve his through balls to be better than most world class players.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
...dem no wan tell us the truth, his "agents" and ardent supporters on CE.Synopsis wrote: ↑Sat May 17, 2025 1:19 pmI’m telling you, if he was European or South American, he’d be on very big wages at a very big club!Tbite wrote: ↑Thu May 15, 2025 12:50 pm Victor Osimhen is probably the most misunderstood striker of today. Even world class scouts often don't understand his value.
People fixate too much kn his efficiency, forgetting that Osimhen's xG is absurd. It is otherworldly. Meaning Osimhen might just be the best striker in the world at creating spaces for goalscoring.
What does xG measure? It measures the likelihood that a shot will result in a goal. A fool will say that is all it means, but someone who thinks deeper will ask themselves why will xG gain? For xG to increase it means the ball is placed in a better position. And who creates that positioning? Sure it can be an element of the team or even the opposition, but when you have a massive outlier of an xG, it also is likely a product of the striker himself!
So if Osimhen creates 2-4 times the opportunities that his peers does, but he is more inefficient, you cannot tell me that he is not equal to them, or even potentially better.
Scouts should not be so foolish as to measure statistics in a bubble. Osimhen does not benefit from high goal scoring opportunities in some contexts in every single team that he has ever played for, and in every single competition that he has ever played for, the opportunities are very high. This is undoubtedly a player thst knows how to find space.
Combined with his pressure and how he opens up the defenses and his versatility, he is more value than the scouts are admitting.
It essentially means he is probably the hardest striker in the world to figure out. How are you going to shut him out, when he will simply adapt his body quite literally to the conditions. He will score from unorthodox angles, his dexterity is abnormal, and his aerial threat is second to none in the world, among strikers.
I do not think Osimhen is growing into a world class striker, I think he is already one.
As far as his attitude, once again, the scouts are being moronic. Is he theatrical, sure! But he is not disruptive. That is fiction. Napoli are objectively toxic, let's not get things twisted. But Osimhen does not unsettle the dressing room, that is nonsensical. There is not a single player he has played with, that will speak out against him!
So these scouts are really just trying to talk themselves out of a good thing. They are not using the brains as far as I am concerned.
His recent goal scoring exploits is well known on the pages and tv, but why the big clubs no wan come?
Some say "dem come" but the kid said "no" him no wan go.
Why, that we no sabi, or is it on a 'need to know' basis.
TbiteTbite wrote: ↑Sun May 18, 2025 12:53 am I had a discussion with an educated man from Catalonia, rhe only thing he had ro say about African football was speed and physicality. It is this type of laziness that limits how Afrivan footballers are assessed.
I suspect that one of the concerns one has about Osimhen is availability. His playing style leads to a significant concern about injuries and calculating that into his value is not easy. Will he always be available? I believe this has an impact. In terms of his goal scoring value? There is no question that it is very high and that is not lost on teams. Bet on that.
As for why it appears that it is taking time to reach an agreement? I am not surprised. If it is difficult to place value on an object then negotiation is usually drawn out.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Tbite wrote: ↑Sun May 18, 2025 12:53 am I had a discussion with an educated man from Catalonia, rhe only thing he had ro say about African football was speed and physicality. It is this type of laziness that limits how Afrivan footballers are assessed.
His level has dropped from the Serie A title season, if you know what to look out for...
Expected, given he's in a 2-3 tier euro league
We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
No it hasn’t. If you watch him, you’d notice that his passing, touches, dribbling have improved immensely. His finishing was questionable earlier in the season, but since January of this year, it is similar to when he won the Scudetto at Napoli.txj wrote: ↑Sun May 18, 2025 2:37 pmTbite wrote: ↑Sun May 18, 2025 12:53 am I had a discussion with an educated man from Catalonia, rhe only thing he had ro say about African football was speed and physicality. It is this type of laziness that limits how Afrivan footballers are assessed.
His level has dropped from the Serie A title season, if you know what to look out for...
For example, he never used to dribble like this at Napoli. He has improved.
https://youtube.com/shorts/bznVtPqqCmQ? ... NVyeR0bZxj
- danfo driver
It has, and even Osimhen admitted it to Mikel. The video is posted here. he said it with his own mouth that he is not playing at his level-- although he blamed the lack of pre-season and the fact he showed up 2 months after the season.Synopsis wrote: ↑Sun May 18, 2025 4:04 pmNo it hasn’t. If you watch him, you’d notice that his passing, touches, dribbling have improved immensely. His finishing was questionable earlier in the season, but since January of this year, it is similar to when he won the Scudetto at Napoli.txj wrote: ↑Sun May 18, 2025 2:37 pmTbite wrote: ↑Sun May 18, 2025 12:53 am I had a discussion with an educated man from Catalonia, rhe only thing he had ro say about African football was speed and physicality. It is this type of laziness that limits how Afrivan footballers are assessed.
An Osimhen in full form, showing up to Turkey before the season started would have scored 60 goals easily! if you watched Osimhen in the title-winning season at Napoli (or even the following season when he came back from that injury), he was a demon! You cant compare that to what he has shown in Turkey.
This drop in form talk annoys the F out of me.Synopsis wrote: ↑Sun May 18, 2025 4:05 pm For example, he never used to dribble like this at Napoli. He has improved.
Does Osimhen have the quality of players he had at Napoli at Gala? Aren’t you supposed to play to the strength of the team?
Drop in form yet has 36+ goals to his name.
The man is in prime form and needs to move to a Top 5 team ASAP!