RE: Eric Chelle
“I don’t want to talk about it because maybe people say, ‘Blah, blah , blah’, but the reality is this is my first trophy as a coach and I hope I can bring to Nigeria another trophy.”
Source: https://www.nytimes.com/athletic/639543 ... a-jamaica/
We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
Re: RE: Eric Chelle
txj wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 5:55 pm“I don’t want to talk about it because maybe people say, ‘Blah, blah , blah’, but the reality is this is my first trophy as a coach and I hope I can bring to Nigeria another trophy.”
Well, let me say it, blah, blah blah
As a coach you need to be environmentally aware. You have to understand where you are and what the expectations are, especially from the fans.
To speak like this about winning a a Jamaican patty trophy is nothing short of disgraceful
- TonyTheTigerKiller
If you’ve never won anything in your entire life, like I know you haven’t, then you shouldn’t be talking
Would you rather have him start by losing his first chance /shot at a trophy even its a practice trophy
"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."
Sometimes its better not to talk...
He needs to keep quiet and focus on the real things
vancity eagle wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 7:30 pmThis is such a stupid thread.
The stupidity is sadly yours...
If this was Eguavoen celebrating winning a beef patty trophy would you say the same thing?
WTF do you expect him to say ?txj wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 8:19 pmvancity eagle wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 7:30 pmThis is such a stupid thread.
If this was Eguavoen celebrating winning a beef patty trophy would you say the same thing?
"This was a stupid tournament"
The nonsense you preoccupy yourself with when there are actual things that need to be addressed.
Yes this is a very dumb thread.
vancity eagle wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 8:23 pmWTF do you expect him to say ?txj wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 8:19 pmvancity eagle wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 7:30 pmThis is such a stupid thread.
"This was a stupid tournament"
The nonsense you preoccupy yourself with when there are actual things that need to be addressed.
Yes this is a very dumb thread.
I expect him to talk about the team and the challenges ahead; and how this friendly is related to getting to the WC and AFCON, not celebrating like he's done anything of significance
Respectfully,vancity eagle wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 7:30 pmThis is such a stupid thread.
This is not a stupid thread.
Kudos to Chelle for winning his first trophy for Nigeria . This is a positive and not a negative.
Had he lost there would be so many negative posts on him and a few players.
Let us celebrate all positives no matter how minuscule.
- danfo driver
This is a trophy that we should have left at the stadium or donate it to one of the primary schools in Peckham to use for their Inter-house sports competition. This is not arrogance, it is just the reality that this is an invitational friendly tournament. Nigeria is bigger than that. We dont celebrate these type of trophies.
Txj! Please bro, what are you saying? Are you saying our coach shouldn't be happy because we won the Jamaicans, or because the trophy is nothing?
- danfo driver
He is saying when a serious coach wins a kindergarten tournament, he shouldnt milk it. He should focus on the progress of his team, what he saw from new players, his learnings and how he intends to implement his learnings for the future -- especially when his team has a major tournament in a few months, and also is struggling to qualify for THE major tournament next year.
Sometimes I wonder if some of us came from the same country as you people, because we just think about life completely differently. Look at your President and his sick sycophants? Doing exactly what Chelle and you guys are doing -- built 30KM of a 750 KM road and he went to launch it! No be madness be that so? That is what TxJ is saying, Chelle and his sycophants should stop dancing to an inter house sports trophy, when he has not completed the balance 720KM. But thats too hard to ask of Nigerians.

Chelle is probably an Arsenal fan.txj wrote: ↑Sun Jun 01, 2025 5:55 pm“I don’t want to talk about it because maybe people say, ‘Blah, blah , blah’, but the reality is this is my first trophy as a coach and I hope I can bring to Nigeria another trophy.”
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe