Fulham Player Of The Season - Calvin Bassey

Re: Fulham Player Of The Season - Calvin Bassey

waka-man wrote: Fri Jun 13, 2025 6:20 pm With Iwobi in second place:
https://www.fulhamfc.com/news/2025/june ... on-result/
I am still hoping Osayi Samuel joins them. It seems he has rejected 2 offers in Turkey

I’m looking forward to the pairing of Bassey and Frederick in the SE central defence.
If you are good enough, you are old enough IMO, and I believe Chelle goofed by not playing Frederick in the Moscow friendly to build up on his performance in the Unity Cup. That sort of match in the over 70,000 capacity stadium would have been good preparation for Frederick in anticipation of the WCQ away to South Africa in September

waka-man wrote: Fri Jun 13, 2025 6:20 pm With Iwobi in second place:
https://www.fulhamfc.com/news/2025/june ... on-result/
:thumb: :thumb: :thumb:
Wow.
Congrats to ‘our’ Bassey.

I remember when TxJ was arguing with me, saying Bassey could not cut it at Ajax and will fail at Fulham.

Bassey, Darwin, jut to name a few. I have told TxJ, asked him to do a zoom call once a month, where I can teach him, help him to understand the game. But pride wont permit him. It is well. :D

Well done to Calvin Bassey. Last 2 seasons, he was the runner up.
Iwobi was massive too this season.
Well done to our Naija boys.

We just have to be at the world cup, I don't care how, we just have to be there. It will be a waste of generational talent if we miss this world cup.

Bassey is also winning the award on the FOF forum

Dammy wrote: Fri Jun 13, 2025 8:07 pm I’m looking forward to the pairing of Bassey and Frederick in the SE central defence.
If you are good enough, you are old enough IMO, and I believe Chelle goofed by not playing Frederick in the Moscow friendly to build up on his performance in the Unity Cup. That sort of match in the over 70,000 capacity stadium would have been good preparation for Frederick in anticipation of the WCQ away to South Africa in September
Someone yet to make Brentford A team is who you want to throw in front of a 70K Russian home crowd. One slip and ruin the boys confidence and National Team potential?

My people say “Nwayo Nwayo ka anyi ji aracha ofe di oku”
Ttanslation: Slow and steady do we lick a hot plate of soup.

Fredrick is a potential, but let’s not throw caution to the wind, we are in a very tricky and tough position and Nigerians are looking for whom to blame for the slightest thing.
I would pair Ekong and Bassey against SA, then Pair Fredrick and Bassey against Rwanda (if need be)

Back to the thread:

I assumed this award was in the pocket for Iwobi as he had a fantastic season. Seems Bassey was immense as well.
Nigeria Must Be Great Again

Babalawo wrote: Sat Jun 14, 2025 2:14 pm
Dammy wrote: Fri Jun 13, 2025 8:07 pm I’m looking forward to the pairing of Bassey and Frederick in the SE central defence.
Someone yet to make Brentford A team is who you want to throw in front of a 70K Russian home crowd. One slip and ruin the boys confidence and National Team potential?

Fredrick is a potential, but let’s not throw caution to the wind, we are in a very tricky and tough position and Nigerians are looking for whom to blame for the slightest thing.
I would pair Ekong and Bassey against SA, then Pair Fredrick and Bassey against Rwanda (if need be)

Back to the thread:

I assumed this award was in the pocket for Iwobi as he had a fantastic season. Seems Bassey was immense as well.
That was meant to be the test as we can afford for him to make a mistake in that game but not the WCQ against SA.
If he comes through unscathed, then I would play him in the must win match away to SA.
How much top level club football experience did Onazi and Omeruo have when Keshi threw them into the team that won the 2013 AFCON?

Dammy wrote: Sat Jun 14, 2025 2:50 pm

Back to the thread:

That was meant to be the test as we can afford for him to make a mistake in that game but not the WCQ against SA.
If he comes through unscathed, then I would play him in the must win match away to SA.
How much top level club football experience did Onazi and Omeruo have when Keshi threw them into the team that won the 2013 AFCON?

Omeruo was in Chelsea’s books but Loaned to ADO den Hang and was already a starter in the A team before ANC 2013.

Onazi was already starting for Lazio in 2013 and was playing in the Europa League before ANC 2013

Fredrick had a good game against Jamaica, a below average team, yet to see A-team action in the EPL, a good talent, but let’s not be in a hurry to throw him into Shark infested waters.
I’ll rather dine with the battle tested and trusted but slow Devil I know (Ekong) than a Rookie against SA.

Back to the thread:

I dont agree that a B team player should start for the national team. However, these are were you test players. In these conditions and under this pressure.

P.s-- just want to let it known that a CLUBLESS player was thrown in front of a 70K Russian home crowd and that CLUBLESS player scored an own goal. The CLUBLESS player did not die and no one has even gone back to attack him for the own goal and sh1tty performance. Everyone has moved on.

Babalawo wrote: Sat Jun 14, 2025 3:22 pm
I’ll rather dine with the battle tested and trusted but slow Devil I know (Ekong) than a Rookie against SA.
Battle-tested ke? You mean, Battle-finished and battle-defeated? :lol: I think those 2 weeks in AFCON has actually made people forget the real EKONG. :lol: :lol: The one that Peseiro wanted out of the national team. The same one that returned in March, costing us the World Cup. You guys are quite hilarious.

There is a reason the chap plays for Al-Kholood and its not because he got "Saudi money." :lol: :lol: :lol:

This was how criminals and thieves wanted us to draft in a 37 year old finished player who has just been released in Scotland and is making his way to Cyprus. :oops:

The forum lunatic is up to his tricks again! Trying to derail every thread and direct attention away from his criminality!
A thief, lunatic and liar!!! :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

danfo driver wrote: Sat Jun 14, 2025 3:41 pm
Battle-tested ke? You mean, Battle-finished and battle-defeated? :lol: I think those 2 weeks in AFCON has actually made people forget the real EKONG. :lol: :lol: The one that Peseiro wanted out of the national team. The same one that returned in March, costing us the World Cup. You guys are quite hilarious.

There is a reason the chap plays for Al-Kholood and its not because he got "Saudi money." :lol: :lol: :lol:

This was how criminals and thieves wanted us to draft in a 37 year old finished player who has just been released in Scotland and is making his way to Cyprus. :oops:
2 out of the most experienced players in the Senegalese team that recently beat England also play in the Saudi league.

Ekong might not be the fastest tool in the box, but I will not bench him for Igoh nor Fredrick at this time. Again, my opinion. Ekong offers more to that team that just defending.

Babalawo wrote: Sun Jun 15, 2025 12:48 pm
danfo driver wrote: Sat Jun 14, 2025 3:41 pm

2 out of the most experienced players in the Senegalese team that recently beat England also play in the Saudi league.

Ekong might not be the fastest tool in the box, but I will not bench him for Igoh nor Fredrick at this time. Again, my opinion. Ekong offers more to that team that just defending.
He sure does. If he focused on the defending he was supposed to be focusing on, you will be going to the World Cup. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Like I said, some people go to Saudi because of insane money. Others go there because they are so useless that no one wants them anywhere near Europe. His oyibo brother is going to Cyprus -- even Saudi wont accept him, it seems.