Cyriel Dessers SPEAKS on NPFL players......
Dessers reveals the NPFL player who impressed him at Unity Cup, talks World Cup hopes
Published: June 04, 2025
https://www.allnigeriasoccer.com/read_n ... ?nid=55905
Cyriel Dessers has lauded the performance of NPFL standout Sodiq Ismail during the recently concluded 2025 Unity Cup in London, while expressing optimism about Nigeria's chances of qualifying for the 2026 FIFA World Cup.
Reflecting on the intense schedule of the Unity Cup, where Nigeria clinched the title with a 5-4 penalty shootout victory over Jamaica following a 2-2 draw, Dessers acknowledged the physical demands of the tournament.
"It has been a tough week with three games in two days. It has been a long season for everybody, you can see that in the last ten, twenty minutes," he told Proudly Austin.
The 30-year-old forward, who scored the opener in Nigeria’s 2-1 semi-final win against Ghana, expressed his pride in representing the national team.
"Very proud. It's always an honour when you get the call-up, even more proud when you can play and score, it's important for the team. If you see the support we had here, it makes you very proud," Dessers added.
When asked about the Super Eagles’ prospects for the 2026 FIFA World Cup, to be hosted across the United States, Canada, and Mexico, Dessers remained cautiously optimistic.
"In football, everything is possible, you have to go until the end, just try to win every game and then we'll see.
"That should be in our heads, and then at the end we will see - first, second, third. Now, it's up to us, just focus on our own games and don’t focus too much on the other games," he stated.
Under the guidance of head coach Eric Chelle, the Unity Cup squad featured a blend of Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) talents and foreign-based professionals, a mix Dessers believes worked well.
"Yes, I think so. There were all very nice guys but the most important, very good football players as well.
"Of course, football here is different, but you can see they all have the skills, and it's up to them to make the next step," he noted.
Dessers singled out Remo Stars’ right-back Sodiq Ismail for special praise, highlighting his impressive performances throughout the tournament.
"Some guys already showed it this week. For example, if I can pick out one, Sodiq was very good in both games, so you can see he’s ready for this level," Dessers remarked.
Ismail, dubbed the "Nigerian Dani Alves" for his forward runs and precise crosses, provided the assist for Dessers’ goal against Ghana, underlining his potential to compete at the highest level.
The Super Eagles’ triumph in the Unity Cup, a tournament celebrating football and cultural ties among African and Caribbean communities in London, marks a promising step for the team.
With the 2026 World Cup qualifiers on the horizon, Dessers and his teammates are determined to build on this momentum, focusing on each game to secure Nigeria’s place on the global stage.
Wale Adejumo
Copyright ANS
All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from allnigeriasoccer.com
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: Cyriel Dessers SPEAKS on NPFL players......
What did you expect him to say? The truth? 

- packerland
Exactly Lol
- danfo driver

...Sodiq is local, many here on CE don't like him, he does't and can't give brown envelop stuffed with dollars, pounds or euros 

Mods please move this thread to Problems & Solutions.
His people obviously have lots of dollars, pounds and euros to spend and have been speeding it on bringing him to the limelight. And it is working.
"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
He said the truth! No player is devoid of any weaknesses. It's the striving to improve that matters. Sodiq, certainly has the quality. I wish him the best.

The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
- packerland
Sadiq’s weakness is opponents blowing past him with ease. Tell me how that helps Nigeria.
- danfo driver
You are genuinely dvmb.

Sodiq is a problem, so any topic/thread on Sodiq should be moved to problems until we find Solutions.
Babalawo,
I jus had a conversation with Sodiq and he is looking for you at this moment.

Sodiq is a good attacking player but will struggle in a 4 man defence
Kaaiiii
You are very wicked man.